• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

if you thought that was bad you should of seen the 2nds game spottys umpire blatently cheated spoke to a cpl of spottys players and they even admitted it...... at one time he rang into spottys foward line and tried to take over he is a disgrace to the spotswood f.c

AGREED! UMPIRING STANDARDS ARE SH1T... Watched both the 2nds and senoirs colts/spotty game yesterday and have to say that on number of occasions VERY soft free kicks were paid but up the other end were just ignored!

WRFL needs to do something!!!

I was at the colts v spotty game yesterday in what should have been the showpiece game of the league between arguably the two best sides but what transpired was one of the most blatant display of cheating i have ever seen , the game was being played in a tough agrresive way early on which was good to watch only to see the umpires screw the whole game. The first half alone i counted at least 6 goals that dictated goal conversions by umpiring decisions and probably the same alone in the third term(funny enough this all went on each time the colts would have a run on and take conrtol) in the end though spotty probably deserved the win, its a real shame when a game is spoilt by cheats, i dont really watch to many games in this league but from what i saw yesterday there are some quality footballers running around and the league has its own unique style of footy, but i cant see how the league can progress when u have umpiring standards of under 10's, if those umpires were the best the league could come up with in a match of the round they have serious problems.

The umpires were very ordinary yesterday and i did have a chat to them after the game,but we all have bad days.I just think they lacked consistency and over reacted to a little bit to our physicality,but that's footy.
However i do not for one second think that they cost us the game,it was our ability to deal with the pressure of the situation to often,our discipline was below par,but we still managed to get a 20 point lead and then we stopped and spotty lifted and our discipline dropped again but it was us that cost the game not the umps,hopefully we get a rematch...........i'm sure we will....

if you thought that was bad you should of seen the 2nds game spottys umpire blatently cheated spoke to a cpl of spottys players and they even admitted it...... at one time he rang into spottys foward line and tried to take over he is a disgrace to the spotswood f.c

I may be wrong, but im postive that the spotty umpire in the twos is the brother of the coach.Can anyone confirm this.

The umpire in question was one or two year's ago an offical umpire,but now only umpire's for Spotty as their home umpire and the display he gave was very one sided was very lucky the game didn't get out of hand due to his dubious decision's.
The same bloke i used to think was quite fair when doing the job as a offical umpire but on saturday he definitely favoured the side he was umpiring for. Even go as far as to call him a CHEAT...

The umpires were very ordinary yesterday and i did have a chat to them after the game,but we all have bad days.I just think they lacked consistency and over reacted to a little bit to our physicality,but that's footy.
However i do not for one second think that they cost us the game,it was our ability to deal with the pressure of the situation to often,our discipline was below par,but we still managed to get a 20 point lead and then we stopped and spotty lifted and our discipline dropped again but it was us that cost the game not the umps,hopefully we get a rematch...........i'm sure we will....

Just a question Rock. I heard a few of the Colts boys went away for a weekend away on dirtbikes. News is that a couple of the boys had some bad accidents and could miss the finals. Is there any truth behind this?

The umpire in question was one or two year's ago an offical umpire,but now only umpire's for Spotty as their home umpire and the display he gave was very one sided was very lucky the game didn't get out of hand due to his dubious decision's.
The same bloke i used to think was quite fair when doing the job as a offical umpire but on saturday he definitely favoured the side he was umpiring for. Even go as far as to call him a CHEAT...

sorry mate but the colts umpire was just as bad in the twos and in the seniors spotty prob did get a good run with the umps but what do you expect when colts were undisciplined and sprayed the umps all day. also its a disgrace when colts reserves side wont shake hands at the end of a game and try and start fights while spotty are in there huddle. If they concentrated on playing footy both sides would be a very hard to stop.

The Colt's umpire had never umpired before and his only problem was that he didn't pay enough free's ( for both side's )even the Colt's player's weren't happy with him,unlike the Spotswood CHEAT.

After the 2nds game the Spotty player's were mouthing off just as much,so both sides were to blame probably due to the on-going frustration from the decision's that were and weren't made during the match.

The Colt's umpire had never umpired before and his only problem was that he didn't pay enough free's ( for both side's )even the Colt's player's weren't happy with him,unlike the Spotswood CHEAT.

After the 2nds game the Spotty player's were mouthing off just as much,so both sides were to blame probably due to the on-going frustration from the decision's that were and weren't made during the match.
very disappointing that you cant get umpires and have to resort to club umpires, player's do get frustrated and things can get out of control, the league and footy vic need to fix this asap. As for the seniors on Saturday the umpires probably put in the worst display I've seen this year and it was very one sided to the point it got embarrassing, hopefully they improve for the final series.

I wasn't there but all this talk about the umpire cheating, could it be 1 sided. Everyone has played each other twice(almost). Spotty are 2 games clear for a reason....(probably the best side)....

its hard to comment, because im not sure bout other leagues umpires and the standard they set. but some are downright terrible, others are good. suppose we just have to hope for the best when it comes to finals. hoppers got the jump on us early, kicking in to the wind they were 3 ahead. thought we battled well to get so close, but still not acceptable. reckon spotty would be clear favourites after yesterdays results. hoppers are a good side, good mix of young and old... makes it an interesting few weeks. good to see such a competitive WRFL!

I wasn't there but all this talk about the umpire cheating, could it be 1 sided. Everyone has played each other twice(almost). Spotty are 2 games clear for a reason....(probably the best side)....
without doubt they are the best side in the comp, but I think they would even agree they got looked after on Saturday.
Bring on the finals...can't wait - should be a cracker.

spotswood are the best side in the comp and deserve there spot at the top of the ladder and although the umpiring wasn't great on saturday we were still not good enough in a few areas which we need to get better at if we're going to have a chance to beat them, hoppers or sunshine in a final

albion are certanties for 5th spot and well done to them, will play sunshine in an elimination final which would be a ripper match, the cats would be confident with the way they came back against the kangas a few weeks ago and the roos would pretty keen to make up for letting that one slip which may have cost them top 3

as for the saints if you can't knock over yarraville/seddon well you just don't deserve to be there

spotswood are the best side in the comp and deserve there spot at the top of the ladder and although the umpiring wasn't great on saturday we were still not good enough in a few areas which we need to get better at if we're going to have a chance to beat them, hoppers or sunshine in a final

albion are certanties for 5th spot and well done to them, will play sunshine in an elimination final which would be a ripper match, the cats would be confident with the way they came back against the kangas a few weeks ago and the roos would pretty keen to make up for letting that one slip which may have cost them top 3

as for the saints if you can't knock over yarraville/seddon well you just don't deserve to be there
After the weekend must agree spotty the best side and st albans after what I saw are terrible or yarra played well. Had a full list also did st albans so dont deserve to play finals.
On the umpiring I have read the spotty colts was a disgrace well so was the st albans v yarra. 21 50m penalties in the match, a disgrace by the umpires and swadiack should have got 6 weeks for striking in the first min of the match. Clocked B Cook right in front of umpire Joe (last name has lost me but the worst umpire in the league) cabs the one who pinned you for looking at him funny. Disgrace and didnt know what to do. Loves his big name players.........
Will be an interesting week discussing the umpires, what do you think borgy if you are reading this and why on earth were you umpiring div 2 a few weks back when these sub par umpires are runnign around...

After the weekend must agree spotty the best side and st albans after what I saw are terrible or yarra played well. Had a full list also did st albans so dont deserve to play finals.
On the umpiring I have read the spotty colts was a disgrace well so was the st albans v yarra. 21 50m penalties in the match, a disgrace by the umpires and swadiack should have got 6 weeks for striking in the first min of the match. Clocked B Cook right in front of umpire Joe (last name has lost me but the worst umpire in the league) cabs the one who pinned you for looking at him funny. Disgrace and didnt know what to do. Loves his big name players.........
Will be an interesting week discussing the umpires, what do you think borgy if you are reading this and why on earth were you umpiring div 2 a few weks back when these sub par umpires are runnign around...

don't tell me it was joe scordo, should be barred from umpiring st albans games he gives them everything, he is probably on the pay roll down there

how the hell can borgy be doing div 2 one of the best umps the league has ever had, whether he has made a right or wrong decision will always give you an explanation of how he viewed it if you ask him without abusing him

All the talk of the Umpires at the Spotty Colts Game is off the mark. In the reserves the one umpire who knew what he was doing took no crap from the colts players who as usual were undisciplined. They led at quarter time 5.5 to 0.2 and should have gone on and won the game. Both Brannan and Winters were below par and needed the game. In the Seniors Spotty had 2 players off for blood rule in the first 10 minutes from behind the play incidents perpetrated by Numbers 8 and 22 (you work out who they are). As usual 18 was undisciplined carrying on a conversation with the crowd. He also kicked a Spotty player behind the play. The umpires, as usual were scared. They paid numerous free kick to Spotty down the ground because of PMC's late head high tackles. No Reports but they obviously saw it because they paid the free. The tribunal is weak as piss so maybe the umpires have lost faith and don't bother any more. The only report was Number 22 Spotty for trying to stop 28 PMC stomping on his leg whilst he was on the ground. I believe that he took the week offerrred as you can't trust the tribunal to get it right.
As Rock says, the umpires did not cost them the game it was the lack of discipline displayed by some of his team mates, much so that although Rock participates in a bit of push and shove even he hung his head seeing and listening to his own players.

All the talk of the Umpires at the Spotty Colts Game is off the mark. In the reserves the one umpire who knew what he was doing took no crap from the colts players who as usual were undisciplined. They led at quarter time 5.5 to 0.2 and should have gone on and won the game. Both Brannan and Winters were below par and needed the game. In the Seniors Spotty had 2 players off for blood rule in the first 10 minutes from behind the play incidents perpetrated by Numbers 8 and 22 (you work out who they are). As usual 18 was undisciplined carrying on a conversation with the crowd. He also kicked a Spotty player behind the play. The umpires, as usual were scared. They paid numerous free kick to Spotty down the ground because of PMC's late head high tackles. No Reports but they obviously saw it because they paid the free. The tribunal is weak as piss so maybe the umpires have lost faith and don't bother any more. The only report was Number 22 Spotty for trying to stop 28 PMC stomping on his leg whilst he was on the ground. I believe that he took the week offerrred as you can't trust the tribunal to get it right.
As Rock says, the umpires did not cost them the game it was the lack of discipline displayed by some of his team mates, much so that although Rock participates in a bit of push and shove even he hung his head seeing and listening to his own players.

Firstly i will tell you this, i would never hang my head for what my players do to many times have they shown me great courage and loyalty and after winning two premierships i would back them to the end,however i am and so are they dissapointed in there display on the weekend,but write us of at your peril.We are still the team come finals time that will be the most difficult to beat and if and when we get to that last game whoever it is against they will know that the colts will be a tough team to beat.
We were very ordinary in the first half and with in ten minutes of the third had nearly a four goal lead but again we were terrible after that,but i am very cnfident we could turn it around and have total faith in our team.
As for the early blood rules a spotty player started one fight and coped his right whack back but i won't lag on here like you,what happens on the field stays on the field,but don't get on here and say colts did this and that spotty give plenty as well and in the end they one this game and good luck to them but we will meet again

joe scordo & geoff trisidder wrfl worst borgy get back to a grade and banish these 2 to 2 div so wrfl can regain credibility

Have to agree ump's are there to do a job and when your getting a abuse by players and at one stage the umpire run pass me and said if the coaching staff on the bench are going to call me a cheat and names I will keep giving free kicks all day to spotty.To me it sounds like the ump's during the week have said to each other any swearing no matter who to pay 50 meters because a couple of times I herd one player spay the oppersition player and a 50 was pay every time so maybe colt players if we just shut our mouth and play footy the umpires wont have anything to do with the outcome.Don't know about the reserves not shaking hands find this hard to beleave colts have always been a team once the game is over shake hands have a beer or two and leave what happen on the football field on the field.

joe scordo & geoff trisidder wrfl worst borgy get back to a grade and banish these 2 to 2 div so wrfl can regain credibility

There should be a thread on Scordo here to update how bad he is each week and how he thinks the game is about him. 21 X 50 m penalties, how I can believe that. Yes umpires have a job and make mistakes but this guy ruins football by puffing his chest out and carrying on.

I think Borgy was doing a rotation and resting before finals, which was good for Heights because him and Steve Sutton were very good.

St.Albans should hang there heads in shame after their pathetic performance on the weekend, and all the credit to the Yarra blokes who held in even when the game looked like it was to be lost. All day they battled it out in the end got a result, although not a win, feels just as good after the below par season to date. It was really good for the club on Saturday. All day guys worked really hard and out there head over the ball and won a lot of contested football. It shows how much a difference it is when players are switched on and prepared to have a red hot crack.
As for St.Albans they are dead set kidding themself if they reckon they're good enough to play finals. For all that watched the game i bet you would agree that they looked scared and intimidated. Did not want the hard ball at all, and their pressured turn overs it what caused this scoreline. Yarra's pressure and presence around the footy all day had blokes looking over their shoulders everytime they touched the ball. Fumbling, dropping, rushed disposals.

And yes i too agree with what's being said about the weekends umpiring, honestly what the hell is going on? That Joe is a dead set twat bag. The fifty metre penalties were going being thrown around like they were going out of fashion. Morgan King had his kick reversed in the goal square because he bagged the bloke about giving him fifty. So then he gave a fifty against Morgan, it was an absolute joke (well done to Morgan anyway for a top game on the weekend, for those who didn't know he kicked a goal after the siren to level the scores, not a bad effort).

Why dont u go and ask 22 spotty why he got kicked in the first place from what i saw there was alot of cheap shots coming from a few spotty players that funny enough went unoticed, port gave away silly frees theres no doubting that, it was the 50's that were paid which basically hand fed goals to spotty which i would class as cheating.

Spotty will never win the flag coz they are the sofest team going around, a little bit of physicall preasure on them and they will go missing