Ryan ANDERSON
Robin NAHAS
Matthew THOMAS
Dean KELLY
Marc MURPHY
Brad SUTCLIFFE
Marcus HOTTES
Bachar HOULI

WeaverRees Thomas probably did a little better than some of the other big blokes. Did well on Dowler and took some marks. Liked Dean Kelly's in and at it approach said:
Good stuff, im a big fan of DK and Thommo, mainly coz ive known them for about 8 years but both are gun footballers who should go very close to being drafted this year, if not, Dk will be selected next year.

Sezzac1 said:
Vic Country

Josh BOWE
Benjamin DUSCHER
Joel SELWOOD
Grant WEEKS
Josh EDDY
Ben JOHNSON
Chris DUNNE
Xavier ELLIS
Lachlan HANSEN
Nathan LIESHOUT
Jay NEAGLE
Dale THOMAS
Matthew BEKKER
Paul KENELLEY
Tim LOOBY
Beau MUSTON
Steve CLIFTON
Jake DIGNAN
Bill DRISCOLL
Shaun GRIGG
Stephen OWEN
Nick COUCH
Clint BARTRAM
Travis BOAK
Jonathan SIMPKIN
Ricky DELPHINE
Marcus CROOK
Mitch CUTHILL
Shaun HIGGINS
Danny STANLEY
Sam WORMALD
Robert EDDY
Steven OBRYAN
Scott PENDLEBURY
Marcus DRUM
Matt TYLER
Jacob MCGUANE
Mark MCLEOD
Ben FRASER
Trent WEST
Alipate CARLILE
Jackson SHERINGHAM

Vic Metro

Sam GILL
Sam ROBERTSON
Steven FREEMANTLE
Myles KRAKOUER
Shane VALENTI
Brent GORDON
Daniel NICHOLLS
Adam WILSON
Richard DOUGLAS
Nathan LYONS
Chris CAIN
Gareth BOWES
James MAGNER
Shane WRIGHT
David MARCIUS
Ben McKINLEY
Scott LOCKWOOD
Brad CLIFTON
Ryan COOK
Troy ARMSTRONG
Matthew SPANGHER
Heath HOCKING
Beau DOWLER
Jake MUIR
Zac KELLY
Josh KENNEDY
Mathew LAIDLAW
Matt WHITE
Simon PHILLIPS
Nick CARNELL
Brant DICKSON
Bronik DAVIES
Evan PANOZZA
Sam CARPENTER
Bradley KELLEHER
Ryan JACKSON
Robert WARNOCK
Andrew AINGER
Nathan JONES
Greg BENTLEY
Leigh ADAMS
Rees THOMAS
Lukas MARKOVIC
Aaron MURRAY
Ryan ANDERSON
Robin NAHAS
Matthew THOMAS
Dean KELLY
Marc MURPHY
Brad SUTCLIFFE
Marcus HOTTES
Bachar HOULI
Josh Kennedy I think has knocked back the invitation.

My Metro Squad of 35

Sam GILL
Sam ROBERTSON
Shane VALENTI
Brent GORDON
Daniel NICHOLLS
Richard DOUGLAS
Gareth BOWES
James MAGNER
David MARCIUS
Ben McKINLEY
Brad CLIFTON
Troy ARMSTRONG
Matthew SPANGHER
Heath HOCKING
Beau DOWLER
Zac KELLY
Mathew LAIDLAW
Matt WHITE
Simon PHILLIPS
Nick CARNELL
Brant DICKSON
Robert WARNOCK
Nathan JONES
Greg BENTLEY
Leigh ADAMS
Rees THOMAS
Lukas MARKOVIC
Aaron MURRAY
Ryan ANDERSON
Robin NAHAS
Matthew THOMAS
Dean KELLY
Marc MURPHY
Brad SUTCLIFFE
Bachar HOULI

I couldn't find a spot for Jackson, Kelleher, Ainger or Muir on yesterdays form.

Thought Beau Muston was the other to impress in the Country trial.

But I'd like to be another to say the Metro match was quite frankly bordering on disgraceful and I think the coaching staff have some major concerns. Skills were poor, little flow from either side and just very little class.

Apart from Dowler I'm struggling to name a Vic Metro player that will go first round of the draft. A lot can change, but last year the top 3 Vic Metro players in the draft (Bate, Dunn, Pattison) didn't even make the side.

milnedog44 said:
I hear spangher played pretty well. Heard he beat the first ruckman for the metro side is this true? If it is he'll surely make the side as the 2nd ruckman or is there someone that didn't play through injury?
Spangher did his job. Was only played in patches which is a good sign from his point of view cos they know he can play 4 quarters cos of his motor. I think they wanted to a closer look at the others. Armstrong was good but his field kicking isn't as good as Spanghers and he rarely went up against Warnock. They'll pick Spangher cos he can play ruck, down back and up forward and can come up in two games that will be played in a matter of a few days during the carnival.

Still believe his future lies at a KP (CHB can run out of defence) but Metro need a ruckman badly and he has impressed against both Neaves and Warnock

Sezzac1 said:
???? So who 181cm, sandy haired kid wearing No: 13 in the sky blue (listed as Cain and the jumper wasn't sighted until the last quarter) that came on in the last quarter and played on the wing. Suspect it was Cain after playing his school game.

QUOTE]

It was Adam Wilson from Eastern who got his nose smashed in the first half wearing number 12 and wore 13 in the 2nd cos he bled on the old jumper. Good guts to come back from a crunching tackle.

Sezzac1 said:
My Metro Squad of 35

Sam GILL
Sam ROBERTSON
Shane VALENTI
Brent GORDON
Daniel NICHOLLS
Richard DOUGLAS
Gareth BOWES
James MAGNER
David MARCIUS
Ben McKINLEY
Brad CLIFTON
Troy ARMSTRONG
Matthew SPANGHER
Heath HOCKING
Beau DOWLER
Zac KELLY
Mathew LAIDLAW
Matt WHITE
Simon PHILLIPS
Nick CARNELL
Brant DICKSON
Robert WARNOCK
Nathan JONES
Greg BENTLEY
Leigh ADAMS
Rees THOMAS
Lukas MARKOVIC
Aaron MURRAY
Ryan ANDERSON
Robin NAHAS
Matthew THOMAS
Dean KELLY
Marc MURPHY
Brad SUTCLIFFE
Bachar HOULI

I couldn't find a spot for Jackson, Kelleher, Ainger or Muir on yesterdays form.

Zac Kelly won't play did his shoulder I believe against the FALCONS
Mckinley really impressed me yesterday. Took some strong marks and presented well. Goo.d game
Good to see Dowler get a run down back and he was just as impressive. I was 99% sold on him before yesterday, now I'm 100%
Robertson is interesting. Did some nice things on the wing but he is not going to make it at the next level as a wingmen. Needs to be tougher at the ball if he is going to make it at AFL level.
Rees Thomas liked his efforts as he did some nice things.
Jones and Valenti need to start using their team mates, both had clear chances to use teammates in better postions in the match and instead wanted the big shot for goal and failed. I hate that in a player.

Agree with Kelleher and Ainger missing out. My question mark over Kelleher has been how he would play in a team that doesn't use him as the go to guy (like Eastern does) and yesterday heightened my suspicions. Ainger - I'm not sure about Metro but has alot of upside to him. And Jackson is another who should look for a team mate more.

Would anyone like to comment on the players that sezzac1 has left out of the 35.. any reasons why they shouldn't be in the the 35.....or if u think they should be in the 35.

Footymad said:
Sezzac1 said:
???? So who 181cm, sandy haired kid wearing No: 13 in the sky blue (listed as Cain and the jumper wasn't sighted until the last quarter) that came on in the last quarter and played on the wing. Suspect it was Cain after playing his school game.

QUOTE]

It was Adam Wilson from Eastern who got his nose smashed in the first half wearing number 12 and wore 13 in the 2nd cos he bled on the old jumper. Good guts to come back from a crunching tackle.

Adam Wilson would be a certainty to get drafted, how close was he to Vic Metro this year as a bottom age?

Footymad said:
Sezzac1 said:

QUOTE]

How'd Willo go?

Surely he's a draftee next year if not this.

Sezzac1 said:
My Metro Squad of 35

Sam GILL
Sam ROBERTSON
Shane VALENTI
Brent GORDON
Daniel NICHOLLS
Richard DOUGLAS
Gareth BOWES
James MAGNER
David MARCIUS
Ben McKINLEY
Brad CLIFTON
Troy ARMSTRONG
Matthew SPANGHER
Heath HOCKING
Beau DOWLER
Zac KELLY
Mathew LAIDLAW
Matt WHITE
Simon PHILLIPS
Nick CARNELL
Brant DICKSON
Robert WARNOCK
Nathan JONES
Greg BENTLEY
Leigh ADAMS
Rees THOMAS
Lukas MARKOVIC
Aaron MURRAY
Ryan ANDERSON
Robin NAHAS
Matthew THOMAS
Dean KELLY
Marc MURPHY
Brad SUTCLIFFE
Bachar HOULI

To go one step further, how many of the above would you pencil in the final 25?

If I was having a crack, I'd put these 12 in, with the rest to fight over the last 13 spots.

Richard DOUGLAS
Matthew SPANGHER
Heath HOCKING
Beau DOWLER
Mathew LAIDLAW
Matt WHITE
Simon PHILLIPS
Greg BENTLEY
Rees THOMAS
Ryan ANDERSON
Marc MURPHY
Bachar HOULI

And Sezzac, what about Myles Krakeour? I'm going to put him in, it wouldn't be a Vic Metro team without a famous name in there ;)

Footymad said:
Spangher did his job. Armstrong was good but his field kicking isn't as good as Spanghers and he rarely went up against Warnock. They'll pick Spangher cos he can play ruck, down back and up forward and can come up in two games that will be played in a matter of a few days during the carnival.

Sorry but I can't agree with this. One of Spangher's major problems is his field kicking, particularly on the run. On Saturday he was servicable but in alot of the previous games I have seen, he is very poor. Armstrong can kick 45-50 off a few steps and regularly does with accuracy.

And Sezzac, what about Myles Krakeour? I'm going to put him in, it wouldn't be a Vic Metro team without a famous name in there

Not on the form I've seen the past few games. Did little on Saturday and ended up in the BP.

Sezzac1 said:
Sorry but I can't agree with this. One of Spangher's major problems is his field kicking, particularly on the run. On Saturday he was servicable but in alot of the previous games I have seen, he is very poor. Armstrong can kick 45-50 off a few steps and regularly does with accuracy.

In the 1st quarter both Armstong and Spangher marked in the same back flank within 5 minutes of each other. Spangher hit his teammate between 2 opponents with a low flat 40 metre pass from standing start, Armstrong kicked a giraffe kick that the defender said thankyou very much and punched it over the boundary. And in terms of his kicking on the run, at least he gets in a position where he can kick it on the run, I've seen Armstrong alot and I rarely see him get the ball in field play. I've seen them alot and their is no comparison. That statement is just wrong.

footyman said:
To go one step further, how many of the above would you pencil in the final 25?

If I was having a crack, I'd put these 12 in, with the rest to fight over the last 13 spots.

Richard DOUGLAS
Matthew SPANGHER
Heath HOCKING
Beau DOWLER
Mathew LAIDLAW
Matt WHITE
Simon PHILLIPS
Greg BENTLEY
Rees THOMAS
Ryan ANDERSON
Marc MURPHY
Bachar HOULI

And Sezzac, what about Myles Krakeour? I'm going to put him in, it wouldn't be a Vic Metro team without a famous name in there ;)

footyman,
What do you think about McKinley from Northern on Saturday? Granted it was only my second look at him but I thought he was very good in presenting and took some strong marks. Don't think he was helped by some onballers that had blinkers on.

hahaha said:
Footymad said:
How'd Willo go?

Surely he's a draftee next year if not this.

I'm keeping an eye on this kid. Given a run at Eastern as an U/16 last year and showed good signs. Has stepped up this year with numerous possessions.
Spent most of the 1st qtr on the bench Saturday and when he came on got a hard tackle which I thought he wouldnt come back from. To his credit he did and played quite well off a wing at bank flank in the 2nd half. I like how he hits the ball running at top pace and picks up clean.
Whether he makes metro this year is hard because their is so many playing for that position. Especially the wing where he is suited cos Murphy and White have those spots.
One to watch

Sheik Mathious said:
How did David MARCIUS go?

Anyone?

Did well I thought. Enough to get another run in the next 35 I reckon, which is a big step considering he wasn't in the original 50. Improving his disposal which is my biggest criticism but knows how to get it.

Footymad said:
In the 1st quarter both Armstong and Spangher marked in the same back flank within 5 minutes of each other. Spangher hit his teammate between 2 opponents with a low flat 40 metre pass from standing start, Armstrong kicked a giraffe kick that the defender said thankyou very much and punched it over the boundary. And in terms of his kicking on the run, at least he gets in a position where he can kick it on the run, I've seen Armstrong alot and I rarely see him get the ball in field play. I've seen them alot and their is no comparison. That statement is just wrong.

Originally Posted by Sezzac1

In part ......
On Saturday he was servicable but in alot of the previous games I have seen, he is very poor. Armstrong can kick 45-50 off a few steps and regularly does with accuracy.......

Footymad.......Note the first 5 words......then the next 14 words.

His kicking against NSW was woeful. His disposal was okay against Gippsland. Half his kicks against Geelong at Werribee were shanks - including the set shot from 30 directly infront he kicked out on the full and the one he missed on the run from 25 directly infront that just snuck in for a point. In 14 quarters of football I have seen him kick on his left 3 times on the run (1 was okay and the other 2 grubbed off the side of his boot).

Lets agree to disagree.

Vic country and Vic metro games today