U19 Under 19's North Divison 1

Reckon Carey would object to that! OEG have played one team of note and got pumped by 8 goals at home yesterday
And just to give you an update, Killworth kicked another 10 goals yesterday and Miriklis and Deev 4 each. and yes Scribe your assertion is correct, they are well coached
They beat them by 80 something points...

exactly.. i wouldnt be counting carey as a 'team of note'

yes they can run over the weaker sides but results are showing that they cant compete with the stronger ones. this week against fitzroy will certainly tell us whether they are a team to worry about

So far none of Fitzroy, Old Camberwell or St Bernards have played each other or the same opposition so it's hard to place one above the other at this stage. Until these three sides play each other its going to be hard to get a read on their true quality. Will be interesting to see how the ladders sitting after round 9 when everyones played each other.

any reports from the matches?
looks like essendon provided a good contest for fitzroy?

Old Essendon were 3 goals up midway through the 2nd quarter, then missed 3 easy shots on goal. May have increased the margin to 5 or 6 goals by half time, and broken the backs of the opposition. Instead, the 'outside' players for fitzroy (who not once put their head over the ball, instead waited outside the packs for a cheap handpass) kicked truly to go into half time 3 points ahead.

Essendon were unlucky with injuries and fitzroy piled on 4 goals in junk time. Bottom line, fitzroy not as good as what their score line suggests.

Reckon Carey would object to that! OEG have played one team of note and got pumped by 8 goals at home yesterday
And just to give you an update, Killworth kicked another 10 goals yesterday and Miriklis and Deev 4 each. and yes Scribe your assertion is correct, they are well coached

Please get your facts straight, if you were actually at the game, you would of seen 4 goals piled on in junk time due to Essendon injuries. 8 goals does not reflect the true contest.

Reckon OCam are the real deal, got Killworth on his way to 100, last years school captain in Hart, and have Miriklis who had every game in the seniors last year. Dunno what he is doing in the unders
we'll see how good killworth is when he plays a decent side which can actually get two up at the contest to block and spoil. Not only that, a decent midfield who can stop the ball being delivered to him lace out.

Old Essendon were 3 goals up midway through the 2nd quarter, then missed 3 easy shots on goal. May have increased the margin to 5 or 6 goals by half time, and broken the backs of the opposition. Instead, the 'outside' players for fitzroy (who not once put their head over the ball, instead waited outside the packs for a cheap handpass) kicked truly to go into half time 3 points ahead.

Essendon were unlucky with injuries and fitzroy piled on 4 goals in junk time. Bottom line, fitzroy not as good as what their score line suggests.

so they missed a few goals in the 2ND QUARTER. and thats why they lost by 8 goals? fair bit of excuse making there

u would certainly want to back all this up when OE come up against OC in a couple of weeks.. should be interesting

Bottom Line: Fitzroy 19.14.128 d Old Ess 11.14.80 at Old Essendon.

Just wondering, when did you think "junk time" started? When OE were so far behind that they decided they couldn't win the game and gave up?

Good sides will play the game out to the end regardless of the scoreline.

Bottom Line: Fitzroy 19.14.128 d Old Ess 11.14.80 at Old Essendon.

Just wondering, when did you think "junk time" started? When OE were so far behind that they decided they couldn't win the game and gave up?

Good sides will play the game out to the end regardless of the scoreline.

junk time starts when there is 2-3 minutes to go, and a 'recieving' team like fitzroy hangs out the back like they did all game, and capitalise on fatigue of a hard working unit all day. They will easily get rolled on a wet day, because none of their players would be willing to put their head over the ball.

so they missed a few goals in the 2ND QUARTER. and thats why they lost by 8 goals? fair bit of excuse making there

u would certainly want to back all this up when OE come up against OC in a couple of weeks.. should be interesting

fair bit of excuse making? if you were at the game, you would be saying the same thing, that the contest was not indicative of the scoreline.

junk time starts when there is 2-3 minutes to go, and a 'recieving' team like fitzroy hangs out the back like they did all game, and capitalise on fatigue of a hard working unit all day. They will easily get rolled on a wet day, because none of their players would be willing to put their head over the ball.

What a stupid comment. A receiving team? What does that even mean? Who do we receive it from then? I suppose it was you guys then? Getting under the packs then feeding it out to us?
And we capitalised on a hard working team? And Fitzroys a non-hard working team? That shows something about our skill level then if we beat you by 8 goals at home without working very hard.

Its true Fitzroy wern't playing the best footy, but we still beat you while playing 75%, which says something about OEG.

that the contest was not indicative of the scoreline.

It does say something about the scoreline, it says that OEG cant play out a full game of footy.

no where in that previous post did i mention oe had a better midfield. Go over it again, maybe read it out a loud this time so you understand it.
You said wait until they come up against a decent midfield (inferring OE cos your clearly from OE) that will stop the ball being delivered to Killworth lace out. In order for that to happen you'd assume that you mean that OE will beat OC in the middle? Or will OEs fowards stop the ball being delivered lace out to him?

What a stupid comment. A receiving team? What does that even mean? Who do we receive it from then? I suppose it was you guys then? Getting under the packs then feeding it out to us?
And we capitalised on a hard working team? And Fitzroys a non-hard working team? That shows something about our skill level then if we beat you by 8 goals at home without working very hard.

Its true Fitzroy wern't playing the best footy, but we still beat you while playing 75%, which says something about OEG.

It does say something about the scoreline, it says that OEG cant play out a full game of footy.

Very well said 'Goodweekend', i think we can all assume that 'ShirtFront' is clearly a mupput, who can't handle the fact that they got rolled. Whinge all you like mate, you didn't get the four points. Maybe you should take your head off over the footy, look around you and see how a supior team plays.... next topic

A recieving team is one that has close to no players willing to put their head over the ball. Fitzroy will get rolled in the wet, and not that good as everyone thinks. Of course you fitzroy bunnies are going to defend that, but your soft as any team in the vafa comes. Im not talking up OE, just talking down fitzroy.;)

Shirt Front, when did you realise Fitzroy were a 'receiving' (i before e except after c) team? The reason I ask, is that if you had noticed they were hanging off the packs, WHY DIDN'T YOU MAN UP? It is a basic fundamental of footy.

Shirt Front, i wouldnt be surprised to see Killer kick another bag against u blokes, he clearly is the standout forward in the comp and is always taking pack marks with 2-4 opposition players against him.

Fair dinkum Damo picking OEG to beat the snowies. What were you thinking?
OEG were beaten at home last week, outscored in the last half , 11 goals to 3 and 17 shots to 8 . The snowdogs have been doing what good teams do and ruthlessly despatching their opposition. I'd be surprised if OEG get within 10 goals of St. B's, especially at the snakepit
Sharks should beat Banyule
Bulleen should account for Aquinas
Fitzroy should beat Carey at home. This game is no formality OCar are much better than the postings I've read

A hard working unit would be able to run out four quarters like fitzroy did. You seem to be insulting fitzroy for being fitter physically and mentally than the opposition... OEG couldn't keep up with them for four quarters.
Fitzroy will have some decent competitors but they will only come in teams that can run out the full game with them.

Pretty simple win for Fitzroy yesterday over Old Carey at Ramsden Street sets up the first of the big clashes out at The Pit where two of the top 3 face-off for the first time this season.

St Bernards will be backing up from a bone-crunching encounter against those tough, committed, hard-ball magnets at OEG, so I'd expect this to negate their obvious home ground advantage.

How'd you go yesterday Shirtfront? Get a few hard balls and then accidentally dish them out to the opposition's lurking down-hill skiers again?

I see the VAFA selectors have already started making their rounds.
If Miriklis doesn't make the squad after the season he had last year there is something wrong with the selection process

Miriklis is a great player, but surely selectors choose current form as opposed to previous seasons......
However he should be able to make the team, as 19's standards isnt really a challenge for him compared to the 1's last year... Thought he'd be in the hunt for the 1's at Camberwell again this year....

Miriklis is a great player, but surely selectors choose current form as opposed to previous seasons......
However he should be able to make the team, as 19's standards isnt really a challenge for him compared to the 1's last year... Thought he'd be in the hunt for the 1's at Camberwell again this year....

Why is he playing in the u/19s? Forms obviously good, been named in the best twice and has kicked 9 goals.
Whats going on?

U19 Under 19's North Divison 1