Roast Tyson Stengle sacked after ****ing up again

Then again, me personally I don’t give a s**t if our players want to take recreational drugs, just don’t be dumb enough to get caught.
I think its unofficial philosophy adopted by all Clubs. As long as it doesnt interfere with public image of the Club, the player's performance or the team in general, Clubs do turn a blind eye.

Have you found anyone else suspended from playing for 12 months? There’s no precedence for that either, so it’s a judgement call. We know the AFL’s own 3 strikes policy is 12 weeks, but we chose to go with a full season.
So you reckon two chances to keep your job is not enough. Third one your out.

How many chances you reckon is fair?

The actual "crime" here is acting up in public.
Bad PR.

If one of your employees brought bad PR to your business 3 times in a year, would they keep their job?

Would your apprentice keep his job if he got caught doing doughnuts driving the business Hilux in a MacDonalds carpark? Once, twice, three times.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think at the end of the day, no matter how much support you get given, to truly overcome a drug habit, often you need a change of mindset and a new perspective on life. This would apply to smoking and alcohol addiction as well.

Sometimes all it takes is one significant life change and the addiction becomes no longer the center of one’s attention (eg. Heart attack, stroke, being jobless). But ultimately, the change of mindset needs to happen irrespective of how much support there is.

What makes you think anything has changed?

That’s a bold and baseless assumption

A number of indescretions ....the decision to cut Stengle loose was the correct call, for a young developing list

We knew Stengle was going to be a good player ....we didn't cut him thinking otherwise

Stengle in a very mature team, like GEEL was also a good call .....if we'd been in the situation of the 2016 /17 Crows Team ...there's no doubt we would have retained Stengle

A number of indescretions ....the decision to cut Stengle loose was the correct call, for a young developing list

Wrong

We knew Stengle was going to be a good player ....we didn't cut him thinking otherwise

Wrong

Stengle in a very mature team, like GEEL was also a good call .....if we'd been in the situation of the 2016 /17 Crows Team ...there's no doubt we would have retained Stengle

Wrong.

It’s just another case of our hysterical hissy fits being taken advantage of by other clubs

Around the league, It is no black mark on a player to fall out with the Adelaide Crows.

Wrong

Wrong

Wrong.

It’s just another case of our hysterical hissy fits being taken advantage of by other clubs

Around the league, It is no black mark on a player to fall out with the Adelaide Crows.
I'm gathering, you think I was wrong ......or am I interpreting your post incorrectly ?

When you’re on the board, apparently it’s unlimited.
Waiting for that answer

I guess the difference is the club can't sack a Board Member. Only AFL can.

Like your Missus insisting her brother's spoilt brat son works for you. Despite him doing donuts in the Work Ute at Maccas for the 6th time she still won't let you sack him

So you reckon two chances to keep your job is not enough. Third one your out.

How many chances you reckon is fair?

The actual "crime" here is acting up in public.
Bad PR.

If one of your employees brought bad PR to your business 3 times in a year, would they keep their job?

Would your apprentice keep his job if he got caught doing doughnuts driving the business Hilux in a MacDonalds carpark? Once, twice, three times.

Yeh, most would keep their jobs. Most of Australia would keep their jobs as long as what they did wasn’t done during work time. 1 x covid stand down and 2 x personal time in offseason. Yep, only a fool reckons most workers would be in trouble at work for doing dumb stuff when on leave.

I thought so at the time. In retrospect it was another dumb move that only hurt the club.

I'm gathering, you think I was wrong ......or am I interpreting your post incorrectly ?
He's just a Charlie Murphy fan.

charlie-murphy-wrong.gif

I thought so at the time. In retrospect it was another dumb move that only hurt the club.

He's just a Charlie Murphy fan.

charlie-murphy-wrong.gif
TBF .....if Stengle had failed at GEEL, everyone would say it was the right call ......if he succeeds, it was a terrible call

I think Stengle most likely making to AA squad in 2022, is what really has shocked a lot.

He definitely has taken his game to several levels above where it was at.

I think Stengle most likely making to AA squad in 2022, is what really has shocked a lot.

Another poor call by Hamish, to trade him from RICH ? .......we get our trade's right, more often than wrong, over the years

Yeh, most would keep their jobs. Most of Australia would keep their jobs as long as what they did wasn’t done during work time. 1 x covid stand down and 2 x personal time in offseason. Yep, only a fool reckons most workers would be in trouble at work for doing dumb stuff when on leave.
You are missing my point. I agree all dumb stuff and yes done on own time.

However the sacking is due to putting our club in a bad position PR wise. Three times in a year.

Just like an apprentice doing donuts in the work Ute with your company name on it. Stupid, relatively harmless, but an unprofessional look.

There is a reason no one can find a similar situation, every other player has learnt after one or two such indiscretions. Stengle didnt.

It took being sacked, then passed over in the midseason draft for it to sink in.

Public misbehaviour is a big no no in the AFL. Being a family friendly image based business.

Do your Coke at home or with trusted mates and download the Uber app when on the cans. Keep it out of the public eye.

I think at the end of the day, no matter how much support you get given, to truly overcome a drug habit, often you need a change of mindset and a new perspective on life. This would apply to smoking and alcohol addiction as well.

Sometimes all it takes is one significant life change and the addiction becomes no longer the center of one’s attention (eg. Heart attack, stroke, being jobless). But ultimately, the change of mindset needs to happen irrespective of how much support there is.
JFC.. “a drug addiction”… really?..

having a few channel nine’s on the weekend at a party or somewhere else out on the piss is not a flipping drug addiction..

Did you find a player with 3 public discretions within a year who stayed on a list?

I personally dont care about the Coke use. Heaps of players do it. Privately. Unlike booze no weight gain.

And yeah, I thought he would blow his chance at an AFL career. Pretty happy he didn't.

he got done DUI

then for a minor drug possession

then had a photo taken of him at a party sitting in front of a table that had a plate on it with a white powder on it and absolutely no evidence whatsoever (no matter how that sounds) that it was his plate..

thus the police didnt even bother chasing that final indiscretion down as they wouldnt be able to prove a thing in a court of law.. you know, the place where people are found guilty and are innocent until such time..

its a flipping joke how the club played that entire episode. a complete and utter overreaction.

and now its come back and bite them on the arse. geelong must, especially after their very well known party drug history, just be laughing so flipping hard every time stengle kicks another major.

Bet they can hardly believe their luck…

Stengle was another one of those players who some of our posters had a bizzare fascination with constantly bagging. We'd bring him into the side and you could clearly see there were signs he was building and then he'd get dropped.

His first match in 2019 for instance, he kicked 3 goals and we dropped him for the next game, literally wtf type moments.

Anyway, glad to see him doing well at another club as I feel it was an idiotic decision by the club.

Yes, this is what happens with talented young players - they improve over time...

Stengle was another one of those players who some of our posters had a bizzare fascination with constantly bagging. We'd bring him into the side and you could clearly see there were signs he was building and then he'd get dropped.

His first match in 2019 for instance, he kicked 3 goals and we dropped him for the next game, literally wtf type moments.

Anyway, glad to see him doing well at another club as I feel it was an idiotic decision by the club.
its because he wasnt a tackling machine like murphy or mchenry..

thats more important in a small forward to some around here than pesky little traits like goal sense, x-factor, evasiveness (stengle is actually deceptively quick) and scoreboard pressure…

Newchurch is currently copping the same criticisms..

he got done DUI

then for a minor drug possession

then had a photo taken of him at a party sitting in front of a table that had a plate on it with a white powder on it and absolutely no evidence whatsoever (no matter how that sounds) that it was his plate..

thus the police didnt even bother chasing that final indiscretion down as they wouldnt be able to prove a thing in a court of law.. you know, the place where people are found guilty and are innocent until such time..

its a *ing joke how the club played that entire episode. a complete and utter overreaction.

and now its come back and bite them on the arse. geelong must, especially after their very well known party drug history, just be laughing so *ing hard every time stengle kicks another major.

Bet they can hardly believe their luck…
I agree each one reasonably minor.

But three in one year?

As I said, no other player has had that many public indiscretions in such a short period and survived.

It is a PR/image driven business and you act up too many times, out.

Anyway, happy he fixed it. Not happy he won't be an AA with us, but do believe coming so close to losing his career (well he did) was the kick in the butt he needed.

Way too talented to piss it away.

In his 2 games in 2019, he has totals of 17 disposals, 5 marks, 5 goals and 7 tackles.

So an average of 8.5 disposals, 2.5 marks, 2.5 goals and 3.5 tackles.

And even when we were absolutely crap in 2020, he was averaging 10 disposals, 2 tackles, 1 goal per game in a shortened game time.

Do any of our half forward flankers do these numbers consistently?

His sacking from the Crows was the kick up the arse he needed. To his credit, he got fit, committed to the Eagles and played well enough to get picked by Geelong. He's continued to be professional and committed and is playing outstanding footy in a very good team. Good on him. Move on. He wasn't anywhere near the player he is today when playing at the Crows.

Wrong

Wrong

Wrong.

Whether the decision was right or wrong, I think he just chose the wrong time to do it and the club felt it had to be seen to moving in this ultra positive direction. Had he done it in 2017 or 2016 we may have absorbed it.

Its unfortunate as he showed plenty of good things in the games he played.

Roast Tyson Stengle sacked after ****ing up again