VAFA A Section GF

roberta williams said:
Why waste time and effort talking about a bunck of (o(ks. They might be able to play footy, but it dosen't make them good blokes. Oh well I suppose they need one highlight in their suburban lives. Sad to think that for most of them winning a VAFA GF will be the highlight of their sad little lives.

The again what's even more sad is people like OXFC who isn't even good enough to play in the match coming on here and crowing about the result. Very little man.

...of course, I can understand that coming from someone who plays dress-ups on a discussion board pretending they're a gangster. Highlight? Sad?...more like little methinks. :D

Jingles1976 said:
...of course, I can understand that coming from someone who plays dress-ups on a discussion board pretending they're a gangster. Highlight? Sad?...more like little methinks. :D

Coming from someone who thinks he's some sort of Xmas carol.

Even worse, methinks

Han Solo said:
I have realised the error of my ways, and I promise I will cease my constant anti xavs banter. In fact I am now so impressed by the club that I have joined the boys down the pub to celebrate a well deserved premiership.

I have sold the terrace in North Melbourne and I am checking out the real estate market so I can move closer to Barkers road.

When does pre-season training start?

Mate, your starting to sound really quite insecure about the whole thing. Move on.

OXFC said:
Not much from all those people who bagged the Old Xavs over the last few weeks.

Their mouths must be full of the humble pie they are undoubtedly eating...
And to think the bloke in the record tipped Blues by 75+

hahahahaha :D

Scribe2 said:
Yeah what a dingbat.

Heard he's a bloody good bloke though

Scribe 2

Seeing as though you have a monopoly on all VAFA media (you even write where the CEO used to), what coaching/recruiting changes have you heard.....?

Very little Benny.

Five days into the off season and all that...

Nick Holland to Scotch? Everyone's saying that

Lots us walk outs at Old Melburnians apparently, though Dean Rice has been given another year.

Browne back to Marcellin but not Dinneen.

Expect plenty of comings and goings at the Snakepit. Simon Madden given another year.

The most ridiculous one I've heard is that Shane Woewodin will coach Scotch!

Both Mckee and Garlick to front up for SKOBs in B Section and have confirmed that they will take it a little more seriously (?)

Marcus Toovey back to Ivanhoe is significant

Apparently Xavs are searching for a few recruits who won't do an Adrian Cox on them...

That's about it but it's just chitter chatter at this stage of course

Holland to Scotch is interesting... I'd give it away if I were him, too many injuries.

Re: Snakepit

I hear that Fielding and D Jordan will be back. As may Andy Merrington with Adam Pickering to join him.

Goullet going back to the school he captained, Old Essendon.

Hollywood Harvey to quit Box Hill and chase coin in the burbs or the bush.

Collegians recruits are massive but I won't name names, a club favourite returning from Redan in Ballarat is one.

Apparently Gerta will play for whoever can get him a good job. Would be a handy pick up.

As if Xavs need recruits...!

I've heard that Mr Gertsman isn't too happy with the job sitch at Scotch yes. However his performance at the Woodrow Medal count may have poachers backing off a little!

Apparently both Dan and Lucas are not going to the Snakepit but to their old school club Rupertswood. I reckon D Section full backs would be a little toey at the prospect of lining up on Dan.

And Tim Harvey to Scotch, that's another one of the more ridiculous ones that lots of people say is spot on.

Scribe2 said:
I've heard that Mr Gertsman isn't too happy with the job sitch at Scotch yes. However his performance at the Woodrow Medal count may have poachers backing off a little!

Apparently both Dan and Lucas are not going to the Snakepit but to their old school club Rupertswood. I reckon D Section full backs would be a little toey at the prospect of lining up on Dan.

And Tim Harvey to Scotch, that's another one of the more ridiculous ones that lots of people say is spot on.

Gertsmans's performance at the Woodrow... pls explain

Harvey would fit in well at Scotch if you know what I mean!

Think James was very much at the tail end of Mad Monday celebrations and in a wretched state....

Scribe2 said:

That would be great to see Dan and Lucas back at the Rupie.

My original club and always talk them up at every opportunity, work at Werribee now much to the disgust of various people at Rupertswood.

Have you heard my name around Ammo or general football circles before, Jon ?

Was fortunate enough to read your copy each week and must say, was very impressed considering yourstruly is an asprining sports journalist himself.

ben.carbonaro said:
Was fortunate enough to read your copy each week and must say, was very impressed considering yourstruly is an asprining sports journalist himself.

Hey Carbo, perhaps you could take over from Mr Chips on the Xavs' website, as he has finally (been?) retired. Then again, I think spelling and grammar might be prerequisites there.

ben.carbonaro said:

My original club and always talk them up at every opportunity, work at Werribee now much to the disgust of various people at Rupertswood.

Enough name dropping Carbo... we all know you work at Werribee!

You'd think uni blues would just about collapse after that sunday's disaster wouldn't you? Why do we never hear anything about them?

Scribe2 said:
Very little Benny.

Five days into the off season and all that...

Nick Holland to Scotch? Everyone's saying that

Lots us walk outs at Old Melburnians apparently, though Dean Rice has been given another year.

Browne back to Marcellin but not Dinneen.

Expect plenty of comings and goings at the Snakepit. Simon Madden given another year.

The most ridiculous one I've heard is that Shane Woewodin will coach Scotch!

Both Mckee and Garlick to front up for SKOBs in B Section and have confirmed that they will take it a little more seriously (?)

Marcus Toovey back to Ivanhoe is significant

Apparently Xavs are searching for a few recruits who won't do an Adrian Cox on them...

That's about it but it's just chitter chatter at this stage of course

I heard a prodigal key-defender who last played at De La was considering returning to Caulfield Grammarians, and may bring a SKOB gun with him.

Mind you, he wouldn't want to break his fingers as it may affect his paying job!!

D'ja hear that one Scribe2???

ben.carbonaro said:

Everybody knows you Ben even the great A Section writer Jonathan Horn. Maybe one day it will Ben Carbonaro writing for the VAFA A section record, and you even talk up the Rupertswood boys in the record, hopefully they will be A section and not stuck in the D's section. Even ill Werribee will get a mention

bendigo said:
You'd think uni blues would just about collapse after that sunday's disaster wouldn't you? Why do we never hear anything about them?

I heard John Kanis lost the plot - pointing the blame everywhere!! :mad:

Scribe - Apparently yes, rumour had it that the man in question launched a comeback this month, consisting of a training regime that would have a Hawaiian ironman reaching for the talcum powder....However the six years of loose living, chain smoking and bridge burning have taken their toll and the comeback has been aborted. Scribe2's flatmate, whilst an old Caulfield boy himself, has also shelved plans to return to the old school and will front up for St Kevins after playing 2 games in 3 years!

Ben - Yes buddy I have heard of you, via this website mainly. Keep up the good work Ben.

Re John Kanis losing the plot. He sounded very composed and impressive after the GF although I think Scribe2 has been taken off the Christmas Card list after his GF preview...

Anyone got a list of B&F winners? Marcellin would be interesting as they definitely play around with their best playrers list.

So far I've got..

Beetham- Xavier
Ramsden- Trinity
Mahoney - St Kevins

Scribe2 said:
Anyone got a list of B&F winners? Marcellin would be interesting as they definitely play around with their best playrers list.

So far I've got..

Beetham- Xavier
Ramsden- Trinity
Mahoney - St Kevins

Blumfield - Collegians

Can't believe Shiek didn't have him in the top 30, bloody Joke.

I think you should do a Mike Sheehan, Scribe2 and publish you list in the Round 1 and GF editions.

Scribe2 said:
Scribe -

Marcellin would be interesting as they definitely play around with their best playrers list.

So far I've got..

Beetham- Xavier
Ramsden- Trinity
Mahoney - St Kevins

Marcellin would probably have the easiest quinella in A-grade to pick, Rice & Dobson.......... even though he only played 12 games before heading o/s Luke Considine will poll very strongly early and hold on for 3rd, why he wasn't in the State Under 23 squad i'll never know........

P.S Scribe 2, J.Frazer, whom you put in the A Section team of the year spent most of the year on the pine nursing an injury that would limit him to about 40mins per game, was he picked in a specialist bench position??

My North said:
Everybody knows you Ben even the great A Section writer Jonathan Horn. Maybe one day it will Ben Carbonaro writing for the VAFA A section record, and you even talk up the Rupertswood boys in the record, hopefully they will be A section and not stuck in the D's section. Even ill Werribee will get a mention

No, don't think I will ever be writing the A Section stuff in the AF because one J Horn does an awesome job and most certainly doesn't deserve to be sacked at all.

He does a good job writing in The Age as well.

But it would be great to talk up my original club up, even if still working at VFL level with Werribee.

Yes Jarrod Frazer was the one that was a bit out of place. However, he was very unlucky to miss last year's team and I was told by quite a few people that his 2005 season was better than last year. Apparently he was hidden from their best players list. In two of the three Marcellin games I saw he played really well so maybe....
Having said that, I should have slotted a few Collegians players in

VAFA A Section GF