Injury Walsh's Injury Updates

Lorem ipsum ... ;)

Yeah, I agree with you. The modern commentator seems to know stuff all about the teams and players. To be fair, there are over 800 odd players, so that’s a lot to know! I wonder why they haven’t evolved to having commentators that specialise in a team, and they coverage is directed at a particular supporter base.

The AFLW watchers amongst us are used to even worse ... often they simply say “the Collingwood player kicks to to the next Collingwood player” and don’t even know their names.

Remember when Fox used to give you the option of listening to the footy with or without commentators? I reckon they should give you the option of listening to a panel of commentators calling the game from.your team's perspective. They'd be better informed and we wouldn't have to put up with commentators who sound happy when our team is getting beaten

I know I am like a dog with a bone but the commentary from the media (despite being kind in a patronizing way to the Pies) infuriates me with their failure to acknowledge the bleeding obvious. I have heard John Ralph, Sam Landsberger, Terry Wallace and Kevin Bartlett rave about Richmond's amazing depth without mentioning the fact they have every player on their list ready and available bar Rioli who will be up and about in 2 weeks. If we had the same state of fitness at our club our depth would look incredible. We would have the likes of Greenwood, Blair, Fasolo, Thomas, Brown, Goldsack, Crocker, Appleby, Mayne, Wills, Daicos, Broomhead all ready to step in should a small defender, midfielder or forward happen to cop an injury. It is so amateurish to choose to ignore this simple fact. Despite the harping from some Pie supporters about injuries being a weak excuse, I believe your season rises and falls on injuries more than any other factor. Richmond simply don't get them and in particular their last two years have basically seen the same squad play together week in and week out for nearly one and a half seasons. Then the media has the temerity to marvel at their cohesion and machine like understanding of their gameplan. We have had to change our set up so often the past few seasons it's a wonder all of the players know each others' names. It is simply a fact and the lack of acknowledgement drives me crazy.

Geelong and the Dogs in particular have copped terrible runs again this year. I will acknowledge Richmond as a top side when they face some true adversity.

I agree, mate. A team can be decimated by injury but the media soon gets bored with reporting that so they have to start sinking the boot into the coach or whoever.

I reckon they should give you the option of listening to a panel of commentators calling the game from.your team's perspective. They'd be better informed and we wouldn't have to put up with commentators who sound happy when our team is getting beaten

It’s not even just the partisan nature of it.

Each team’s supporters are interested in different things.

For example, pre-game I’m interested to know what Brisbane players to look out for. How Dayne Beams is going? How competitive are Brisbane’s rucks and general strengths and weaknesses. How Brisbane’s gameplan is expected to stack up against Collingwood’s? I’m interested to hear about the Collingwood players who are doing well in the VFL, but I couldn’t give a stuff about Brisbane in the NEAFL. I’m interested to hear how Collingwood players on the injury list are progressing, but I couldn’t give a stuff about any Brisbane player who isn’t playing. I don’t expect commentators to cheer for Collingwood, but a Collingwood perspective would be nice.

Surprised it’s never been done outside of ‘Press red for Ed’.

It’s not even just the partisan nature of it.

Each team’s supporters are interested in different things.

For example, pre-game I’m interested to know what Brisbane players to look out for. How Dayne Beams is going? How competitive are Brisbane’s rucks and general strengths and weaknesses. How Brisbane’s gameplan is expected to stack up against Collingwood’s? I’m interested to hear about the Collingwood players who are doing well in the VFL, but I couldn’t give a stuff about Brisbane in the NEAFL. I’m interested to hear how Collingwood players on the injury list are progressing, but I couldn’t give a stuff about any Brisbane player who isn’t playing. I don’t expect commentators to cheer for Collingwood, but a Collingwood perspective would be nice.

Surprised it’s never been done outside of ‘Press red for Ed’.

I've heard they have it in America.

Why would McLarty be needed down back?
Yes, that was poorly worded.

And more likely the club would have McLarty replace Cox (who replaces Grundy) while Moore replaces Reid who had that role linking back and forward halves.

I've heard they have it in America.
I have an NBA league pass. I have the option of watching games with a TNT/ESPN commentary team, a home commentary team, an away commentary team as well as Spanish feeds and I think a couple of Asian languages as well. It's always good to choose the commentary that suits. Would love the AFL to put something like this in place. Other than Ed and BT who would we have?

Glad to hear it's only the PCL for Aish. Also glad to hear no ruptured achilles for Reid. Best cases for us really.

Grundy's injury came from nowhere but it didn't seem serious so not so concerned.

Injury Walsh's Injury Updates