VIC vs WA

I don't know if there is much pace left in the squad to inject. Im also not convinced it will be as critical against SA or Vic country back at Skilled or MC Labour.

Being quite serious here, but the Vics could have used someone like Totino with some leg speed at Subi yesterday.

After that display, would'nt Palmer now be pushing for the No. 1 spot? Definitely top 3 or 5.
Going into the match I would have thought Palmer was a long shot to be a 1st round pick. One game does not make him number 1 pick and in all honesty I am not convinced he is a can't miss prospect. He has reasonably pace, demonstrated that he can win the ball and showed he knows where the goals are. His disposal though wasn't great, he is listed at 180 which might be generous and I am not sure he has great vision. Best case the player he reminds me of is Luke Power and if teams are convinced he going to turn out to be as good he Luke then he gets picked very high. I am not convinced at this stage.

For me from WA I was more impressed with the game of Morton, Masten and Rich. It also wouldn't surprise me if Sampey, Rance and Notte were picked ahead of him.

In short it was a fabulous game from Palmer but there are still a few holes in his game that I would need some convincing on. I expect he has played himself into the first round and if he backs up this performance with two others then he will go higher.

Kevin Sheehan commented on the lack of pace the team had and that they were breaking down in the half forward.

You don't like to make predictions and it may be seen as hindsight, but this years 18s championship was over after WAs first trial game against the WA state 20s.
The young Vic metro midfielders were never going to match the harder more mature WA runners, Natanui was always going to be the dominant tap ruckman, also proved to be the most skillful and mobile, but the biggest ambush (especially on the big ground) was always going to be the three 192cm leading forwards who,s cv,s all read, quick, great hands, unselfish (19 marks, 7 effective contested feeds ). Great respect for each other Gourdis and Notte didn't push back into Sampey's space and Sampey stayed deep enough not to crowd half forward or draw the ball to long, all three were under used because of the options they gave the midfield and the space they gave the small forwards, very few defensive rebounds for the Vic's
The WA coaches played down this side as having less standouts then the past two years..... there's plenty of standouts they're just not far enough above they're team mates to warrant the tag.

Being quite serious here, but the Vics could have used someone like Totino with some leg speed at Subi yesterday.
Considering the size of the squad that was selected then you would have to imagine they already had a line through his name before the first cuts were even made. His good form just ensured he stayed around for a bit.

I notice he got named best for the Knights yesterday. I'll check it out later, but I reckon he's been named in the best players for the Knights for the last 4-6 games.

The real interest for was what the Victorian kids woul;d do when they had to travel. Since the carnival has been completely transferred to Victoria, the Vic boys have had it easy.

Interesting to see that this year when both Vic teams had to travel for a game they got flogged.

What it highlights is the different skills that work in different states. Traditionally the Vic boys are physically stronger with excellent over the ball and handball skills whereas us Sandgropers are traditionally quicker and with great footskills.

Next week will be of particular interest when us and the Croweaters travel to Skilled and MC Labour. I expect both Vic teams will improve markedly.

The real interest for was what the Victorian kids woul;d do when they had to travel. Since the carnival has been completely transferred to Victoria, the Vic boys have had it easy.

Absolutely true.

WA sides have traditionaly started quite slowly. They tended to take a half or full game to get up to the intensity needed to take on the Vics - they wanted to cruise around at Colts tempo, and would get found out. Not mistake this time.

This time it was the Vics who got it wrong.

They were SLAUGHTERED for pace and run. That's where it began and ended. Once WA had jumped them and had the licence to attack and run more - well Metro should have lost by 100+.

Palmer is playing great and seems like he loves to take them on. I think Cale Morton seems like he'll be a star, his disposal has been 1st class, runs like a wingman, but has the height of a KPP.

Move over buddy franklin:p

Where does Morton usually play, it was hard to tell where he was playing.

Well done WA.

Obviously impressed with them. Gee Gourdis and Sampey were everything we were told they would be. Morton is certainly going to be right up their. Also impressed with Notte although his kicking will hold him back. Rich, Myers, Masten, Palmer, Yarran, Gartlett, Ellard, Jacky all very good.Yhought Pears worked into game as well.

Vics were pretty average. Kruezer was very good as was Maric as game wore on. Cotchin was v ordinary and his bloke not only beat him but got a heap of it. Grimes workman like. I actually thought Simpson was good - led to the ball well. Thought the Vics lost a bit when they took him off in the Q1. Hurley was as good as he could be. Geartner needs to do more than that but he wasnt alone. Prismall tried but expecting more. Thought Polkinghorne, Ward and Farmer worked into the game. Arrowsmith showed me why I dont tend to rate him highly. Lobbe - has got something and could develop nicely.

Arrowsmith looked a bit soft & panicky when he had ball in tight.

Just want to say this one more time:

Masten has very good foot skills and is an outstanding in an under

Daniel Rich is definately not an outside player however due to midfield rotations might of seemed to be an outside player in this game.

And finally a more balnced approach to the 18's by having travel elements for all teams.

Arrowsmith looked a bit soft & panicky when he had ball in tight.

Bit harsh focusing on just Arrowsmith in terms of soft and panicky. That moniker could be attached to many metro players.
The biggest error Metro made was not picking Trengove perhaps. Sullivan looked step below while trengove has the athleticism to match WA rucks and allow Kruezer to play forward.
I thought only Kruezer, Simpson, Lobbe, Maric and Polkinghorne maintained their draft rating for Vic Metro.
The big winners for WA were Morton, Palmer, Gourdis, Rich and Sampey. Morton looks a seriously good player who will rise in draft calculations.

Bit harsh focusing on just Arrowsmith in terms of soft and panicky. That moniker could be attached to many metro players.
The biggest error Metro made was not picking Trengove perhaps. Sullivan looked step below while trengove has the athleticism to match WA rucks and allow Kruezer to play forward.
I thought only Kruezer, Simpson, Lobbe, Maric and Polkinghorne maintained their draft rating for Vic Metro.
The big winners for WA were Morton, Palmer, Gourdis, Rich and Sampey. Morton looks a seriously good player who will rise in draft calculations.

Maybe Foj1 but what Grover said is pretty accurate IMO. Probably not the guy to ask as I am not a massive fan but the times I have seen him I've always left wondering if he is as hard as other blokes. Clearly has the class and I said similar things about Ben Reid who showed me on the weekend I was wrong. Hope I am about Arrowsmith as well.

Considering the size of the squad that was selected then you would have to imagine they already had a line through his name before the first cuts were even made. His good form just ensured he stayed around for a bit.

I notice he got named best for the Knights yesterday. I'll check it out later, but I reckon he's been named in the best players for the Knights for the last 4-6 games.

I would have had Totino in ahead of Joyce. Niether of them will be drafted, but at least Totino would've given VM some much needed run through the midfield.

what changes will VM make to the team for the next match down in geelong?!?
any injuries to come out of the trip to Perth?!?

for mine: trengrove and jones in
sullivan and joyce out...(assuming no injuries)

Morton looks a seriously good player who will rise in draft calculations.

Morton will be interesting. Played as a free-roaming link player. Can he win his own footy in a pack, can he run with it on the wing? I don't know how you judge a playmaker type. Probably similar to Birchall in that he is suited to being a high-possesion backman.

what changes will VM make to the team for the next match down in geelong?!?
any injuries to come out of the trip to Perth?!?

for mine: trengrove and jones in
sullivan and joyce out...(assuming no injuries)
Jones has come in for Joyce who is injured and will be interesting to see what changes they make. I think Sullivan is better than Trengrove

Afew of the WA Boys:

Palmer: Best player on the ground by a long way. Pretty big wraps on him from EF, plays league and has done so all year, with pretty decent results, with no real big games. He is good, damn good, but he is very bash and crash. He is relentless at the footy and even though alot of the time thats a good thing, I dont know if he has the polish to be an elite midfielder in the AFL. Don't get me wrong he was awesome, but he does have a bigger body than alot of the boys in there, and hence could back himself to run through them. He's abit in the Dane Swan/Scott Burns mould minus the cheap mark/kicks. I liked his game, and I'd take the punt that he will dominate the carnival, but alot of it imo is due to his superior body size compared alot of his opponents.

Masten: I'd describe his game as good, without being outstanding. I suppose he dissapointed a little in the fact, that he got going when the game was already won. Gets alot of the ball, and had very good TOG in the midfield so probably gets more opportunity than anyone. Looks for the handball at almost every opportunity, despite his kick being serviceable. He's tough, smart and will run all day. Very Paul Hasleby, Daniel Cross like. Masten will be a gun no doubt about it, but I don't think he has the class of a Buckley or a Hird.

Morton: Gun. Liked his game, despite going quiet in the 3rd qtr. Had a good first half, basically doing what he wanted running hard, taking marks and being used as the designated kicker despite being 194cm. Superlative foot skills off both sides, kicked a lovely long goal from 50m out after a strong overhead mark. In the 2nd half he played down back for the majority, getting tagged heavily in the 3rd qtr, but breaking that tag to have about 8 touches in the last. Looked at home down back linking and switching the play a number of times with Myers. For his size, he's in his own class imo, very hard to match up on, as he can beep test at 15-16, take an overhead mark aswell as find the footy, and use it well. Top 10 for sure imo.

Sampey: Liked his game, although he wasnt as brilliant as the commentators made out, he presented well, has a decent pair of hands and a handy kick for goal. Looked pretty quick off the mark and has kicked alot of goals in the colts this year. He looked ok, but didn't look overly impressive. He's a leading full forward atm, probably wouldnt cut it at CHF, unless he improves his skill at ground level. He will probably get drafted but lowish i'd say, mind you, that could change if he keeps presenting well and kicking goals like he has been.

McGinnity: Had a ripping 1st half, wore Cotchin like a glove and got plenty of it himself. I think he had 10 touches in the first qtr which was an impressive start, up there with Palmer but tapered off as the game went on, which was a little dissapointing. Having said that although his output reduced, he still wore Cotchin all day, with the highlight of his game being his tackling, discipline and ferocity and the pill. Showed he had good pace in a couple of instances, and also has a good disposal without being fantastic (Gets the job done).

Jacky: Forward dynamo. Kicks alot of goals in the colts, and alot of them being a 10 in degree of difficulty. Kicked a ripper from about 50 out on the boundary, that never looked like missing. Explosive pace, couple with silky skills. Very farmer, davey like in his approach to the game. Came up the ground abit too which I liked. I reckon he's a very good chance to get drafted.

Rich: Liked his game. Got a surpirisng amount of the footy, with the limited game time he had. A goal kicking midfielder in every sense of the expression, who stars in the colts, even though he is bottom age. Has outstanding foot skills, with great goal awareness and good pace. Looks as though he uses the footy smartly, and looked very comfortable in the game, despite having a less developed body.

Myers: One who I havent heard mentioned once. Had it 28 times down back, playing the typical 'quarterback' role that is so common in todays game. Waxed a little bit, but who doesnt down back these days. Has nice foot skills especially on his left side, but I didnt see him use his right side once (Typical left footer). Very composed when he got the footy, an essential tool for a backman. Is a very likely type, looks fit agile and quick for 190cm. Very smart user of the footy from what I saw, made no mistakes with his ball use. Gets a stack of the footy for the colts averaging about 25 touches and 10 marks a game. Followed his form straight into the Champs it would seem. The WA boys seemed to look for him alot when bring the ball out of the backline, probably the guy they know will use the ball with great efficiency.

Theres just afew of my player thoughts, may post a couple more up tommorow.

VIC vs WA