Umpiring

Are they?

• Yes

Votes: 52 49.5%
  • No

Votes: 17 16.2%
  • They will until this group has officially been broken, Hardwick aint Coach and Gale isn't CEO

Votes: 36 34.3%

Thought umpires was outstanding today , missed one howler with jack head ripped off 4q but they’re never gonna get all of em
And yea , I noticed this R that they were stopping games when player down , this is a work place safety thingy those fw were reckless in what they did last week , wish someone reported them
Yup...work safety!

No mate, it is and should've been a 50 metre penalty, infringing a player by taking him out of the play when he has the possibility to participate in that sequence. The rule was introduced just over a decade ago, and was first used against Richmond (of course) at Kardinia Park when GA Jr was scragged after making a handball, resulting in a 50m metre penalty and a goal to Geelong.

From wiki

"There are also two types of in-play infringement for which a 50-metre penalty is automatically applied on top of the initial free kick. These are:
  • A free kick for illegally holding or impeding a player's ability to participate in the "next act of play", for example by preventing a player from receiving a handball while running into open space"

He didn't scrag him though - he ko'd him which is what the free kick was paid for. So he was able to participate in the next bit of play. Except that he couldn't because he was knocked out. That rule was brought in for the hold after a player has disposed of it and is unable to be run on and get it because of a hold. Not a bump. If you watch any games live (and possibly on tv), you'll see the handball 'giver' often blocked/bumped by an opponent to stop the 1-2. Perfectly legal (unless you bump them in the head like Stewart did). if you hold (there was one not paid to Edwards against WCE on the wing in front of the AFL members on Sunday) that's where the 50 can be and should be paid.

"We need to get better at attracting frees"

i.e. staging for frees is a core part of winning football games now. The rules and interpretations have changed and so we have to manipulate the umps by diving, ducking, staging and throwing our arms around.

What a change. When Dimma is basically saying we need to catch up on the 'cheating' to be competitive, then we are all doomed.

Only glaring mistake I thought they made on the weekend was the non 50 to Bolton on the wing when he got dragged down after getting rid of the handball when the 1-2 was on.

I know that we bang on about the umpires, but the Hipwood decision is just unbelievable. I'm just gobsmacked that the AFL would sanction 50m for umpire dissent, yet only hand out a paltry fine to Hipwood for deliberately pushing Gardiner into an umpire and let's not forget 'the potential' to cause injury to said umpire, yet only gets a slap on the wrist !!!!!!!

Contact with umpires is not on as Toby Greene found out, WTF is wrong with these campaigners?????

My frustration with the powers that be has no bounds.......

Thought it was in the tribunal rules that pushing a player into an ump can only be a fine? Stupid rule, imagine they will change it.

I know that we bang on about the umpires, but the Hipwood decision is just unbelievable. I'm just gobsmacked that the AFL would sanction 50m for umpire dissent, yet only hand out a paltry fine to Hipwood for deliberately pushing Gardiner into an umpire and let's not forget 'the potential' to cause injury to said umpire, yet only gets a slap on the wrist !!!!!!!

Contact with umpires is not on as Toby Greene found out, WTF is wrong with these campaigners?????

Convinced this season has morphed into another Matrix franchise flick.

Plays for Brisbane not Richmond. There is your answer

"We need to get better at attracting frees"

i.e. staging for frees is a core part of winning football games now. The rules and interpretations have changed and so we have to manipulate the umps by diving, ducking, staging and throwing our arms around.

What a change. When Dimma is basically saying we need to catch up on the 'cheating' to be competitive, then we are all doomed.
You’re spot on there Dr Tigris. I was really conflicted by Dimma’s remarks - really proud we’ve been a club that hasn’t gone down that path and achieved huge success, yet saddened by the fact we may have to do this now to keep pace with the league. The thought of coaching or teaching players how to deliberately draw free kicks just doesn’t seem right - like teaching someone to dive in soccer. Yet at the Cats game last night watching Selwood deliberately position himself to maximise his chance of getting high contact (and subsequently rewarded) just bemused me. We don’t want head high contact in the game yet we reward players who lean in, lead with the head when picking up the ball (when they should brace and turn their head away), lift arms to make sure a tackle is high, or drop their knees. Any suspicion of milking this stuff should be play on. We all talk about a duty of care of others to a player, but they have a duty of care to themselves too. It’s a blight on the game and is it too harsh to call it cheating?

It's legalised cheating.

Ginnivan is said to be so awesome, and exciting ... and ducks into eveything.

The AFL has continually changed rules to try and create AFLX. In doing so they have created so many dodgy rule interpretations that playing straightforward old fashioned good footy is a disadvantage. So if we join in and try to milk frees like crazy then will the media etc change their tune? I don't know. But when it is to your advantage to put yourself in danger rather than get the ball then the game itself is in trouble.

• Ducking/leading with the head to get high frees - self inflicted head injuries
  • Shrugging to push the arm up to get high frees - self inflicted head injuries
  • Staying upright and deliberately running into someone on the ground getting the ball - self inflicted leg/joint injuries
  • Taking huge dives to milk a free - loss of respect

I could go with HTB, holding KPFs etc but what the heck.

That Dimma has said we are joining in the cheating. Great :drunk: . Hope we win the premiership and dodgy frees get us over the line.

But that Dimma is now open that we need to milk more frees says how bad it has gotten.

It's legalised cheating.

The AFL has continually changed rules to try and create AFLX. In doing so they have created so many dodgy rule interpretations that playing straightforward old fashioned good footy is a disadvantage. So if we join in and try to milk frees like crazy then will the media etc change their tune? I don't know. But when it is to your advantage to put yourself in danger rather than get the ball then the game itself is in trouble.

• Ducking/leading with the head to get high frees - self inflicted head injuries
  • Staying upright and deliberately running into someone on the ground getting the ball - self inflicted leg/joint injuries

That Dimma has said we are joining in the cheating. Great :drunk: . Hope we win the premiership and dodgy frees get us over the line.

But that Dimma is now open that we need to milk more frees says how bad it has gotten.

The assumption that his approach is to coach milking frees is not correct.
Get more free kicks may well be tackling technique to get a dropping the ball/incorrect disposal rather than a ball up. So hold one arm and try to dislodge the ball, for example.
There could be an accentuation of push in back, holding. Lynch/JR get nuthin but seem to give away heaps of frees. Fix that discrepancy = goals.

The assumption that his approach is to coach milking frees is not correct.
Get more free kicks may well be tackling technique to get a dropping the ball/incorrect disposal rather than a ball up. So hold one arm and try to dislodge the ball, for example.
There could be an accentuation of push in back, holding. Lynch/JR get nuthin but seem to give away heaps of frees. Fix that discrepancy = goals.

OK, so not cheating. But exaggeration etc.

I don't know. But saying that not playing for free kicks is costing us games is a strong statement. Nowadays no one much notices, because it's part of the game. But what that says is a lot

It's legalised cheating.

It's time for Harry High Step to get involved. Can be any player from any team.

For the Duckwoods... a knee in the ducked head full force
For the vaginas who duck low and slide, stamp on their head as they slide in.

For what it worth, the injured player( fractured skull) in both cases should sue the umpires association for more than they are worth.
The fluoros continue to reward these players for dangerous behaviour despite having capacity to penalize.

Umpiring