Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

just a general comment, re whats happening with A grade.

One match on the weekend down to the wire, all of the others thrashings by over 100 points. I know its the top 4 against the bottom four but these big margins are usually there in probably two or three games each week. I know this week will be different but it doesn't happen often enough.

I can't see this changing in the near future, how can it be fixed if it can?

pretty easy $$$$$$$ think about what the top 4 or 5 are paying.......the bottom teams would halve that...........

lot of bottom teams need to get rid of the we cant compete with the big boy mentality and start working at it, there behind 8 ball before theyve started.

Not as easy as it sounds. If you have plenty of dollars you attract better players. Disapointing to see that the passion and all the heart that made the league so great in the past is disapearing. Would be interestiig to see how many of the well payed players from the top sides would stick around if the money dried up. Parkside is the perfect example no money and players walk

tend to agree slightly, but a few things also contribute, juniors coming through. top sides in div 1 have good base of jnrs and bottom sides, exception Altona, have minimal junior programs. Although juniors coming through may not be the blue chip players they are the ones that are the difference making up the numbers from positions 14-21 in the side and not joe blow off the street as are with some of lower sides.

correct but altona have had good juniors for a number of years excluding last year. Its plain and simple top sides have money bottom side dont. Hoppers are only now realising that unless you utilise your juniors properly you will loose out. Lots of examples to be made over the last couple of years with the same five side that play finals every year

This issue has been flogged to death guys.

Big games this week..........Albion need to win and Saints to lose to Port for the Cats to have a chance come finals!

yes they can still make finals, but they seem to crack under the pump. they turned the footy over so much on the wk end, bar a few players. no. 3 16 12 19 and a young guy off half back was good. id say there season is over.

what was the feeling at training last night for the cats after shanksy had a go at fenton in the local paper about how bad he played on the weekend. abit harsh to name him in the paper but probably true he was terrible

don't agree with comments like this, albion have been paying out a fair bit for a few years now(eg aaron james) but still have not played finals, seddon before they folded were travelling well off the field and my understanding is the new merged eagles side are financially sound and i've heard glenorden are doing pretty well too, so why do these clubs struggle?

it's all about culture people, obviously you need to have money to pay good players but you need to have a good core group, we have a great group at port who are all good mates, we rarely lose players to higher bidders because we enjoy our footy together and eventually blokes end up bringing a friend to the club with them, i think sunshine have a similar group and hoppers are on the way to forming a side like that and if altona keep hold of all there under 18's from this year they will be on track too

clubs can go out and get the best players going around but you need offer more than just money, you need to get the right guys into these clubs who want to be there and getting paid for it is just a bonus

don't agree with comments like this, albion have been paying out a fair bit for a few years now(eg aaron james) but still have not played finals, seddon before they folded were travelling well off the field and my understanding is the new merged eagles side are financially sound and i've heard glenorden are doing pretty well too, so why do these clubs struggle?

it's all about culture people, obviously you need to have money to pay good players but you need to have a good core group, we have a great group at port who are all good mates, we rarely lose players to higher bidders because we enjoy our footy together and eventually blokes end up bringing a friend to the club with them, i think sunshine have a similar group and hoppers are on the way to forming a side like that and if altona keep hold of all there under 18's from this year they will be on track too

clubs can go out and get the best players going around but you need offer more than just money, you need to get the right guys into these clubs who want to be there and getting paid for it is just a bonus

Agree in part there but there is alot of other factors that go into it. for example Parkside were suppose to have a great core and at one stage called themselves brothers. What has happened now? Only the true people are still there. Then look at Spotswood they are the best team in the comp at present but look at where they all came from. There would be atleast 15 players from Altona there but none could stick around for that club. Reason MONEY. Not doubting their ability but if they all end up at the same place what does that same bunch of blokes have at one club but not another

Do agree that Port and Sunshine have alot of whats needed. Great team, bond together well and play for each other but a little extra money does help.

Agree in part there but there is alot of other factors that go into it. for example Parkside were suppose to have a great core and at one stage called themselves brothers. What has happened now? Only the true people are still there. Then look at Spotswood they are the best team in the comp at present but look at where they all came from. There would be atleast 15 players from Altona there but none could stick around for that club. Reason MONEY. Not doubting their ability but if they all end up at the same place what does that same bunch of blokes have at one club but not another

Do agree that Port and Sunshine have alot of whats needed. Great team, bond together well and play for each other but a little extra money does help.

If you want to make a rash comment like you have get the facts right first, as mentioned many posts ago the handfull of ex altona players playing at spotty joined the club at junior ranks mainly U18 level and U16. I would find it amazing if spotty were paying those U18's to play, would have been the opposite(normal match fees). The boys left cos there was no side for them to play and they joined a group of mates they knew from outside of footy and when they got there they wouldnt leave because its a great club, spotty too rarely loose blokes to higher bidders. Blokes pretty much retire or move interstate when they leave, a few in past years have left for a higher league. eg vfl but im sure nearly all will go back in the next year or 2

Hey Mr Lazy,

Hows Mick Kennedy's form been down at spotty lately??

He is probably the best player in the comp so i doubt he will play two's,not worth the risk.
Where is the game being played?
I think spotty mite win this game it's their first real test for the year,beig away from home against a top team and surely they must be ready to fire if they don't they will be looking pretty shaky i believe.
Crackers to kick 6 and spotty bu 27pts
Does anyone know what happened to the big centre half forward FRATIN. I thought he was real good for the year he played and then he just sort of vannished!!!:thumbsu:

He was good player for us that year and could have been alot better if he was fitter.
He left to play with some mates from Ararat in the eastern league in div 3 or 4, he didn't take footy that serious just enjoyed to play with his close mates,he was a top bloke and would always welcome him back.

new to this thing but totally agree there, if you can maintain a core group of 10+ players that get along real well then the blow ins will keep coming and going and many may leave but from each group u may keep one or two that will stay and build the club. its a slow process but it can pay off if u get it right. will be interesting to see wot happens with a club like yarraville that is now an essentially new club with a new core group im assuming so would be good to see if they continue where they are within the comp or if they can build. the same goes for the other lower clubs also.

thoughts?

new to this thing but totally agree there, if you can maintain a core group of 10+ players that get along real well then the blow ins will keep coming and going and many may leave but from each group u may keep one or two that will stay and build the club. its a slow process but it can pay off if u get it right. will be interesting to see wot happens with a club like yarraville that is now an essentially new club with a new core group im assuming so would be good to see if they continue where they are within the comp or if they can build. the same goes for the other lower clubs also.

thoughts?

I agree with cougar on this you don't need money but a core group that will stick together and usually these players come from the clubs juniors or move into the area close by the club.A club to be successful for a long periods needs quality kids coming through and also enough kids living close by the club,hoppers are a prime example of this and i believe altona and yarraville will benifit soon with more growth.
Don't get me wrong money helps but it doesn't last forever getting the club financial off field in away in can sustain itself,rather than have some white knight throw money in is a much better option and you may suffer at times but your club will benifit in the long run.
Also try and recruit players that are not after huge coin and are willing to sacrafice a little to be at your club,friends of current players or relatives also help.obiviously easier said than done but it is a blue print that we are ssort of following at the momment and it may not always work but it has helped us have a lot of success and hopefully more in the future.
The more even the comp the better for all..........

thoughts?
Surely you blokes do not for one minute say that the club is a good bunch of blokes so that is why people stay.(before you read on there are exceptions to every rule)
There are numerous players at many clubs who come and go due to monetary reasons or associated reasons, eg play at a club because they got a player a nice little job or money a big factor.

Sunshine have a good core and Colts also but would still love to be a fly on the wall and see the pay cheques being played out. I do not for one second believe these days it is all for the love (there are exceptions and Colts and sunny have many) and players do play at clubs because they are locals but also I would love to see the pay cheques being handed out. I know there are people on here who say players arnt getting this or that but how do we know for sure.....
Seddon was rumored to have a lot of cash but in reality they had not much and yarra are still a little hard up for cash so will be a few more years there until things change.

Onto a new topic guys seeing sacking coaches is the order of the day what are your thoughts in this league.
Altona coaches Ellis and Freeland been there for 2 years and produced 3 wins, maybe time to go.
Shanks promised so much and delivered little.....
The two coaches at yarra have obviously not worked so has to be changes down there.

These are some observations whi

Agreed bout the core group of players and how important they are. We do have a great group at the moment, who have been around the club forever. A lot of the guys playing in the seniors now have parents who all played together many years ago. We have also benefited from our link with a few country boys, both up Bendigo way and also from Warnambool. Looks to me like Colts have the same core group, they are always out together in numbers and seem to get along well, and Hoppers are playing a lot of there juniors now which bodes well for the future.
Of course at every club there a few who are being paid quite well, and thats accepted today. I think the key is recruiting not only good footballers, but people who fit in well at the club. Some clubs have gone down the path of focusing only on how good the player is, and in the end have been affected negatively by these people.

Onto a new topic guys seeing sacking coaches is the order of the day what are your thoughts in this league.
Altona coaches Ellis and Freeland been there for 2 years and produced 3 wins, maybe time to go.
The two coaches at yarra have obviously not worked so has to be changes down there.

Altona have talent but i think the coaches seem to coach negatively,always want to flood,don't think players at this level would enjoy that.
Shanksy has helped albion improve a bit this year and i think they have something to build on he deserves another couple of years,also took a gamble on giving captaincy to broadbent and from what i hear he is a good leader that has been embraced by all.

some good opinions coming out of the recent topics lads.

I think it's a little from column A (Cash) and a little from column B(core playing group) that all go together to help move clubs forward. It's a tuff mix but some clubs are certainly doing it right. From my persepective i've been playing at yarra for 10+ years and it's good to see the core group of lads change and most importantly grow as young guys come up through the ranks, and outside guys become part of the group. But at the end of the day you can't rely on magic to bring in the key position players that all clubs need, so cash and a good club enviroment will go a long way towards that. It's certainly something im sure the match committee and coaches would already be focusing on for next year.

Regarding the comment on the two coaches not working out - you would be hard pressed to say that the failure to get wins on the board at yarra can be soley attributed to the coaches. The dual role seems to be working certainly better than i thought it would and both guys bring a fair bit of their own specialist knowledge to the group. I think there are a few other factors regarding the win/loss record that need to be addressed before the coaches get the flick.

Surely you blokes do not for one minute say that the club is a good bunch of blokes so that is why people stay.(before you read on there are exceptions to every rule)
There are numerous players at many clubs who come and go due to monetary reasons or associated reasons, eg play at a club because they got a player a nice little job or money a big factor.

Sunshine have a good core and Colts also but would still love to be a fly on the wall and see the pay cheques being played out. I do not for one second believe these days it is all for the love (there are exceptions and Colts and sunny have many) and players do play at clubs because they are locals but also I would love to see the pay cheques being handed out. I know there are people on here who say players arnt getting this or that but how do we know for sure.....
Seddon was rumored to have a lot of cash but in reality they had not much and yarra are still a little hard up for cash so will be a few more years there until things change.

These are some observations whi

if you did know what the players at the colts were getting payed you would be very suprised, obviously you need to pay quality players but if they want to be part of your club it will not be their top priority, the players that have joined our club over the last 2 years were offered a lot more than what they get to play elsewhere but decided they would rather play at port

hoppers crossing are the perfect example this year i think, a lot of the young players there probably wouldn't have thought twice about leaving over the last 3 to 4 years if they received a good enough offer because the club was always spending up big on boom recruits from vfl or other leagues, hoppers still probably spend more than the rest of us but i bet it is a lot less than previous years and there still 2nd on the ladder and are as good a chance as anyone to take it out this year

Just to clear up why most of the guys left Altona to go to Spotty mate, and that was bcos Altona had no u18's at the time. I personally dont know of any that transfered from Altona seniors to Spotty seniors. I could be wrong though. Ray and Monty were at Seddon and I had played at every club in Victoria except Altona (I played juniors there), so to say that we all left Altona to go to Spotty for money is a little off knackers.

I agree with Port and Sunshine though. They have a very close bond together and it shows in the way they play.

Just to clear up why most of the guys left Altona to go to Spotty mate, and that was bcos Altona had no u18's at the time. I personally dont know of any that transfered from Altona seniors to Spotty seniors. I could be wrong though. Ray and Monty were at Seddon and I had played at every club in Victoria except Altona (I played juniors there), so to say that we all left Altona to go to Spotty for money is a little off knackers.

I agree with Port and Sunshine though. They have a very close bond together and it shows in the way they play.

Its a whole CLUB not just the footy team. I reckon Sunshine has about 10 blokes in the bar on a saturday that dont play that could play senior footy. Footy is just a part of the clubs make up. Successful teams are built from successful/supportive clubs