• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Border Football League

Who is everyones ruffie to make the five. I'll say Casterton.

I'd say Casterton, too. They have recruited well and towards the end of last year they were just starting to hit their straps.

Who's going to fall the heaviest this year? South Gambier?

I'd say Casterton, too. They have recruited well and towards the end of last year they were just starting to hit their straps.

Who's going to fall the heaviest this year? South Gambier?
Why is Casterton being talked up !?....sure Howard's a big plus for them and they'll have Kent back after injury, is there more coming....
When you look at who may fall out of the five from last year, West & East maybe....have heard that West will be playing the kids this season but they have lost alot of there good players from the last few yrs.So you'd expect them to drop out.
East are unknown, as they also have lost a few including Kluzek and some of their kids but have'nt picked anyone up at this stage.
South will be around the mark again as i said previously - Howard, Copping & Rowe will hurt them going but going on what they've picked up they still should be o.k

I am mainly talking Casterton up for two reasons. One: Some of the other teams will drop off and that opens the door for teams like Casterton, Imperials and Hamilton to climb multiple spots. And two: The natural improvement of last year's list, especially towards the end of last year, was great to see and I'd expect more improvement to come in 2007 - especially with a fit Kent and a gun recruit Howard.

Is Licka going on again....

Further to the talk about Damian Squire - received a call from my Dad last week spruiking that Portland had signed Squire - apparently he's available for the first 10 games before going overseas, but will return for the finals should Portland make them.

Is Licka going on again....

Actually I'm not sure about Lithgow. My gut feel is he will play on, but obviously he's not going to be as productive as seasons past. Still, he's very well respected and given the Cats have got a (reasonably) young list Tony will be of great benefit.

Just for the sake of havin' a stab, here are my odds for the 2007 season.

Portland: $2.20 (No Holt this season. And, so much depends on the Tigers securing their second-stringers for depth similar to last year. In 2005 the Tigers had arguably the best starting 18, but they tapered away fairly severely after that).

East Gambier: $6 (Knocking on the door the past couple of seasons. Kluzek going is obviously a blow. Expect there to be enough depth still around to cover him, though).

South Gambier: $9 (Lost some talented types during the off-season, but there's plenty of wraps on the incoming players. A club that can never be written off).

North Gambier: $9 (Like South, always around the mark. Seems to have had a bit of an unsettled off-season, but too good to write off).

Hamilton: $21 (Expect huge improvement on last year. Some handy signings so far and more to come. I'd say the 'Pies will be pushing for finals, at least).

Imperials: $31 (Scott Day is a star and he's signed on already. There are others on the way to Imps. They could just be the best value at big odds).

West Gambier: $31 (Depends who stays and who goes, and who replaces those that are going. Got to assume there are some handy players on the way??)

Casterton: $61 (Improving young side. Abrahamson is doing well with this group, but suspect they're still a little way off the mark. Kent will be huge).

Heywood: $601 (Likely to struggle, but keeping Dunn is a huge bonus. Asman Rory will be the key - looking for a massive season from him).

Millicent: $601 (Doug Lang had this side improving all through 2006. However, still likely to be a little way off the pace).

Thoughts?

Actually I'm not sure about Lithgow. My gut feel is he will play on, but obviously he's not going to be as productive as seasons past. Still, he's very well respected and given the Cats have got a (reasonably) young list Tony will be of great benefit.

Just for the sake of havin' a stab, here are my odds for the 2007 season.

Portland: $2.20 (No Holt this season. And, so much depends on the Tigers securing their second-stringers for depth similar to last year. In 2005 the Tigers had arguably the best starting 18, but they tapered away fairly severely after that).

East Gambier: $6 (Knocking on the door the past couple of seasons. Kluzek going is obviously a blow. Expect there to be enough depth still around to cover him, though).

South Gambier: $9 (Lost some talented types during the off-season, but there's plenty of wraps on the incoming players. A club that can never be written off).

North Gambier: $9 (Like South, always around the mark. Seems to have had a bit of an unsettled off-season, but too good to write off).

Hamilton: $21 (Expect huge improvement on last year. Some handy signings so far and more to come. I'd say the 'Pies will be pushing for finals, at least).

Imperials: $31 (Scott Day is a star and he's signed on already. There are others on the way to Imps. They could just be the best value at big odds).

West Gambier: $31 (Depends who stays and who goes, and who replaces those that are going. Got to assume there are some handy players on the way??)

Casterton: $61 (Improving young side. Abrahamson is doing well with this group, but suspect they're still a little way off the mark. Kent will be huge).

Heywood: $601 (Likely to struggle, but keeping Dunn is a huge bonus. Asman Rory will be the key - looking for a massive season from him).

Millicent: $601 (Doug Lang had this side improving all through 2006. However, still likely to be a little way off the pace).

Thoughts?

Jaszzman, you clearly do not have enough work to do, and your Hamilton bias is showing. I mostly agree with the order, although I would probably have the Cats higher and the Magpies lower. I also do not think you would find anyone to put money on West with odds that short, except the most ardent fans. I think you are on the money with Portland though, especially if Squire turns up. Their depth will be interesting.
How many goals will Larcombe need to kick, do you think, for East to make the grand final without a true centre-half forward? I reckon their odds need to be closer to double figures, say $11?

Further to the talk about Damian Squire - received a call from my Dad last week spruiking that Portland had signed Squire - apparently he's available for the first 10 games before going overseas, but will return for the finals should Portland make them.

What can you tell me about this Squire. I know he has won 2 Magary medals but that is about it. Brodie won one Magary and he was sensational at Portland.

He's a sanfl representitive on numerous occasions inc captaincy at state level & club level and may have been on port powers original list or thereabouts in in the afl, sanfl life member also.
Damian Squire would probably be similar to Jeffries, onballer/follower type that also would be dangerous when resting up forward.I would'nt be surprised if he spends more time in the forward line then onball coz his body is just about rooted after playing at yard over his career.
Will be interesting in Portland town' as he's got a bit of off feild history in Adelaide and does like a drink.... :D:D:D
These players that Imps and Hamilton have picked up are they local' and will they make an impact !?!?
Are Jazzmans' thoughts first hand or hearsay bout North having an unsettling summer !! dooes he know something know one else does....

He's a sanfl representitive on numerous occasions inc captaincy at state level & club level and may have been on port powers original list or thereabouts in the afl, sanfl life member also.
Damian Squire would probably be similar to Jeffries, onballer/follower type that also would be dangerous when resting up forward.I would'nt be surprised if he spends more time in the forward line then onball coz his body is just about rooted after playing it hard over his career.
Will be interesting in Portland town' as he's got a bit of off feild history in Adelaide and does like a drink.... :D:D:D
These players that Imps and Hamilton have picked up are they local' and will they make an impact !?!?

Are Jazzmans' thoughts first hand or hearsay bout North having an unsettling summer !! does he know something know one else does....

Bigant, the players that Imperials have picked up are mostly local. Scott Day spent time with Hamilton as an under-18, Jamie Ferguson is still a junior but will spend most his time with North Ballarat in the TAC Cup, Adam Keilar and Jack Behncke are former Imps who have spent time in the Mininera league for the last couple of seasons. Both are capable seniors without being superstars.

On the North 'unsettled summer', I was speaking with a prominent North Gambier player over the Christmas period and he informed me of this and that. It's nothing worth panicking about, but I just think they will take a bit longer to settle than normal.

Then again, I tipped West Gambier would finish second and play off in a Grand Final last season!! ;)

Somebody said earlier that my Hamilton bias was showing. This is not really the case, but I have heard bits and pieces and I believe they're not far off naming a few handy pickups.

Cheers

Hamilton's key recruit is Kane Fraser. Now there's a guy who can play. Former Hawthorn Football Club player in the AFL, Fraser played one game with the 'Pies last year in the reserves - just to help the club out - and he had about a million possessions and kicked two or three goals.

How many games did he play with the hawks/box hill !? is'nt he there (hamilton) fitness adviser...what type of player is he.

hi all,
just came across this site and thought i'd say g'day.
am a current player at north gambier, and was interested to see that we are known to be a little un settled.
we are looking ok, the new coach is taking a bit to get use to - seems to have different ideas then pete, which is interesting but good
we have lost the ovbious guys like killa kilsby and the durbridges but it will be all good.
are any of u guys players in the WBFL or just supports/followers?

How many games did he play with the hawks/box hill !? is'nt he there (hamilton) fitness adviser...what type of player is he.

He is their fitness adviser. He's also an assistant-coach, or part of the leadership group anyway. Before Mark Watts took over he was running the pre-season training sessions.

Honestly I can't answer what sort of player he is because I haven't seen him play. However, reports suggest he's a pretty good footballer.

He played five games with Hawthorn between 1996 and 1998 (according to my AFL encyclopedia). He was described in that book as the following...

'A half-back flanker and winger from East Ringwood via Eastern under-18s who had trouble breaking into the Hawks side over three years'

It's rumoured that he didn't get along at all well with the coach at the time. The coach's name just escapes me right now, unfortunately.

hi all,
just came across this site and thought i'd say g'day.
am a current player at north gambier, and was interested to see that we are known to be a little un settled

Just quickly mate, welcome to the forum. I've only been here a few days myself.

On North being a bit unsettled, I explained it was nothing serious - just something I'd heard from somebody involved with the club. I think this person meant it was the 'unsettled state' that goes with replacing a coach like Peter Collins. There was always going to be a period of time when things are a bit up in the air. I'm pretty confident North will be fully ready to rock and roll this season, though. And, bring on the finals, you're going to be thereabouts! Cheers.

hi guys,

have been a interested reader of this site for a while now and it seems there are some well informed???? experts??? floating around, anyway keep those contributions going

Just thoughts on what clubs are getting good numbers out on the track, with just over a month before the season starts what is the G O around the traps..

Heard West are'nt getting good numbers at all, an associate of a friend of mine went past Malseed Pk the other day and there was barely two handfuls on the track.

Millicent have been getting good numbers all pre-season, at least 18 on some nights up to 35-45 on others.With 5 weeks before kick off they hav'nt made any major signings but who they have signed have been kids just out of colts from mid se clubs and one or two seniors returning from stints out in the bush.

south and north been getting exceptional numbers, the tigers in particulary mainly senior with a sprinkling of promising juniors, several early season suprises and the return of some ex club/league stars should hold the tigers in good stead

can confirm west, drive past regularly myself as i live rather close and last week was the highest with no more than 15 on the tack, most week/nights there would have been no more than half a dozen - eight on the track, tough gig for browny, in fact i think that there are more numbers at the female soccer trainings, perhaps they could merge, definetely would save some money on transporting players