• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

Well the fore play is over and now for the best part,and speaking for the colts boys were not into fore play.........finals is where we will hit our straps.
Great effort by albion to make the finals,i'm happy for my old mate dicko, hopefully his head is ok to play after montebello floged him,the cats have been well lead from broadbent all year and now are a realistic chance of upsetting sunshine after they have alot of injurie or players being unavailable.
PREDICTIONS
PRIEST MEDAL-mcnulty/broadbent
GIBSON-keenan [already won]chance to kick a ton
GRAND FINALIST-COLTS/SPOTTY
PREMIERS COLTS

TEAM OF THE YEAR
BACKS-SABLICH-PHIPPS-BONNETT
H/BACKS-LINTON-DEBRUYN-DOREWOOD
CENTRES-FLETCHER-HARRIS-AGIUS
H/FWDS-MACNULTY-KEENAN-MONTEBELLO
FWDS-MONTEBRUNO-CADDY-CONNOR
RUCKS-JULIER-BROADBENT-LINDSAY
INT-JACOBS-TURNER-JUEGAN-KELLY

Pretty close to the mark i reckon,i have probably left a few out but that's what i have come up with.[been a hard night at work]
BRING ON THE FINALS...............GO COLTS 3 PEAT HERE WE COME!!!!!!!!!

Rock where can i findout who plays who and where next week?
gazza35 - you can look on the WRFL website but you may be better off reading the following
All Div One finals at Bartercard Oval more commonly known as Chirnside Park - Werribee VFL Ground, Qualifying Finals on Sat - Snrs - Hoppers v Colts, Reserves - Spotty v Colts, Und 18 Spotty v Werribee Jnrs. Spotty, Hoppers and Altona get week off respectively.
Elimination Finals Sunday - Sunshine v Albion (welcome back to the finals after 18 yrs), Albion v St Albans and Willy Jnrs v St Albans.
Times approx. 9.30am, Midday and 2.30pm.
Hope this helps gazza35

gazza35 - you can look on the WRFL website but you may be better off reading the following
All Div One finals at Bartercard Oval more commonly known as Chirnside Park - Werribee VFL Ground, Qualifying Finals on Sat - Snrs - Hoppers v Colts, Reserves - Spotty v Colts, Und 18 Spotty v Werribee Jnrs. Spotty, Hoppers and Altona get week off respectively.
Elimination Finals Sunday - Sunshine v Albion (welcome back to the finals after 18 yrs), Albion v St Albans and Willy Jnrs v St Albans.
Times approx. 9.30am, Midday and 2.30pm.
Hope this helps gazza35

Thanks for that

So as the year comes to a close lets talk about some of the issues that don't get brought up as much. How do we think all the coaches are doing this year?
Who do you reckon will get the boot, and who's safe? Does anyone have any info on new coaches or anything?
Congrats to those teams in the finals and after yesaterday will tip Albion top knock off sunny next week. Lots of injuries to key players and the wheets may have fallen off at the wrong time of the year.
A few rumblings after yesterday with a lot of problems at guess where... inbreadville St Albans. Dont be surprised if there are huge changes next year with both fitzs looking to go to EDFl clubs.
Glenorden to look for a playing coach as well as Altona who have told Ellis and freeland thanks for the memories... we need to move on.
The league had a meeting with officals from the top 5 clubs in div 2 and after the grand final the winner has 1 month to decide if they want to come up or not. If not Parkside will stay up or go down and potentially close the doors if the club is in div 2.
Yarra on the lookokut for a playing coach and both Keogh and Innella have been told to reapply but they must apply, not rolled over like was agreeed upon. Not sure about top 5 sides but Shanks, Frost, Okeefe, Clarke, ellis and Theodore are surely safe for the next 12 months./
The rumor mill starts as soon as the season ends for the bottom clubs.....

Congrats to those teams in the finals and after yesaterday will tip Albion top knock off sunny next week. Lots of injuries to key players and the wheets may have fallen off at the wrong time of the year.
A few rumblings after yesterday with a lot of problems at guess where... inbreadville St Albans. Dont be surprised if there are huge changes next year with both fitzs looking to go to EDFl clubs.
Glenorden to look for a playing coach as well as Altona who have told Ellis and freeland thanks for the memories... we need to move on.
The league had a meeting with officals from the top 5 clubs in div 2 and after the grand final the winner has 1 month to decide if they want to come up or not. If not Parkside will stay up or go down and potentially close the doors if the club is in div 2.
Yarra on the lookokut for a playing coach and both Keogh and Innella have been told to reapply but they must apply, not rolled over like was agreeed upon. Not sure about top 5 sides but Shanks, Frost, Okeefe, Clarke, ellis and Theodore are surely safe for the next 12 months./

What a joke this situation creates with the Premiers being able to decide whether or not to come up. The league need to make a decision and stick by it, that if they win, they come up. Simple. I was under the impression that we were in a relegation/promotion league. If this is the case, cut the innuendo out completely & set a decision in stone.

chek ure intel on thsi one mate , think u may be a little of the mark

Well the fore play is over and now for the best part,and speaking for the colts boys were not into fore play.........finals is where we will hit our straps.
Great effort by albion to make the finals,i'm happy for my old mate dicko, hopefully his head is ok to play after montebello floged him,the cats have been well lead from broadbent all year and now are a realistic chance of upsetting sunshine after they have alot of injurie or players being unavailable.
PREDICTIONS
PREMIERS COLTS

TEAM OF THE YEAR

!!

Rock do you honestly rate this bloke as a high quality player? Not only is he one dimensional, soft hearted, and a hang out...but once you get inside his head he is done. As a tagger all you have to do is stay on his left (cause he has no right what so ever), be fit to keep up with him (which once the mental battle is won he will stop running), and read the play as a hang out would (which means be a soft c**k). From both games i've seen him play he's been covered easily and shut down when played tight and smart.

Any opinions?

Rock do you honestly rate this bloke as a high quality player? Not only is he one dimensional, soft hearted, and a hang out...but once you get inside his head he is done. As a tagger all you have to do is stay on his left (cause he has no right what so ever), be fit to keep up with him (which once the mental battle is won he will stop running), and read the play as a hang out would (which means be a soft c**k). From both games i've seen him play he's been covered easily and shut down when played tight and smart.

Any opinions?

agree there loppy, when he is on he can be very good and have a huge impact on games, but as u say he is easily beaten and once this happens he struggles to get back into the game, starts worrying more about his tagger than the footy. there are some much better midfielders out here who can turn a game and still overcome taggers, scotty mac when injury free and in his hayday is a good example, thats not to say scotty has lost it, he is still a superstar player!!

Loppy fair assement of the blokes maybe you should coach(or maybe you do, you seem to know alot about Yarra) first time we played them he went alright the second time he didnt do much, but is not a bad footballer l think Rock is giving a little too much credit there. Maybe Tappy can give us his views

What a joke this situation creates with the Premiers being able to decide whether or not to come up. The league need to make a decision and stick by it, that if they win, they come up. Simple. I was under the impression that we were in a relegation/promotion league. If this is the case, cut the innuendo out completely & set a decision in stone.
Correct. The Amateurs have a condition that the top 2 !! go up whilst the bottom 2 go down and that seems to go allright with both of last years B Grade grand finalists Collegians and Old Brighton doing well in A Grade. It depends on the Club mentality, are we a Div 2 club or are we prepared to do the hard yards like Glenorden did this year and go up and stay in Div One. From Round 2 when Spotty kicked 28 in the rain to nil they have come up with a win against a potential finalist St Albans in the last game. Good luck to them and good luck to whoever has the guts to come up. Parkside have paid the price for indiscriminant spending and running out of money. Top players to Keilor, Greenvale etc.. and all their mates cleared out. Sad but True. Having said that, they have a strong Admin and Past Players Association so should be back up soon.

Absolute rubbish !

Any opinions?

Both games ahh......fair assessment!

When theres 18 f**k'n games in the season champ!

Whoever wins 2nd division has to come up, there is no choice.

Sorry roosters there is a choice as the conctitution says so. It has been a problem in the past but the top 5 clubs have been told 1 month....

PREDICTIONS
PREMIERS COLTS

TEAM OF THE YEAR

Pretty close to the mark i reckon,i have probably left a few out but that's what i have come up with.[been a hard night at work]
BRING ON THE FINALS...............GO COLTS 3 PEAT HERE WE COME!!!!!!!!!
Would question a few of these, a few colts players in there and not sure about monty. Although a star player has missed a lot of footy this year due to injury and suspension so would question his sleection over others purely on games missed.
Must not look past frost for pure class and the ability to swing a game... First player to tag when opposition clubs lineup on them

Am spot on as spoke to one of them last week......

As I stated earlier, there is only one appointed coach of the Altona Football Club and that is Aaron Freeland. Sammy Ellis is only a contracted player. He has nothing to do with the coaching side of things, except maybe when Aaron is unable to attend training.

I fail to see how your info can be correct when the details aren't even right to begin with ? I don't care who you have spoken to, or what they have said. There have been no such discussions held with either of the above mentioned.

And its just occured to me why this has come up. So silly of me.....just to clarify, what club are you from again ? It is Albion isn't it ? Hmmm.....

As I stated earlier, there is only one appointed coach of the Altona Football Club and that is Aaron Freeland. Sammy Ellis is only a contracted player. He has nothing to do with the coaching side of things, except maybe when Aaron is unable to attend training.

I fail to see how your info can be correct when the details aren't even right to begin with ? I don't care who you have spoken to, or what they have said. There have been no such discussions held with either of the above mentioned.

And its just occured to me why this has come up. So silly of me.....just to clarify, what club are you from again ? It is Albion isn't it ? Hmmm.....

No mate he's not from Albion!

But if he was, what are you getting at?

No mate he's not from Albion!

But if he was, what are you getting at?

It was something I observed when we played you guys a while back.

Oh well, not from Albion, my mistake. Its interesting then, I think chest is talkin' shyt. Unless he is running Altona, what he says ain't true. And to be perfectly honest, I'm pretty sure there aren't many on here that would care, I only got involved because blatent untruths are being posted. That's all.

apologies in advance if spelling incorect but head is gonna explode after a couple big nights at the club. old glenorden, what a club, no respect from anyone and have come up to divi 1 and snared 4 games and was like a granny win on satdy against st albans.

dean i beleive hasnt ruled out coaching but club is in the market for playing coach if anyone interested out there. caught up with a few hoppers boys at old volt satdy nite and they are looking forward to the finals, there the team i,m on as close neighbours and all. In saying it was hinted that a few of the older players down there are looking for coaching roles ie mc gaw, leatch and taylor.

Any opinions?

Well putting broadbent in my side was due to the fact i was trying to get an even spread from the top 5 or 6 teams and also due to the fact that i heard he has had a good year and will go close to winning the medal and this same person told me last year at the halfway mark that i also was doing very well in the priest which was proved correct.As i only get to see each team twice a year and albion have made some good improvement and he has lead them well i thought i could squeeze him in,juegan should probably be ahead of him ,there will always be disputes in these situations.

Fair enough mate i guess you can only call it as you see it. You have seen two games, i have seen two games. And Inka i realise that it's only two games out of the season mate, all i was trying to raise was my example of this bloke getting tagged out of the game quite easily, and disputing whether he was good enough to go for the Priest...which i highly doubt he will. Mind you i will eat my words if he goes close, but from my opinion i believe he is easily beat. No doubt from all the rumours i've heard that he's a good player, but maybe the guy i saw play on him both times found an edge to beat him quite convincingly.

Talking to a very good footy person on the weekend and he reckons a bloke called Nathan Juegan from Parkside will go very close for the comp medal. Any thoughts.

Dont think Parkside won enough games. they only got up twice. in saying that him and Dorewood are the standouts, so if anyone was to get votes it would be either of them two. Heard from a few St Albans people that Agius will win the league medal, i cant see that happening but they said hes been there best all year. Prob gonna be like last year, when the top 10 were all within a vote or two of each other. Think Goring will poll well from Sunshine, umpires seem to love him. Keenan, as much as id hate for it to happen, but will probably poll well due to the number of goals hes kicked. Really is very open this year, just like the race for the premiership is. Can definently see Spotty being beatable, they had Molan and Monty out against us but i still think any of the top 5 can beat each other on there day. Lookin forward to Albion this week, been rivals for a long time and Albion would be rapt to be back in the finals.