Toast Well done Hawks fans

Better team on the day. They wanted it more than us. Lessons will be learnt. Move on to 2013 :(

I was more gutted by the prelim loss to the Pies last season. Not sure why. Perhaps because we dominated most of the game whereas we were playing catch up for a lot of this year's grand final. Whilst the press talked us up all season there was never a guarantee that we'd win it. I think we all knew that there was 3-4 other teams that on their day could knock us of which Sydney managed to do and Adelaide very nearly did in the prelim. Like it or not there are variables that effect the outcome of a game that are really in the laps of the gods and over which we have no control and cannot predict. In this sense you have to go into these games with a certain sense of fatalism. I think of StKilda and that bounce in the goal square which could have bobbed up into Milne's hands and the Saints premiership draught is over. Instead it takes a leg break and the Pies are premiers. You just can't account for that.

If its not to be, then it's not to be.

There were actually lots of similarities in our 2008 flag to Sydneys 2012

For example we beat three teams we had lost to in H&A - sydney actually lost to hawks and collingwood as recently as the last 4 rounds.

Wont say Sydney were a Bradbury because thats quite offensive, even though I consider Bradbury's achievements to be commendable. Lets just say 2012 was reverse Karma for our 2008 flag

There were actually lots of similarities in our 2008 flag to Sydneys 2012

For example we beat three teams we had lost to in H&A - sydney actually lost to hawks and collingwood as recently as the last 4 rounds.

Wont say Sydney were a Bradbury because thats quite offensive, even though I consider Bradbury's achievements to be commendable. Lets just say 2012 was reverse Karma for our 2008 flag

Our friends down Geelong Road seem to think so, and boy are they enjoying our loss:thumbsdown:

Reverse karma - what a load of crap

In 2008 hawks were the best team on the day
In 2012 Sydney were the best team on the day

The hawks applied intense pressure in 08 and Geelong folded
The swans applied intense pressure in 12 and the hawks folded

It takes a lot of hard work to make a premiership and to have people call them a lucky win is just plain disrespectful to those players and its disappointing that even the media have continued to run with the BS lucky premiership tag. Both premierships are well deserved, in fact any premiership is well deserved.

You mistake my intention with reverse karma comment - you make your luck.

Doesnt make the cats fans any less pathetic though. I noted that Silly Billy Brownless was hoarse from barracking on the sunday footy show

Apologies Pess just so over the crap we cop re: 08 and yes your right, you do make your own luck and sometimes it doesn't matter what you try it doesn't come back your way

Sydney were intense in their first, second and third tackles and that's what won them the game. The hawks just couldn't match that intensity

Our friends down Geelong Road seem to think so, and boy are they enjoying our loss:thumbsdown:

Biggest sooks in footy. To think I was pleased with them winning the first flag for 44 years in 2007, I had no idea what arrogant tossers cats fans are. I had a mate for over 20 years who follows the cats. We made a bet on the morning of the 2008 GF, I haven't heard from him since. They are very sad people.

They didn't miss you on their board either. It seems you're their favourite Hawks Poster:D

Ungracious flogs is the only way to describe them. I will rejoice in their losses more from what I have witnessed in the last couple of days. I hope that karma bus hits them so hard that they never get up again. 44 years they waited for the flag I hope it 88 next time.

Oh and btw congratulations to the Swans for winning on Saturday. If we only had of kicked straight. I wouldn't still be disappointed as I am today.

Well said OP. Both after the game and on Bigfooty you've been almost universally humble in defeat.

Great, great game of football that could have gone either way until the last 30 seconds. Not sure it's true that we were necessarily the 'better team on the day' but we were good enough to snap a couple of goals at the end while denying you. Nothing in it all day, great grand final, and best of luck next year.

Well said OP. Both after the game and on Bigfooty you've been almost universally humble in defeat.

Thanks mate, your guys are a classy mob. There's good reason everyone respect your footy club, I just hope the way have conducted ourselves exposes a few myth about arrogance etc. Congrats on winning a fantastic game. Glad it was you if it couldn't be us.

You mistake my intention with reverse karma comment - you make your luck.

Doesnt make the cats fans any less pathetic though. I noted that Silly Billy Brownless was hoarse from barracking on the sunday footy show

Brownless played in about 5 GFs himself and wasn't able to seal the deal

Let him have his vicarious jollies

Great, great game of football that could have gone either way until the last 30 seconds. Not sure it's true that we were necessarily the 'better team on the day' but we were good enough to snap a couple of goals at the end while denying you. Nothing in it all day, great grand final, and best of luck next year.

Cheers. I've found exactly the same with Swans supporters.

You know something, modding the main board and generally getting around most of Big Footy, I can tell you one thing I regard as a universal truth: every club has about the same mix of good posters, bad posters, trolls and general degenerates. Some clubs, due to their poster population, have more of 'em, but generally the split is pretty consistent. Hubris and sore losing isn't the exclusive domain of Hawthorn supporters. Nor is graciousness and humility. Every club has their fair share of both.

I can also tell you that every supporter base feels their club is the one that is marginalised and discriminated against by the mods of the 'general boards'.

They're gone now. As is the evidence they ever posted in this thread. All is well in the world again.
And I hope they like their shiny red hats.

I was more gutted by the prelim loss to the Pies last season. Not sure why. Perhaps because we dominated most of the game whereas we were playing catch up for a lot of this year's grand final. Whilst the press talked us up all season there was never a guarantee that we'd win it. I think we all knew that there was 3-4 other teams that on their day could knock us of which Sydney managed to do and Adelaide very nearly did in the prelim. Like it or not there are variables that effect the outcome of a game that are really in the laps of the gods and over which we have no control and cannot predict. In this sense you have to go into these games with a certain sense of fatalism. I think of StKilda and that bounce in the goal square which could have bobbed up into Milne's hands and the Saints premiership draught is over. Instead it takes a leg break and the Pies are premiers. You just can't account for that.

If its not to be, then it's not to be.
i was more shattered by that pre lim too i am guttered over this loss but i can still listen to sen but that pre lim i could not listen to sen for 2 weeks i did try to watch the replay of the gf as i could not watch the live one but fell asleep trying this one the fans were awesome i think that helped they did not get in your face and rub it in

Toast Well done Hawks fans