Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

ROCK07 said:
Agree with you buddy we played well and the kangas were ordinary,and sometimes on the footy field one team has all things go right for them and the other team can't take a trick.
I'm sure the kangas will learn from the experience but they will have to be ready again for a more physical encounter against parks,the kangas didn't finish third for nothing and will be embaressed after yesterday's effort and give a better performance im sure but i don't think they can beat parkside in a final this year.
SUNNY my old buddy can't wait for this week i hope your fit and ready to take me on i reckon i'll get 7 on you this wk,love the space on the whitten and know that you don't have much pace to keep up so you will play from the front and i'll have plenty of space,which i love.
What are your thoughts on yesterday's game??can you guys run on the big ground with us im not sure you can,remember the last time on the big ground we had 20.20 so you guys will have will have to be ready to run hard.
WHERE to play DALE CARSONat full fwd probably to far out the play and at chf he won't be as dangerous,headaches for frosty and surely he cant play doyle,venner.puli,cavka,taylor and himself in the one side,they lack so much leg speed murphy,becker, miles p.carson,koutza and redda have leg speed but not to many others it will be a tough ask especially after no game last week,but look fwd to it sunny all the best for the week,don't have to many nightmares about me you probably will only last a quarter.[LOL]

Well Rock, you guys certainly gave Sunshine a football lesson on the weekend. I was at the game and can say the game was clearly won from the middle.

I was at Yarraville yesterday, watching my brothers team flog Nth Footscray and bumped into a couple of the lads from Sunshine, as to be expected, they were livered by the loss and know they can play alot better. So I will have to dissagree with you Rock, I think they will bounce back and beat Parkside next week.

Rock you ask if we can keep up with you on a big ground, my answer is yes, you bring up a game that was played more than 3 month's ago, I don't know why , but hey, some people live in the past, i'm one for the future and the future is looking like the Whitten oval will hold a pretty good game on Saturday afternoon. Yes we had the week off and it was very nice to be having a rest leading into the finals, so that's not a disadvantage from my point of view.

I'm really looking forward to the game, can't wait.

sunline 11 said:
Well Rock, you guys certainly gave Sunshine a football lesson on the weekend. I was at the game and can say the game was clearly won from the middle.

I was at Yarraville yesterday, watching my brothers team flog Nth Footscray and bumped into a couple of the lads from Sunshine, as to be expected, they were livered by the loss and know they can play alot better. So I will have to dissagree with you Rock, I think they will bounce back and beat Parkside next week.

Rock you ask if we can keep up with you on a big ground, my answer is yes, you bring up a game that was played more than 3 month's ago, I don't know why , but hey, some people live in the past, i'm one for the future and the future is looking like the Whitten oval will hold a pretty good game on Saturday afternoon. Yes we had the week off and it was very nice to be having a rest leading into the finals, so that's not a disadvantage from my point of view.

our game this week sunline will also be won in the middle, but there will plenty of battles at each end of the ground which will have a big say in who goes straight into the grand final

i think we will draw a big crowd on saturday and it will be worth every cent for those who go, it cant come quick enough for me

Well done to the colts boys on a faultless display of football all day. The colts hit the ball running from the first bounce and didn't look like stopping all day with just about every bloke winning their posistion on the day.
The kangas were very dissapointing all day and still are extremly shattered about our performance we dished up on Saturday. Even though we played our worst game of the season we will push that result aside and really knuckle down for Parkside on Sunday. Hopfully we can bounce back and at least create a good contest for all watching.

Went and watched the first half of Parkside vs Spotty yesterday. A few of us mentioned when Parkside ran out that they didn't look switched on and look like it could be another boil over. But once the siren went it was all Parkside and they absolute dominated the first half with Condos slotting a few and Juegan running riot through the midfield.

Should be a great weekend of footy this weekend with both finals being played on Saturday and Sunday at the Whitten oval unless the wrfl change it again. Whilst we are on grounds, the wrfl also changed some games from Chirnside Park to Solders reserve due to the council trying to prepare the wicket for cricket season. Poor scheduling from the wrfl once again and should have a good hard look at themselves. Discrace.

sunline 11 said:

The game was one not only in the middle, the colts one every posistion on the ground. What impressed me more was that they worked as hard defensivley at the 100 hundreth minute as hey did in the first minute of the game. To be able to kick a score as they did shows their obvious forward strength and to hold a team to three goals on the whitten oval speaks volumes for their committment and determination.

Rock you ask if we can keep up with you on a big ground, my answer is yes, you bring up a game that was played more than 3 month's ago, I don't know why.

Why - is that he towelled you up in that game and evn though he didn't play in the second game your form was fairly poor in that game also. So on that basis he probaly justified in he's opinion.

Good to see you are looking forward to the game, cant say the same for the sausage sizzler ruckman, been herd whinging about colts knocking him around. After all the clubs he has robbed it is good to see the whell turn.

Turning back the thread a little, back to the debate on league v league. I wandered down the hill to have a look at the cashed up second semi final between Strathmore and Doutta Stars. For the record the speculated salerys are 200k v 160k , not bad coin for park footy. The game was of a good standerd with plenty of good hard physical clashes,high marking and run and carry footy. I think all that would have whitnessed the game would say that Strathmore would be hard to beat. They have recruited well (obviously) and have pure talent on every line. Good to see the best on ground was clearly the former colts star in Johnny Lindsay, having said that not much has changed in JL's approach to the game. One would wonder what a WRFL club could do with above monies. Using your crystal balls , who would you recruit to your club if money was of no concern.

Note- Sunline and clickity clixs need not respond to this thread. We all know that money is no problem out at the s h i t farm catchment area.....

obe1 said:
Note- Sunline and clicky clixs need not respond to this thread. We all know that money is no problem out at the s h i t farm catcment area.....

Note- obe1, when you are going to try and put sh1t on someone, please make sure your spelling and grammar are correct. :thumbsdown:

Absolutely right about the Colts, they were awesome! Obviously had been looking forward to the finals and Whitten Oval does suit them down to the ground. Had winners all over the park, and showed how important finals experience is. Caddy and Clarke work great together in the forward line, and the delivery was exceptional. Very skilled wingers and midfielders, along with Webby who is deadly with that left foot. Winters was a little quiet which shows they are only going to get better. Jullier dominated in the ruck all day, Massis got clearance after clearance and Twomey tore us apart. Harder at the ball, used it better and backed themselves. They were also very disciplined all day, which had been a downfall in the past. Really cannot speak more highly of Colts performance on the weekend. We were absolutely disgraceful, it was embarrasing in the end to be out there and we can only look forward to this Sunday. I reckon we broke even on only one position on the ground with Brighty, other then that we were terrible. Going on the performance on the weekend i reckon Hoppers may just have there hands full with Colts, who play that ground perfectly and live for finals footy. Well coached by Clarkey too, oh and by the other no name who holds the board and yells abuse. Apparently he calls himself a coach. Haha.

13-CABS said:
. Well coached by Clarkey too, oh and by the other no name who holds the board and yells abuse. Apparently he calls himself a coach. Haha.

Didn't taken the jibe about Daddy taking your stats too well did you champ. What was up after half time? Spent a lot of time off the ground? The white board on Saturday looked after itself,very little imput required.....Look forward too catching up at some later piont in time....:)

sunline 11 said:
Note- obe1, when you are going to try and put sh1t on someone, please make sure your spelling and grammar are correct. :thumbsdown:

Yeah , wrote in a rush and forgot spell check, my humble apoligies.

You must be a little paraniod suuny, was only stating the obvious,...your club is the most cashed up and you do have a sewage farm out there dont you?

cold pies said:
2006 over for spotswood, did anyone go and watch were they unlucky or outplayed, i see they had more scoring shots. did parkside look dangerous or was it there straight kicking that got them over the line

spotswood i think would be disapointed with there year, after the way they came home in '05 they would have been thinking big for '06 and for the majority of the year they were fighting it out with st albans for 5th

A bit of both in the end. Parkside were easily the best side for the first three quarters of the day. Spotty kicked five in the last 10 minutes to come from 38 points down. Five more minutes and they would have pinched it. Parkside grinded to an absolute halt in the last.

Taleb easily best on ground.
Condos was pretty good early. Was kept quiet in the second half by Michael Puhar.
Juegan just keeps running.
Stanley and 7 (Name escapes me) were also pretty handy.

No Sir.

Haha, so you are who many have suspected? Thought it was quite a funny comment about my old man though, considering hes the statistician for the whole team. And i was only off for 2 minutes for the game, was just hopeless whilst on the field. Couldnt get near it! Agreed the board wouldnt need much work at all though.

13-CABS said:
Absolutely right about the Colts, they were awesome! Obviously had been looking forward to the finals and Whitten Oval does suit them down to the ground. Had winners all over the park, and showed how important finals experience is. Caddy and Clarke work great together in the forward line, and the delivery was exceptional. Very skilled wingers and midfielders, along with Webby who is deadly with that left foot. Winters was a little quiet which shows they are only going to get better. Jullier dominated in the ruck all day, Massis got clearance after clearance and Twomey tore us apart. Harder at the ball, used it better and backed themselves. They were also very disciplined all day, which had been a downfall in the past. Really cannot speak more highly of Colts performance on the weekend. We were absolutely disgraceful, it was embarrasing in the end to be out there and we can only look forward to this Sunday. I reckon we broke even on only one position on the ground with Brighty, other then that we were terrible. Going on the performance on the weekend i reckon Hoppers may just have there hands full with Colts, who play that ground perfectly and live for finals footy. Well coached by Clarkey too, oh and by the other no name who holds the board and yells abuse. Apparently he calls himself a coach. Haha.

Hey cabs if i was u i wouldnt go potting coaches after Mr O'keefe's performance on the weekend. As for u i worked out why u spent so much time on the pine, it was in the last quarter just up from the Colts bench. I THINK U KNOW WHAT HAPPENED. U cant be doing that in the tough enviroment of finals footy. Good luck at the BUTCHERS during the week.

Well sunny you might not be to brught but the game that was 3 mnths ago was on a BIGGER ground,just like the whitten oval and on that day we dominated 20.20 to 19.4 and yes you had 3 players out but only 1 running player[p.carson].HOPPERS are a great side and i believe this will be a great contest,i just believe we can out run you guys i may be proving wrong but even surely you could see from saturday that if we can bring our A game we will be very hard to beat.

CABBY let me tell you also that JOHN ELLIS and myself work as partners in coaching and we take credit and criticism together so after your individual performance staurday pipe down little boy!!

Haha no worries Rock, i just wasnt too sure what obe actually did. You seem to do most of the coaching and media stuff. And by all means im open to criticism after my performance, it was disgraceful. Not interested in a slanging match on here, but iknowfooty, i was on the bench for 2 minutes. I was on the ground most of the day, just had no effect. And in front of u i thought that handball hit the target and we got it forward. May have looked bad but it was effective.

cmat26 said:
A bit of both in the end. Parkside were easily the best side for the first three quarters of the day. Spotty kicked five in the last 10 minutes to come from 38 points down. Five more minutes and they would have pinched it. Parkside grinded to an absolute halt in the last.

Taleb easily best on ground.
Condos was pretty good early. Was kept quiet in the second half by Michael Puhar.
Juegan just keeps running.
Stanley and 7 (Name escapes me) were also pretty handy.

No Sir.

thanks for the review cmat26:thumbsu:

13-CABS said:
Haha no worries Rock, i just wasnt too sure what obe actually did. You seem to do most of the coaching and media stuff. And by all means im open to criticism after my performance, it was disgraceful. Not interested in a slanging match on here, but iknowfooty, i was on the bench for 2 minutes. I was on the ground most of the day, just had no effect. And in front of u i thought that handball hit the target and we got it forward. May have looked bad but it was effective.

No probs cabbie but as for John Ellis from what ive seen he does a great job at the footy club.

13-CABS said:
Haha, so you are who many have suspected? Thought it was quite a funny comment about my old man though, considering hes the statistician for the whole team. And i was only off for 2 minutes for the game, was just hopeless whilst on the field. Couldnt get near it! Agreed the board wouldnt need much work at all though.

Dont know what you mean buddy, travvy can vouch for my id, knew all about the stats etc, willy told me yours are always highlighted in gold however......maybe just a coincidence:)

obe1 said:
Dont know what you mean buddy, travvy can vouch for my id, knew all about the stats etc, willy told me yours are always highlighted in gold however......maybe just a coincidence:)

The Gold Highlighter wouldn't have had much of a workout last Saturday then Haha...

On to something totally unrelated Elton Stevens stop stealing art smocks the primary schools need em :mad:

sunline 11 said:

i know who you are now sunny hoppers are a real chance to win the flag are u playin sat or sun i will come n have a sqizz at ya...

we played in the 12's underfeated flag together i played at full back and brained them. hehehe.......:thumbsu:

good luck for the wkend mate

can anyone tell me if ben foley played for sunshine on the weekend against the colts or did he end up playing for willi on saturday? cheers in advance

bush_tucker77 said:
can anyone tell me if ben foley played for sunshine on the weekend against the colts or did he end up playing for willi on saturday? cheers in advance

he didn't line up for sunshine on saturday, wouldn't know if he played for willy as i don't know the guy i can only assume he did

Originally posted by obe1
Turning back the thread a little, back to the debate on league v league. I wandered down the hill to have a look at the cashed up second semi final between Strathmore and Doutta Stars. For the record the speculated salerys are 200k v 160k , not bad coin for park footy. The game was of a good standerd with plenty of good hard physical clashes,high marking and run and carry footy. I think all that would have whitnessed the game would say that Strathmore would be hard to beat. They have recruited well (obviously) and have pure talent on every line. Good to see the best on ground was clearly the former colts star in Johnny Lindsay, having said that not much has changed in JL's approach to the game. One would wonder what a WRFL club could do with above monies. Using your crystal balls , who would you recruit to your club if money was of no concern.

i also went to this game yesterday obe and you're right JL tore it up but i was amazed to watch harvey tear it up also. i dont think that the standard was THAT good, there were a lot of turnovers on both sides and no real atmosphere compared to games ive seen at WRFL finals. there werent that many physical clashes, i have seen more in a WRFL finals game.

cold pies said:
our game this week sunline will also be won in the middle, but there will plenty of battles at each end of the ground which will have a big say in who goes straight into the grand final

i think we will draw a big crowd on saturday and it will be worth every cent for those who go, it cant come quick enough for me

You played pretty well, for an old fella on the weekend coldy, still know how to use the ball in tight area's.

It will be a battle of the big guns in the middle and the forward line up at both ends, are very potent aswell. Backmen will have to be "ON" all day.

The league will be rubbing there hand's together, knowing that a Hoppers V colt's game will always draw a good crowd and will because we both have a crack.

ROCK07 said:
Well sunny you might not be to brught but the game that was 3 mnths ago was on a BIGGER ground,just like the whitten oval and on that day we dominated 20.20 to 19.4 and yes you had 3 players out but only 1 running player[p.carson].HOPPERS are a great side and i believe this will be a great contest,i just believe we can out run you guys i may be proving wrong but even surely you could see from saturday that if we can bring our A game we will be very hard to beat.

It was a bigger ground, we did lose, it was 3 months ago and we did have 3 guns out. If we both bring our A game it will be a very close contest. As you do, I also have confidence in the ability of my mates. Bring it on!:thumbsu:

Well I know this seems like old news, but well done to the colts on the weekend. From our point of view it was a difficult pill to swallow. You go into game thinking you are a chance to take it out, and to get beaten by an even ton was disappointing.

The good thing is, we played some good enough footy through the year to earn a double chance. We need to move on and learn from last week.

Parkside are obvioulsy a finals harden side and will be tough opposition this week. Will sir play, or will the powers at be think they have us already covered, not risk him and have him right for the following week.

We have a lot to prove after last week, and will be keen to make amends for last weeks below par performance.

X Linton and potentially Foley back will help.