List Mgmt. Welcome to Richmond Sam Lloyd Pick# 66

The bloke to the right is Lourey, also from Mt eliza who played last season at Frankston too. Top VFL goalkicker i believe.

Lloydy is a freak. When he's got the ball inside fifty, he'll look frantic. Almost chaotic. But when you see the needle-threading pearlers off his boot you'll quickly realise there is nothing chaotic about him.
Somebody mentioned he looked fat: might look it, but definitely isn't. Think of the flack Swan copped for looking overweight and still racked up 30+ touches weekly. Lloyd has a similar build.

A considerable amount of the 100 goals he kicked in a season for deniliquin were from the midfield, so don't think he doesn't have a good natural capacity.

Anybody watch the VFL vs WAFL game in full? He kicked 4 goals, with a fifth from way out touched on the line and some great assists. Nothing inaccurate in any case. Also, the bloke has a very good leap and an even better ability of applying it - sits on peoples heads regularly. He's also a charm in the wet, and is happy to give-off to teammates.

While playing at Mt Eliza he was called up to play a few games for the bombers I think, but i don't know what the results were. Not much from Essendon obviously

All this with an AFL level preseason, and its reasonable to expect great things. The frankston VFL highlights reel of Lloyd doesn't do any justice.

I'm sure he's made all those at both Mt Eliza and Deniliquin very proud of both him and their clubs, and its great to see someone with a proven ability at 23 (24?) still crack in.

Very relaxed bloke so expect his likeability, skills and hardwork to see him debut and make an impact. Can't wait!
Great post dude
Reckon Sammy will go well for us
Any other insights appreciated

Great post dude
Reckon Sammy will go well for us
Any other insights appreciated

Don't know what else to share. You do notice the blokes that hit pills at full pace in the wet, and still take the ball strong and clean above their heads - even just at an ugly night at training. A real sticky pair of mitts, simply a class above in Victoria's second best country league and obviously in VFL too.

I think everybody knows the odd bloke from their local comp who looks like he might be able to go further. This guy actually made it!
Generally I wouldn't think Lloyd seems agile at first take - but he'll turn guys inside out no worries: the play leading up to him shrugging off a tackle on the boundary in the VFL vs WAFL match is probably the best example you'll find on a current highlights reel (think you can find this towards the end of the highlights on richmond's website), where after the shrug he spears a super low flying ball off one step to the chest a teammate deep inside 50.

Looking into Mt Eliza, following 2012 three players left for frankston and all three made the rep squad against WAFL: Lloydy, Simpson (formerly listed to Geelong, ruckman/KP), and Lourey. Lourey ended up top goal kicker in the VFL, Lloydy got drafted, and this year a key on baller for Mt Eliza won the league's best and fairest. Four players obviously a class above, even at VFL level. One can only wonder how Mt Eliza lost their 2012 grandfinal?
Obviously some real talent in the MPNFL, and looks like Mt eliza has produced a few: R. Harvey, S. Loewe, N. Jones, and recently: Z. Jones and Lloyd (albeit only played one season). David Hille is from Mt Eliza, but not sure if he ever played for the club (don't think so).

I think Gordon would of been on more clubs radars . They didn't flinch when they called out both picks. The Tiges recruiting team had the gun already loaded and just went bang both times , no discussion no extra time needed . They had their men picked out and they were there no mucking around. It was beautiful to watch.

We've done this for a while now, very few times we haven't taken our selection straight away

I think Gordon would of been on more clubs radars . They didn't flinch when they called out both picks. The Tiges recruiting team had the gun already loaded and just went bang both times , no discussion no extra time needed . They had their men picked out and they were there no mucking around. It was beautiful to watch.

Not hard when you're organised with your list in order of preference and you just cross them off when people call a player out and you call out the next one when it gets to your pick. Kinda funny watching teams bumble over it.

Essendon are the worst at that Tigs , stammering fools the Druggo's

Did you see essendrugs taking ages to select? lols

Essendon simply showed they had no idea. At Pick 25 or whatever it is surely you have the ranked players in preference and know what you want and what others will do.

Can't believe they didn't take Dumont.

I thought it was funny. Probably took Merrett because he's family. Weird club.

Essendon simply showed they had no idea. At Pick 25 or whatever it is surely you have the ranked players in preference and know what you want and what others will do.

Can't believe they didn't take Dumont.

They still got the best player in the draft according to Dodoro, they just couldn't decide who that was ;)

intrusion?
I disagree about the robertson comparison. Different size, different build, different style. Lloydy plays tall for his height and is a weapon in packs. Defensive pressure was always a knock on him - Because he's been on the seen for all that long? You write with peculiar definitiveness which I don't understand.
Personally, i'd like to know about the meaning of life, Yoda

Ill stick with what I have seen from Lloyd. I've seen him maybe a 8 - 10 times in the past 2 years, if you have seen him more in that time then I will safely save my grace and show myself out. I highly doubt it.

Thanks for that.
His highlights indicate a lovely kick. Most highlights would, but is that also your recollection?
Is he quick?

He is a nice set shot for goal, better than his stats actually indicate. His field kicking is also very good without being elite. Pace wise isnt the greatest, quick first few steps but struggles to maintain that seperation.

I dont know if its just his body shape but he reminds me a little of Dane swan. At this time though thats where the comparison stops. I realise hes not a mid but fingers crossed he has an impact at some point....:thumbsu:

Ill stick with what I have seen from Lloyd. I've seen him maybe a 8 - 10 times in the past 2 years, if you have seen him more in that time then I will safely save my grace and show myself out. I highly doubt it.
Yoda, there is no one right or wrong opinion. I was simply saying I disagree. Why the stand-off'ish, supremacist tone? Im new, and here to contribute. Not to play for "best poster" or "most knowledgeable".
There is a very good reason why I know a lot about Mt Eliza FC, and a wee bit about the bloke in question. I can multiply your figures multiple times, but thats not to say my opinion is any more valid than yours. Each to their own.
Take it eaaaaaaaaasy.

There is an excuse where the picks are close together and they consider some strategy (if we take the rover will the ruckman still be there at that next pick or should we take the ruckman now and risk someone pinching the rover in the next 7 picks?).

No doubt. So Brisbane and Sydney would have had some sort of excuse. Don't think they called for extra time though. Could be wrong. Don't think you guys did it with your pick 12 & 14 last year or in your first year with all those picks?

How did he do on Cayden?
He was only 17 I think. Took 1 of the greatest marks I have ever seen in country footy. Was unbelievable!!

Sam had the better of him tho. Was close to best on ground. Sam was a lot better then cayden at that stage. Obviously because he was a few years older.

List Mgmt. Welcome to Richmond Sam Lloyd Pick# 66