Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion

I don't hear the NZ warriors or Melbourne Storm sooking it up.

An extra home game than anyone else, but 5 additional return flights from Adelaide to Melbourne a year and you're carrying on as though the world is against you. It's ridiculous.
That's why the warriors haven't won anything yet!

I don't hear the NZ warriors or Melbourne Storm sooking it up.

An extra home game than anyone else, but 5 additional return flights from Adelaide to Melbourne a year and you're carrying on as though the world is against you. It's ridiculous.
Actually it’s half a game over a 23 round season, not a whole game.

At least you accept that there’s something else in favour of Victorian clubs in terms of travel. You’re making real progress.

We’re slowly getting there, we can get into other things like drafting, trading advantages via PSD, not playing at places like Geelong and Tasmania, etc at your next session.

At least you accept that there’s something else in favour of Victorian clubs in terms of travel. You’re making real progress.

We’re slowly getting there, we can get into other things like drafting, trading advantages via PSD, not playing at places like Geelong and Tasmania, etc at your next session.
So your maths is shoddy too?

Storm have and that's also since the salary cap rort.
Mate your point agrees with me. Travel is shit!!
I follow the warriors and know that it is geographical but bloody hard. Anyone that reckons it isn't when everything says otherwise are delusional

You're talking about Collingwood, that's not Vic bias, other Vic sides do go to Geelong and Tassie.

Now it's been explained over and over and over, why this happens, it's about money, it's because clubs like Port need more than others to stay afloat, so they use Collingwood to make the money to pay Port.

If you want everything to be fair, then let's move the GF, but let's also kick all the clubs out that take more than others, let's make everything fair.

They travel f all
Two hours at worst. Not to a different country or 5 hours lol
Apples n pairs bellend
Nice work on the bellend front when I referenced Adelaide Melbourne flights which are shorter than Melb Syd or Melb Brisbane...

I know you're not allowed to break ranks, but surely you've got to agree that someone from Adelaide complaining about 4 extra Melb Adelaide flights when the get an extra home game is ridiculous.

I can sympathize with some interstate teams plight but this is not Vic bias. It's big club bias.

There's two peculiar things in the AFL rules in terms of advantage. The MCG grand final and the Northern clubs having preferential recruiting rules.

Everything else that people carry on about is standard in every other sporting comp in the world.

It's just a bunch of sad sacks trying to position themselves as victims and demanding a handicap.

Do the wa basketball and soccer team supporters carry on like this about their extra travel? If so the NRL are smart to not have a WA yea constantly whinging and expecting a handicap. No idea how SA are whinging when gather round has given them the advantage of a bonus home game.

In other sports do clubs from states that don't produve as many players expect a handicap like the Northern club fans carry on about?

You're not victims of an afl vicbias conspiracy, you're victims of shock jocks knowing that this sort of s**t sells.
That’s an embarrassing hot take. The NBL and A-League have a more even spread across the country and everyone has to play home and away at the very least. Travel is a disadvantage and no sport has the travel issue so concentrated as the AFL. WA teams know they have to travel, it’s geography, they would accept if it wasn’t so disproportionate and favouring one group of teams. Failing that, there needs to be some means of redress.

You're talking about Collingwood, that's not Vic bias, other Vic sides do go to Geelong and Tassie.

Now it's been explained over and over and over, why this happens, it's about money, it's because clubs like Port need more than others to stay afloat, so they use Collingwood to make the money to pay Port.

If you want everything to be fair, then let's move the GF, but let's also kick all the clubs out that take more than others, let's make everything fair.
So you’ve resorted to the “Giving vic clubs advantages is good for the competition” defense.
Haven’t seen that one for a while.

That’s an embarrassing hot take. The NBL and A-League have a more even spread across the country and everyone has to play home and away at the very least. Travel is a disadvantage and no sport has the travel issue so concentrated as the AFL. WA teams know they have to travel, it’s geography, they would accept if it wasn’t so disproportionate and favouring one group of teams. Failing that, there needs to be some means of redress.

There's non-WA teams carrying on about travel.

With gather round, SA get an extra home game and only travel 4 less times than some Vic teams - the same amount as other Vic teams. Do you think they should be whinging about travel, or should they also have to redress their advantage?

Or are we going to continue to ignore advantages held by some clubs that are non-Vic(academies)and disadvantages held by some clubs that are Vic?

P.S. Using the term 'hot take" is far more embarrassing than anything I wrote.

In a 23 game season, the two Adelaide clubs should get 23 home games between them.
They get 24.
That’s half a game each.

Sorry I had to explain that to you,
Very creative nonsense. Do you have to split the points that you and Adelaide get for the extra half a game that you each play at home during Gather Round?

I don’t expect Victorians to know how basic maths works.

If you actually believe what you're typng you're not all there. Your maths relies on Brisbane considering the gather round game that they played at Norwood Oval to be a home game. It's ridiculous. In terms of home and away - it's a round where everyone plays away - excpet the two Adelaide teams who play a whole, not a half game at home.

Sigh.

You understand that the non SA teams are playing an extra neutral game, not an extra away game.
11 home, 11 away, 1 neutral = 11.5
12 home, 11 away = 12.

Difference is half a game.

Sigh.

You understand that the non SA teams are playing an extra neutral game, not an extra away game.
12 home, 11 away = 12.

So you're now recognising and equating neutral games as half a home game and assumedly recognising that Collingwood's draw of 5 away, 5 at home and 13 neutral isn't as advantageous as you first thought compared to Adelaide's draw of 11 home, 10 away and 2 neutral?

So how would you weight your extra 4 Melb Adel flights compared with the extra home ground advantage that you get?

Sigh.

12 home, 11 away = 12.

What makes it a neutral game and not an away game?

Is it a neutral game for both teams because both teams have travelled, and neither is playing in their home state?

It surely must have been an away game for Melbourne and Essendon.

So your solution is for them to spend even more time away from home?

Whilst it was a unique situation due to COVID, it was done during A
No issues with the grand finals results from 2007 to 2023? Only 2 Non Vic sides won a flag, swans in 2012 and eagles in 2018.

Hawks won flags in 2008 and 2013-5.

So hawks have won more flags than all 8 Victorian clubs

I mean Dreamtime at the Geeeee is classiccly farcical. The state that has, per capita, the least amount of indigenous people, produced by far, the least amount of great indigenous footballers, basks and profits from the deliberately duplicitous goodwill zeitgeist. It is comically outrageous.

Might be best if you complain to Kevin Sheedy if the match bothers you so much.

and yet, 15 out of 17 flags.
Yep. Home and Away has been even. vic teams have dominated flags recently.

But when you drill down it's 13 out of 15 as the covid years didn't have the advantages that everyone craps on about so not worth looking at them.

Then you look at those 13

Two to the Tigers - if you understand the current game then you know that the tigers were well ahead of the comp tactically - with every decent team now focussing on their signatures and trying to have them as their own signatures.

7 between the Cats and the Hawks - who like Brisbane before them were quite just simply the best group of players well drilled.

There's only 4 left - 2 to vic teams and 2 to non-vic teams.