Grand Uncle Horace
Shake down the thunder
Give all Clubs the same other than GoCo , Giants and Tas.So you'd remove AFL distribution from just these 3 clubs, or all AFL clubs?
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Give all Clubs the same other than GoCo , Giants and Tas.So you'd remove AFL distribution from just these 3 clubs, or all AFL clubs?
Nah they’ll whinge about how the AFL fixture and stadium deals screw over their clubs.Give all Clubs the same other than GoCo , Giants and Tas.
They didn't, the only club that asked for help was Fitzroy and what happened to them?Well it was close. Only a handful were solvent.
But my response focuses on your SA had nothing to do with it claim.
They didn't, the only club that asked for help was Fitzroy and what happened to them?
If you are claiming Adelaide saved the VFL, let's see some proof.
This would be a great way to somewhat equalize things.This can be fixed by removing financial props for St.Kilda, Footscray and North to encourage an amalgamation or failing that, the first to go bust is dispensed with.
Actually, you're right, and then there's also the probability that there was some financial difficulty in the west? And the whole WAFC buying a licence could've been a marriage of convenience.Lol. The VFL and half of their teams were bankrupt, and if it wasn't for the SA and WA clubs it would have been wound up. The AFL and the VIc teams are only still there thanks to us.
Suck that up.
Interesting..When the Crows played Richmond in the GF, the ground was decked out like it was a Richmond home game. It was far from a neutral venue. This just should not be.
Actually, you're right, and then there's also the probability that there was some financial difficulty in the west? And the whole WAFC buying a licence could've been a marriage of convenience.
Even then it doesn't give right to non vic fans to imply that vic clubs should die off to accommodate the expansion clubs, 'we were here first' and all that.
But no one's doing that, if anything that'd be HQ spruiking it's 'national league' when you know, I know, they know, everybody knows it isn't.New clubs have no right to wish the death of a VFL club.
The AFL is not a merged comp or new competition. It is the VFL that invited new interstate clubs to join their existing competition.
So it is what it is.
Just don't piss on my back and tell me its raining. Expansion wasn't about a national comp in the early days. It was about getting some quick cash to bail out your competition.
Just like the AFL imposed ground rationalisation in Melbourne was also purely about improving the financial position of the league.Just don't piss on my back and tell me its raining. Expansion wasn't about a national comp in the early days. It was about getting some quick cash to bail out your competition.
You haven't shown shit, you put up a post with what you dreamed happened, if as you say the Adelaide saved the league, there will be proof, show it.I did you just chose to ignore it. So Fitzroy was the only club in financial trouble?
The 2 clubs you reckon saved the VFL from debt did it by injecting $8m via licensing fees which the VFL used to pay debts.
Yet nothing changed re club and comp viability as I already demonstrated.
Do you business much? Do you know the difference between a rescue package and the need to change a failing business model.
Then the fixture needs to be even. The current fixtures put some clubs at a clear commercial disadvantage than others.Nah they’ll whinge about how the AFL fixture and stadium deals screw over their clubs.
But I agree with you. Help no one (including my club) except for those three.
New clubs need at least 20-25 years of help to build a generation of support.
You haven't shown s**t, you put up a post with what you dreamed happened, if as you say the Adelaide saved the league, there will be proof, show it.
After Brisbane and WC joined the league, the banks were happy, before that they were threatening liquidation.
So, where is the proof.
This is not right. There was a clear direction from the AFL in the late 80s, 90s and early 2000s to rationalise, merge and relocate Victorian clubs. There was a pervading view that there were too many clubs in Victoria. Many attempts were made to merge, rationaliese and relocate legacy Melbourne clubs. Even up until 2007 (there's that year again) the AFL were trying to push North Melbourne to the Gold Coast. Even with the advent of Tasmania having a club most clubs in private (including most Vic Clubs) would prefer a North Relocation than a new team.But no one's doing that, if anything that'd be HQ spruiking it's 'national league' when you know, I know, they know, everybody knows it isn't.
And that's the other odd thing, clubs started up (apart from Port) and then joined the vfl knowing the market would be geared against them.
Not saying you personally btw, but there sure as heck a lot of non vics very very salty about it, while knowing beforehand and knowing now and STILL! follow the league.
Like they enjoy the misery or something.
You doubled down when I said the league wasn't going to fold if Adelaide didn't join.Just when this thread was losing some momentum you post this and the world is right again.
How about you tell me which fact I posted earlier or the question I asked you that Fitzroy was the only broke club is incorrect?
Or where I said Adelaide saved the league as opposed to a NATIONAL competition saved the league. Do I need to bold and underline them so you can more readily identify a fact when you stumble across one?
All you have done in this thread is attack anyone with an objectionable view to your bias, demand facts despite them being put RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU, and offer nothing substantive yourself. I get it, the first thing you would have done is checked out which club I follow and determine that I'm just another whinging, sooking interstater attacking your sense of privilege.
So where is your proof the banks were happy? You do know the VFL had other creditors they owed money to, not just banks?
But I guess I must have dreamed up the franchise owners of WC, Bears and Swans were broke, or that Melb clubs continued in merger talks, that the league continues to put together rescue packages, including for interstate clubs.
So you go get back on that wall and keep your Victorian brethren safe in their beds at night from the interstate hordes.
Just like the AFL imposed ground rationalisation in Melbourne was also purely about improving the financial position of the league.
The unitended (or perhaps intended??) consequence was to reduce home ground advantage for Melbourne based clubs only.
Since 2000, when Docklands opened, at the end of H&A season the all important top2 spots on the ladder - "earning" two home finals - it has been 32 non Melbourne to 14 Melbourne.
H&A season is heavily biased towards teams who retain a home advantage.
Yet the non Melbourne fans keep on pissing and moaning.
You doubled down when I said the league wasn't going to fold if Adelaide didn't join.
I ask for proof and all I get is this tangent or melt if you like.
The league implemented a salary cap to stop teams spending more than they could afford, also to give the weaker teams a chance, this happened way before Adelaide were even considered.
Adelaide had nothing to do with saving the league and if you think they did, show us the proof.
Then why did you even jump into the convo, just to hang crap?Why do I need to prove something I never claimed? Odd.
Care to answer the question regarding which facts I posted are inaccurate?
You most likely think this is funny, but this is what a "9 year old would say"show proof youre not 9 and on daddys computer while hes not looking
It’s in the best business interests of the AFL to give the bigger clubs more prime time slots. If it was about what’s fair, GWS, Gold Coast, and Brisbane would get more prime time games because they’re in most need of growth.Then the fixture needs to be even. The current fixtures put some clubs at a clear commercial disadvantage than others.
The AFL has been gifting Carton a commercially beneficial fixture for decades regardless of their ladder position or membership numbers. Essendon were gifted a great fixture after they were caught doping to keep them propped up.
Teams like Melbourne, St Kilda and North have a long history of playing games on Sundays that are not televised on free to air and clash with kids sport. It's pretty much impossible to grow the supporter base and keep up with the spending of the favoured clubs. What sponsors want to come on board when they are not getting primetime exposure??
I would trade any financial assistance given to Melbourne over the past 25 years for the fixture of Carlton, Collingwood or Essendon.
Is there a point attatched to this?Friday Night FTA Ratings (source mediaweek)
Rd1. Geelong v Collingwood 551,000
Rd.2 Brisbane v Melbourne 448,000
Rd.3 Collingwood v Richmond 481,000
Rd.4 Good Friday afternoon game Not nationally televised
Rd.5 Richmond v Sydney 484,000
Rd.6 Fremantle v Dogs 420,000
Rd.7 Saints v Port 453,000
Rd.8 Carlton v Brisbane 475,000
Rd.9 Richmond v Geelong 427,000
Rd.10 Port v Melbourne 515,000
Rd.11 Sydney v Carlton 484,000
Rd.12 Melbourne v Carlton 439,000
Rd.13 Dogs v Port 410,000
Rd.14 Brisbane v Sydney 348,000 (Ashes affected)
Rd.15 Saints v Brisbane 402,000
Rd. Swans v Geelong 340,000 (Ashes affected)
Is there a point attatched to this?