List Mgmt. Trade Targets / Rumours

There wouldn't be much trade value there, except for Wines, and even his price would have dropped.

Wines wouldn’t have dropped a huge amount in value, one injury interrupted year across his career won’t have that much an impact. If anything being contracted for a further three years and being captain would push his trade value up. Ess offered more money than he is on now.

Of the others, Hartlett would still have value (not that I would want to trade him) Rockliff wouldn’t have heaps and Watts certainly wouldn’t be on much $$$, no need to push him out.

Motlop I think is a victim of Hinkley’s coaching, think he would be like a different player under a better coach.

Wines wouldn’t have dropped a huge amount in value, one injury interrupted year across his career won’t have that much an impact. If anything being contracted for a further three years and being captain would push his trade value up. Ess offered more money than he is on now.

Of the others, Hartlett would still have value (not that I would want to trade him) Rockliff wouldn’t have heaps and Watts certainly wouldn’t be on much $$$, no need to push him out.

Motlop I think is a victim of Hinkley’s coaching, think he would be like a different player under a better coach.

We'll see. The buyers tend to do better in a fire sale.

As for the Motlops, I reckon their name is aboriginal for "tease". Shannon was easily the least talented of the lot of them, but I reckon he was also the most consistent.

Port could be hitting the draft hard again this year. The rebuild could be on in earnest.

There wouldn't be much trade value there, except for Wines, and even his price would have dropped.

Not so much about extracting trade value as dumping high salaries. Pittard and Lobbe were given away for this reason.

Ryder, Dixon, Wines, Jonas, Motlop, Hartlett, Rockliff and Lycett would be our highest paid players. (Watts too but not sure how much Melbourne are paying).

Ryder likely gone or on much less. Lycett, Dixon and Jonas aren’t going anywhere. Happy with the rest to find new homes.

Not so much about extracting trade value as dumping high salaries. Pittard and Lobbe were given away for this reason.

Ryder, Dixon, Wines, Jonas, Motlop, Hartlett, Rockliff and Lycett would be our highest paid players. (Watts too but not sure how much Melbourne are paying).

Ryder likely gone or on much less. Lycett, Dixon and Jonas aren’t going anywhere. Happy with the rest to find new homes.

Pretty much agree with your analysis.

I can't see you getting much draft pick wise for Hartlett & Rockliff contracted, and exiting Motlop for half his pay would be a bonus. Port should look at trading Hartlett & Rockliff for promising young fringe S.A. kids, who will be happy to get home & play AFL for moderate short term coin, whilst the club balances the books, and resets.

Wines to Geelong could be very much an achievable trade, considering I expect them to get picks 6 & 7 out of Freo, and Geelong will have an inside midfielder shortage very soon. Take one of those picks and go to the draft.

Pretty much agree with your analysis.

I can't see you getting much draft pick wise for Hartlett & Rockliff contracted, and exiting Motlop for half his pay would be a bonus. Port should look at trading Hartlett & Rockliff for promising young fringe S.A. kids, who will be happy to get home & play AFL for moderate short term coin, whilst the club balances the books, and resets.

Wines to Geelong could be very much an achievable trade, considering I expect them to get picks 6 & 7 out of Freo, and Geelong will have an inside midfielder shortage very soon. Take one of those picks and go to the draft.
No chance Port go hard and salary dump Hartlett, Rockliff and Wines.

There is still the minimum spend that clubs have to meet, Port are a long way under the cap so salary dumping those guys is pointless at this point in time as almost all of that money would have to be spend else where.

Rucci said last night there are 6 clubs doing the same thing, 2 spending less than Ports.

Feels like a lot of manufactured stories at the minute to sell newspapers, why doesn't Caro mention the other 6?

Wouldn't it be preferable to spread that money a bit further on the future? I suppose it all comes down to whether Port think they can turn this around in time or not.

I get that the coach has put in place an over convoluted game plan that unravels quickly, but there's also a few blokes in Port jumpers who are contributing to this. It's not just the coach.

I reckon one of my very favorite non North players is done, and that's Justin Westhoff. You're not going to replace him in 10 seconds, and I reckon Port have height issues down back. This needs to be addressed.

St Kilda’s interest in North Melbourne’s Todd Goldstein has cooled — but the club’s desire to secure a ruckman means it has quickly turned its attention to Port Adelaide’s Paddy Ryder, reports the Herald Sun.

Ryder is out of contract at the end of the season and has been offered a one-year deal from Port, but the big man is keen to pen a longer deal.

Why the hell would St Kilda want Ryder? Rowan Marshall is miles better than him these days.

The GWS rumour makes a lot more sense.

I reckon one of my very favorite non North players is done, and that's Justin Westhoff. You're not going to replace him in 10 seconds, and I reckon Port have height issues down back. This needs to be addressed.

Dougal Howard is an excellent tall defender if our dickhead coach would just play him there.

Online or in print?
Staff writers or was someone willing to put their name to it?
Quotes or sources in the articles or is everything unattributed and unsubstantiated?

AFL media is generally up there with Take 5/That's Life magazines in the fabrication/unreliability stakes.

In print.

The Hun: https://www.heraldsun.com.au/subscr...2e3be6eaea7985&memtype=anonymous&mode=premium

The West: https://thewest.com.au/sport/port-a...r-running-ng-8e8ff2f8a4190684e42e3be6eaea7985

Wouldn't it be preferable to spread that money a bit further on the future? I suppose it all comes down to whether Port think they can turn this around in time or not.

I get that the coach has put in place an over convoluted game plan that unravels quickly, but there's also a few blokes in Port jumpers who are contributing to this. It's not just the coach.

I think we can turn it around immediately. If Hinkley goes I think we are genuine contenders next year.

Hoffs an interesting one, I think he could go one again if he wants to. Doesn’t seem to be slowing down.

Regarding height in defence, it is some what a concern but Howard’s best footy has been at CHB so he can slot straight back there. Watts will be back next year and his early form (albeit a game and a half) was very very good across defence hopefully he continues that next year.

Motlop has been under a proven coach in an outstanding system and is the same player.

Rucci said last night there are 6 clubs doing the same thing, 2 spending less than Ports.

Feels like a lot of manufactured stories at the minute to sell newspapers, why doesn't Caro mention the other 6?
What is really weird is that meanwhile GCS are paying their full allocation.

How do they have the money to do it if we don’t?

And if they are paying the full TPP then how come their team is so shit.

Hey, you seem to come here a lot. Are you a closet Port supporter?

I'm a footy supporter, and I gravitate where I can find decent and interesting discussion.

I wouldn't claim that about every board on this website.

Motlop has been under a proven coach in an outstanding system and is the same player.

Motlop under a proven coach in an outstanding system was a walk-up start for a perennial finalist for 6 seasons. I don't know why everyone is suddenly acting like his current form is all he's ever been.

He was a very good footballer for Geelong, that's why we recruited him. And Rockliff was a very good footballer for Brisbane, and Dixon was a very good footballer for Gold Coast. It's. The. Coaching. I cannot stress this enough.

Just because some folks eat a lot in order to sell loo paper, doesn’t mean everyone has to.

Garbage in, garbage out ;)

—-

In completely unrelated news, greetings from Auckland.

On iPhone using recycled electrons, via BigFooty.com mobile app

Karlos will become a very very good player at a club with decent structure. V sad to lose him.
Karlos became a very good player in the final year of his contract, after he got no interest when requesting a trade the previous year. I'd be very wary of his performance this year just being a "I need a new contract" bump.

So if the rumours of our club being so broke that we are asking senior and well paid players to hold off on getting their ‘full’ payments, as reported by Caro, we must be looking to dump some high paid players - Hartlett, Wines, Rockliff, Motlop, Watts all come to mind.
Ebert confirmed the fact on Triple M this morning that he's been asked some of the higher paid players to slide some of their payments to next year instead of this season. But he also said its been about managing the salary cap, not about financial issues. He said he's also done it in the past. And that plenty of clubs actually do this.

We're probably looking to push some payments to next year in order to protect this year's underspend. Not that the club is doing it because of financial stress. Non-story once again being completely misplayed by the Melbourne media. Just like Barrett and his constant insistance that Port's salary cap was bursting and would have to shed players, while we kept signing players on...

Motlop under a proven coach in an outstanding system was a walk-up start for a perennial finalist for 6 seasons. I don't know why everyone is suddenly acting like his current form is all he's ever been.

He was a very good footballer for Geelong, that's why we recruited him. And Rockliff was a very good footballer for Brisbane, and Dixon was a very good footballer for Gold Coast. It's. The. Coaching. I cannot stress this enough.

Add to this the seemingly endless list of players whose development either stalled or went backwards, or thrown in the too hard basket under this coach.

“Port Adelaide is duty bound to let Ken Hinkley finish the job he started...” - Gerard Whateley.

May god have mercy on our souls.

Ebert confirmed the fact on Triple M this morning that he's been asked some of the higher paid players to slide some of their payments to next year instead of this season. But he also said its been about managing the salary cap, not about financial issues. He said he's also done it in the past. And that plenty of clubs actually do this.

Boak said the same yesterday and seemed completely unfazed by the request.

Dixon is the perfect example.

In his best year at the suns he managed to kick 41 goals from 16 games, a year they finished 3rd last.

Has only managed to beat that tally once here, 49 from 23 games.

Boak said the same yesterday and seemed completely unfazed by the request.

Makes sense to be honest, you need levers to be able to adjust your TPP spend each year given that there's bonuses and payments given out for the number of games played by youngsters. If you couldn't maneuver like this clubs would end up like the saints in 2011 where they were going to be well over the cap until they did some last minute changes.