Western Region FL - Division Two - Part 2

DRAMAS DOWN AT PARKSIDE

Nath Juegan trains a few sessions and without any pre season, no match fitness or match pratice and coming off an injury is selected straight in the senior side. This has upset alot of players and people involved at parkside especially after he was on the piss last saturday bad mouthing the coach behind his back. 2 players have already walked becuase of this decision who were fringe players and were overlooked for a spot in the senior team for nath. There was a parkside past players function a couple of weeks ago and the 2 games record holders for the club didnt even get a invite becuase the president doesnt want them around the club because they dont fit into his new club culture image. And the assistant coach has recently resigned because he doesnt see eye to eye with the senior coach. Not a happy club at the moment.

DRAMAS DOWN AT PARKSIDE

Nath Juegan trains a few sessions and without any pre season, no match fitness or match pratice and coming off an injury is selected straight in the senior side. This has upset alot of players and people involved at parkside especially after he was on the piss last saturday bad mouthing the coach behind his back. 2 players have already walked becuase of this decision who were fringe players and were overlooked for a spot in the senior team for nath. There was a parkside past players function a couple of weeks ago and the 2 games record holders for the club didnt even get a invite becuase the president doesnt want them around the club because they dont fit into his new club culture image. And the assistant coach has recently resigned because he doesnt see eye to eye with the senior coach. Not a happy club at the moment.

Interesting stuff.....don't think it matters how many sessions Juegan had completed or his level of fitness, a player of his pedigree would assume he would not play even one game in the magoos. Not sure that is the right way to go for a bloke in his 30's returning from knee surgery, however it is against NS so probably won't matter.

Every club does it differently. Hayden Phillips was back last week for North and played his first game in the reserves (back in the seniors tomorrow). Stewart Devlin is also back playing and is in the reserves tomorrow against the Brookers.

Cobras opted to bring in Atik and Zurek straight into their seniors. How many sessions did they have? Maybe 1 or 2?

Most clubs have a method they prefer to follow, but there are always exceptions - injuries, form, position of the team on the ladder, time of the season etc.

Personally, I think on most occasions the magoos would be the way to go.

DRAMAS DOWN AT PARKSIDE

i think theres more dramas than that i see on the wrfl clearances that last years parkside reserves premiership captain has put in his clearance to another club because he cant get a game and heard that sanli and lika have walked and that 2 more senior players no.6 and 23 were just about to walk out and are still considering it.

WRFL web site;

You will be aware of the tragic circumstances surrounding the death of North Sunshine Football Club player Sean Wolfe. During the final quarter of the Reserves match at Yarraville Oval on Saturday 15 May, Sean suffered an asthma attack, followed by cardiac arrest. He was transported to hospital in a critical condition, where he remained in a coma until his death on the following Friday. The funeral service for Sean was held yesterday.
Sean is survived by his partner, Jacqui and three sons, Jacob, Josh and Joel. Sean’s untimely passing has left his family in difficult circumstances financially.
[FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif] At the Committee of Management meeting held last Tuesday 25th May 2010, it was resolved unanimously by the clubs represented at the meeting (moved Spotswood FC / seconded North Footscray FC) that all WRFL clubs would donate a minimum sum of $300.00 to an appeal fund to assist the family with immediate costs.[/FONT]
[FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif] The “Sean Wolfe Appeal Fund” has been established through opening a special purpose account at Bendigo Bank. Clubs should direct their $300 donations, and any additional amounts that clubs and/or their members may wish to contribute to the following Bendigo Bank account: [/FONT]
[FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]BSB 633-000[/FONT]
[FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif] Account No. 1402 04264 [/FONT]
[FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]Account name Western Region Football League – Sean Wolfe Appeal Fund Donations / contributions can be made at any branch of the Bendigo Bank, or by electronic funds transfer to the above account. To assist in identifying and acknowledging donations, please ensure that the donor club or individual’s name is indicated in the reference field of the deposit slip or on-line banking form. [/FONT]
[FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]Prompt attention to donating to the fund is requested of all clubs in order that the benefits can be realized by Sean’s family as soon as possible. Clubs will be advised weekly by email of the status of fund contributors and total collections.[/FONT]

i think theres more dramas than that i see on the wrfl clearances that last years parkside reserves premiership captain has put in his clearance to another club because he cant get a game and heard that sanli and lika have walked and that 2 more senior players no.6 and 23 were just about to walk out and are still considering it.
Yep I would agree kicking 60 goals would mean the club is in trouble. Juegan back and playing aginst Nth Sunshine is like a training sessions with cones. Why on earth would he need to come through the seconds in div 2?? Might be about time the seconds coach down at Parks grew some swingers instead of pointing the fingers when under the pump from blokes not getting a game???? Worry about getting a kick in the magoos and the rest will take care of it's self. If you want a sook front the coach for a chat but dont do it here:thumbsu: And I cant stand Parkside!!!

Watched Albanvale V Deer park yesterday in the local derby, great to watch a good old fashioned physical game. Both sides were very hard at it with the cobras getting over the top of Deer Park as the game wore on.

Sets up a great game next week for top spot with North Footscray now. Albanvale's depth will be really tested with up to 3 of there best players injured yesterday.

*sigh* North Sunshine is still struggling.

They conceded 60.28 to Parkside (or was it Parkville?)

And get this for a stat! 21 out of 22 Parkside players contributed to the goalkickers list. That Nathan Jeugen, sadly, was left out of the goalkicking.

After 8 games, look at all these scores.....the bigger score means North Sunshine lost. :(

Coburg Districts 39.22 (256) to 2.8 (20)
North Footscray 41.25 (271) to 5.10 (40)
Deer Park 31.14 (200) to 2.4 (16)
Laverton 18.23 (131) to 6.7 (43)
Alberton 67.22 (424) to 3.5 (23)
Yarraville Seddon 35.18 (228) to 1.5 (11)
Wyndhamville 33.13 (211) to 4.5 (29)
Parkville 60.28 (388) to 2.3 (15)

Against Laverton was the only time they actually got within 100 points.

The total: 324.165 (2109) they conceded.
And they get 25.47 (197)

That's less then seven of the eight scores they conceded in games this year alone...

Poor old North.

Watched Albanvale V Deer park yesterday in the local derby, great to watch a good old fashioned physical game. Both sides were very hard at it with the cobras getting over the top of Deer Park as the game wore on.

Sets up a great game next week for top spot with North Footscray now. Albanvale's depth will be really tested with up to 3 of there best players injured yesterday.

yep and i owe a sab........and 2 words sums up d/p season......SEASON OVER......

You'd know wouldn't you weapons. I mean we see you at training every Tuesday and Thursday don't we. And We see you at every game hey. Or is it like last year you bag the boys all year and when the wins and flag came you were on board riding the wave all the way in hey.

put a name to yourself zippy????easy to come on here under an alias isnt it.....

hahahaha.......im in the know...deer park is like summer bay everyone knows everything.....well going by what the coach said in the local papers last week.....he said it himself if you blokes lose its season over just quoting him.......maybe its the kick up the ar se you guys needed just like last year........lets be honest the injuries and lack of fittness some players have and also the depth isnt there......time to play more kids.....but that wont happen will it........

and yeah why not(enjoying the granny win).......ive put alot of hours in at the club playing coaching running and commitee and yeah enjoyed the win and yes im dissapointed that the club didnt go to a-grade but understand the decision.......so thats why id like to know who you are.....i doubt you will come out and tell me.......thats fine.......

good luck for the rest of the year.....if your playing.....i doubt it......

4 reports and a melee at North Footscray. Only 4 or 5 goals the margin at half time but then Braybook lost it and let North pull away from them in the second half. When Braybrook put their heads down and played the footy they didn't look that bad a side.

the 4 reports were all from separate incidents, there was only 1 report from the melee and that was for kicking.

the melee was in the last quarter and north were up by about 10 goals. a player was tackled, kicked the ball as he was taken to the ground and then the other bloke wouldnt let him up. they started wrestling then a heap of other players became involved, in the end there was about 12 from each team. during that time north kicked a goal and the ball came back to the centre and a player was sent off and reported which pretty much ended it

the 4 reports were all from separate incidents, there was only 1 report from the melee and that was for kicking.

the melee was in the last quarter and north were up by about 10 goals. a player was tackled, kicked the ball as he was taken to the ground and then the other bloke wouldnt let him up. they started wrestling then a heap of other players became involved, in the end there was about 12 from each team. during that time north kicked a goal and the ball came back to the centre and a player was sent off and reported which pretty much ended it
which club had the reported players?

So you would assume that due to players being reported for serious offences, there would have been 4 red cards?

I was led to believe there was a mandate given to umpires this season to send off players automatically if they are scuffling, send off both players for 15 minutes. And once if you were reported, it was an automatic red card and gone for the day.

I have seen this season players getting away with some fairly interesting actions including threatening an umpire, although it did cost the guy a 50 meter penalty. Just another issue for the league to address I would say.

And on this, do players realise that there is increasing support from AFL victoria for players who are victims of being king hit, or kicked (anything outside the realms of reasonable contact) to pursue police action? I believe it is a stance strongly supported by several leagues around the state include the ammo's. unfortunately i don't think it will be to long before a player in the WRFL pursues further action from an off the ball assault.

So you would assume that due to players being reported for serious offences, there would have been 4 red cards?

I was led to believe there was a mandate given to umpires this season to send off players automatically if they are scuffling, send off both players for 15 minutes. And once if you were reported, it was an automatic red card and gone for the day.

the opposite. in division 1 and 2 seniors and reserves, and player sent off with a yellow or red card must also be reported, no exceptions.

according to the AFL rules, only kicking another player, umpire related offences and an act of misconduct that the umpire considers serious enough get a red card. this season though, the WRFL umpires have been advised not to give red cards for misconduct or kicking, only for umpire related offences. that is why the kicking only got a yellow even though according to the Laws of Australian Football, that is an offence that warrants being ordered off for the remainder of the match.

Its comin close to the half way mark of the season i reckon we all have a opinion an a mid season team of the year?
Even if it is just a few spots!:thumbsu:

I'm not gonna make a full team coz i havent seen all sides yet but from Districts i'd say 4 players would have a good chance to be in it ..

Cali - sometimes hot and cold but when hes on is a smooth mover and can take control of a game with his run and carry and has very good evasive skills .... Suggested position Wing/Half back

Broad - Just a good solid big man to have in any side .. good in the ruck and moves well around the ground and takes a good grab ..Suggested position Ruck/Chf

Irons - underrated imo applies excellent pressure and must lay 10 tackles plus a game and has super quick hands in congested situations .. also has a big tank and for a little bloke is very tough and durable ... Suggested postion Rover/wing

Gomez .. has been rock solid in defence and has a good set of hands and also a nice accurate long kick .. provides invaluble drive off the half back line ....Suggested postion Half back

Like i said just my opinon but these 4 blokes would be the ones i'd put in also Newiit might squeeze in somewhere

:thumbsu:

What going on guys this threads gone quiet ?? who would u guys pick from ur team on this yrs form to go into the mid season team of the yr ???

what was your thoughts on the wyndhamvale game hellsbell?

Terrible conditions coz of the centre square was a nice sticky mudpot....

Districts smashed them out of the middle scoring goals in under 20 seconds in both 1st and 2nd 1/4's... also dominated stoppages around the ground which makes a massive difference in wet weather footy ...

Wyndhamvale got caught out a bit trying to play dry weather footy but when they did get it out wide to where the ground was a bit dryer they did run and move the ball pretty well and when they did manage to get it forward they look reasonably dangerous .

All in all i think the bigger bodies of Districts just won out all over the ground . Wyndhamvale are much improved again this yr and imo have a lot to look forward to with a few good young blokes in their side .

The Falcons better players were ..Bunworth,A redhead bloke called rusty i think ??,Dennerly was alright and number 7 he wasnt fantastic but was really hard at it ...

Districts better players were... Big Kitey dominated the ruck,Piperno went alright,Juzzy Gomez down back was good and Irons played a ripper in the midfield ...

Anyone from the Falcons got any thoughts ?:thumbsu:

I will have an attempt at putting a mid-season team of year together, i will do so with 2 players from each team in comp including 1 player from each team who i will label the dark horse of the team to make it....

Albanvale- 1.Atik 2.Mohamed 3. Cavanagh (dark horse)
Yarraville- 1.Mainsbridge 2.Litchfield 3.Baker (dark Horse)
Braybrook 1.Sophalus 2.Braun 3.Ashman (dark Horse)
Wyndhamvale 1.Lubke 2.Mackey 3. Bunworth (dark Horse)
Laverton 1.Bell 2.Thomas 3. Downing (dark Horse)
North Foots 1.Richardson 2.Kater 3. Arnott (dark Horse)
Parkside 1.Kreuger 2.Eastoe 3.Storey (dark Horse)
Deer Park 1.Buttigeig-Clarke 2.Summers 3.Duggan (dark Horse)
Coburg 1.Cali 2.Gomez 3. Newitt (dark Horse)
North Suns 1.Moody 2.Leach 3. Sciculni (dark Horse)

I know this is not how it works and to be honest there are porbally a handful more in each of the top sides who will make it and likes of the bottom teams thay wont have any in, but i just thought for discussion wise i would pick a handful from each team regardless. cheers

I will have an attempt at putting a mid-season team of year together, i will do so with 2 players from each team in comp including 1 player from each team who i will label the dark horse of the team to make it....

Albanvale- 1.Atik 2.Mohamed 3. Cavanagh (dark horse)
Yarraville- 1.Mainsbridge 2.Litchfield 3.Baker (dark Horse)
Braybrook 1.Sophalus 2.Braun 3.Ashman (dark Horse)
Wyndhamvale 1.Lubke 2.Mackey 3. Bunworth (dark Horse)
Laverton 1.Bell 2.Thomas 3. Downing (dark Horse)
North Foots 1.Richardson 2.Kater 3. Arnott (dark Horse)
Parkside 1.Kreuger 2.Eastoe 3.Storey (dark Horse)
Deer Park 1.Buttigeig-Clarke 2.Summers 3.Duggan (dark Horse)
Coburg 1.Cali 2.Gomez 3. Newitt (dark Horse)
North Suns 1.Moody 2.Leach 3. Sciculni (dark Horse)

I know this is not how it works and to be honest there are porbally a handful more in each of the top sides who will make it and likes of the bottom teams thay wont have any in, but i just thought for discussion wise i would pick a handful from each team regardless. cheers

Nice stuff mate yeah i defintely agree the likes of sunshine braybrook and laverton might not have any in there come end of the year but i thouhgt i would do 1 witha few spots missin cos i dont know every player and position of course im just a observer ive seen pretty much every team play aparty from Nth Sunny..Backman are the hardest for me so here i go

BP Gomez (Coburg) Sirianni (Albanvaled) BLANK
HB Whitling (Laverton) Pierce (Yarra) BLANK
C Partridge (D Park) Richardson (Nth F) Cali (Coburg)
HF Mainsbridge (Yarra) Lubke (Falcons) Mohammed (Albanvale)
FP Paone (Laverton) Buttergig-Clarke (D Park) Newitt (Coburg)
RR Disney? (Yarra) Bell (Laverton) Summers (D Park)
INT Lucas (Nth F) Baker (Yarra) Barry (Albanvale) Green ( Yarra)

Thats just 1 of mine i cant pick every gun im sure i have missed a few of the leagues best players and i apologise just thought i would have a imput..Loook forward to seeing ppl do a few of there own:thumbsu:

Neeed more talk on the thread ppl :)