Autopsy Welcome to Freo Liam Henry – Fremantle’s 3rd 2019 National Draft Pick [Match bid Pick #9]

You come out on top when you actually pause and realise he ain’t that good a player.

Sure, go to the stats to say otherwise, but they’re empty stats.

He’s improved. I’d rather he stay, but he’s nothing to be upset by leaving.

I’d be more upset if my ice cream from Maccas only had 1 and a half swirls as opposed to the 2 and a half they’re suppose to have.
The bit I think gets underrated is the gut running and discipline to keep space to be an option.

Acres did it well, Aish also did it well in 2022 and we started to see it from Henry in the back half of this year.

I think we'll miss that, if we had one of the Hills (or both!) on the wings we'd be a much improved team.

The bit I think gets underrated is the gut running and discipline to keep space to be an option.

This would be the attribute that almost every midfielder in the WAFL/VFL etc who wanted to have an AFL career could sell themselves on. The ability to work hard is certainly a skill, but it's also the one that should be the most abundant.

If the player were fast too, really clean marking the ball or kicking exceptionally well then they already have a career at AFL level - unless they are small.

But if we are looking for a player to run hard on the other side of the ground I think we can find that quite easily. Finding one who can create by foot either kicking or bursting off running is a whole other thing entirely.

Where you sit on Henry will determine how you feel about that.

Acres did it well, Aish also did it well in 2022 and we started to see it from Henry in the back half of this year.

I think we'll miss that, if we had one of the Hills (or both!) on the wings we'd be a much improved team.
This is why i reckon Andy should have a crack there. Great 2 way and gut runner

I'd have Rowell, Anderson, Jackson, Ash, Young, Serong, Green, Pickett, Day, Bergman, Weightman, Rivers, Coleman, and Warner comfortably ahead. Then Stephens, Flanders, Kemp, Georgiades, De Koning, Robertson, Schoenberg, Jones, Riccardi, and Frederick could all make a case for being ahead
And Sharp will make the case for being ahead next year.

I just can't see any way we come out on top in a trade here.

Lose a player we have spent 5 years developing and used Pick 9 on for a second round pick at best and another unproven youngster out of school that we need to spend another 5 years developing??

He is probably is top 15 from that draft yet we will get a pick in the 20's at best that has a 50% chance of finding a player that reaches the same level in 5 years time.
Of all our somewhat young up and comers, if we were to lose any of them then Henry would be my first choice. We can't keep 'em all and better Henry than any others.

That will make him very easy to shut out of a game, the inside to outside movement makes it a lot harder to keep with him in traffic.
Yeah, the Andy to the Wing proposal really underplays his value on the spread and also overlooks that he's one of our best loose ball gets.

I have no issue with him doing stints on the wing, but as a permanent positional change it's a massive underuse of his abilities.

He lived with his parents in Lee Place in Bicton. A beautiful yet modest house overlooking Blackwall Reach.
If you cryptically analyse my user name you might figure out where I grew up. 😉🤔 I think the clubs came when his dad moved out of that place. I know Lee Pl. very well.

Yeah, the Andy to the Wing proposal really underplays his value on the spread and also overlooks that he's one of our best loose ball gets.

I have no issue with him doing stints on the wing, but as a permanent positional change it's a massive underuse of his abilities.
He's the best 3rd centre square mid in the comp with the added bonus of hunting the ball and ball carrier end to end all day.
Problem so far is he playing 2nd mid behind Serong. The sooner Jackon or Johnson can move into the spot the better (or Young if he stays on ball).

Bicton ??
The Wire Reaction GIF

For whatever it's worth, I think Henry's decision to leave has more to do with the naivety of youth more than anything else.

Serious question - if he were to realize the enormity of his mistake in two to three years time, would we welcome him back as the prodigal son? Personally speaking I might, but I'm not the list manager, and I have no idea how his teammates would view it.

Freo is the only footy culture he's known since he was a kid, and It's hard to have a realistic perspective on life when you've grown up in an incubator. From that side I can understand him wanting to experience the world a bit.

I still think there's a much better player - and a better man - waiting to emerge out of Liam given time. But out of all of Freo's list, he has also struck me as being the most child-like in his personality and outlook on life... The far more mature heads on Andy, Serong, Young et. al. kind of throw his relative immaturity into sharp relief.

So what say you? If he wanted to return to the Freo family fold in a few years time (once he better appreciates what he has been given), all things being equal, would you welcome him back?
Can I ask what the enormous mistake is that he has made / is going to make?

For whatever it's worth, I think Henry's decision to leave has more to do with the naivety of youth more than anything else.

Serious question - if he were to realize the enormity of his mistake in two to three years time, would we welcome him back as the prodigal son? Personally speaking I might, but I'm not the list manager, and I have no idea how his teammates would view it.

Freo is the only footy culture he's known since he was a kid, and It's hard to have a realistic perspective on life when you've grown up in an incubator. From that side I can understand him wanting to experience the world a bit.

I still think there's a much better player - and a better man - waiting to emerge out of Liam given time. But out of all of Freo's list, he has also struck me as being the most child-like in his personality and outlook on life... The far more mature heads on Andy, Serong, Young et. al. kind of throw his relative immaturity into sharp relief.

So what say you? If he wanted to return to the Freo family fold in a few years time (once he better appreciates what he has been given), all things being equal, would you welcome him back?
Depends what he says in the doco

Yeah when the Neptunes were playing there on Friday nights we were pulling huge crowds (500+) so the owner treated us like royalty. We had the kitchen for a band room and they would give is 2 slabs of VB and 2 bottles of Tequila. One of the barmaids there sold eccies back when it was pure MDMA and we'd take it before going on stage. Parties would go all night after the gig and next morning we'd divide up a briefcase full of cash we'd made on the door having lunch at Kim's in Claremont. Really good times.

Apparently at our peak we pulled over 700 punters and our crowd set the 2nd all time biggest bar take record for the room.
Matt Taylor & Chain were the all time champs.
The Neptunes were a great band mate! WA sound. Fantastic