2nds WAFL / Beagles Watch 2023

Based on players leaving Freo and actually staying in the AFL system.

Absolutely no one sees any value in any of our players who are on the fringes.

Few would see value in many of the ones we call B22 locks.

We can't develop role players for our 22 let alone surplus ones with trade value.
We are very very early into a rebuild - worringly we seem to be focusing on role players not match winning class. But we have plenty of time at the bottom, I suspect, to remedy this.

So according to the commentator, we wanted to forfeit the match but Subi blocked it cos they wanted the free percentage boost playing a team below reserves quality.

The Muppet Show Muppets GIF by Muppet Wiki
Schitts Creek Comedy GIF by CBC

So according to the commentator, we wanted to forfeit the match but Subi blocked it cos they wanted the free percentage boost playing a team below reserves quality.

The Muppet Show Muppets GIF by Muppet Wiki
Schitts Creek Comedy GIF by CBC
That's fair enough if all the other teams had a percentage boost. I would have thought it could be delayed though. Play during the bye round.

Cannot continue into next year
It can and will because WAFL already have our money or some crap. Its only year after next its up for review. Id be inclined to leave the WAFL side with 100% amateurs unless they give in to our demands . They need us more then we need them at this rate because reality is if Eagles just organised our own scratch matches each week at Mineral Resources Park with a bunch of ammos we would be better off then playing WAFL

They are completely asleep at the wheel at the WAFC.

City of Joondalup is revoking the 100% discount on facility hire for junior sport - nett effect +$100-150/kid for footy registration per season. That's every kid in the district who needs a kid-sport voucher to play footy out of the system for starters before you even look at kids who don't qualify for kidsport but the increases will force them out. Other councils are watching closely and will no doubt move to access this income stream for themselves if CoJ gets away with it.

WAFC, while their grass roots are getting round-up poured on them by CoJ...crickets.
I get your point but honestly a $100 registration fee isn’t excessive if you want your child to play a sport and a bloody cheap one at that.
Think of the cost of Cricket for kit alone, top end bats aren’t cheap($500 to well over 1k)
Then kids that play NPL soccer( that’s the highest level for there age here in WA) are in lots of cases paying 2k to 4K for a spot on the list. Yes that’s correct.
Dirt bikes or Horses or fishing the list goes on. 💰

AFL is pretty cheap👍🏻

It can and will because WAFL already have our money or some crap. Its only year after next its up for review. Id be inclined to leave the WAFL side with 100% amateurs unless they give in to our demands . They need us more then we need them at this rate because reality is if Eagles just organised our own scratch matches each week at Mineral Resources Park with a bunch of ammos we would be better off then playing WAFL

And what demands would they be Trevor?

I get your point but honestly a $100 registration fee isn’t excessive if you want your child to play a sport and a bloody cheap one at that.
Think of the cost of Cricket for kit alone, top end bats aren’t cheap($500 to well over 1k)
Then kids that play NPL soccer( that’s the highest level for there age here in WA) are in lots of cases paying 2k to 4K for a spot on the list. Yes that’s correct.
Dirt bikes or Horses or fishing the list goes on.

AFL is pretty cheap
Yes, footy is one of the cheaper options for kids sports due to its size and the lack of specialist equipment. So footy attracts kids whos parents literally can't afford for them to play other sports. Footy is the well go and play footy if X sport is too expensive sport.

$100-150 increase in rego represents a 50-75% increase at our club. At the top end it also represents the entirety of the kidsport subsidy that low income earners qualify for and is the only reason a bunch of kids get to play a sport at all. Clubs already pay their local government fees for ground use and maintenance.

Don't worry, the cricket kids will get to pay whatever chunk is relevant too. And the seniors group with a bridge club on Tuesday mornings...and, and and.

I guess "**** poor people" is one position to take. For mine I think the less disengaged, disenfranchised children we can put out into adulthood the better.

Currently the community subsidises it through their rates. The Council will argue a user pays system is fairer but does anyone think they will see a reduction in their rates to match? So it's just another cash grab in the midst of offering less and less services by local government.

Can I personally pay the extra charge? Sure but I'm thinking about other folks who I know are struggling to make ends meet in the current climate...and CoJ is largely a reasonable socio-economic area.

Yes, footy is one of the cheaper options for kids sports due to its size and the lack of specialist equipment. So footy attracts kids whos parents literally can't afford for them to play other sports. Footy is the well go and play footy if X sport is too expensive sport.

$100-150 increase in rego represents a 50-75% increase at our club. At the top end it also represents the entirety of the kidsport subsidy that low income earners qualify for and is the only reason a bunch of kids get to play a sport at all. Clubs already pay their local government fees for ground use and maintenance.

Don't worry, the cricket kids will get to pay whatever chunk is relevant too. And the seniors group with a bridge club on Tuesday mornings...and, and and.

I guess "* poor people" is one position to take. For mine I think the less disengaged, disenfranchised children we can put out into adulthood the better.

Currently the community subsidises it through their rates. The Council will argue a user pays system is fairer but does anyone think they will see a reduction in their rates to match? So it's just another cash grab in the midst of offering less and less services by local government.

Can I personally pay the extra charge? Sure but I'm thinking about other folks who I know are struggling to make ends meet in the current climate...and CoJ is largely a reasonable socio-economic area.
I think you missed my point I wasn’t saying fu** poor people. I was just saying it’s very cheap compared to nearly all other sports.

Yeah it would be great if more funding was pumped into all junior pathways in all sports.

The WAFL situation must be remedied. But our bigger probelm is that our best 22 fielded AFL team would not beat all the WAFL teams. Outside a a few good AFL players (most getting old) we have a wide spread of soft role players. Thats code for slow, no quality skill and no fight.

What?

Even with around 12 of our not best 22 players we won all 3 preseason WAFL matches

An all AFL listed side which includes several best 22 players would absolutely beat any WAFL side

The team that played Saturday would beat every WAFL team by 10 goals.
well thats impressive - 60 points you reckon. lets not attempt to prove that. There must be some pathetic key forwards in the WAFL if thats the case. But then again the U18's didnt leave an impression of a high quality comp.

We need to measure outselves against the best

well thats impressive - 60 points you reckon. lets not attempt to prove that. There must be some pathetic key forwards in the WAFL if thats the case. But then again the U18's didnt leave an impression of a high quality comp.

We need to measure outselves against the best
Looking at the Swan Districts forward line vs Adelaide

Thomas Edwards 191cm 80kg
Jesse Palmer 190cm 91kg
Brayden Noble 191cm 90kg

Taylor Walker 194cm 102kg
Darcy Fogarty 194cm 99kg
Riley Thilthorpe 202cm 105kg

The Adelaide players are much bigger and much much stronger.

Our makeshift defence of Yeo, Bazzo and Witherden can cover the Swans players, but not the Adelaide players.
Rhett Bazzo 195cm 86kg
Elliot Yeo 190cm 91kg
Alex Witherden 188cm 86kg

They'd be able to compete physically and possess a lot of extra class.

I think you missed my point I wasn’t saying fu** poor people. I was just saying it’s very cheap compared to nearly all other sports.

Yeah it would be great if more funding was pumped into all junior pathways in all sports.

Apologies if my post seemed personally aggressive. I was just trying to put some context around the "footy is a cheap sport" argument, the broader issues of kids missing out on participating and probably got carried away.

Looking at the Swan Districts forward line vs Adelaide

Thomas Edwards 191cm 80kg
Jesse Palmer 190cm 91kg
Brayden Noble 191cm 90kg

Taylor Walker 194cm 102kg
Darcy Fogarty 194cm 99kg
Riley Thilthorpe 202cm 105kg

The Adelaide players are much bigger and much much stronger.

Our makeshift defence of Yeo, Bazzo and Witherden can cover the Swans players, but not the Adelaide players.
Rhett Bazzo 195cm 86kg
Elliot Yeo 190cm 91kg
Alex Witherden 188cm 86kg

They'd be able to compete physically and possess a lot of extra class.
Bazzo is a kid leave him alone. Then theer is the physical wrecking ball Witherden. I dont think so. You may have confused the size of the dog and the size of the fight in the dog.

Hamish Brayshaw on Backchat says Alec Waterman fractured his sternum and that's why he's out for the season.

Yes it's WAFL, but that to the list of random/bizarre injuries at the club this year. FMD we have to be cursed

Error on our indigenous jumper in 2019 since then there has been a curse .
Ernie Dingo says this is the case hasn't said how we lift the curse though .

Bazzo is a kid leave him alone. Then theer is the physical wrecking ball Witherden. I dont think so. You may have confused the size of the dog and the size of the fight in the dog.
What on Earth are you talking about?

I wasn't critical of Bazzo in the slightest.

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Error on our indigenous jumper in 2019 since then there has been a curse .
Ernie Dingo says this is the case hasn't said how we lift the curse though .

Given what has transcribed since, I'll take it.

How do we purge it?

Given what has transcribed since, I'll take it.

How do we purge it?
It's definitely 'a thing' ... I was born in that part of the world mentioned in the article and the Aboriginal people (noongar) do think that, that part of WA is 'haunted' or bad luck. Maybe it's a culmination of that guernsey and a move to the new training facility (perhaps something bad happened on that land). We are definitely cursed and perhaps Ernie is right?

Oh wow, there's a name I haven't seen in a long time.
Where have you been hiding?