2nds WAFL / Beagles Watch 2023

Being a great player in the 90s doesn’t exempt you from criticism for being a s**t media personality in the 2010s and 2020s, funnily enough.

I think he speaks the truth, many these days hate truth. They much prefer things warm and fuzzy and Suma doesn't present like that for them. Not much he says that I listen to is far off the mark. Might be unpopular but it's generally pretty sound info.

Got to love some of you fans, bag the hell out of one of our greatest players in Suma but stand up for a coach who won 4 or so games of his last 50 as coach like he is the clubs favourite son.
And they reckon Suma is the one with some screws loose.
You’re bloody rippers you guys.
Alright Mrs Sumich, slow your roll.

We still love Suma as a player, just think he's a shit commentator with a grudge against West Coast after he was overlooked for the head coaching role,.

I think he speaks the truth, many these days hate truth. They much prefer things warm and fuzzy and Suma doesn't present like that for them. Not much he says that I listen to is far off the mark. Might be unpopular but it's generally pretty sound info.

That’s your view and that’s fine, but (a) plenty disagree with you and (b) they should be entitled to say so regardless of what Sumich did as a player in the 90s.

Suma always speaking truth to power.

Being a great player in the 90s doesn’t exempt you from criticism for being a s**t media personality in the 2010s and 2020s, funnily enough.

That’s your view and that’s fine, but (a) plenty disagree with you and (b) they should be entitled to say so regardless of what Sumich did as a player in the 90s.

Plenty agree with me also, just not many Eagles fans. lol

Got to love some of you fans, bag the hell out of one of our greatest players in Suma but stand up for a coach who won 4 or so games of his last 50 as coach like he is the clubs favourite son.
How many games has Suma won as AFL coach?

Because every club he's applied to be senior coach for have identified that he is a complete moron. But he's found a nice career where being a moron is encouraged - writing for The West.

So for instance you think him saying Eagles trading pick 1 for Brodie Grundy and Van Rooyen isn't far off the mark then?

I didn't say everything he says is the truth.
Many Eagles fans are just unhappy that he has called out the Eagles for being arrogant, lazy, not hungry and simply going through the motions from the top down.
Now how can anyone say that is far off the mark.

I didn't say everything he says is the truth.
Many Eagles fans are just unhappy that he has called out the Eagles for being arrogant, lazy, not hungry and simply going through the motions from the top down.
Now how can anyone say that is far off the mark.
Have you read the threads on here? That's pretty much just word for word what every poster on here has posted

I would be more worried that our club might do something like that. And then watch you all applaud it.

But why wouldn’t they do it, if past great and noted speaker of truth Peter Sumich says it’s a good idea?

Alright Mrs Sumich, slow your roll.

We still love Suma as a player, just think he's a s**t commentator with a grudge against West Coast after he was overlooked for the head coaching role,.

I still have a burning hatred for the Western Bulldogs after Danny Southern's headlock on Suma a few years back (well 1994). Hate everything about them, even struggle to like the bont. So its easy for me to understand why Suma might have a grudge against the Eagles after being overlooked for Simmo. It's also easy to understand that everything he says about the club now is tainted by that grudge and most of it is wrong.

Suma is still a champion of the club and one of my favourite all time Eagles players. I still hate everything about the Bulldogs. And most things Suma says now are crap.

I still have a burning hatred for the Western Bulldogs after Danny Southern's headlock on Suma a few years back (well 1994). Hate everything about them, even struggle to like the bont. So its easy for me to understand why Suma might have a grudge against the Eagles after being overlooked for Simmo. It's also easy to understand that everything he says about the club now is tainted by that grudge and most of it is wrong.

Suma is still a champion of the club and one of my favourite all time Eagles players. I still hate everything about the Bulldogs. And most things Suma says now are crap.

I am exactly the same way.

**** Danny Southern.

Wait, that was 29 years ago? **** i'm getting old.

As an aside, how did you feel about the Eagles after Gaff's hit on Brayshaw?

Between that, Liberatore senior scragging Cousins to the point of him having massive scratch marks after the game, and that time when six Footscray defenders decided to gang up and mug Gardiner before the siren just to unsettle him, I hated the Bulldogs for the longest time.

+Nathan Brown/Tony Liberatore calling Fraser Gehrig a rapist

Makes some bad calls as a coach too.
Wants to win at all costs to make himself look good regardless of how it affects the team
When he was in charge of the U18s state team the leadership group voted Elijah taylor off the team for numerous reasons.
Sumich played him anyway.
These sort of things can impact team unity
Glad we never hired him as head coach

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Is it really up to a group of 17 year-olds to torpedo another kid's chance at making it? He clearly had the talent as Sydney took a punt on him despite the negativity.

Plenty of players have managed to mature and go on with it in a professional environment, away from undesirable influences. Elijah didn't and in fact blew it all up in horrible style but closing the door on his best chance to have success and improve his prospects is a pretty massive call.

On the flip side of that you have a whole group of 17 year olds, many hoping to go onto AFL footy. Learning to get on with your job and work out how to perform when you don't particularly care for a team mate is going to be a pretty useful skill in that environment.

I really doubt Sumich was thinking about "looking good" by keeping Taylor on. The easy thing to do would have been to cut him loose.

Do have to LOL about the team unity thing when our actual head coach backed in Willie Rioli who torched our 2019 finals campaign and has been basically pissing on the club ever since.

Next problem will be convincing players to sign on.

I still think the top-up squad was decent enough this year, it just had to be relied on way too much.
Not sure whether recruiters read this but there are two WA raised players Jed Hagan and Josh Gore playing in the SANFL thar would be great Marquee players for WCE reserves. Both have got great records in poor to average teams and are still young enough to be considered for next year's mid season draft if we need a small forward

The reason Hagan wasn't picked up was due to his height and upside. Had already been playing seniors and just screams tier 2 star but no elite AFL qualities. I'd be happy to pick him up as a premium player for the WAFL side but don't think he's quite AFL level. If he had his skillset but was 187-188cm he'd probably be on a list as a lockdown defender / utility.