Steely Brown Eye
- Aug 26, 2024
- AFL Club
- Richmond
essendon is what happens when the list boss has too much say
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
This is 100% correct FT.Given our draft picks for this year and at least next year I would suggest our recruiters are going to be far more important than Yze at determining what happens in next 5 years. If Yze is no good we will know in the next year or two and can look for someone better. If the recruiters are no good, by the time we find out it will be too late.
No way you build a list around guys like Dusty, JR8, Cotchin Sheds, Rance and co. Champion players can play to any game plan if it's a good one. You always take the best players in a draft and build around them.I disagree, I see it differently. The coach definitely should be making list management decisions. It is one of their functions as head coach. In fact, I even think they holistically should have the highest level of control over the list IMO.
If they don’t, then how will they be able to implement their vision and gamestyle? Imagine if a coach wants to implement a run-and-gun gamestyle and the list managers recruit tall and slow midfielders. I don’t think that works well.
The coach should be directing the list managers with their vision, and the list managers should be working out how they can implement that. The list manager can push back and offer up their opinion. But, I think the coach should ultimately make the call.
That’s why it’s important to have the right coach with the right list managers/recruiters capable of fulfilling their vision. Better to have a coach that knows what they’re doing than constantly having to surround them with the best people.
I want Yze to have this level of control over the next couple of years. He pretty much had no control so far other than the gameplan and game day selections, but I’d like to see how he fares with list management selections
Yes, I wholeheartedly agree with that. I’m assuming that the coach and list managers would agree on talent like that.No way you build a list around guys like Dusty, JR8, Cotchin Sheds, Rance and co. Champion players can play to any game plan if it's a good one. You always take the best players in a draft and build around them.
essendon is what happens when the list boss has too much say
That's a recipe for disaster. All our premiership superstars were from the Wallace era and he had little say in their selection as the drafters went for quality . Even Dimmer couldn't get a gameplan working to even win a final with them until Caracella came along and we went straight on to win a flag. Again if you have a quality group of young players then the game plan is built around them and not beforehand. Yze had no game plan this year because he's 2004 pre Wallace stage without the cattle. So how is he going to devise a game plan if he doesn't have the quality? We haven't even fully bottomed out yet with our list so it would be insanity to build a game plan around KMAC, Kosi, Hopper, JGTI, Mansell, Ryan, Short and other list cloggers or role players as these guys can't get it done. We have to collect as many guns as possible first before we even contemplate a decent gameplan as those blokes aren't capable of helping to play to any sort of game plan simply bc we have about 18-20 role players and not enough A graders. You're putting the cart before the horse and that's the impatient coach's road to unemployment.Yes, I wholeheartedly agree with that. I’m assuming that the coach and list managers would agree on talent like that.
In my view, the coach’s perspective should be preferred when it’s two players of similar talent with different builds (i.e. faster but smaller mid vs bigger but slower). If the coach is going for a fast-paced gamestyle, they’d probably pick the faster mid. If they’re going for a contested style, then they’d probably go for bigger mid. I think decisions like that should rest with the coach while the recruiters/list managers support the coach in those decisions.
But I agree with the top end talent thing. With a top 5-10 pick, it should always be talent first IMO.
Actually from what I have heard across two different sources, Yze called a meeting and basically stared the room down. Said if you're not on board, leave now. Lambert didn't go to pursue other interests. And same with the player situation. It's a clean out. Club is looking to go with the new. If you want out, go now type of thing. So Yze may have a set of nuts on him yet.This
There is a reason why our A-grade mid-age players have requested trades en masse
It is what it is at this stage, I guess, what’s done is done, just pray by some miracle we nail this draft.
We gotta hold tight the next couple of years. Ironically the ideal time to be garbage is right now. Just before Tassie come in and influence the draft. If we trade out any pick below 20 the next two years "I'LL SPEW UP"We are still bottoming out mate and around 2004 levels. Anyone thinking this is going to be quick have rocks in their heads.it will be however quicker than 2004 if we pick four to five guns this draft unlike 2004. That stuffed us for two seasons. Sadly the TT and Hopper trades did the same in reality, but we are in better position now as we have a few gold nuggets to sell for picks.
We will start to see the fruit of our rebuild in the 27 season if drafts are nailed.
Not welcome.you joke but could actually happen
Exactly mate at least you get it.We gotta hold tight the next couple of years. Ironically the ideal time to be garbage is right now. Just before Tassie come in and influence the draft. If we trade out any pick below 20 the next two years "I'LL SPEW UP"
Sounds like there could be a little bit of the Greame Richmond sprit in Yze. Nothing wrong with a bit of ruthless attitude to right the ship againActually from what I have heard across two different sources, Yze called a meeting and basically stared the room down. Said if you're not on board, leave now. Lambert didn't go to pursue other interests. And same with the player situation. It's a clean out. Club is looking to go with the new. If you want out, go now type of thing. So Yze may have a set of nuts on him yet.
Nah not me.THIS...and then the shakey Membership numbers and shy sponsors will bring even further pressure to bear for change...
We haven’t done it yet so how can we blame the coach? People are angry bc we did two bad trades as the clowns thought we had a flag window. This isn’t Yze’s fault , but is game plan and miniesque qualities were. What people were upset about was only one senior player was dropped all year and for one game. Yze even thought we were going to finish high and we were going to be a tough side to play against. We were the exact opposite and he refused to drop major culprits when kids were available. That’s what was pathetic as he was still backing the senior players that let him down all year in the effort in trying to get useless wins. This backfired as we were the worse RICHMOND side in our history. So he should’ve thrown as many games into any kids that were availble.What annoys me the most, people want us to bottom out, Rebuild go to the youth then blame the coach when things get difficult pathetic.
Of course you don't target to finish there. You target to make finals and win flags. How you frame that can be harder as obviously we aren't a chance to go all the way and unlikely to push for the top 8.Buckle up I reckon.
I don’t think the priority for next season is to aim for a 12-14th finish.
Are you allowed to lable people as being average and then either above or below that?Correct Hoos ‘above average height person’ I believe is the current terminology
All yze said he won’t put a limit on where we will finish. He never said we would finish high.We haven’t done it yet so how can we blame the coach? People are angry bc we did two bad trades as the clowns thought we had a flag window. This isn’t Yze’s fault , but is game plan and miniesque qualities were. What people were upset about was only one senior player was dropped all year and for one game. Yze even thought we were going to finish high and we were going to be a tough side to play against. We were the exact opposite and he refused to drop major culprits when kids were available. That’s what was pathetic as he was still backing the senior players that let him down all year in the effort in trying to get useless wins. This backfired as we were the worse RICHMOND side in our history. So he should’ve thrown as many games into any kids that were availble.
He did not say that. Read carefullyAll yze said he won’t put a limit on where we will finish. He never said we would finish high.
We're not going to put a ceiling on where we could finish, that’s all he said and the comment re we want our players thinking they can make the top4. No club would think otherwise so your comment means nothing. Still waiting when he said we will be top4 never happenedHe did not say that. Read carefully
Again it wasn’t my major points in myargument as you were suggesting we were rebuilding rarara and bagging the coach, but it was clear from this article and everything that I stated that he wasn’t rebuilding at all.
New Tigers coach Yze sets sights on top-four finish
New coach Adem Yze is already daring to dream of steering Richmond straight back into the AFL top...www.maitlandmercury.com.au
We haven’t done it yet so how can we blame the coach? People are angry bc we did two bad trades as the clowns thought we had a flag window. This isn’t Yze’s fault , but is game plan and miniesque qualities were. What people were upset about was only one senior player was dropped all year and for one game. Yze even thought we were going to finish high and we were going to be a tough side to play against. We were the exact opposite and he refused to drop major culprits when kids were available. That’s what was pathetic as he was still backing the senior players that let him down all year in the effort in trying to get useless wins. This backfired as we were the worse RICHMOND side in our history. So he should’ve thrown as many games into any kids that were availble.
I never said top four ok. I said he was expecting to finish high up the ladder though as by his comments and again this isn’t the argument I was responding too. It was your throwaway line that missed the whole point of why posters were disappointed with him. Read my postWe're not going to put a ceiling on where we could finish, that’s all he said and the comment re we want our players thinking they can make the top4. No club would think otherwise so your comment means nothing. Still waiting when he said we will be top4 never happened