• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

All the talk of the Umpires at the Spotty Colts Game is off the mark. In the reserves the one umpire who knew what he was doing took no crap from the colts players who as usual were undisciplined. They led at quarter time 5.5 to 0.2 and should have gone on and won the game. Both Brannan and Winters were below par and needed the game. In the Seniors Spotty had 2 players off for blood rule in the first 10 minutes from behind the play incidents perpetrated by Numbers 8 and 22 (you work out who they are). As usual 18 was undisciplined carrying on a conversation with the crowd. He also kicked a Spotty player behind the play. The umpires, as usual were scared. They paid numerous free kick to Spotty down the ground because of PMC's late head high tackles. No Reports but they obviously saw it because they paid the free. The tribunal is weak as piss so maybe the umpires have lost faith and don't bother any more. The only report was Number 22 Spotty for trying to stop 28 PMC stomping on his leg whilst he was on the ground. I believe that he took the week offerrred as you can't trust the tribunal to get it right.
As Rock says, the umpires did not cost them the game it was the lack of discipline displayed by some of his team mates, much so that although Rock participates in a bit of push and shove even he hung his head seeing and listening to his own players.

I would have to say from the outset that you make your own luck when playing footy, so to blame umpiring solely for our loss is a little lame. The topic of the "standard of umpiring" has been done and dusted many times. We will always interupt decisions differenty depending on where we sit. This has and always will be a debatable topic. There is no doubt the level of umpring could and should be improved but in saying that there is improvment in all of us isn't there? I dont think there are many out there that are firing on all cyclinders. Whilst I am sure there are measures put into place in relation to improving the above, there can also be no doubt that no matter how good or bad one's form is, whether it be a player, coach or even an umpire no one is bigger than the game. Unfortunatly one of the blokes in white and some players continue to think the oppisite. Whislt this is the case contraversy will always follow.

In the Seniors Spotty had 2 players off for blood rule in the first 10 minutes from behind the play incidents perpetrated by Numbers 8 and 22 (you work out who they are). As usual 18 was undisciplined carrying on a conversation with the crowd. He also kicked a Spotty player behind the play. The umpires, as usual were scared. They paid numerous free kick to Spotty down the ground because of PMC's late head high tackles. No Reports but they obviously saw it because they paid the free. The tribunal is weak as piss so maybe the umpires have lost faith and don't bother any more. The only report was Number 22 Spotty for trying to stop 28 PMC stomping on his leg whilst he was on the ground.

Dont tarnish the win by having a sook now, both sides gave as good as they got. I cant recall "pinching" as an instruction I would give a tagger. As for king hits, try again, one of the blokes above must have whacked himself as you would lead people to beleave, looking at his closed right eye, or didnt you see that? As for stomping on a leg forcing a bloke to kick in return? again, your way off the mark, be a man enjoy your win and move on

St.Albans should hang there heads in shame after their pathetic performance on the weekend, and all the credit to the Yarra blokes who held in even when the game looked like it was to be lost. All day they battled it out in the end got a result, although not a win, feels just as good after the below par season to date. It was really good for the club on Saturday. All day guys worked really hard and out there head over the ball and won a lot of contested football. It shows how much a difference it is when players are switched on and prepared to have a red hot crack.
As for St.Albans they are dead set kidding themself if they reckon they're good enough to play finals. For all that watched the game i bet you would agree that they looked scared and intimidated. Did not want the hard ball at all, and their pressured turn overs it what caused this scoreline. Yarra's pressure and presence around the footy all day had blokes looking over their shoulders everytime they touched the ball. Fumbling, dropping, rushed disposals.

And yes i too agree with what's being said about the weekends umpiring, honestly what the hell is going on? That Joe is a dead set twat bag. The fifty metre penalties were going being thrown around like they were going out of fashion. Morgan King had his kick reversed in the goal square because he bagged the bloke about giving him fifty. So then he gave a fifty against Morgan, it was an absolute joke (well done to Morgan anyway for a top game on the weekend, for those who didn't know he kicked a goal after the siren to level the scores, not a bad effort).
Keep talking yourself up Morgan!!:thumbsu: Ha ha

Why do people try and down grade a fantastic game of footy between Spotty and Colts, both had some easy free kicks given to them, it always seems worse when a side looses, if the results were the other way i am sure the posts on here would be different, why not talk about the game it self, spotty and colts played a great hard fought match, fantastic local footy, spotty were embarressed last time and labelled "soft" by the colt boys, when watching the game it would be hard to say they were "soft". Both sides i believe will play deep into finals and will show people in the football world some fantastic footy with hard/fair contest and show casing some pretty gifted local players. The final series could be the Keenan/ Caddy show both in sintalating form. Hoppers and Sunshine will have to be at their very best to knock these blokes off, but as seddon/yarra proved on the weekend any thing can happen in footy. Lets get back to talking about the game its self not the umpires and the poor descisions made at times.

I agree we had a few dicey decisions given against us early on but we didn't carry on like the colts did ALL day!

Spotty will never win the flag coz they are the sofest team going around, a little bit of physicall preasure on them and they will go missing
Gee your name just says it all (IAMAGUN) hiding behind a screen, pretending that u are=======i think they have one a few in their time mate======so the word NEVER is a myth.

St.Albans should hang there heads in shame after their pathetic performance on the weekend, and all the credit to the Yarra blokes who held in even when the game looked like it was to be lost.

as a supporter for the eagles and having watched them have a pretty mediocre season it was very refreshing to watch the game on saturday. the tackling and pressure on the ball carriers for st albans was fantastic. any person who enjoys local footy would have been rapped as the margin never got higher than 3 goals or so i dont think.

in saying that it is now a little dissapointing that the eagles couldnt have shown the spirit they did earlier in the season! even with the amount of injuries they have at the moment of some of their more senior and key players it was one of their best performances especially when everyone was writing them off. i know a draw is definately not something to gloat about but after their season and the gap between the top 6 and bottom 4 it was just a good thing to watch.

lets hope they can build on that next year and for years to come, maybe even give that top 5 a shake?!?!

in saying that it is now a little dissapointing that the eagles couldnt have shown the spirit they did earlier in the season! even with the amount of injuries they have at the moment of some of their more senior and key players it was one of their best performances especially when everyone was writing them off. i know a draw is definately not something to gloat about but after their season and the gap between the top 6 and bottom 4 it was just a good thing to watch.

lets hope they can build on that next year and for years to come, maybe even give that top 5 a shake?!?![/quote]

here's hoping mate.

What was the outcome of last night's tribunal ?

Heard there were a few up from both Colts & Spotty

St.Albans should hang there heads in shame after their pathetic performance on the weekend, and all the credit to the Yarra blokes who held in even when the game looked like it was to be lost.

as a supporter for the eagles and having watched them have a pretty mediocre season it was very refreshing to watch the game on saturday. the tackling and pressure on the ball carriers for st albans was fantastic. any person who enjoys local footy would have been rapped as the margin never got higher than 3 goals or so i dont think.

lets hope they can build on that next year and for years to come, maybe even give that top 5 a shake?!?!
A draw or no draw, yarra need to pick up at least 5 key position players to have any shot and being competitive against other teams next year. They also need to retain some of their better players like the cook brothers and a few more but 99% sure they are going to another league closer to their home.
I think the effort on the weekend was fantastic but will need to pick up for next year. Not sure what is in the bank also so maybe a factor in who they get and not sure what other guys on here think but what is the pulling poweres of Shane keogh with the reputation he has around the league............ Your thoughts boys not from yarra and would you want to play under a coach with his reputation.

St.Albans should hang there heads in shame after their pathetic performance on the weekend, and all the credit to the Yarra blokes who held in even when the game looked like it was to be lost. All day they battled it out in the end got a result, although not a win, feels just as good after the below par season to date. It was really good for the club on Saturday. All day guys worked really hard and out there head over the ball and won a lot of contested football. It shows how much a difference it is when players are switched on and prepared to have a red hot crack.
As for St.Albans they are dead set kidding themself if they reckon they're good enough to play finals. For all that watched the game i bet you would agree that they looked scared and intimidated. Did not want the hard ball at all, and their pressured turn overs it what caused this scoreline. Yarra's pressure and presence around the footy all day had blokes looking over their shoulders everytime they touched the ball. Fumbling, dropping, rushed disposals.

And yes i too agree with what's being said about the weekends umpiring, honestly what the hell is going on? That Joe is a dead set twat bag. The fifty metre penalties were going being thrown around like they were going out of fashion. Morgan King had his kick reversed in the goal square because he bagged the bloke about giving him fifty. So then he gave a fifty against Morgan, it was an absolute joke (well done to Morgan anyway for a top game on the weekend, for those who didn't know he kicked a goal after the siren to level the scores, not a bad effort).

totally agree that would hav2 b 1 of the softest displays of football in st albans history. st albans was a team that most sides feared back in the day not now though!!!!! i hear kolyik is already planning for next year and is already on the phone 2 a couple of new recuits!!!!! but hats off 2 yarraville they played a great game still a big question mark over there cocahs power to attact some quailty players!!!!!!!!1

saw kolyniuk talking to mark mercuri last week but it looked liked 2 blokes had bumped into one another walking down the street but who knows???

Whilst floating around the juinor finals on the weekend I heard some interesting news that I thought you may be interested in reading.

St Albans - Contray to popular opinion, Thier coach is far from safe in the job. Many at the club have already had enough according to my source.
It seems he has lost some passion for his role and it has rubbed off on the group. As well as the coach many beleave it is time to overhaul the committee in general, from top to bottom....expect big rumblings over the next few weeks.

Sunshine- Again as quoted to me by a former ass-coach,are cacking themselves with the thought of playing arch rival Albion in an elimination final. Ace suggests that it will be an Albion walkover on the day. Seeing as he has a foot in each camp time will tell.

Spotswood - Although many have written the oppisite, they are chuffed with thier win against colts. A member of thier match-comm stated it was a huge mental relief to get over the line. Many at the club had some reservations that a win could be achieved. They can now sleep well at night.

Colts - Still confident that thier "A"grade game is good enough to beat the rest, once the discipline and focus is regained. The match comm as well as the golden gloved pres will be working on both of the shortfalls during the week

Hoppers - well we are just flying....

speculator i liked it more when u didnt speak rubbish! for a start ace wouldnt have said anything of the sort. we are happy to play whoever we come up against. as we have beaten or been competitive against every top side except spotty who we have this week. you seem to have ur fingers in quite a few pies, or maybe your just making things up as you go along. to say Hoppers are flying is interesting, good side no doubt, but a lot of guys who were playing reserves earlier in the year running around in the 1's. think if Bekker is injured or at Port you might struggle.

what would you know you MORON, but it was a shattering end to a disappointing year unless yarra come out and play with the same passion and intensity this week and can knock over albion.

and its funny you mention mark mercuri because st albans could be full of ex afl players next year if the rumours are true

what would you know you MORON, but it was a shattering end to a disappointing year unless yarra come out and play with the same passion and intensity this week and can knock over albion.

and its funny you mention mark mercuri because st albans could be full of ex afl players next year if the rumours are true

You had a go at spotty for spending big cash on players which isnt true now you and your pokies are going to try and buy a premiership with ex AFL players, good work brains01

will you be looking for a new club then brains as you won't be able to get a game in the new star studded line up, the saints will struggle to attract players as no-one would want to play at that $hit hole

Whilst floating around the juinor finals on the weekend I heard some interesting news that I thought you may be interested in reading.

St Albans - Contray to popular opinion, Thier coach is far from safe in the job. Many at the club have already had enough according to my source.
It seems he has lost some passion for his role and it has rubbed off on the group. As well as the coach many beleave it is time to overhaul the committee in general, from top to bottom....expect big rumblings over the next few weeks.

Sunshine- Again as quoted to me by a former ass-coach,are cacking themselves with the thought of playing arch rival Albion in an elimination final. Ace suggests that it will be an Albion walkover on the day. Seeing as he has a foot in each camp time will tell.

Spotswood - Although many have written the oppisite, they are chuffed with thier win against colts. A member of thier match-comm stated it was a huge mental relief to get over the line. Many at the club had some reservations that a win could be achieved. They can now sleep well at night.

Colts - Still confident that thier "A"grade game is good enough to beat the rest, once the discipline and focus is regained. The match comm as well as the golden gloved pres will be working on both of the shortfalls during the week

Hoppers - well we are just flying....

You heard it 1st here on Big Footy about Spotty being happy to beat Port at Port! Of course we are. They are a good side and even harder to beat at home and we had some vital players out. Given that Spotty have beaten them once (apparently) at their ground over the past 9 or 10 years, why wouldnt we be pleased? Its also a pleasing fact that we wont be beaten by the same side twice in the year, that wouldnt have been the ideal way to go into a finals series would it? I doubt very much whether anybodys sleep would have been affected. Being on top all year and losing 1 game (2 if we had have lost last week) is hardly reason enough to lose sleep I would have thought. Most people expected us to get beaten last week so we had nothing to lose.

It wont matter what has happened over the past 20 odd weeks, from next week on it starts 0-0. Should be a cracker series this year with no standout team.

will you be looking for a new club then brains as you won't be able to get a game in the new star studded line up, the saints will struggle to attract players as no-one would want to play at that $hit hole

Brains will get a game in most sides. what about you though super rules beckons

super rules in another 6 years maybe but i'll probably hang em up after this year don't want to play against the mighty saints 08 super team

You heard it 1st here on Big Footy about Spotty being happy to beat Port at Port! Of course we are. They are a good side and even harder to beat at home and we had some vital players out. Given that Spotty have beaten them once (apparently) at their ground over the past 9 or 10 years, why wouldnt we be pleased? Its also a pleasing fact that we wont be beaten by the same side twice in the year, that wouldnt have been the ideal way to go into a finals series would it? I doubt very much whether anybodys sleep would have been affected. Being on top all year and losing 1 game (2 if we had have lost last week) is hardly reason enough to lose sleep I would have thought. Most people expected us to get beaten last week so we had nothing to lose.

It wont matter what has happened over the past 20 odd weeks, from next week on it starts 0-0. Should be a cracker series this year with no standout team.

good good call beazer we start from scratch now although some would say that after last week spotty are a stand out finishing well on top and only dropping one game

even though there is a lot of work to be done you guys are favourites

You had a go at spotty for spending big cash on players which isnt true now you and your pokies are going to try and buy a premiership with ex AFL players, good work brains01
yeah mate you make a good point but i never said spending big to be successful is the wrong thing i just clearly stated that you wouldnt expect anything less than a flag if you were spending that ammount of money

super rules in another 6 years maybe but i'll probably hang em up after this year don't want to play against the mighty saints 08 super team

08 super team dont know about that. dont seem to have the cash resourses down at our $hit hole and yes and we will miss you too