We need a great song for the crowd to get into before the game....

I can appreciate what you're saying. As per my thread title I was referring to a song pre-game just before the bounce. Having been to both Port and our home games I think Port is gold standard in the AFL with - Never tear us apart just before than bounce like being at Anfield or a Hammers home game. I also don't mind the Lions roar after a goal or the Rooster's crowing after a try.

It wouldn't work for us as a Crow crowing is not a pleasant sound but maybe Bruce piped over the PA ''special'' after a goal ;)
9D704261-2775-4C9E-B073-70C118189FAD.gif

Graham Cornes? This is the go to call in topic for him on a Saturday morning every 3 or 4 weeks.

We don't and the only thing cringier than Port doing it would be to copy them and come up short.

Not that it's particulary original anyway.

I've always thought that Port's pregame unless we are purely talking about the song and scarf wave as massivly over rated but I think they earnt the reputation from that first ever game at Adelaide Oval, and it's because there was actually no time for a lot of the bullshit they fill the time in with because of the presentations. Was a very simple start from memory and then the song and then the game.

Next week we went with all of our regular pregame stuff and the story is well it's all pretty lame, that's not better than Port's, Crows need a song!

What people don't mention is that the week after Port would have rolled out all of their usual crap like Kicken for Chicken, the kiss cam, funk squad, best hub cap competition or whatever else they do at a home game.

Is it really just a minute snippet of NTUA that gives them the best pre-game in the competition or do people think they fill the whole time in with quality?

We should play a song only after we win a Showdown. :$

giphy.gif

How about Kick (it), but INXS.
Very Adelaide Crows

Sometimes you kick.
Sometimes you get kicked.
Then you get kicked again.
And again. And again...

To elaborate, I find the Never Tear Us Apart to be reasonably cringe, but it's there thing, and at least gets the kiddies engaged so good luck to them.

Copying them for the point of it would be the cringiest thing ever. I don't think I could go to home games, it would be too embarrassing.

To elaborate, I find the Never Tear Us Apart to be reasonably cringe, but it's there thing, and at least gets the kiddies engaged so good luck to them.

Copying them for the point of it would be the cringiest thing ever. I don't think I could go to home games, it would be too embarrassing.
“Its their thing”

Sorry.. what?..

Are you suggesting the idea to have a pregame song and have your crowd of supporters sing it whilst holding their scarfs above their heads is ports idea?.. and thus is “their thing”..

Ever heard of Liverpool FC?…

“Its their thing”

Sorry.. what?..

Are you suggesting the idea to have a pregame song and have your crowd of supporters sing it whilst holding their scarfs above their heads is ports idea?.. and thus is “their thing”..

Ever heard of Liverpool FC?…

Before a footy game is their thing.

I'm not aware of any other footy club doing it.

Of course they knocked off the concept of singing from elsewhere.

We dont need a song..

Liverpool, possibly the greatest sporting club on the planet, have a pregame song.. its fxxking awesome and it is known worldwide.

All other attempts at this, like the Powa’s, are cringeworthy, unoriginal and downright flipping embarrassing.

Before a footy game is their thing.

I'm not aware of any other footy club doing it.

Of course they knocked off the concept of singing from elsewhere.
Its not, as you are claiming, “their thing” though.. thats what I’m pulling you up on..

They have blatently ripped it off someone else in a desperate attempt to get, and keep, their fickle supporter base engaged..

We dont need a song..

Liverpool, possibly the greatest sporting club on the planet, have a pregame song.. its fxxking awesome and it is known worldwide.

All other attempts at this, like the Powa’s, are cringeworthy, unoriginal and downright *ing embarrassing.

This. It wasn't an organic thing that grew from supporters or whatever. It was a gross cringeworthy piece of cross promotion cashing in on Channel Kochy's INXS telemovie.

They carry on like it's something their neanderthals used to sing on the wharf or something. Nope. It's plastic franchise marketing guff and they all lap it up.

Its not, as you are claiming, “their thing” though.. thats what I’m pulling you up on..

They have blatently ripped it off someone else in a desperate attempt to get, and keep, their fickle supporter base engaged..

Sure, if you ignore the context of the post.

"Their thing" patently didn't mean intellectual property owned and devised by Port Power. "Their thing" meant in the context a pre-game ritual before a game of the Australian Football League.

It is their ritual. Did they create the ritual absolutely not. Do they have some modicum of ownership of it after stealing it, of course they do.

Weird hard on for semantics though, as you were.

I can appreciate what you're saying. As per my thread title I was referring to a song pre-game just before the bounce. Having been to both Port and our home games I think Port is gold standard in the AFL with - Never tear us apart just before than bounce like being at Anfield or a Hammers home game. I also don't mind the Lions roar after a goal or the Rooster's crowing after a try.

It wouldn't work for us as a Crow crowing is not a pleasant sound but maybe Bruce piped over the PA ''special'' after a goal ;)

So you’re advocating for Forever Blowing Bubbles at Adelaide Oval? Experienced that many times but I can’t see it working for an Australian audience!

Rather than an EPL copy of a corny old song with scarves, we’d have a lot more fun and gain a lot more publicity if we could emulate just some of the colour and atmosphere of the big NCAA American College Football crowds. They make the fat old balding Cockney gits moaning away at London Stadium seem about as exciting as our knitting crew.

An NCAA game with a 60-90K crowd in a University town in heartland USA is on my sporting bucket list. If not that, then to finally be in a Glasgow Rangers crowd at Ibrox before an Old Firm derby.

I was at the last showdown and it was the first time I experienced the 'Never Tear Us Apart' thing. Can gennuinely say it was one of the cringiest things I've sat through - it all felt so confected.

The premise is good - Liverpool do it beaurifully because it's almost a gutteral, spiritual type experience. Port's thing just feels like a few thousand bogans waving around a Port scarf to an INXS song.
Yep. It's not as great in person as people think. Especially on a Sunday arvo with only 32-35k it's kind of embarrassing and forced.

That countdown type music they play for about 30 seconds before the bounce is the most contrived, ridiculous, stupid thing I’ve ever seen at a football game.

Play the club song, then f*ck off and leave us alone.

This game’s over a century old. You don’t need to invent an atmosphere, and it’s an insult when you try.

We need a great song for the crowd to get into before the game....