West Coast - Under achievers and proud of it?

sabre_ac said:
Eagles if anything overachieved.
They WILL not be a top 8 side next season.
I realise allot of there players have allot of development ahead of them but they played above themselves this season and were lucky enough to come up against sides in form slumps.
Teams cannot just rely on midfielders,eagles will realise this 2005

Try watching some Eagles matches and you will see the likes of Hansen, Glass, Lynch, McDougall playing in KPs and developing brilliantly under Worsfold.

Why are you like the Victorian media and seem to think the Eagles are just a gun midfield? You don't seem to realise the above players will be a key spine for the Eagles in seasons to come. Plus with the addition of Gardiner fully fit at CHF, the WC will become a dangerous side.

Bookmark this if you wish Sabre.

sabre_ac said:
I realise allot of there players have allot of development ahead of them but they played above themselves this season and were lucky enough to come up against sides in form slumps.

And freo will make the 8?

The Magenius said:
Yeah thats the problem for some reason people don't seem to care that we are the only team to beat brisbane at home this year.
Apparently it counts for little to some, well there is nothing i can do for others ignorance.

Most of the others who played them up their had to face some semblance of their full strength Goal-to-Goal line.

sabre_ac said:

On what basis do you make this claim ?

We are in better form at the end of this campaign compare to 2003. Midfield has heaps of depth, skill and pace. Defence is great and better with Glass, Wirra, Hunter, Banners and Chick. Cox and Seaby work hard in the ruck. Yes, our forward line needs development, but this is recognised and we will make progress towards this.

Eagles will be a top 8 side in 2005 and for years to come.

Goldenblue said:
Try watching some Eagles matches and you will see the likes of Hansen, Glass, Lynch, McDougall playing in KPs and developing brilliantly under Worsfold.

Why are you like the Victorian media and seem to think the Eagles are just a gun midfield? You don't seem to realise the above players will be a key spine for the Eagles in seasons to come. Plus with the addition of Gardiner fully fit at CHF, the WC will become a dangerous side.

I have to agree with you there, you've developed your young guns brilliantly. Hansen/McDougall/Glass/Lynch will all be guns, and Butler/Waters/Jones et al will all be huge assetts to you in the future.

Goldenblue said:

At least he didn't use the wise men from the east line of , matera is their full foward and their only foward.

OR

And let me say i do not rate anyone on the footy show as crediabale media statement but sam newman saying every week the eagles can't win a game away from home grates me as Geelong finished 4th and did not win one game away, and we beat brisbane at the GABBA.

But even on the couch, fox league teams, white line fever and talking footy hardly care about the eagles.

How the hell can a Fremantle supporter justify a post like this. This is EXACTLY what Fremantle have been doing. Fremantle have been in the AFL for 8 years and have only made the finals once. Your not developing a forward line at all and seem to be happy puttering along around 8th and 9th...I mean Fremantle were 7th and the hype Fremantle were getting was ridiculous. Eagles unlike Fremantle are atleast trying to rectify there problems by playing McDougall (even though his form has been shocking) and giving players like Hansen Staker Lynch Gaspar and Seaby a go at full forward. Who have Freo tried new. ABSOLUTELY NOBODY!! They know all they have to do is get 7th-9th and there fans will be happy enough.

So in closing Fremantle supporters (and i guess Geelong suppporters) will soon learn that you can not win a flag with only a gun defence, cos in the end you need players that can kick a score on the board, something that Fremantle will not have for atleast the next 5 years.

Freo Big Fella said:
Most of the others who played them up their had to face some semblance of their full strength Goal-to-Goal line.

Well we had no Gardiner or cousins. You want to make any more excuses for why their record against us is their worst against any side.

F-U said:
How the hell can a Fremantle supporter justify a post like this. This is EXACTLY what Fremantle have been doing. Fremantle have been in the AFL for 8 years and have only made the finals once. Your not developing a forward line at all

Actually the funny thing is... the Dockers have a young full forward doing well in the WAFL... but they refuse to play him in the AFL. Well done Connolly.. Hope the guy goes back to Victoria :D

Goldenblue said:

McDougall is scared of his own shadow.
Lynch is a lug.
Glass while I believe is a quality defender is very one dimensional, yes he shuts down players but has very little rebound.

Eagles are there midfield...that is it...

And I am sure there is going to be many discussions like this to come over the pre season...no need to start bookmarking just yet.

Eagles will not make the 8 next season.

Total Package said:
Actually the funny thing is... the Dockers have a young full forward doing well in the WAFL... but they refuse to play him in the AFL. Well done Connolly.. Hope the guy goes back to Victoria :D

Another recuiting masterpiece.
Many said it was a mistake...but soon people we will realise his value.
This one has angered me as well, especially when Medhurst is a liablity in the forward line.
The only thing I can think of is the fact he is very light of frame and needs development, they dont want to cut his career short due to being bashed around too early on.

I'm very happy with the development of the team this year. We were 5 and 8 after 13 rounds and with Gardi out for the season we were written off. Gardys injury though looks to have been a blessing in disguise. The kids that were thrown into the deep end have developed a lot quicker than normal and we now look to have a good young team that will only get better in the future. We finished off winning 8 of the remaining 9 games, and for the first time in a while have managed to finish off the seson strongly.
Throw Gardiner back into the mix next year either as a ruckman of a CHF, pick up a couple of decent trades in Stenglein and maybe Hay and I'm sure within the next two years we will have a team capable of a top 4 finish and a challenger for the flag.

sabre_ac said:
Another recuiting masterpiece.

The only thing I can think of is the fact he is very light of frame and needs development, they dont want to cut his career short due to being bashed around too early on.

True Sabre,
He has had a couple of games but needs to grow a little.
I don't think he will spend years in the WAFL like Seaby , Hansen , Lynch , Beeck , Staker , Mr Floppy and Gaspar.

Eagles haven't done as well since 94 because 94 was the last year wa was a 1 team town , with the Dockers coming in in 95 it made it so now 2 teams had to predominately take talent from the WAFL , meaning WCE had slightly less talent to choose from because the dockers had digs as well.

Thats my opinion.

I think West Coast are probably 2 more seasons away from being a real top 4 threat. As someone else said, awesome midfield but young KPP that need time to develop.

Mcdougall is alright, Glass is alright, If Hansen can learn to use his frame then he will be alright. In 2007 their midfield will be peaking and their core KPP players will have developed enough into good players (if all goes right). So i think 07-08-09 will be their next best go at a premiership

sabre_ac said:

i disagree with you, when Chris connolly took the dockers and woosha took the eagles the same year both clubs expected their particular teams would get better,the eagles have made the finals the last three years in a row and their younger players are getting better with more games under their belts,i cannot see how you can say that they will miss the eight based on that. the only way your argument would hold any water would be if the other teams in the comp improved more than them to the point where they overtook them by wins ,hence ladder position . i don't believe that will happen.yes the eagles won't win the flag next year in my opinion but they will definetaly make the eight.

sabre_ac said:
Lynch is a lug.
Glass while I believe is a quality defender is very one dimensional, yes he shuts down players but has very little rebound.

And I am sure there is going to be many discussions like this to come over the pre season...no need to start bookmarking just yet.

McDougall will be a great FF for the future and good on Woosha for sticking with him though the season. Ryan Murphy might need to put on a few kilos but I dont think there would be any trouble giving him some game time in a pocket or somthing. If Connoly hadve played him more than maybe next season he couldve taken the jump to your key FF but now 2005 for him will be another season of developing. While I aggree with you that Lynch mightnt be the most agile man on the field he does have a prescene which is somthing we needed desperatley before this year. If he lifts his fitness and workrate I have no doubt he will be a great CHB for the future. And as for Glass as you said he does very well to shut down his opponents and if he can keep the likes of Lloyd, Fevola, Hall and company to a couple of goals well I dont mind if he gives us to much rebound. He has a great spoil and manages to bring the ball to ground for the crumbing likes of Wirrapunda to collect and rebound.
As for your comment on us being all midfeild I find that rich coming from a team which has very little midfield depth and even less forward options than us. We have developed youngsters who will be able to hold down key positions in 2005 onwards and we will nto rely on our midfeild so much as we have in the past (even though we dont rely on them as much this year then previous seasons).
sabre_ac said:
Eagles will not make the 8 next season
As a moderator I would think you would have some common sense and not make uneducated, naive and blatantly stupid comments. Just about everyone thinks the Eagles will be pushing for the top four next season which they will. We managed to finish 7th depsite not having our arguably our best player (Gardiner) for the whole season and we won 7 of 8 without Cousins for much of that time. In the proccess we knocked off the Lions at the Gabba (something your mob will never dream of doing) we beat top 8 sides such as Geelong, Melbourne, Essendon and your own great side. We have proved that we can match it with the best in the comp and given more structre at CHF and CHB next season we will be up there in the top four pushing for top 2.
I dont dislike Freo in fact I like them alot and love to see them play well. But if you think that your team will make the eight and we wont than you clearly have no idea about anything.

sabre_ac said:
Lynch is a lug.

Eagles will not make the 8 next season.

I see you've conveniently left out Wirra, Sampi, Chick, Hunter, Banfield, Cox. Plus the four rising stars in Butler, Waters, Staker and Seaby.

As for the ones you mentioned:
McDougall - 35 goals is a good effort and he has the height and ability. Remember he only made his debut in 2002. Scared of his shadow ? Don't think so - he stands his ground and marks bravely.

Glass - he is a great defender and has the size, skill and strength to match up against most forwards in the league. He'll get stronger too.

Lynch is a strong kick with decent stats - just needs to improve accuracy.

We'll finish in the top 8 next year. And I'm sure you won't acknowledge your mistake.

Freo Big Fella said:
I have to agree with you there, you've developed your young guns brilliantly. Hansen/McDougall/Glass/Lynch will all be guns, and Butler/Waters/Jones et al will all be huge assetts to you in the future.

Jeezus FBF, you're gone a bit overboard here. Those 4 will all be guns? Glass has had a great season, Lynch will only ever be a good ordinary player, Hansen we haven't seen anywhere near enough of to make a call and McDougall is, to be perfectly honest, a deadset crab. Butler and Waters are in the same pot as Hansen and Jones is very much a a fringe player at best.

Best or 2nd best midfield in the league, but most of the rest are either unknown or simply ordinary. The improvement will come from the unknown, and there's nothing there to suggest any superstars amongst them. Next year the media will pump them up to be top 4 material, and they'll end up middle of the road again.

The big question: When will Worsfold come under pressure? His record: 8th, 8th, 8th. What's it going to take next year for the supporters to stay happy?

Ruddiger said:
As for the ones you mentioned:
McDougall - 35 goals is a good effort and he has the height and ability. Remember he only made his debut in 2002. Scared of his shadow ? Don't think so - he stands his ground and marks bravely.

McDougall out marked Mal Michael, who is probably the strongest full back, one-on-one during the brisbane game. Shows he has some strength that will develop with a string pre-season under his belt. Only missed 2 games this year from memory so that will be a major steping stone for him in the future

RIPPER_46 said:
True Sabre,
He has had a couple of games but needs to grow a little.
I don't think he will spend years in the WAFL like Seaby , Hansen , Lynch , Beeck , Staker , Mr Floppy and Gaspar.

Your stupidity astounds me at times. Seaby is 19.. how was he going to break into a team with Gardiner and Cox as their ruckmen? And Hansen has been injured since he arrived here... I would hardly say he has spent "years" in the WAFL... Staker... well he has hardly played a WAFL game since arrivign here 2 seasons ago... and Gaspar??? Gaspar has been injured as well and when he does come back he almost slots straight back into the side... how can that be spending years in the WAFL? Sheer stupidity.

As for Ryan Murphy needing to grow a little... it didnt stop Scott Thornton who is built like a stick from playing. Fact is Connolly didnt play him becasue you didnt want to promote kids... especially in a position that Freo needed the most help in.. .Full Forward. Connolly would rather try Longmuir and Simmonds there even though they were failing miserably than promote a young full forward. Does Andrew McDougall look like he is big enough to play AFL yet? He has another 3 or so years of filling in and weights to do yet but we still play him. McDougall learnt alot more about finals pressure and the need to hit the weights in 1 final last night that Ryan Murphy did on the coach with his other Dockers mates not playing in a final.

otis_david said:
As a moderator I would think you would have some common sense and not make uneducated, naive and blatantly stupid comments. Just about everyone thinks the Eagles will be pushing for the top four next season which they will.

Two issues here...
The moderator one is a little comical....I made a comment and backed it up best I could. All we are doing here is speculating and predicting...education has very little to do with it.
I mean after all Fred is a "super mod" :D ;)

Just about everyone???
You wouldnt get 50 percent of people saying they will be pushing for top 4

sabre_ac said:
Just about everyone???
You wouldnt get 50 percent of people saying they will be pushing for top 4

And who would have said last year Geelong and St Kilda would finish top 4 after finishing 11th and 12th respectively in 2003. Also no coincidence they are 2 young sides who both got thrashed along with the Eagles this weekend.

Total Package said:
Your stupidity astounds me at times. Seaby is 19.. how was he going to break into a team with Gardiner and Cox as their ruckmen? And Hansen has been injured since he arrived here... I would hardly say he has spent "years" in the WAFL... Staker... well he has hardly played a WAFL game since arrivign here 2 seasons ago... and Gaspar??? Gaspar has been injured as well and when he does come back he almost slots straight back into the side... how can that be spending years in the WAFL? Sheer stupidity.

As for Ryan Murphy needing to grow a little... it didnt stop Scott Thornton who is built like a stick from playing. Fact is Connolly didnt play him becasue you didnt want to promote kids... especially in a position that Freo needed the most help in.. .Full Forward. Connolly would rather try Longmuir and Simmonds there even though they were failing miserably than promote a young full forward. Does Andrew McDougall look like he is big enough to play AFL yet? He has another 3 or so years of filling in and weights to do yet but we still play him. McDougall learnt alot more about finals pressure and the need to hit the weights in 1 final last night that Ryan Murphy did on the coach with his other Dockers mates not playing in a final.

Frank you have contradicted yourself.

You have a go at Connoly for not playing Murphy (DOB 24/5/1985) enough (2 games) in his first season on the list.

Yet with Seaby (DOB 1/5/1984) He did not play a game for 2 seasons.
Hansen (DOB 3/3/1983) has played 6 games in his 3rd season.
Macdougal (DOB 29/6/1983) is now finnished his 4th season played 2 games in his 2nd season and has chalked up the grand total of 32 in 4 years.

Lynch (DOB 21/1/1983) didn't play a game in his first season and 11 in his second.

Compare this to our young talls

Polak (DOB 16/6/1984 younger than all of your duds) has already played 48 games.
Sandilands (DOB 6/12/1982) has played 39 games.

You critisise Connoly for not doing what Whoosha has done far less.

West Coast - Under achievers and proud of it?