2nds WAFL / Beagles Watch 2023

You have your blinkers on where you still think the WAFL is above all else. A quote from Kym Dillon for perspective for you, he sees the writing on the wall

Been pointed out to you numerous times which you keep willfully ignoring:
-If a reserves comp happens the WAFL and SANFL will get raided for talent to make it viable, it's inevitable. Playing ammos like the Beagles have been doing won't cut it on a national level.
-AFL list sizes won't need to increase to make it happen, the current VFL teams manage this already with their current AFL list sizes.
-Money and opportunity will be enticing to play in an AFL reserves comp. Playing against AFL listed players in a reserves comp is a good way for draftees with AFL aspirations to get noticed. The Beagles also won't be hampered by a points / salary cap like they currently are.
-There is going to be a significant hole in the WAFL budget with the licensing fee for the Beagles suddenly missing as well (not sure if Fremantle also pay a fee for their alignment with Peel)

You are seriously underestimating the appeal of an AFL reserves comp for players to participate in, and the drain it will have on WAFL resourcs. The romanticism of the old WAFL comp from the 70s/80s/90s will only get you so far.

I agree with you that money will win out but I am not sure seasoned WAFL and SANFL footballers are going to choose to travel around the country playing footy in a comp where no one cares if they win or not and are only there to help some colts become better players. Now if you pay them 50k a year to play then they just might.
Now I also understand that the AFL can and will sell to their sheep that reserves footy is all of a sudden this big comp and the sheep will believe them.
You have to remember that being drafted does not make you a good footballer. There is 10 players now on each and every AFL list that are very average state league level footballers.

So yes I agree that it probably will kill off the WAFL because money being handed out for no good reason at all. But that should be a sad thing not a good thing.
I probably do have romantic notions, not going to apologise for it. But a reserves comp will do nothing at all for footy. It won’t be before the main game and even if it is once or twice a year it will finish two hours before and no one will watch it.
And it won’t be a comp the clubs are trying to win.
Like you said though it is inevitable.
I don’t take much notice of Port however as they have hated the SANFL since they started.

This is the WAFL paradox to a tee.

Deathly frightened of a dominant WCE reserves side and determined to strangle the competitive life out of them with regulation but steadfastly believe no-one that is any chop would want to play for them.

Which is it?

Not sure that it will kill the WAFL, there should always be a grass roots support for it.

Hopefully it is the long overdue kick up the ass for the WAFC to restructure things.

Not sure that it will kill the WAFL, there should always be a grass roots support for it.

Hopefully it is the long overdue kick up the ass for the WAFC to restructure things.

They are getting closer and closer to glorified ammos clubs with much, much higher overheads.
(Edit: these are 2023 attendance numbers)

1698802767932.png
Plug in some generational change and these numbers are only heading 1 way.

This is the WAFL paradox to a tee.

Deathly frightened of a dominant WCE reserves side and determined to strangle the competitive life out of them with regulation but steadfastly believe no-one that is any chop would want to play for them.

Which is it?

Seriously what are you smoking? The Eagles reserves at their best is an average team.
What are they frightened of?
The Eagle’s want special rules for themselves because they are nit good at what they do.
They want to play AFL listed players and have the sane salary cap.
I mean that is done fine weed the Eagles and their fans must be smoking to think that would be a fair deal.

They are getting closer and closer to glorified ammos clubs with much, much higher overheads.
(Edit: these are 2023 attendance numbers)

View attachment 1843635
Plug in some generational change and these numbers are only heading 1 way.

And the biggest club in Australia the WCE could manage an average of 1142. Some loyal fans they have. Lol

To be fair, the club did literally nothing to promote the WAFL side all season.

Beagles are just a means to an end currently for non-selected senior players to go. Blind Freddy can see there's no long term future in it either with the looming specter of an AFL reserves comp and the other clubs being inhospitable to them (through their dealings with them).

Any money thrown into promoting it is just wasted. WAFC should be doing that with the bulk money being contributed to them between the various licensing fees the club pays them.

Beagles are just a means to an end currently for non-selected senior players to go. Blind Freddy can see there's no long term future in it either with the looming specter of an AFL reserves comp and the other clubs being inhospitable to them (through their dealings with them).

Any money thrown into promoting it is just wasted. WAFC should be doing that with the bulk money being contributed to them between the various licensing fees the club pays them.

It’s a pity very little of the money the WAFC gets doesn’t go to the WAFL clubs.

Agree with that, but why do the WCE fans not follow their reserves team?

Because most people already have a WAFL club they support.

Unless you have no previous vested interest in the WAFL you aren't going to change the club you support. There are Freo supporters who still support their WAFL club first and foremost and have Peel as their second team.

Inhospitable?? The Eagles have been the issue for decades. Every scenario doesn’t work for them. The WAFL abd it’s clubs have bent over backwards for the Eagles and still the Eagles sook instead of looking within which is where the problem is.

Because most people already have a WAFL club they support.

Unless you have no previous vested interest in the WAFL you aren't going to change the club you support. There are Freo supporters who still support their WAFL club first and foremost and have Peel as their second team.

I am one of them. West Perth is my heart.

Interesting seeing as the Adelaide clubs were used by some on here as the example of the model working

Anything else is better

There was an article a few pages back about how even Peel were looking for their own independence from Freo at some stage which I found interesting.

I think the days of the WA/SA clubs operating in their local league are numbered.

The AFL need to go back to their charter and start looking at what’s best for the sport around Australia as a whole rather than what’s best for the AFL

I’d love to see a breakdown of the AFL’s expenditure across states/leagues. It’d be illuminating and I suspect pitchfork inducing for WA and SA fans

There’d be, arguably justified, heavy spending in the northern states where they’re trying to grow the game

Spending in Victoria would be skewed to pathway programs, in particular the Coates league, whilst the AFL reserves/VFA/VFL hybrid would have some funding but generally left to the clubs. Country and suburban leagues are being left withering on the vine begging for scraps

The WAFL and SANFL I think get little, or no help, propped up significantly by contributions from their respective AFL teams - something teams in other states aren’t burdened by.

If the AFL was serious they’d be looking at ways to get money into development, including feeder comps, to restore health throughout the system

An AFL reserves system would be a disaster for state leagues and undermine their viability whilst providing a substandard product of its own

Instead of looking at a costly reserves comp they should be looking at reducing list sizes and increasing the draft age so that 18 year olds go into state leagues before being drafted. It’ll help the standard of those leagues and give them more of a purpose

Feeder clubs could be incentivised for developing players by reinstating the old draft payment that used to go to the club of origin

The AFL commission was originally established to look after the sport as a whole not just the elite league. They’ve lost sight of that

The AFL need to go back to their charter and start looking at what’s best for the sport around Australia as a whole rather than what’s best for the AFL

I’d love to see a breakdown of the AFL’s expenditure across states/leagues. It’d be illuminating and I suspect pitchfork inducing for WA and SA fans

There’d be, arguably justified, heavy spending in the northern states where they’re trying to grow the game

Spending in Victoria would be skewed to pathway programs, in particular the Coates league, whilst the AFL reserves/VFA/VFL hybrid would have some funding but generally left to the clubs. Country and suburban leagues are being left withering on the vine begging for scraps

The WAFL and SANFL I think get little, or no help, propped up significantly by contributions from their respective AFL teams - something teams in other states aren’t burdened by.

If the AFL was serious they’d be looking at ways to get money into development, including feeder comps, to restore health throughout the system

An AFL reserves system would be a disaster for state leagues and undermine their viability whilst providing a substandard product of its own

Instead of looking at a costly reserves comp they should be looking at reducing list sizes and increasing the draft age so that 18 year olds go into state leagues before being drafted. It’ll help the standard of those leagues and give them more of a purpose

Feeder clubs could be incentivised for developing players by reinstating the old draft payment that used to go to the club of origin

The AFL commission was originally established to look after the sport as a whole not just the elite league. They’ve lost sight of that

Great post mate, the AFL lost site of what is right decades ago. Self interest took over and as keepers of the sport they are doing a woeful job.

I'm not sure what the lack of numbers at WCE WAFL games has to do with anything. WC fans support WC in the AFL. In an all time pathetic year we averaged 42k punters per home game. More people rocked up to 7 Eagles games than turned out for the whole WAFL season. I'm not trying to mock the WAFL, I'm saying we need to be working hard to turn things around or the league is doomed to wither and die. I think that would be a tragedy.

Totally agree with Keys post above. If the WAFL had any sense at all they would be doing everything in their power to avoid the formation of a national AFL reserves competition. It will only continue the centralisation of agency over AUSTRALIAN RULES football further into the Victorian sphere, erode funding opportunities from government and further dilute the development pathways and talent pool in WA. There is basically no stewardship from the allegedly national bodies in regard to the traditional footy states of SA and WA and the more sceptical among us might even think there is wilful harm done.

One of the only ways the WAFL can impact this reserves concept is to ensure that West Coast and Fremantle are getting what they need out of their programs in the WAFL environment and don't want to change what they are doing. The WAFL always forgets the Golden Rule when dealing with West Coast.

"The man with the gold makes the Rules"

It doesn't make it fair but the WAFL clubs seem determined to fight the most pyrrhic battles to hasten their own demise.

I'm not sure what the lack of numbers at WCE WAFL games has to do with anything. WC fans support WC in the AFL. In an all time pathetic year we averaged 42k punters per home game. More people rocked up to 7 Eagles games than turned out for the whole WAFL season. I'm not trying to mock the WAFL, I'm saying we need to be working hard to turn things around or the league is doomed to wither and die. I think that would be a tragedy.

Totally agree with Keys post above. If the WAFL had any sense at all they would be doing everything in their power to avoid the formation of a national AFL reserves competition. It will only continue the centralisation of agency over AUSTRALIAN RULES football further into the Victorian sphere, erode funding opportunities from government and further dilute the development pathways and talent pool in WA. There is basically no stewardship from the allegedly national bodies in regard to the traditional footy states of SA and WA and the more sceptical among us might even think there is wilful harm done.

One of the only ways the WAFL can impact this reserves concept is to ensure that West Coast and Fremantle are getting what they need out of their programs in the WAFL environment and don't want to change what they are doing. The WAFL always forgets the Golden Rule when dealing with West Coast.

"The man with the gold makes the Rules"

It doesn't make it fair but the WAFL clubs seem determined to fight the most pyrrhic battles to hasten their own demise.

Agree with most but what west coast want us the same salary cap and to be able to play AFL players.
So how would that be good for the WAFL? The Eagle's play the Dockers in the WAFL gF every year!!
I agree the WAFL needs to work with them but seriously they have, they have bent over backwards for them the problem is you are believing what the Eagles say as the truth instead of finding out that the WAFL clubs have done everything and more than they need to do to try and help.
The Eagles like all AFL entities tell you what you want to hear and it is rarely even close to the truth. And it doesn’t need to be truthful because they know they have you captured and their truth will be your truth.

I daresay that if the wafl eagles can stay stable for any length of time in whatever incarnation works then you'd get more interest from fans, whether that's stand alone or host club.
Chopping and changing isnt going to work

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app