VIC vs WA

Be very careful basing your opinions on one viewing. Buddy played three absolute stinkers and still went top five. Cotchin is miles ahead of Masten talent wise and if he had another couple of Barry Crockers (I doubt very much he will) it wouldn't change a thing.

Anyone who thinks Kreuzer wont go number one after that display has no idea about football. He wasnt the best but Vic Metro were slaughtered. His skills for his size are freakish, in fact I cant think of anyone in the AFL of that size with skills that good.

He was given first opportunity time after time in the centre at the bounce and failed to take any advantage.

He's meant to be a good ruckman...no other position on the ground gives you the best opportunity to show your wares - regardless of whether your side performs or not.

No excuse IMO.

He was given first opportunity time after time in the centre at the bounce and failed to take any advantage.

He's meant to be a good ruckman...no other position on the ground gives you the best opportunity to show your wares - regardless of whether your side performs or not.

No excuse IMO.

Josh Fraser clone maybe. Pretty mobile for a big lad, just like Fraser. I watched a bit of the match and I think he's more of a around the ground ruckman like Fraser. He needs to work on his ruckwork definately... He will most likely be top 5, but I reckon Leunberger was a better pick last year- more of a complete ruckman. He's a good prospect no doubt.

Kreuzer is a gun. 199cm and he averages 20 disposals, 29 hitouts and over a goal a game in the TAC Cup, pretty fair effort for a big bloke. I haven't seen much of Kreuzer but judging on what I saw today, he will be a definate number 1 selection and will be a future star of the AFL.

Josh Fraser clone maybe. Pretty mobile for a big lad, just like Fraser. I watched a bit of the match and I think he's more of a around the ground ruckman like Fraser. He needs to work on his ruckwork definately... He will most likely be top 5, but I reckon Leunberger was a better pick last year- more of a complete ruckman. He's a good prospect no doubt.

Yep - big similarities to Fraser. As you say, looks like he'll have it over Fraser in terms of worth away from the ruck, but like Fraser, will probably never be a dominant no.1 ruckman at AFL level.

When you can pluck a very competitive ruckman or fluke a Cox 2nd-3rd round, late in the draft or off the rookie list, you have to wonder about a Kreuzer or Fraser type player at no.1.

They have to be a bullet proof, gun no.1 ruckman - and Kreuzer isn't IMO.

Yep - big similarities to Fraser. As you say, looks like he'll have it over Fraser in terms of worth away from the ruck, but like Fraser, will probably never be a dominant no.1 ruckman at AFL level.

When you can pluck a very competitive ruckman or fluke a Cox 2nd-3rd round, late in the draft or off the rookie list, you have to wonder about a Kreuzer or Fraser type player at no.1.

I only saw the first quarter and a half and I thought Naitanui was on top of the Vic ruckman at the time...when he went forward/rested the vics began winning some ball...

Not doubting your opinion mate but how much have you seen of Kreuzer? I haven't seen hardly anything at all but the 'experts' seem to say he is the complete package and is great in the ruck contests. Seems to absolutely dominate the hit-outs at TAC Cup level.

It is pretty risky to take a ruckman with a top pick. They are risky because they take so much longer to develop and the distance between the elite ruckman and the dud ones at AFL is massive. I would rather gamble with a later pick than use one early. A good example is Maric and Meesen. We picked Meesen at 8 and Maric at 40, both in the same year. So far, Maric has played around 10 games or so while Meesen is languishing in the SANFL Reserves. It is much better to take a ruckman later in the draft IMO.

You definately have a point there but I don't know if I'm convinced I mean Kreuzer looks like he could turn into a key forward and not ruck at all if worst comes to worst.

As I said above JDC, haven't seen him at TAC level at all - and also said that I wouldn't judge him completely on one game where he had to travel.

But it's a national game these days, being the TAC's most dominant ruckman could well only put him as the 2nd-5th best pure ruckman nationally...and quite possibly lower once other rucks develop at AFL level - he wouldn't be the first. Unfortunately, given the carnival structure we won't get to see him go head to head against the likes of Bellchambers.

In his favour -as I said - he fought his way into the game around the ground despite coming off 2nd best in the centre. In stark contrast to Cotchin, that counts for a fair bit in my book.

You definately have a point there but I don't know if I'm convinced I mean Kreuzer looks like he could turn into a key forward and not ruck at all if worst comes to worst.

I'm not saying hes destines to be a spud if he's picked up top 5 but its a risk. Meesen dominated the ruck at TAC level.. but not, playing seniors and being a bit homesick (probably) he's struggling. WIll be good to see how Kreuzer goes throughout this champs. If he plays a blinder, he will cement his spot in top 3.

Kreuzer does well in the ruck in TAC Cup. I guess you could say he dominates it. But I think everyone is a bit quick to assume that he's just a ruckman because he's 199cm and played in the ruck today.

What Kreuzer DOES dominate is the TAC Cup competition. Not specifically the ruck. I mean he is the most dominant player in the competition and he is absolutely killing it this year. This includes his work at ground level in the midfield and his work as a key forward when he moves there.

I haven't got the figures, but I don't think his vertical leap is anything ground breaking and at 199cm I guess he'd be considered an undersized ruckman these days. In my opinion, his strength is his second and third efforts and his cleanness at ground level. I have seen him play a lot this year and while he is a good ruckman the thing that most impresses me is that he is literally like having an extra midfielder on the ball and when he goes forward is very difficult to match up on.

I'm not saying hes destines to be a spud if he's picked up top 5 but its a risk. Meesen dominated the ruck at TAC level.. but not, playing seniors and being a bit homesick (probably) he's struggling. WIll be good to see how Kreuzer goes throughout this champs. If he plays a blinder, he will cement his spot in top 3.

Well my club will be down the bottom end (if not bottom) come draft time and I think that Kreuzer is a certainty to go in the top 3. Personally, I would be extremely happy if we got him. In fact, I think that there would be a pretty big gap between pick 1 and 2.

The lack of run and absence of pressure from the Vic Metro boys was very, very disappointing. To say that 10 months of planning to produce a side that could play at Subiaco Oval was time that would have been better spent at the pub/beach/in the garden/with the family (choose appropriate description) is an understatement.

Will be interesting to see how the selectors react.

Kevin Sheehan commented on the lack of pace the team had and that they were breaking down in the half forward.

Has anyone heard how the injured are: Maric looked to have done a shoulder amd the commentors said Joyce was carried off with a knee injury - can anyone conform.

In my opinion:

Palmer was defintely BOG.
Our best were Polkinghorn, Grimes, Kruezer & Maric (no particular order). Disappointing were Laidler, Daniher & Arrowsmith.

Has anyone heard how the injured are: Maric looked to have done a shoulder amd the commentors said Joyce was carried off with a knee injury - can anyone conform.

In my opinion:

Palmer was defintely BOG.
Our best were Polkinghorn, Grimes, Kruezer & Maric (no particular order). Disappointing were Laidler, Daniher & Arrowsmith.
Apparently Maric is ok and Joyce has to have his knee assessed but might be a few with niggling injuries as well

one game doesnt get u top spot in the draft
not saying he wasnt BOG by a mile but still gotta prove him self in the other games to be a chance of top 10

i felt sorry for the vic fowards
simpson especially .. everyone was giving him poor delivery which
made him follow up all his leads to make his own work
shows how much of a talent maric is to play well up foward
there is no reason why the vic metro selection committee wouldnt be biting themselves not putting jarrad grant in the side because of height
the players needed someone to kick to and not just small fowards like maric and joyce

I only saw the first quarter and a half and I thought Naitanui was on top of the Vic ruckman at the time...when he went forward/rested the vics began winning some ball...

Exactly the game was over right there because of Naitanui.

There was no doubt Kruezner continued to work all day but on that performance you'd have to say when the game was up for grabs his opponent was better and set up the game for his WA teammates. I don't see these blokes ever except for Foxtel's U/18 championship coverage and I'm sure Kruezner has played a lot better and been far more dominant at TAC level. And is still given all that going to be the No.1 pick for this year given people's opinions who watch a lot of U/18 footy here.

But from watching a one-off game Naitanui would be the guy you'd be dreaming of getting based on that game only, though I believe he is too young to be drafted this year listening to the commentators.

Kevin Sheehan commented on the lack of pace the team had and that they were breaking down in the half forward.

I don't know if there is much pace left in the squad to inject. Im also not convinced it will be as critical against SA or Vic country back at Skilled or MC Labour.

VIC vs WA