Training Training Reports and Updates

I appreciate that some people subscribe the The Sun and they are trying to help the BigFooty base by posting these links, but many of us can't access these stories.
Can we perhaps do a bit of cut and pasting instead? Or perhaps rewite the guts of the story? Appreciate your efforts ChrisPiesssss regardless.

I appreciate that some people subscribe the The Sun and they are trying to help the BigFooty base by posting these links, but many of us can't access these stories.
Can we perhaps do a bit of cut and pasting instead? Or perhaps rewite the guts of the story? Appreciate your efforts ChrisPiesssss regardless.
Nothing in the sun worth reading anyway now.

It doesn’t. Adams replaces Bianco in the 22 from the PF and McStay to take Johnson’s role. Real question is how they squeeze WHE in because Mitchell is obviously incoming and I can’t spot another option to make way.

Said this on the WHE thread recently…

There is minimal to no room for him now - at either end of the ground

Expect him not to be a weekly fixture this year

It doesn’t. Adams replaces Bianco in the 22 from the PF and McStay to take Johnson’s role. Real question is how they squeeze WHE in because Mitchell is obviously incoming and I can’t spot another option to make way.
Mitchell incoming forces Adams to spend more time up forward. He’ll play a similar pressuring forward role up there so I can’t see how that doesn’t affect McCreery especially when Ginnivan becomes available.

I can't say Ive seen Adams too much up forward. Midfield mostly.

Could be re-framed as “failed ex-footballer jumped at very first opportunity to take illegal drugs, disappointed mother reveals”.

“My son told me he had never really drunk before and was pressured to take drugs and I believe him”

How many young kids have gotten away with that one!

I can't say Ive seen Adams too much up forward. Midfield mostly.
He's not a very accurate kick or great at marking. He's excellent at finding the ball. Interesting what his role will be as I expect Mitchell to play most of the minutes there.
At least we now have options in most positions.

Clutching at straws this mother is
giphy.gif

He's not a very accurate kick or great at marking. He's excellent at finding the ball. Interesting what his role will be as I expect Mitchell to play most of the minutes there.
I think Mitchell will take most of Pendles's midfield time and Adams role won't change much.

He did kick a goal in the intraclub.

A very good friend of mine works in the late night entertainment industry on the Gold Coast.

A couple of years ago he had a story I didn't want to hear about a Collingwood player who was on the marching powder while out.

It was Stevo and within a year his tale had been backed up by the ongoing transpirings.

In November he had a similar tale about another young player - not a high draft pick, nowhere near as high profile, still finding his way. Not Ginni.

There may indeed be a cocaine culture at Collingwood.

You can come at me because you don't want to hear what I have to say, but I am a passionate Pies man who is simply worried about the pattern I see forming based on stories I hear from a man I have trusted implicitly for over 20 years

A very good friend of mine works in the late night entertainment industry on the Gold Coast.

A couple of years ago he had a story I didn't want to hear about a Collingwood player who was on the marching powder while out.

It was Stevo and within a year his tale had been backed up by the ongoing transpirings.

In November he had a similar tale about another young player - not a high draft pick, nowhere near as high profile, still finding his way. Not Ginni.

You can come at me because you don't want to hear what I have to say, but I am a passionate Pies man who is simply worried about the pattern I see forming based on stories I hear from a man I have trusted implicitly for over 20 years

It's in the Whole of Society

He is best 22 for me. Just unsure how the Fly will use him. Perhaps he and Mitchell switching off the bench with Mitch getting the majority of minutes.
Yeah. Hopefully get an idea this week.

It goes on in all clubs all over Australia. In all professions as well. When it's Collingwood it's a story. $

Who’s mid time is Daicos taking then?
Hmmm.

Good question. We're looking stacked all of a sudden.

I think there's blokes who will go to stoppage and not necessarily play as traditional mids around the ground - ala Jordy last year. Adams might join him in a role like this, with guys like Crisp, Nick, Pendles and Lippa rotating a little bit through stoppage but generally being our linkers as JDG and Adams move ahead of the ball.. So Nick might start ahead of the footy and then switch with Adams after stoppages. Like Lippa did with Jordy last year.

I think we'll want Adams, Jordy and Mitchell to get to lots of stoppage. Not sure if Nick will have overtaken them there yet.

It's got nothing to do with Collingwood. AFL is full of young men. Young men sometimes do drugs.

It's really that simple.

I'm in my thirties, I know two former AFL players pretty well, one being an acquaintance and one being a good mate. Neither played for Collingwood, both did the occasional party drug, seen many of their teammates partake. If you had close ties to other clubs like you have your mate, you would hear the exact same thing.

It goes on in all clubs all over Australia. In all professions as well. When it's Collingwood it's a story. $

I think we're all playing the victim here to an extent. It was Bailey Smith last year. Not a Collingwood player. Still got branded Bailey Sniff and had every teenage boy mocking him. I don't think we're being treated much differently, honestly.

And I wish we held a higher standard and had a better culture. If teenagers are being introduced to cocaine by their peer mentors - well I simply think we can do better. And should.

It may be that they are telling them that it's better for their health in terms of skinfolds etc. than alcohol. They might honestly think they are doing them a favour.

At the very least, they need to teach them not to do it in nightclubs, because even if they are in a non-AFL state, they ARE recognised (even the semi-anonymous ones, when while coked up they brag about their position on our list and share their names) and tongues wag and the phone cameras roll

2 people does not a pattern make. A better take on the matter is an excellent article by Greg Baum in the Age online:

When it comes to drugs and the AFL, how many is too many?

Training: Feb 20th, 2023

Monday morning, as preparations begin for this weekend's practice game v Carlton. Once I arrived the vultures had more or less finished their grilling of Jack, and Darcy.
Jack was still sore, limping from his injury he sustained on Friday. Those stitches need to clear up his nasty gash on his knee. Because of it, I didn't think we would see him train this morning. He wasn't around long, probably left half way through the boys session on the track.
Saw him get escorted to his car, as he was gonna go home and rest his leg up.

Other players absent:

Draper
- From what I know, I don't believe he is injured, maybe loading. Hopefully he gets to play on Friday. But we'll see on Wed if he trains, if he doesn't, then he probably has a niggle.

Beggy - Was around briefly but didn't do a whole heap.
No Macrae.

rehab group:
  • Kreuger -- Doing a few running sessions, then went onto the bikes.
  • Harrison -- It does appear they are getting him to learn how to run properly. Similar to Darcy and his past Hammys, hopefully they have looked into Harrisons issues and discovering that its how he is running. So they are teaching him a way to limit the pressure he puts on his legs/Hammys when he runs. Surveryed by some fitness staff.

As expected, today was a lightish session, as they start getting some touch, first session of the week.
It was mainly focused on pressure, ball skills, and some match play in the middle of the ground covered by little green sticks.

Boys were wearing their own numbers except:
Johnson was wearing #33
De Goey #40

Murley twisted his ankle in a pressure drill, probably a bit sore, but probably not too serious. They may decide to get scans as a precaution, but I reckon just needs a little ice.

The talls worked on 1-1 contests.
The group then gets split into their line groups, as they work on ball movement, midfield craft, defence drills.

During the brief match play, which was split up into three groups. They would rotate playing one another. Darcy and Frampton were always on the same team.

The ball came bouncing over the fence, and my friend kicked it back toward Johnson and a coach, it almost hit the coach. Johnson just laughed and said "Try hit him next time" Haha. Some sense of humour.

Beau spent some time in the midfield.

During the pressure drill, each team had to stop the other one from passing through by running or applying pressure. Hill may have a guarateed spot for round 1 and Bolton said "This is your drill Bobby" but he does need to work on his pressure, as he felt short today. We know how much pace he does have, which is not an issue; but pressure and tackling is something they have tried to get him to work on the last few months.

Thats it until Wed. Which should be the "Main" session/ I'm viewing this as like game day. Light, and then main session, then game day on friday.
Hopefully a couple of the boys are back.

Training Training Reports and Updates