• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

Originally Posted by chest

Yarra - King, Chandler, Davidson, T Cook, Harb - a tough year so far at yarra but these 5 clearly their best and would play at any other club but from there they drop off a lot.
Not sure if others aware Hanni Harb not played for 4 weeks, falling out with coaches at training and after playing the whole year and being one of their best they did not tell him they were dropping him and got the reserves coach to ring him on a friday night and tell him to play in the early game. Weak effort by the two coaches - does it work like that at Port rock or your thoughts.

Sorry guys i realise i'm a few days behind the topic, and that new stuff is being discussed, but i gotta raise some issue with what's going on down at Yarra. Chest i don't know who you are and what information your getting fed but you are way off the mark and i just wanna clear this up for everyone that takes the time to read these forums. Why don't you reveal yourself mate if your gonna spin tall ones?
Firstly the dropping of Harb didn't go anything like what's being described. As you all know it's no surprise Yarra's season is not going exactly to plan, they'll stay in Div 1 at least but it's easy to see things are heavily dropping off. Mind you this does not mean they don't give a damn, and that they don't wanna have a crack. However this is not the case for all players. After the very poor effort against Parkside it was requested that all players attend training, a real ultimatum put out there. Unfortuantely for some these requirements were broken, and they suffered the consequences. As a result of this the reprimanded players were told to play in the two's, and were told this within normal time of selection. Harb was one of these players. Now let's be honest...why would Yarra drop one of their best players of the season so far if it weren't for a significant reason??? It's not like they can afford to do this, so obviously there is sufficient reasoning behind the axeing. After hearing of their punishment Harb was the only absent player from the following game and did not front to play in the twos. Now who is being the unjust player is this story. And so the pattern continued until Harb decided to walk away from the club.

So for all you people who think Yarra can afford to throw away the only quality players they've got...think again and use your head.
You think it's easy being a club where no one wants to play for you becasue the league is so lop-sided that everyone wants to play for the big rich clubs. Some clubs don't have the resourcs to survive at the elite level, but instead front every week to the challenge knowing the inevitable. If yarraville put together their best players that have walked away from the club in the last 5 years i reckon they'd fill three quarters of a senior team that could at least match it it up there. And then as the old saying goes...success breeds success. Its a continuing pattern. But it also works in reverse if your doing crap. Frosty, Scotty, Boofa, Lushy, and the rest would help a hell of a lot right now.

Anyway thanks for taking the time to read the real truth. It's obvious were my alliance is but this doesn't change the truth.

Cheers
Don't think appointing Keogh as coach helped your cause in attracting player's,well known for treating his player's like shit,good luck next year,alway's found Yarra not a bad club and mostly stick together.

Harb not worth the associated problems. Say that it's hard to compete with the rich clubs is a cop out though. Sign the current group and add to it next year. After a couple of years you should have the base. Throw in a couple of extra quality players then and off you go! Colts are not rich. They have worked hard after starting in the lower divisions to get to where they are now. They had a couple of headaches along the journey but did not just turn up with a good side. Change the culture and you will keep your players long term. Set a target for success and stick to it. I really do tire of people pointing fingers at so called rich clubs. Money means squat if you don't have the right people in place. No finger pointing required ownership only. No sob stories. The Eagles can have success if they want it bad enough!!!

Hit the nail right on the head. I'd go one step further by saying that you have to develop your Juniors to the full extent of your capability. Its these kids that generally form your core group. Adding a few players a year is icing on the cake.

Getting the right people is part of it. The other part is putting the right structures and procedures in place. Boardroom planning plays a massive part in future success. All aspects of a club have to be looked at and deficiancies addressed in order for a club to go forward. From getting the right person to be President or Coach, to getting consistant trainers and waterboys. It may not seem like alot, but I assure you it is. What this also accomplishes is getting an atmosphere around your club whereby the players feel more at home. They are more willing to help out around the club if they can see that you are heading in the right direction.

Hit the nail right on the head. I'd go one step further by saying that you have to develop your Juniors to the full extent of your capability. Its these kids that generally form your core group. Adding a few players a year is icing on the cake.

Getting the right people is part of it. The other part is putting the right structures and procedures in place. Boardroom planning plays a massive part in future success. All aspects of a club have to be looked at and deficiancies addressed in order for a club to go forward. From getting the right person to be President or Coach, to getting consistant trainers and waterboys. It may not seem like alot, but I assure you it is. What this also accomplishes is getting an atmosphere around your club whereby the players feel more at home. They are more willing to help out around the club if they can see that you are heading in the right direction.
Correct 100%

Don't think appointing Keogh as coach helped your cause in attracting player's,well known for treating his player's like shit,good luck next year,alway's found Yarra not a bad club and mostly stick together.
Yeah grunting dosen't inspire greatness. Ha ha

Yarra - King, Chandler, Davidson, T Cook, Harb - a tough year so far at yarra but these 5 clearly their best and would play at any other club but from there they drop off a lot.
Not sure if others aware Hanni Harb not played for 4 weeks, falling out with coaches at training and after playing the whole year and being one of their best they did not tell him they were dropping him and got the reserves coach to ring him on a friday night and tell him to play in the early game. Weak effort by the two coaches - does it work like that at Port rock or your thoughts.

Sorry guys i realise i'm a few days behind the topic, and that new stuff is being discussed, but i gotta raise some issue with what's going on down at Yarra. Chest i don't know who you are and what information your getting fed but you are way off the mark and i just wanna clear this up for everyone that takes the time to read these forums. Why don't you reveal yourself mate if your gonna spin tall ones?
Firstly the dropping of Harb didn't go anything like what's being described. As you all know it's no surprise Yarra's season is not going exactly to plan, they'll stay in Div 1 at least but it's easy to see things are heavily dropping off. Mind you this does not mean they don't give a damn, and that they don't wanna have a crack. However this is not the case for all players. After the very poor effort against Parkside it was requested that all players attend training, a real ultimatum put out there. Unfortuantely for some these requirements were broken, and they suffered the consequences. As a result of this the reprimanded players were told to play in the two's, and were told this within normal time of selection. Harb was one of these players. Now let's be honest...why would Yarra drop one of their best players of the season so far if it weren't for a significant reason??? It's not like they can afford to do this, so obviously there is sufficient reasoning behind the axeing. After hearing of their punishment Harb was the only absent player from the following game and did not front to play in the twos. Now who is being the unjust player is this story. And so the pattern continued until Harb decided to walk away from the club.

So for all you people who think Yarra can afford to throw away the only quality players they've got...think again and use your head.
You think it's easy being a club where no one wants to play for you becasue the league is so lop-sided that everyone wants to play for the big rich clubs. Some clubs don't have the resourcs to survive at the elite level, but instead front every week to the challenge knowing the inevitable. If yarraville put together their best players that have walked away from the club in the last 5 years i reckon they'd fill three quarters of a senior team that could at least match it it up there. And then as the old saying goes...success breeds success. Its a continuing pattern. But it also works in reverse if your doing crap. Frosty, Scotty, Boofa, Lushy, and the rest would help a hell of a lot right now.

Anyway thanks for taking the time to read the real truth. It's obvious were my alliance is but this doesn't change the truth.

Cheers

good work there lopburi, do agree with all you said but i also agree with those that say getting all the '1%'ers' right, to use a footy phrase. things like getting the regular trainers and waterboys etc etc go along way to keeping the playing group happy and ultimately that will help in winning games. it is a factor that has been overlooked by most clubs i have been at. i have noticed also that the clubs who have the same waterboys, support team at both times i play against them are the teams that are in the higher area of the ladder and i doubt this is simply coincidence.

so how does it work? do u get the wins on the board and the support team and all the rest follows or does it happen the other way round with getting the support team in place and then come the wins.
sounds like a cycle that breeds itself and if your a team that is in the losing cycle instead of the winning cycle of hoppers, spotty, colts etc then it seems like a big task to get out of that cycle.

if any of that makes sense to anyone?

good work there lopburi, do agree with all you said but i also agree with those that say getting all the '1%'ers' right, to use a footy phrase. things like getting the regular trainers and waterboys etc etc go along way to keeping the playing group happy and ultimately that will help in winning games. it is a factor that has been overlooked by most clubs i have been at. i have noticed also that the clubs who have the same waterboys, support team at both times i play against them are the teams that are in the higher area of the ladder and i doubt this is simply coincidence.

so how does it work? do u get the wins on the board and the support team and all the rest follows or does it happen the other way round with getting the support team in place and then come the wins.
sounds like a cycle that breeds itself and if your a team that is in the losing cycle instead of the winning cycle of hoppers, spotty, colts etc then it seems like a big task to get out of that cycle.

if any of that makes sense to anyone?

Agree with getting quality support staff.... at Sunny Heights we have bugger all $$ and don't pay any players. The club was/is in a position to pay a handful of players but instead made a decision to spend the money on attracting quality medical staff. I can ssure you this goes a long way in player retention and also makes a difference when you are trying to convince a new player to come on board for no pay. Instead of 5 or 6 players getting the benefit of any $$ that the club has, all 60 players on the list get the benifit of decent injury reatment at training and on match days.

Cheers
Well put but not sure if you are aware of the full facts of the situation. If what you are saying is correct then fine but there are a few facts you are missing. Not trying to have a go at you but there are some facts of the situation that maybe you dont know and as a supporter I found these out at the colts game by speaking to a few players.
This is what I know irrespective if hanni is the type of player you want at the club or not, that is not in question.
Firstly players were told they must train like you said... no question there.
Harb told keogh he had an important cricket meeting (as he coaches a team in willy in summer) and was asked to show his face at training for 10min. Fair enough and to my knowledge Harb agreed.
He turned up to Yarra at quarter to 6 as per usual and there was no one there. To my knowledge training had been changed to seddon and some players were not aware, he had to leave and go to his meeting.
So as you can see it went from there. Nothing was said to him on the Thursday and on the friday night the ressies coach had to call and delever the news. Surely you must agree with two coaches at least one of them would have sat down and discussed the matter, whether or not the outcome was to change surely a coach would sit down and talk to the player and COMMUNICATE.
In saying that they are the facts of the situation and whether the club is better off without him or not well thats for you to decide.
In saying that a few good games this week.
Yarra to beat St Albans
Park to beat Albion
Colts over spotty
Hoppers over Suny (sorry cabs)
Altona over Glenordinary and if parks win glenorden to be relagated..

Got to admit though standing on scaffolding during the game is innovative (not)

I know when we played em it was just seen as a sign of arrognace and added more fuel to the fire to pip em. that and the way they acted in the rooms before the game

How do you mean?? To do a pauline hansen. Please explain??:thumbsu: The rooms that is??

how did they act?

before the game say with 40 minutes to go they had footy theme songs playng and were all having a sing along laughing and joking. when our coach gave his pre game speech they turned it up to muffle him. all u could hear from next door was laughing and joking, for as big a game as it was built to be i thought there preparation was rediculous. this is just my opinion i dont know enough about the club or the players to judge it just wasnt how i wood have wanted my team warming up b4 a crunch game

Well put but not sure if you are aware of the full facts of the situation. If what you are saying is correct then fine but there are a few facts you are missing. Not trying to have a go at you but there are some facts of the situation that maybe you dont know and as a supporter I found these out at the colts game by speaking to a few players.
This is what I know irrespective if hanni is the type of player you want at the club or not, that is not in question.
Firstly players were told they must train like you said... no question there.
Harb told keogh he had an important cricket meeting (as he coaches a team in willy in summer) and was asked to show his face at training for 10min. Fair enough and to my knowledge Harb agreed.
He turned up to Yarra at quarter to 6 as per usual and there was no one there. To my knowledge training had been changed to seddon and some players were not aware, he had to leave and go to his meeting.
So as you can see it went from there. Nothing was said to him on the Thursday and on the friday night the ressies coach had to call and delever the news. Surely you must agree with two coaches at least one of them would have sat down and discussed the matter, whether or not the outcome was to change surely a coach would sit down and talk to the player and COMMUNICATE.
In saying that they are the facts of the situation and whether the club is better off without him or not well thats for you to decide.
In saying that a few good games this week.
Yarra to beat St Albans
Park to beat Albion
Colts over spotty
Hoppers over Suny (sorry cabs)
Altona over Glenordinary and if parks win glenorden to be relagated..

Is your name Harb??:)

How can you say that Parkside will beat the Cats?
Big call but i doubt it, Cats to flog Parkside and unfortunately they will be relegated.
Im sure they bounce right back up though!

before the game say with 40 minutes to go they had footy theme songs playng and were all having a sing along laughing and joking. when our coach gave his pre game speech they turned it up to muffle him. all u could hear from next door was laughing and joking, for as big a game as it was built to be i thought there preparation was rediculous. this is just my opinion i dont know enough about the club or the players to judge it just wasnt how i wood have wanted my team warming up b4 a crunch game

You must play for altona I am guessing and yes I turned up about the same time and playing footy theme songs and a lot of joking. Not really professional and silklmeister you must agree with this observation from opposition and supporters..
WOuld not happen at colts or spotty, am sure Johnny ellis would love that and theodore would approve........

You must play for altona I am guessing and yes I turned up about the same time and playing footy theme songs and a lot of joking. Not really professional and silklmeister you must agree with this observation from opposition and supporters..
WOuld not happen at colts or spotty, am sure Johnny ellis would love that and theodore would approve........

yeah i play for altona, not only did it have its obvious effects on the teams start but more to the point jus made us more determined to beat an opposition that didnt look like they were taking the game at all seriously

Yes even i must unfortunately agree that this was terrible on yarra's behalf. As your the expert Chest you should also know who actually started this music? not exactly leading from example.

Some big games tomorrow.
CABS have you guys got a full list except for ackers??
if so, i think you guys will get up in a close game.
st albans should beat yarr,as should albion beat parks
altona in a close one over glenorden
Colts spotty should be a very tough encounter physically and mentally,we need to win to secure a top 3 spot and they will be steaming after their effort last time both players will be missing a few from their best line up although 4 of our players will be playing reserves and we may have a late withdrawl due to illness but we are very confident we will have a win and as a team have been playing and training very well,and we know what's required in big games and would love to have the wood over spotty going into finals.........GO COLTS GO COLTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rock we arent at full strength tomorrow. Prob have 2 or 3 out from our best 21 but we are still confident that the guys coming up are more then capable. They have played plenty of games in the 1's and fit in well. No Mentha though, have heard hes injured a shoulder which is a massive blow if true. Spoke to a Hoppers guy and he says they might have a few out, so both sides might not be full strength. Whats Hoppers ground like? have heard some bad reports recently.

i would agree mate - but didn't catch it personally. I would suggest that is a bit out of character as there has been no music prior to that or since so not much i can say. Any team, whether top or bottom, can match anyone on their day so going into the game thinking it was in the bag is unforgivable. Ur right Future.....would have definently added fuel to the fire for you guys. If it's correct, and it sounds like it did happen.....then it just highlights an area where Yarra need to tighten up a bit moving forwards if they want to be taken seriously. Perhaps not the music - but definently in the way yarra treats it's opponents. I think Sunshine had music playing last week against us before the game but i'm sure they took the game as seriously as they take all their games.

Good luck for the weekend all. :thumbsu:

Who will win by the most???
That is the question that will determine 5th spot next week!

Cats to make the finals and give the top 4 a rattle.

Rock07, your wish of StAlbans taking it out might not happen. By some of your posts, it seems that you would of like the Saints to make the 5 as they would be easily dealt with, as with the Cats, a bit bit more pressure on your guys and the rest.............GO CATS......GO!!!!!!!

Good luck to albion if they make it i couldn't care less who we have to play but one thing is for sure i seen the best team i have seen in a long time, they easily are the team to beat & alot of work must be done to beat spotty, and that's what my focus will be on.
It was a good contest today spotty were a little bit on top early and we allowed them some easy goals through our lack of discipline and at half time they lead by 1 goal,then early in the third we started to play some good attacking footy and got 20pts up but then we stoped running and spotty attacked the contest better than us and again we became undisciplined and let slip the chance to have a win.
Spotty were good and deserved the win but we are also confident that we can turn the result around if we get our system right for four quarters not just in patches,we will learn alot from that result.

Good luck to albion if they make it i couldn't care less who we have to play but one thing is for sure i seen the best team i have seen in a long time, they easily are the team to beat & alot of work must be done to beat spotty, and that's what my focus will be on.
It was a good contest today spotty were a little bit on top early and we allowed them some easy goals through our lack of discipline and at half time they lead by 1 goal,then early in the third we started to play some good attacking footy and got 20pts up but then we stoped running and spotty attacked the contest better than us and again we became undisciplined and let slip the chance to have a win.
Spotty were good and deserved the win but we are also confident that we can turn the result around if we get our system right for four quarters not just in patches,we will learn alot from that result.

Thats was your result to win !!!!
Not good enough?

I was at the colts v spotty game yesterday in what should have been the showpiece game of the league between arguably the two best sides but what transpired was one of the most blatant display of cheating i have ever seen , the game was being played in a tough agrresive way early on which was good to watch only to see the umpires screw the whole game. The first half alone i counted at least 6 goals that dictated goal conversions by umpiring decisions and probably the same alone in the third term(funny enough this all went on each time the colts would have a run on and take conrtol) in the end though spotty probably deserved the win, its a real shame when a game is spoilt by cheats, i dont really watch to many games in this league but from what i saw yesterday there are some quality footballers running around and the league has its own unique style of footy, but i cant see how the league can progress when u have umpiring standards of under 10's, if those umpires were the best the league could come up with in a match of the round they have serious problems.

if you thought that was bad you should of seen the 2nds game spottys umpire blatently cheated spoke to a cpl of spottys players and they even admitted it...... at one time he rang into spottys foward line and tried to take over he is a disgrace to the spotswood f.c