VAFA General Discussion

To proved umps to the amount off footy the VAFA have is a greater number of total umps than any other comp add to that the travel factor and I'm sure recruitment of umps is just as a battle as it is for clubs to land players. Issue I see the umps in the VAFA have atm is that goal umps are paid (from what I understand) the same as boundary umps, now as a young kid of 15yr old and you could earn $80 to bust your gut running 15km or earn the same money waving some flags .. what would you do ?? Add also to that point that at 15 Mum or Dad needs to be willing to drive you all across Melbourne to do so. When a kid could earn almost the same money running boundary at other comps and all be within their local area I'm sure you can see the problems HQ have in recruiting boundary and goal umps.. literally over night 3 years ago the VAFA decided to double the size of the comp and then as of 2018 they made (almost all) those games on the Saturday and most around around the same time of day... if the VAFA and clubs want more umps they are going to have to figure out a way to fund it.

By "doubling the size of the comp" wouldn't you increase the affiliation fees? Money is not the only issue here. Training venues, travel and raising the profile of VAFA umpires are also important. The clubs would be the best source of recruiting VAFA umps (retired players, junior players, supporters) and not enough is done here.

Agree on all points above, VAFA has to find other revenue streams, however I don't think HQ realised when the women's comp started how much umpires would cost them, and now as the years have gone on premier women's now gets full set of umps (fair enough too) BUT subs for these teams have not gone up. So it is drawing in less money than is needed this is notbthe fault of the VAFAW this is the fault of a comp that failed to manage itself over a 10 to 12 year period and now is faced with the task of trying to play a decades catch up in 5min.

But yes your points re money is not the only issue are spot on.

Saying all this I'm sure umpiring in the VAFA is fantastic and the people within it are busting a gut to be the best they can. I just don't think U
us clubs OR HQ are giving them the best opportunity to be the best or biggest they can be.

To proved umps to the amount off footy the VAFA have is a greater number of total umps than any other comp add to that the travel factor and I'm sure recruitment of umps is just as a battle as it is for clubs to land players. Issue I see the umps in the VAFA have atm is that goal umps are paid (from what I understand) the same as boundary umps, now as a young kid of 15yr old and you could earn $80 to bust your gut running 15km or earn the same money waving some flags .. what would you do ?? Add also to that point that at 15 Mum or Dad needs to be willing to drive you all across Melbourne to do so. When a kid could earn almost the same money running boundary at other comps and all be within their local area I'm sure you can see the problems HQ have in recruiting boundary and goal umps.. literally over night 3 years ago the VAFA decided to double the size of the comp and then as of 2018 they made (almost all) those games on the Saturday and most around around the same time of day... if the VAFA and clubs want more umps they are going to have to figure out a way to fund it.
Mate that means nothing.

They probably have the least umpires per head out of any comp in the state.

I’ve been involved with 3 leagues and VAFA was by far the worst bang for your buck in the numbered divisions.

I’m not sure where they are spending the money but the umpires should be on serious money.

Where does the money go? Many other leagues charge less but are able to provide umpires to all games including reserves and 19s.

Eastern used to provide goal and boundary umpires to some 19s and reserves, but that was usually the senior umpires doubling up, now they can't.

I'd like to see them instead of providing 2 field umpires to premier reserves games, spread them out, just 1 VAFA appointed umpire to every reserves game and the home club provides the second umpire, means at least 1 umpire out there will be fair and impartial and the club umpire is more likely to call it more fairly than they have been.

The other option for the costs involved, reducing the affiliation fees for Division clubs, but giving them the bill for umpires each week. A few country leagues do this, some the home team foots the bill, others both teams share the bill. Means they can't whinge about not getting value for their money as they'll only have to pay for what they get. Also means there should be more spreading around of the umpires as they won't keep sending them to the same team every week.

Agree on all points above, VAFA has to find other revenue streams
Eastern used to provide goal and boundary umpires to some 19s and reserves, but that was usually the senior umpires doubling up, now they can't.

I'd like to see them instead of providing 2 field umpires to premier reserves games, spread them out, just 1 VAFA appointed umpire to every reserves game and the home club provides the second umpire, means at least 1 umpire out there will be fair and impartial and the club umpire is more likely to call it more fairly than they have been.

The other option for the costs involved, reducing the affiliation fees for Division clubs, but giving them the bill for umpires each week. A few country leagues do this, some the home team foots the bill, others both teams share the bill. Means they can't whinge about not getting value for their money as they'll only have to pay for what they get. Also means there should be more spreading around of the umpires as they won't keep sending them to the same team every week.
Very good points and ideas. I am a big fan of the lower fees for lower clubs and higher for higher grades... user pays

I believe that’s the best idea.

Whinging? Can you blame a club for being annoyed spending the same as another but getting far less umpires?

I believe that’s the best idea.

Whinging? Can you blame a club for being annoyed spending the same as another but getting far less umpires?
No not all, I have agreed and wished the VAFA would bring in a scaled model of affiliation fees for years.

Mate that means nothing.

They probably have the least umpires per head out of any comp in the state.

I’ve been involved with 3 leagues and VAFA was by far the worst bang for your buck in the numbered divisions.

I’m not sure where they are spending the money but the umpires should be on serious money.
Hi 10571z, out of curiosity which VAFA club were you involved with ?.

Nice to see T Boyd come into the VAFA - the EFL will be quite agitated

$$$ leagues are great for a year here and a year there players or to grab some fast cash but if you want a career or a network working for you, nothing beats the VAFA (particularly the premier teams).
Sometimes it takes these guys a year or two to figure out that the long term gain in VAFA is greater than the match day payments system.
IMHO

$$$ leagues are great for a year here and a year there players or to grab some fast cash but if you want a career or a network working for you, nothing beats the VAFA (particularly the premier teams).
Sometimes it takes these guys a year or two to figure out that the long term gain in VAFA is greater than the match day payments system.
IMHO
Yep it’s a no brainer for Tom who is studying business.

I also saw the Herald Sun has some article about head of VAFA defending the way it works but couldn't read it as am not a subscriber.
But I would think there are plenty more ex-AFL players running around in the top 3 VAFA divisions than any other comp particularly in the last 2-3 years (I do not have a single stat to back that up but it sounds right in my head).

I also saw the Herald Sun has some article about head of VAFA defending the way it works but couldn't read it as am not a subscriber.
But I would think there are plenty more ex-AFL players running around in the top 3 VAFA divisions than any other comp particularly in the last 2-3 years (I do not have a single stat to back that up but it sounds right in my head).
All very predictable.

Yes was a good article, basically saying that since the salary cap in metro footy it has given the VAFA an advantage because it doesnt have a cap... because no players get paid lol..

I don't think we can say no players get paid. But there are no match day payments. The networks and connections that are available to you are plenty though and if you make a half decent crack at it you'll get a much better outcome than a match day payment could ever amount to.

Can we still maintain amateur status as a league given all these ex-AFL players?
Granted this probably only applies to the premier sections

this x 100.
I played in the VAFA for 15 years and have umpired for 5.
It is rewarding, fun, challenging a good way to keep half fit.
Not enough ex players are being encouraged to try out. Emphasis on youth always. Reckon they should look for retiring 35 yo's too !!

If an ex player comes and umpires a year - their ex playing club should get $400 off next years affiliation fee if they umpire a dozen games, or something like that

VAFA General Discussion