2nds VFL Round 18 - Port Melbourne v Geelong, North Port Oval, 1:10PM Saturday 17 August

Phil Cleary is calling for a royal commission to find out why Cats are dominating in VFL. He must be so pissed

I cracked up when early in the game he said some of the Port supporters said Chapman shouldn't be allowed to play in the VFL.
WTF planet are these idiots from ? :rolleyes:

I really like Phil Cleary as a person and generally like him on the VFL coverage but today was the first time I clearly saw what others have often referred to regarding his anti-Geelong stance. You could hear him barracking for the 'Borough' in most of his comments, relating the Port supporters comments, etc. The thing that got me is that he'd often use the disclaimer "Geelong are a very good side," as if that had him covered but not once did he extrapolate on why or talk up an individual player. Those comments and observations were reserved solely for Port players. Disappointing for me because, as I say, I generally like the guy.

haven't read the thread.

Kudos to Port. That took a hell of an effort in fitness.

I think those games show who will make it.
So in my opinion.

Bathie. If he was 22 and in his first year. Persist. But he is not. Gone
Eardley. In the space of one week I have backflipped. No idea how many years he has up his sleeve. But disposal is average. Gone.
Cowan. Tenace re-incarnated. (I called it 2 years ago) Gone.
Burbury. Might actually get a game somewhere, but not with the Cats.
Sheringham. I've always liked him. But he isn't AFL grade.

GHS going to make it.
Brown. Going to make it. Somewhere.
Josh Hunt. Goes ok this kid.
Cowan is a ripper. Will make it.

Eardley could be a useful small defender and has earned his keep.

Burbs should be given a few senior opportunities next year.

I still like Brown...

Others I agree with.

I forgot to mention, that was my first venture to Port for a match and it was one of the most feral crowds I've witnessed in 25+ years of watching footy. Completely clueless when it came to the rules and abusive to players and umpires alike. I actually feared for the safety of the umpires at one point.

What was their problem with Josh Hunt? They were booing him specifically, from the opening bounce.

Same.

"Cheats"
"AFL wants us gone"
"Dig a hole" (selwood down)

Were all clearly heard by myself at their venue.

What a shit tip.

I really like Phil Cleary as a person and generally like him on the VFL coverage but today was the first time I clearly saw what others have often referred to regarding his anti-Geelong stance. You could hear him barracking for the 'Borough' in most of his comments, relating the Port supporters comments, etc. The thing that got me is that he'd often use the disclaimer "Geelong are a very good side," as if that had him covered but not once did he extrapolate on why or talk up an individual player. Those comments and observations were reserved solely for Port players. Disappointing for me because, as I say, I generally like the guy.
I like him to. I actually understand where he's coming from. He's a proud VFA man and the competition is a bit of a dogs breakfast with reserves teams, alighned teams, and stand alone teams. There are only 3 stand alone teams left that are at a fair bit of a disadvantage. So I can see why he unashamedly barracks for them.

I remember going there during the 2002 VFL Finals.They are more feral than any Collingwood supporter you've ever seen.The old codgers with their canes and walkers are lethal and rather foul mouthed for grannies and gramps.

Phil Cleary might have his supporters but basically he was never good enough to play VFL and spent his life playing in the old VFA. The VFA was always the place where up and coming kids got a start (Terry Bright), or the graveyard of ex VFL players still trying to make a living. It had players who never quite made it and it also had another type of player. Phil Cleary was one of them. A hack who resorted to playing dirty to get a kick. I witnessed from 20 metres away him eye gouge John Scarlett at West Oval one Sunday back in the mid 70's and never had respect for the man again. I think he got a couple of weeks for it too. John Scarlett had a couple of weeks off with a torn retina. What sort of animal does that. He has lived his life championing the cause of battered women and acts like he is their champion. Until the ABC get rid of him, they will never get any respect from the footballing public. Too biased and too much dislike for teams like the cats to ever be respected as a commentator.

What was their problem with Josh Hunt? They were booing him specifically, from the opening bounce.

Did the same to Moons when he played out there in 2011. Smacks of intense jealousy of particular players who have achieved enormous amounts at the very highest level. Something their players will never have the chance to do.

Some of the Borough fans give Pies supporters I've seen a really massive image boost.

Appalling doesn't begin to describe it.

I was there for the game in '11 (a fairly gallant loss for our boys); would have been fantastic to be there again today to enjoy the toys being furiously hurled from the pram by the Port crew.

And then just watch and laugh.

Watch, and laugh.:D

Down that way if you have all your teeth you're a sissy. :)

Geelong were not at there best today but a win V the wheelbarrows with the most bais commentary in footy.

Not only biased but clueless. Burbury marks 20m in front of goal but umps wrongly don't pay it. ABC idiot says it was touched off the boot, so the other ABC idiots say yah yah touched off the boot. If they had bothered to replay it they would have seen the ball clear the man on the mark by 5m.

Hyphen was our best player I thought. I love Chappy but I am not sure he did enough to dislodge anyone from the team that played West Coast.

He's not specifically about Port, he just 'barracks' like that for the standalone sides, and since most have fallen financially or fallen down the ladder, he's really only got Port left to barrack for.

Back on the game, I think it will do us the world of good to be challenged and have a close win, this close to finals, rather than some of the one sided games we've had lately.

Thought Josh was BOG, just so assured with his marking and his kicking opened things up. He still probably won't get back in given Guthrie is playing so well, unless we're against Freo (they are the only side short enough that we might consider dropping Rivers) but credit to him, he's doing all he can.

hyphen was good on baird again and wins crucial contests.

Poodle was very poor for three quarters, but I must give him credit that his continual gut running in the last quarter, even despite the fall over moment, really was crucial in getting us home.

Cowan was very good although he burnt the ball at times. Still think he's very much in the danger zone at year's end but he's making it a hard call for our list managers.

Burbury is not doing enough to get ahead of Blitz and Walker in the upgrade queue, but is doing enough that he'll find a trade somewhere at year's end.

Bathie won't be with us next year but might be another to find a home somewhere, looks much better since we moved him forward.

Eardley had a bad day, as did Kersto and Hamling, but it wasn't great conditions for talls.

West was ok, but might need to be better to change MC's mind.

Hope Selwood isn't too serious, he's had a shocking run with injuries and deserves the chance to play in another flag, hope he gets it.

Chappy looked ready for AFL next week.

Jist question on Cowan for those who might of seen more of him pre-injury.

Has his disposal always been that shotty? Looked to me to be trying to pull off a lot of high difficulty spearing passes many of which didn't come off (partially also due to kicking under pressure a lot too).

What was his disposal like pre injury? Is he just out of touch (a bit like Varcoe) or is his disposal just generally hit and miss.

Either way I'd like to see him developed as a HBF reminds me heaps of Wojak.

Jist question on Cowan for those who might of seen more of him pre-injury.

Has his disposal always been that shotty? Looked to me to be trying to pull off a lot of high difficulty spearing passes many of which didn't come off (partially also due to kicking under pressure a lot too).

What was his disposal like pre injury? Is he just out of touch (a bit like Varcoe) or is his disposal just generally hit and miss.

Either way I'd like to see him developed as a HBF reminds me heaps of Wojak.
There was some serious wind up yesterday and that had an influence on majority of disposal. However, Cowan has generally been pretty tidy.

What a great game of football yesterday. Great to watch.

We played pretty poorly I thought and Port threw the kitchen sink at us and we still won. Kudos.

I really liked Cowans game as I haven't seen a lot of him mainly as he has been injured so much. I really liked what I saw. His disposal was a bit dodgy but the wind was horrendous and could be a factor in that. BUt he deserves a full pre season and a tilt at it.

Horlin Smith was great he will make it in time.

Trent West was not that great and unfortunately he is 5th in line for our rucks in my opinion (when McIntosh is fit). He should seek a trade.

Mitch Brown I just cant see anything in him. He is just another Gillies for mine. Just to skinny for a key position.

Ryan Bathie - not bad but will be gone.

Burbury - will be gone.

Sheringham - gone as well. But good at VFL level.

I still cant see what the fuss with Jesse Stringer is. Yep he was good yesterday but for mine I just don't see him being a good AFL player.

I don't know how to post picture from my IPad but here it is

VFL Finals Eligibility (key criteria)

- Minimum 6 vfl games if played in Afl side after July 1st 2013
- unrestricted if the AFL side playing on same weekend
- Players from club with No Development League Side must not have played more than 12 afl games in 2013

Geelong Qualifying for VFL Finals

QUALIFIED
N. Vardy
J. walker
G. Burbury
J. Stringer
G. Horlin-Smith

CANNOT QUALIFY

J. Caddy
B. Smedts
C. Guthrie
M. Blicavs

PENDING

J. Hunt
T. West
J. Rivers
J. Murdoch

One additional proviso is that you must have played at least 1 AFL/VFL game.
So for those believers in the McIntosh Miracle, he would have to play this week.

2nds VFL Round 18 - Port Melbourne v Geelong, North Port Oval, 1:10PM Saturday 17 August