• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

U19 (Premier)

Oh and that oval that OC v. OX was played on was WAY too small for ammo's footy... one kick from the centre was halfway into the f50 and it was congestion all day! Hope the main oval is the one usually played on...? Anyone?

With St Bedes winning their first game by 110 points and yesterdays game by over 120 points against last years premiers what do you reckon their chances would be of maybe going up into 19s premier and how would reckon they would compete if they did go up? They did beat De La Salle in a practise match winning by 7 goals

I do not think St Bedes will win all their games by those sort of margins. They would compete awfully well in Premier as at home they would be close to winning 5/6 games - at least.

I would not rate their opponent yesterday as current Premier standard as their squad is tiny and they lack height and defensive personnal.

But I do rate the Tigers vv highly and their promotion into Premier seems obvious for 2008.

Chances probably aren't great considering we're already going in to round 3 of a comp with 9 games (x 2).
But if they did come up i'd wager they'd have a decent crack, probably not finish in top 4 and it would be an effectively pointless exercise. (i wouldn't take much from the de la game) Despite big wins, at this stage St Bedes have only outscored xavs by 7 pts, and de la by 60 against an undoubtedly far-poorer opponent. Probably would have to SPANK beauy or OM's before it was considered I reckon.
Also, their movement up would depend upon next year's expectation as well - hence why some years even the premiers haven't gone up! VAFA wont just move a team up who is killing it in one year, but then will just get pants'd and relegated the following year...

Conclusion out of 10: somewhere between 0 and 2.

But Lord knows stranger things have happened!

It is a concern if Section 2 - of 5 obviously - can not be too consistent but such is the nature of Unders. I agree that why promote them unless they would win 8-10 games and play some September action ??

Anyone seen Carey play yet ? ? I reckon they struggle for wins - may 4 or 5 would be it ? ?

Oh and that oval that OC v. OX was played on was WAY too small for ammo's footy... one kick from the centre was halfway into the f50 and it was congestion all day! Hope the main oval is the one usually played on...? Anyone?
No, Dunshea [Main Oval] is used only by the 1sts, and school sides. Traffic on it is kept to a minimum to keep it in the condition it's in. The Old Carey 2nds and U/19s always play on the back ground. There are plenty of smaller grounds going about.

It is a concern if Section 2 - of 5 obviously - can not be too consistent but such is the nature of Unders. I agree that why promote them unless they would win 8-10 games and play some September action ??

Anyone seen Carey play yet ? ? I reckon they struggle for wins - may 4 or 5 would be it ? ?
Carey were reasonably competitive on the weekend against Xavs. More competitive than the bottom 3 sides last year, I'd dare say.

Xavs look to be a bit smaller than last year, lots of mid size players again.

No, Dunshea [Main Oval] is used only by the 1sts, and school sides. Traffic on it is kept to a minimum to keep it in the condition it's in. The Old Carey 2nds and U/19s always play on the back ground. There are plenty of smaller grounds going about.
I agree- it is not a small ground at all. One kick from the centre on most grounds is half way into the forward fifty!

watch out for rupo they are a massive chance this year. with the likes of andrew jones trotting his was around the track and is the favorite for b n f. and there are rumours that james drummond is making his way back in the rupo reds. the word is he kicked 21 goals in a practice match against heywood lions and is one big boy and will be a tough match up for those private school pretty boys........

andrew jones, whoever that is, can trot his way around the track all he likes. Wait till rupo come up against some quality opposition before you go spruiking their chances.

I agree- it is not a small ground at all. One kick from the centre on most grounds is half way into the forward fifty!

What a ridiculous comment! Of course it's a small ground: just because you support/play for OC doesn't mean you have to defend it's ground-size. People were kicking goals from 10 and 15m past the arc, and a clearance led to a mark in the goalsquare. The wings are wide, and it's not small in that respect, but end-to-end it's probably a little short for ammo footy. You only need look at the style of play from flank-flank to see that.
Swallow your pride oc.

JohnfromtheVAFA, good to hear rupo are a massive chance: results so far seem to suggest so. But you've lowered yourself already you big tough hulking hard-at-it country man. Don't know why we ever expected anything else from you fellas, but i guess civility is a small price to pay for being pretty boys...

What a ridiculous comment! Of course it's a small ground: just because you support/play for OC doesn't mean you have to defend it's ground-size. People were kicking goals from 10 and 15m past the arc, and a clearance led to a mark in the goalsquare. The wings are wide, and it's not small in that respect, but end-to-end it's probably a little short for ammo footy. You only need look at the style of play from flank-flank to see that.
Swallow your pride oc.

JohnfromtheVAFA, good to hear rupo are a massive chance: results so far seem to suggest so. But you've lowered yourself already you big tough hulking hard-at-it country man. Don't know why we ever expected anything else from you fellas, but i guess civility is a small price to pay for being pretty boys...

No pride mate- much prefer the bigger main oval, however over the years have played at many many smaller ammo grounds- it was a statement based on experience not pride. If we could we would have all games on the main ground.

Haha, a 40m line is a 40m line. :rolleyes: Wouldn't be much shorter than De La's ground, probably a little thinner though. So if you want to take the points against them away from Stradbroke, Saturday's match might come in handy.

After years of playing school footy against Carey, i was appauled to find out that ground is used for ammos footy. Compare that to the likes of the Marcellin or Trinity mains. Surely the unders pull rank on school footy.

Secondly, any opinions on the other games that were played this week?

bernards and uni was a tough match. very scrappy. but i think both sides are teams to watch during the year. uni will definitly improve as they get to know one another and get used to each others style of play. bernards also look to be dangerous. they have good depth and have been playing good footy so far this year.

De la would have beaten Skevs by 20 goals if Skevs did not drop men back in defence from the first bounce.

Could be a long year if that's going to be their strategy.

We will get a true test of comp powerhouses in the coming weeks when the comp soughts itself out.

Still like Xavs, De La

From all reports, Scotch threw the game away against marcellin in the first half for the second week in a row only to lose by the same margin that marcellin kicked in the first qtr. Scotchies don't look like they can handle premier this seasaon. Consider them written off

De la would have beaten Skevs by 20 goals if Skevs did not drop men back in defence from the first bounce.

Could be a long year if that's going to be their strategy.

We will get a true test of comp powerhouses in the coming weeks when the comp soughts itself out.

Still like Xavs, De La

Were you at the Skevs De la game? I didnt play for either side, so was on the wing and St Kevins had 8 in their foward half the first quarter to De La's six. And De La had a free man back.. Skevs had a free man on the wing, due to them doing this?
Second Quarter it was the exact opposite. Both teams had more down back going into the wind.

Why would Skevs have someone down back when De La had one shot on goal in the first quarter.

De La just had more legs in this game, finishing off each of the first three quarters with late goals and then over ran SKOB in the last quarter.

What I ment to say was that they were getting large numbers behind the ball - a very defensive tactic as opposed to trying to win the game from the start.

No matter they will probably not make the finals anyway

It seems theres no sign of Footy Nerd this year. Maybe he has eaten too much humble pie after all those foolish predictions last year. :D

old scotch are serious battlers this year. worse than last year. rupo will crush them this weekend. blues are the goods

Tips for the weekends matches:
rupo over scotch
blacks over kevins
bernards in a tight one
xavs over blues
de la over carey

Anyone disagree?

Yesterday 12:24Super_DalAny news on VIC rep squad?

Dal,
The initial u19 VIC rep squad of 43 is in the Amateur Record this week.
I believe last year it was very average weather up north so hopefully it is a ripping day to watch the young blokes rip it up.

Cheers, Dud

U19 (Premier)