2nds WAFL / Beagles Watch 2023

The WAFL are currently in the midst of their biggest public ad campaign I can recall in years. The ‘WAFL - Win Win’ bus ads and billboards doing the rounds, plus some newspaper and online stuff.

The campaign is centred around how it’s a win win when you go to the WAFL. For example, you can go to the footy then still have time to go out in Leedy after, or how there’s hot chips and heaps of space to sit at WAFL games.

The footy isn’t even the selling point in their own ads. The WAFL are not serious about attracting new fans.

That’s good.. only 25 years of inactivity and someone’s finally decided to start promoting the WAFL…

We’ve got 44 AFL listed players and another 30 or so top up listed players. I don’t think they would have foreseen us not being able to cobble together a seconds team three weeks in.

Probably not but they didn’t allow us to recruit good enough players to help out the squad if we did, most of the players are from country or metro leagues, pretty pathetic considering without this great club the wafl wouldn’t exist.

The Eagles have killed the WAFL, never helped it a bit. Where have you been for 30 years?

“All right, but apart from the sanitation, the medicine, education, wine, public order, irrigation, roads, a fresh water system, and public health, what have the Eagles ever done for us?”

Let the WAFL fund itself if they’re so worried about changing things from the glory years.

“All right, but apart from the sanitation, the medicine, education, wine, public order, irrigation, roads, a fresh water system, and public health, what have the Eagles ever done for us?”

Let the WAFL fund itself if they’re so worried about changing things from the glory years.
Those bloody Romans Eagles….

Combined rent to the WAFC through subi + royalty payments would be somewhere around 140-150 million from WCE to the WAFC by now......

But obviously West Coast and Nisbett has done nothing at all for the WAFL. Even i'm on Nisbett's side on this one.

Real solution that will basically kill the WAFL, SANFL and VFL is give the AFL sides 60 list spots with a mid season draft for injury top ups. (only players 23yo or older)

AFL reserves 16 on field and interchange up to total uninjured players but with an interchange cap.

Increase salary cap by 3 million per club.

AFL reserves becomes nationally televised competition (AFL makes more than enough from it to compensate)

Combined rent to the WAFC through subi + royalty payments would be somewhere around 140-150 million from WCE to the WAFC by now......

But obviously West Coast and Nisbett has done nothing at all for the WAFL. Even i'm on Nisbett's side on this one.

Real solution that will basically kill the WAFL, SANFL and VFL is give the AFL sides 60 list spots with a mid season draft for injury top ups. (only players 23yo or older)

AFL reserves 16 on field and interchange up to total uninjured players but with an interchange cap.

AFL reserves becomes nationally televised competition (AFL makes more than enough from it to compensate)

I do like the idea of the reserves side playing as a curtain raiser to the AFL side.

I think that’d work well.

West Perth sneak over the line by 169. Nice.

West Perth 34.13 217 def. West Coast 7.6 48
A special mention to Ethan Hansen, who I thought looked really good out there for us today at times. Jackson Nelson as well.
Poor Jackson Nelson wears his heart on his face. After the 3rd goal in 3 minutes in the 2nd quarter he stood in the square, he couldn't hide his disappointment.

They didn't just give it to them, they gave what they should to the owners of their business. You do know the Eagles are owned by the WAFC? And again I will say virtually none of that money finds it's way to the WAFL. The WAFC have wasted it on Admin and other priorities.
I would also agree with Nisbett if what he said was true, but as the Eagles have done nothing for the WAFL then he is not telling the truth.
But I will give him kudos for knowing he can just tell lies and that he will have a following to that will believe him.

Gavin Bell on SEN just said they haven’t asked for a postponement of this weekend’s game against east Fremantle and doesn’t know where that story came from

I’m not sure how they field a team but that’s what he said

I hear Ochre is tall and has a good kick on him. He's loyal to Claremont but for a few Charcoal Chicken vouchers he'd lead the Beagles ruck division I reckon
Other WAFL clubs have already knocked that on the head as they don't want WCE to be too strong