U/16 AIS Scholarship Predictions

Daniel Talia is a big show- 195cm and athletic enough to run 20m under 3sec and a 10.30 3km time trial. Injuries have hurt him but he is what recruiters salivate over.

I'd agree there he's a real talent and only gonna get better and bigger,
The metro will have a few in the side while i think country may only get maybe 2 sidebottom and possibly Ziebell or three counting john Butcher who was injured for the carnival . Watts will definatly get in because he's a talented basketballer,When is it announced.

IIRC he missed the 2nd game against SA. Does anyone know why he missed and could this harm his chances of making AIS?
not the be all and end all. Luke Stanton missed a game in his u16 year but was still picked. Naitanui not eligible as was AIS this year

IIRC he missed the 2nd game against SA. Does anyone know why he missed and could this harm his chances of making AIS?

It obviously went in his favour to miss the 2nd game because he was a standout in the 3rd game and was named in best. I don't no why he missed the second though.

Heyne from power will have to be a big chance with the u17 ruling and agree with Suban. Country would be disappointed with only 2 members for the second year running. thats if sidebottom and ziebell are the only two that make it. Butcher?? didnt play carnival so how does he get selected??

the ais scholarships are super hard to pick, they sometimes give them to the last person you'd think!..but i dont think cachia will get one, they look at the 30 kids most likely to make it to the top he is slow and has poor ball use pretty much the 2 most important things in football for someone his size, all the talls for metro must be a chance because there tall brigade is as good as i have seen at this level: hill, will be a certainty you would think with castricum, griffiths and fitzpatrick are maybe's but the interesting one i put to you is walsh id love to hear of peoples thoughts of his carnival apparently coaching staff were extremely happy with his carnival carrying out many jobs for them such as going down back with success and cutting up luke lowden, with a great attitude those things count in what the selectors look for, but massive concerns over fitness and weight, that changes i think we have a potential top 20 draft pick.. as people forget was victorian basketballer and just started taking footy seriously in the last 12 months any thoughts on that? or how his championship was?, back onto hill yes they liken him to kruezer but thats a massive wrap, kruezer is streets ahead of hill in many areas but hill probably has a better mark so it will be interesting, 2 players i loved in the carnival were blease and scully, scully is a ready made superstar. and blease had a fantastic carnival and in my eyes will both be ais material...watts aswell you would think he is a potential number 1 draft pick. liam tobin was also superb of the half back line and will be considered. grimes was super down back but still not a pinch of s&#t on his brother, but could be in time. love to hear peoples thoughts on these kids because in a couple of years watch out, as shifter said, the best standard carnival he has ever seen!

Reading between the lines and your past threads, you are obviously closely associated with the Northern Knights.

The main fault I noticed with Walsh at the carnival was that he runs flat footed and lacks pace. He has height but is carrying a bit of weight - this can easily be lost with a good pre-season. He was brought in as an emergency (and it was noted that all 3 emergencies Walsh, Wallace & Simcoe were all NK players ????). IMO Walsh didn't have much of an impact on the backline at all.

I don't agree with you at all on Cachia. Cachia is a great player and will get AIS, along with Scully and Blease.

Watts potential number 1 pick, you've got to be joking. he would be lucky to even get an AIS scholarship.

Cachia will pick up a scholarship no-doubt.

And since when was Hill ever compared to Kreuzer? The guys good yes, but ffs he's not gonna be the best player in the land for his age group.

Totally agree with WatchOuts statements, you're clearly involved with the knights, and you seem to give all of these guys a bit of a wrap (excluding cachia).

Jake Walsh will not get a scholarship. The guys too slow, he relied on his massive height advantage in his younger years, but now, he's just gonna get caught out as the full backs he faces now are going to beat him in a one on one 9 times out of 10. Needs to lose the weight if he wants to make it, which he potentially could, but i dont fancy him atm. Was only an emergancy brought in at the last minute - there was a reason for that.

firstly if you read previous posts in other related threads, they have likened hill to a young kruezer (not my opinion!) he is very good but will certainly need to fill out.

as the ais selectors noted they dont pick the best 30 kids in the australia right now, they pick it on the future and cachia is definately in that at the moment but i doubt the ais selectors will see him in the best 30 prospects because of his lack of pace and foot skill. and no i have no affiliation with the the knights any more.

Onto jack watts, overthetop you must have something against this kid because from all your previous posts its obvious you are a st.kevins student. he is 194 cm tall and runs 20m in 2.91 and can take over head marks until the cows come home so wake up and smell the roses, he is a geniune talent.

Scully and blease i definately agree with they were superb in the carnival and deserve the rewards. Another kid that reminded me of cachia in qld was hooper (nothing physical but just how they played) they are both in the best 30 kids at the moment but i dont think either of them will be ais scholarship winners because of their deficiancy's are too great (hooper especially).

my picks from vic metro are:

Scully
Blease
Tobin
Hill
castricum
fitzpatrick/griffiths maybe?
millard also a chance

Definately to have to be in the best 30 to be selected in the AIS. Luke Stanton last year (vic metro) got dropped for the second game and was no where near top 30 players of the carnival but was selected. he was chosen on height, speed, agility and endurance not his football ability.
open wide to those who you least expect, but have potential.

firstly if you read previous posts in other related threads, they have likened hill to a young kruezer (not my opinion!) he is very good but will certainly need to fill out.

as the ais selectors noted they dont pick the best 30 kids in the australia right now, they pick it on the future and cachia is definately in that at the moment but i doubt the ais selectors will see him in the best 30 prospects because of his lack of pace and foot skill. and no i have no affiliation with the the knights any more.

Onto jack watts, overthetop you must have something against this kid because from all your previous posts its obvious you are a st.kevins student. he is 194 cm tall and runs 20m in 2.91 and can take over head marks until the cows come home so wake up and smell the roses, he is a geniune talent.

Scully and blease i definately agree with they were superb in the carnival and deserve the rewards. Another kid that reminded me of cachia in qld was hooper (nothing physical but just how they played) they are both in the best 30 kids at the moment but i dont think either of them will be ais scholarship winners because of their deficiancy's are too great (hooper especially).

my picks from vic metro are:

Scully
Blease
Tobin
Hill
castricum
fitzpatrick/griffiths maybe?
millard also a chance
i go to hailebury

and look yeh, watts probably has got what it takes to get drafted, probably a top 20-30 pick. there is just so much hype around the kid and i dont think he is yet to prove himself. and will he choose footy over bball? that choice might hinder his dedication towards footy. but the guys an athelete and as long as he stays reasonably skillful he looks to have a future.

cachia probably does lack the speed, but makes up for it in strength, ability and attack on the ball. will be a toss-up on further reflection as to if he gets one.

scully will definately get one. the kids a freak-show. and looks like the number 1 pick.

Castricums and interesting choice, i saw 1 game which was vs hailebury and he held his own against our ruckmen who is one of, if not the best in the APS. he and purcell rucked exceptionally well that day. didnt see much of them from then on in but what i did see was pretty gd. i wouldnt have picked castricum as an AIS scholarship winner out of what ive seen of him, but i havent seen him that much.

i agree with your other scholarship winners from vic metro. fitzpatrick will get one IMO but i think griffiths will miss out, but not by much.

Daniel talia's broken foot may rule him out but 195 cm athletes that move like that are rare. Cachia is a terrific footballer not sure about his athleticism

As you say it's hard to say what they look for but for mine i would say there's not a lot of up side to walsh ,he has to be lazy to be so unfit his family are in the afl system so he should know what is required and if he was fair dinkum he would at least present himself fit. he has got a good footy brain i think but lacks athleticism and for mine a lot are ahead of him. To say he did a job on lowden doesnt mean much lowden is very very raw at moment and with his hieght he needs to put a lot of weight on he has talent and will end up a lot better than a hill or castricum but at the moment is very raw and was also carry back stress fractures at the carnival . Cachia is an interesting one he has given himself the best chance and is a very good player his worry might be that he is going to be a bit small as a key defender and not quick or clean enough for a small defender or on baller . Castricum will be lucky he doesnt do a lot around the ground and hill is overated for mine but has size on his side . Watts will definatley go just being a gun basketballer and handy at footy ensures he is an athelete worth putting ais commitment into. Scully is a dead set certainty and blease would be close .

The country boys looked way of the mark so sidebottom and Ziebell would be the only 2 from there that might be included along with butcher who they rate highly.

As you say it's hard to say what they look for but for mine i would say there's not a lot of up side to walsh ,he has to be lazy to be so unfit his family are in the afl system so he should know what is required and if he was fair dinkum he would at least present himself fit. he has got a good footy brain i think but lacks athleticism and for mine a lot are ahead of him. To say he did a job on lowden doesnt mean much lowden is very very raw at moment and with his hieght he needs to put a lot of weight on he has talent and will end up a lot better than a hill or castricum but at the moment is very raw and was also carry back stress fractures at the carnival . Cachia is an interesting one he has given himself the best chance and is a very good player his worry might be that he is going to be a bit small as a key defender and not quick or clean enough for a small defender or on baller . Castricum will be lucky he doesnt do a lot around the ground and hill is overated for mine but has size on his side . Watts will definatley go just being a gun basketballer and handy at footy ensures he is an athelete worth putting ais commitment into. Scully is a dead set certainty and blease would be close .

The country boys looked way off the mark so sidebottom and Ziebell would be the only 2 from there that might be included along with butcher who they rate highly.
I'm impressed. You sure know your footballers, Sportz1. I don't know the Vic kids as well as you, do but everything said above is spot on, I totally agree.

Anyway, Given that Vic Country are Div1 ,I would be very suprised if only 2 players were selected for AIS. I would think div1 would comprise close to 20 players of the squad, and Div2 - 10 players. Something like- Metro 7, WA 6 ,Country 5, SA 4, QLD4 ,Tas 2 ,NT1 ,NSW1,. I cant imagine only 2 vic country players picked and yet 4 Qlders. I reckon Vic Country will have 3 minimum, and 5 max.I know who my money would be on in a Vic Country Vs QLD game and am sure QLD will get 3 maybe 4 in. Vic country are still a way better outfit.
Anyway..... Here are my tips for QLD. And no I have seen none of QLD matches, but going on What I've seen of the kids over the past 5 years, these are the Gems- Declan Bevan, Jesse Haberfield ,Justin Harding,Tayler Rolfe, and a smokey- Ben Jencke Cain. ( The same 5 I tipped to be the standouts for the recent carnival).

U/16 AIS Scholarship Predictions