News Welcome to the Bulldogs Josh Schache

Will Josh Schache play R1?

• Yes

Votes: 42 48.8%
  • No

Votes: 44 51.2%

Coming along nicely offensively but his defensive effort and chase is still pathetic quite frankly. A complete liability when the ball hits the ground and our team doesn't immediately get it.

Redpath got absolutely slaughtered on here in 2017 for providing a very similar sort of output defensively and offensively. In fact schache's pressure is probably worse.

Coming along nicely offensively but his defensive effort and chase is still pathetic quite frankly. A complete liability when the ball hits the ground and our team doesn't immediately get it.

Redpath got absolutely slaughtered on here in 2017 for providing a very similar sort of output defensively and offensively. In fact schache's pressure is probably worse.
I think its because Shach has the ability to develop and improve while Redpath was just stuck at the same position and skills set

He does have buckets more natural ability - but his defensive workrate is some of the worst I've personally seen in a bulldogs jumper.

When the game isn't going his way up forward, I'm not sure how much resistance he's going to provide to the opposition walking out of our 50.

I reckon shach will have a nice little highlight reel by the end of the year. I actually didnt think he would play much senior footy this year but he got his chance and has since earned his spot. Even with a fully fit list I think he's now best 22.
Ditto - I really questioned the pick up as a 'face saving' last minute trade and expected he'd just have a development year but right now he's our most important leading forward given Gowers is injured and rotating through the midfield when he is playing.

If pre-season someone told me besides the Bont an ex-Carlton rookie in Gowers and Schache were to be our two most dangerous forwards, with Wallis arguably the third, I wouldn't have believed it.

Very true. Schache is showing all the signs that a developing key forward should be showing - giving us glimpses each week.

He does have buckets more natural ability - but his defensive workrate is some of the worst I've personally seen in a bulldogs jumper.
Cheer up mate - did you ever watch Josh Hill?

Schache has been a massive win for our club this year. I could not give 2 shits about his defensive efforts, we need a genuine forward who can take a grab - he is it.

Cheer up mate - did you ever watch Josh Hill?

Schache has been a massive win for our club this year. I could not give 2 shits about his defensive efforts, we need a genuine forward who can take a grab - he is it.
He offers about the same level of effort when the opposition has the ball as Hill did. And about the same level of physical presence around a contest.

Offensively he's a good lead-up player. I don't really ever see him as occupying a key position that will be able to take a solid bunch of contested marks. He could be a Tom Lynch from Adelaide 3rd forward type.

There are plenty of people, AFL coaches included, that do give a shit about a player's effort when the ball doesn't bounce their way.

I never denied that he's got great skills for his size, but he provides zero resistance when the game isn't tilted in our favour. Overall we've done ok in the trade with Brisbane because we offered so little, but a lot of the stuff Stringer got criticised for here is also habitual for Schache too.

Don’t want him to be too gassed to offer leads & take marks from being a manic chasing down everything type, but not too fussed if he has a limited defensive game if his offensive game is good. Would just like him to go when it’s his turn

Redpath 2017 1.2 tackles per game vs 1.0 for Schache in 2018.
Tackles inside 50: Redpath 0.6, Schache 0.8.

I'd back in Schache's upside though - he's a 199cm guy still short of 21 years old. Redpath turned 27 last year. They actually compare pretty well stats wise, Schache clearly the better kick with more contested possessions as well while Redpath having slightly more scoreboard impact (score involvements).

He offers about the same level of effort when the opposition has the ball as Hill did. And about the same level of physical presence around a contest.

Offensively he's a good lead-up player. I don't really ever see him as occupying a key position that will be able to take a solid bunch of contested marks. He could be a Tom Lynch from Adelaide 3rd forward type.

There are plenty of people, AFL coaches included, that do give a shit about a player's effort when the ball doesn't bounce their way.

I never denied that he's got great skills for his size, but he provides zero resistance when the game isn't tilted in our favour. Overall we've done ok in the trade with Brisbane because we offered so little, but a lot of the stuff Stringer got criticised for here is also habitual for Schache too.

Jack Macrae had to learn to play defensively when he got to the club too.

As far as flaws for a young KPF to have, it’s preferable to others like bad kick/shot for goal, bad decision-maker, inability to find the ball, poor leading/positioning, inconsistency, etc.

[
Jack Macrae had to learn to play defensively when he got to the club too.

As far as flaws for a young KPF to have, it’s preferable to others like bad kick/shot for goal, bad decision-maker, inability to find the ball, poor leading/positioning, inconsistency, etc.
Agree and he has the tank to improve defensively and its not that unusual for an underage star to have to develop that part of their game.

we just have to remember that his output and the teams is only going to be better after himself, Boyd, English and Gowers play 40-60 games TOGETHER.

we seen the potential of having Bont down there, they kicked 7 between them. this excites me.

Schache Boyd and English as the keys and rucks
Gowers 3rd marking target
Greene Lipinski Richards West starting out in the forward line
Dickson (inj) but still has goal/forward craft.
Bont the main resting option

the more we can have English in the ruck and allow Boyd and Schache to play forward the better, then Bont comes down for a rest. who picks Bont up?

Redpath 2017 1.2 tackles per game vs 1.0 for Schache in 2018.
Tackles inside 50: Redpath 0.6, Schache 0.8.

I'd back in Schache's upside though - he's a 199cm guy still short of 21 years old. Redpath turned 27 last year. They actually compare pretty well stats wise, Schache clearly the better kick with more contested possessions as well while Redpath having slightly more scoreboard impact (score involvements).
Shache's issue is when there's a 50 50 ball he'd rather tackle than be tackled.

That said, he's a 20 year old 200cm forward. The criticisms are not necessarily concerns.

[

Agree and he has the tank to improve defensively and its not that unusual for an underage star to have to develop that part of their game.
I like what he does. He gets free, up the ground a long way. Got aerobic and speed . Works hard for team as get out option and gets to the big fwd contests and looks dangerous.
I also like what a great team guy he is ... positive... gets around... enjoying his footy and his mates

I like what he does. He gets free, up the ground a long way. Got aerobic and speed . Works hard for team as get out option and gets to the big fwd contests and looks dangerous.
I also like what a great team guy he is ... positive... gets around... enjoying his footy and his mates
I agree defensive pressure is more than just tackles inside 50, he works hard to get up the ground and fill holes and is improving. Let’s remember we’re talking about a talented kid who is still maturing mentally and physically? I’m liking the improvements so far and hopefully it continues. I got more than I thought I would this year.

Whilst I see things I like in Schache, eg: smart reader of the play etc. ultimately the game is heading in a different direction to having players like Schache in your team. Look at Richmond team and their non negotiables. Schache doesn't play. So Schache needs to adapt his game to the modern game.

Having said that, its all about mindset with Schache. The coaches need to drum into him that he needs to harass, fight out the contest. This should be his first priority next year, attach the ball, attach the man, manic desperation. If he then gets onto the end of a few balls, great.

I'm hoping he gets there, yet it may take time.

Trends in football change after every premiership, if a team gets up this year with two FF plonked in the attacking half, that will be copied.

Richmond will lose this advantage soon enough, and the new game plan will be copied. Big FF never go out of vogue for long.

Whilst I see things I like in Schache, eg: smart reader of the play etc. ultimately the game is heading in a different direction to having players like Schache in your team. Look at Richmond team and their non negotiables. Schache doesn't play. So Schache needs to adapt his game to the modern game.

Having said that, its all about mindset with Schache. The coaches need to drum into him that he needs to harass, fight out the contest. This should be his first priority next year, attach the ball, attach the man, manic desperation. If he then gets onto the end of a few balls, great.

I'm hoping he gets there, yet it may take time.
To be fair I dont think Reiwoldt was good at any of that when he was Schache's age

News Welcome to the Bulldogs Josh Schache