Pies fans were pretty quiet at the G yesterday. It doesn't help that we give up the first 2-3 goals a game on average this year either.Oppo supporters make more noise than Freo. We used to be very loud at Subi
Freo supporters are ****ing mice since we played in a grand final.Oppo supporters make more noise than Freo. We used to be very loud at Subi
Apparently… Sumich was considered.
Oppo supporters make more noise than Freo. We used to be very loud at Subi
The "Put your hands up in the air" song that they played after our goals vs. Carlton was pathetic. I don't blame our players for intentionally not kicking goals to avoid hearing it.Oppo supporters make more noise than Freo. We used to be very loud at Subi
The idea was okay with the Purple Hands foundation. But let the crowd create the atmosphere. Thunderstruck gets annoying pretty quick at normal home games.The "Put your hands up in the air" song that they played after our goals vs. Carlton was pathetic. I don't blame our players for intentionally not kicking goals to avoid hearing it.
I don't think it's nostalgia so much as maybe old age affecting your hearing...? Then again, I'm entering the wrong side of middle aged and the crowd still sounds as loud as ever to me.It isnt just nostalgia. I see clips from Subi games in the noughts and the crowd are going right the * off.
I had a mate who lived near Subi - he wasn’t a footy fan - who swore that Freo crowds were louder than Weavils.
We are now like Weavils fans were then. Placid, docile - waiting for the sanctioned moment to cheer.
imo after goal music does nothing to create atmosphere. In fact it feels like the music has the opposite effect since people can't hear the crowd around them getting into it with the shitty remixes being blasted at max volume.The idea was okay with the Purple Hands foundation. But let the crowd create the atmosphere. Thunderstruck gets annoying pretty quick at normal home games.
Personally feel the home cheer squad sucks and the Victorian Cheer Squad leaves it in the dust. Pre 2005, was loud and passionate. Now it’s just mehimo after goal music does nothing to create atmosphere. In fact it feels like the music has the opposite effect since people can't hear the crowd around them getting into it with the shitty remixes being blasted at max volume.
Yes, it's actually hilarious that people suggest these things. Every single person that was successful was unsuccessful before they were successful. Such a pointless thread.How do unsuccessful people become successful?
Look at Richmond. Absolute basket case before hiring Gale and Penny O Neal. Committed to the cause, and now they’re the heroes.
Let’s be honest, not many would want to take on the Fremantle CEO and President jobs.
Club | AFL Funding | Members 2023 (000’s) | Premierships won since 1995 |
Gold Coast | $25m | 20 | 0 |
GWS | $25m | 30 | 0 |
Brisbane | $18-19m | 43 | 3 |
North Melbourne | $18-19m | 48 | 2 |
St Kilda | $18-19m | 58 | 0 |
Melbourne | $16m | 67 | 1 |
Western Bulldogs | $16m | 51 | 1 |
Port Adelaide | $16m | 58 | 1 |
Sydney | $16m | 62 | 2 |
Fremantle | $11.5m-12.5m | 61 | 0 |
Carlton | $11.5m-12.5m | 91 | 1 |
Adelaide | $11.5m-12.5m | 65 | 2 |
Geelong | $11.5m-12.5m | 80 | 4 |
Essendon | $11m-11.5m | 78 | 1 |
Richmond | $10.5-11m | 99 | 3 |
Hawthorn | $10.5-11m | 55 | 4 |
Collingwood | $10.5-11m | 90 | 1 |
West Coast | $10.5-11 | 106 | 2 |
And lots of AFL money poured in to the club. Lots of concessions. A lot of AFL people appointed there to make the club a success.Pretty decent side with lots of experience
Well thought out post.Should we have won a premiership by now?
Obviously they’re not easy to win and we’re not all playing on an level playing field.
My heart tells me we should have had one by now but maybe the numbers say otherwise. Funding is an indicator of wealth/revenue and it is commonly accepted that the wealthier clubs are more likely to win a premiership. Wealth strongly correlates with membership.
Since we joined the competition, the expansion clubs haven’t won one despite being gifted money, picks, academy zones etc. etc. but they haven’t been around as long as us. Brisbane and the Roos had a period of success but that was quite a while ago now. Saints haven’t won one. The Pies, Blues, Bombers, Dees, Dogs and and Port only have one. The Hawks, Sydney, WC and Geelong are rich clubs and are notable for having multiple periods of success over the last 28 years. Richmond’s 3 came in a spurt but they endured a long unsuccessful period.
We’re a middle of the table club, maybe you have to be a rich club to create period of sustained success. No poor or middling club has managed to do it if you exclude the merged Lions/Bears.
Last year was a false dawn, this year we have a young squad and some of those youngins that looked promising early on are now looking considerably more dubious or at least don’t project as well as they did in their first year. I’m not sure if the coach is up to it, is there disharmony between the coach, footy manager and CEO? If so, that doesn’t bode well for us.
Should we have won one by now after 28 years? Probably yes. Do we look like winning one in the next year or 2 with our list, our current coach and the opportunities available to us via the coming drafts? I don’t think so. Will we have a period of sustained success in the near future? That looks highly unlikely to me.
I don’t know whether you have to have experienced success to create further success but whether that is a moot argument or not I don’t have confidence that the people currently in charge can deliver what they have promised in the timeframe they have promised it.
Club AFL Funding Members 2023 (000’s) Premierships won since 1995 Gold Coast $25m 20 0 GWS $25m 30 0 Brisbane $18-19m 43 3 North Melbourne $18-19m 48 2 St Kilda $18-19m 58 0 Melbourne $16m 67 1 Western Bulldogs $16m 51 1 Port Adelaide $16m 58 1 Sydney $16m 62 2 Fremantle $11.5m-12.5m 61 0 Carlton $11.5m-12.5m 91 1 Adelaide $11.5m-12.5m 65 2 Geelong $11.5m-12.5m 80 4 Essendon $11m-11.5m 78 1 Richmond $10.5-11m 99 3 Hawthorn $10.5-11m 55 4 Collingwood $10.5-11m 90 1 West Coast $10.5-11 106 2
All poor organisations blame lack of (outside) funding for their failures.And lots of AFL money poured in to the club. Lots of concessions. A lot of AFL people appointed there to make the club a success.
Still a lot of assistance from the AFL.
ThisYou know there are 15 other teams in the competition all equally or better resourced all employing the best people they can get all trying to achieve the same thing as us?
Some of them have access to priority concessions of various types, some have a seemingly endless line of elite father/son talent they get for free, some are located in desirable locations & have long established systems of paying players outside the cap. Most of them are in the capital of AFL heartland & can raid with impunity the products of the elite development systems that go to feeder clubs for a few years first.
And yes, some of them are better run than us but even some of those teams with all their advantages haven’t won a flag in the time we’ve existed.
I reckon we have some internal problems & possibly Peter Bell’s ambitions are at the heart of some of them but overall I think we’ve made some progress in the post Pav, post Ross era.
We’ve made some howlers too & as we’ve seen we mismanaged the list quite badly at the end of last year. Losing the players we did and most especially the retiring of Mundy & the brokenness of Fyfe has left us without sufficient experience & leadership onfield.
Most questionable in my book is the lack of investment in the forward half & very little capital to improve that.
I think the club is generally well run these days & we have a really solid group of young players devoted to success developing together.
This is a team capable of playing good football & subject to the failings of inexperience.
Is it the right football department & coach to realize this potential. Jury is out.
But it’s an awful year. A lot of people are unhappy. And we desperately desperately need some elite players in the forwards.
If Fyfe was even 80% of what he was, Chapman had played all year, so many players hadn’t gone backwards (what has happened to Pearce, Cox, Walker, Shultz, Switta,Freddy etc?) and we hadn’t lost Logue & Acres for peanuts this year would look a lot different.
Something ain’t right but who’s fault is it? I don’t know.
World has become too PC which doesn’t help but I agreeFreo supporters are ******* mice since we played in a grand final.
No current season stats available