Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

Chest, you make some good points. Mcanulty looked like ripping the game apart early. Good move by Colts to push him forward. Spotty then put young Fogarty on him which nulified his influence a bit. Putting Millen forward to also stretch Spotty backline was a good move but he did seem to suffer a bit following his Hamstring injury the week before. As you say Montebello struggled with a quad injury but Molan as well as kicking 2 goals does a lot of work off the ball making space for the likes of Isbister who chipped in for 3. Jensen did his job on Brannan/Millen. Winters did well but I thought that Sablich was one of Spotty's best. Patak as BOG was spot on I thought. Had Port won it would have been interesting to see who would have got it. Maybe Jacobs who as usual played on Kelly but both played away from each other.
Caddy did well and with a couple of straighter kicks could have been a match winner. A blot on his copybook though was the "Jeff Farmer like" high five to the crowd at about the 20 minute mark which was a bit premature as it turned out, as was Rock's "Liberatore like" celebration following the first goal of the last quarter with one of his few posessions. Of course it would not have been a final without Webb firing Spotty up with his elbow that left Keenan wobbling and taken off midway through the last.
Interesting to see Colts walk from the ground prior to the Presentations. Someone may be able to confirm whether it is true that their supporters abused them and spat on them as they went up the race.
Mate there is no way known any supporters spat on the colts players - would never ever happen...as a supporter I can tell you I was absolutely wrapt in the way they went about it - it was a great game and yes disappointing to go down by 1 goal but the boys have given us 4 great years of enjoyment (4 grand finals) - how could anyone not be happy with that? Any person that spat on the colts on Saturday wouldn't be around to tell the tale today let me tell u.

Yeah not to sure about the spitting on players, dont think that would happen at all. The only negative I think to come out of the game was and before you colts boys get angry he has been a very good player for many years but the antics of fabian webb during the game. He plays very loose across half back / back pocket and when spotty got a run on he was getting frustrated. Pretending to **** your fist and throw a punch works against some but tried to do it to Molan and Monty and they did not even bad an eyelid, they just turned their back and walked away and left webb standing there not manning up when spotty kicked a few on the trot. All players know there is a time to play loose and time to man up and runnig around trying to intimidate monty and the like did not really work. The hit on crackers was high and late also. In saying that has been a very good player but this was the only disappointing thing to come from the game.

Didnt get to the game on the weekend, but heard Theodores smother was a beauty and followed up with a goal. apparently it was the match winner. a spotty guy was telling me yesterday that Theodore himself thought half way through the last they were gone, and he couldnt see them kicking a goal. must have lifted to get them home.

Sunshines Vote Count was yesterday.
1st - Macauley Goring
2nd - Adro Mastropasqua (whos apparently signed at Marby Park)
3rd - Russell Douglas
No real suprises there.

1st - Macauley Goring
3rd - Russell Douglas
No real suprises there.
St Albans have had their vote count as well
1st- Michael Aguis
2nd- Damien Fitzpatrick
3rd- Timmy Jenkins

How did other teams b+f finish up

1st - Macauley Goring
3rd - Russell Douglas
No real suprises there.

sunshine losing mastropasqua would be a big blow to the kangaroos. as a ruckman he is a very solid performer from what ive seen. do u have someone to replace him cabs or will u need to go fishing?

Yeh he is a big loss on field. but off field he just didnt fit in really. very hard bloke to play footy with, so good luck to the team he goes to. Havent got anyone yet, and ur right, ruckmen are hard to come by. Im sure tocka will be doing a bit of searching, and with his contacts i reckon we should be right. Wouldnt be suprised if hes already been talking potential players.

Good handy ruckman but hasn't got the best disposal. Is it true it's a team rule to try not let him kick and to always run recieve if he's got it?
Big men like that are hard to find, but i'm sure you blokes will be alright. If someone doesn't fit in they can be damaging to team chemistry, and we all know how important that can be.
What about you cabs, signed on for another year? have most of the blokes down there signed?

Not a team rule as such, but pretty much was expected that he would handball rather then kick. it is easily the worst style ive ever seen! he is good around the ground though, moves pretty well and can take a mark. but ur right, no one is bigger then the team, and guys like that can often be more harm then good.
yeh ill be at sunshine mate, havent heard bout too many others. at this stage no one is leaving that i know of. just cam magnusson prob wont play next year, think hes just over footy. hes a gun backman, really under-rated, so he will be a big loss!

yes very good game on the weekend congrats to spotty as much as i hate saying it and back luck 2 spotty

port could have won if boofa didnt play on in the last quarter from about 25m out insteed spotty rebounded and got a goal same again unluckly this time with his snap with about 2mins 2 go

Not a team rule as such, but pretty much was expected that he would handball rather then kick. it is easily the worst style ive ever seen! he is good around the ground though, moves pretty well and can take a mark. but ur right, no one is bigger then the team, and guys like that can often be more harm then good.
yeh ill be at sunshine mate, havent heard bout too many others. at this stage no one is leaving that i know of. just cam magnusson prob wont play next year, think hes just over footy. hes a gun backman, really under-rated, so he will be a big loss!

Good to hear you'll stick around. You got a good mixture of youth and experience down there and if you stick together, and can pull a few extra recruits, then hopefully you can contest the finals next season. From my knowledge, and correct me if i'm wrong, but it seems Sunshine lack a little depth in the two's like the other powerhouse cubs. This is crucial to the success of a senior team because a few key injuries can really cut you down in the middle of a purple patch. Is it fair to say that a few key injuries towards the end of the season really impacted your finals?
No doubt there is a feeling of disappointment after this years finals effort so it'd be good to see the Roos bounce back rather then let slip. What's the news on Scotty, is he gonna go on for season 2008, or call it a day?

Interesting to see Colts walk from the ground prior to the Presentations. Someone may be able to confirm whether it is true that their supporters abused them and spat on them as they went up the race.

Biggest load of sh1t i ever heard, no colts fan would ever do that! We were all proud of the boys, getting to four grand finals in a row aint a bad effort, and with the loyalty around the club shows we'll be a force for years to come!

GO COLTS

13 Cabs - done nothing but put sh t on Spotty all year. Not bad for a team that continues to under acheive (in their opinion) given that they are not good enough. Now your ruckman is leaving you are putting sh t on him. Maybe he doesn't drink piss with the rest of you underacheivers but at least he has a go on the ground. Having said that, I believe that Maribyrnong Park has about $200,000 (same as Greenvale and Strathmore, although they are in trouble with Hille leaving) so could not imagine Mastropasqua being their number one choice as a ruckman. You finished up weeks ago so just revel in the Spotty victory and see what you can do to turn your own club around - you owe them !!

there has been a lot of kak on this site lately, too much analizing and crap but at the end of the day the 2 best sides went head to head, both sides had chances at certain stages to seal the win and after 120 minutes of competitive footy spotty had their noses in front end of story

no turning point and that the game could have gone any way that is footy, it was good for the wrfl not good for port colts, we expect to win no matter what to some that might be arrogant but that is the belief that rock and obe have drilled into our list

on the day day the opposition were better so be it, our coaches wanted us in the rooms right away to tell us how proud of us they were and how they love coaching this group, then rock, myself and a few came out for the presentations but some stayed inside to drown their sorrows fair enough i think

who knows what the future holds but i would never play at any other club and we'll be back having a crack next year and although some don't like us, i'm sure they respect us

13 Cabs - done nothing but put sh t on Spotty all year. Not bad for a team that continues to under acheive (in their opinion) given that they are not good enough. Now your ruckman is leaving you are putting sh t on him. Maybe he doesn't drink piss with the rest of you underacheivers but at least he has a go on the ground. Having said that, I believe that Maribyrnong Park has about $200,000 (same as Greenvale and Strathmore, although they are in trouble with Hille leaving) so could not imagine Mastropasqua being their number one choice as a ruckman. You finished up weeks ago so just revel in the Spotty victory and see what you can do to turn your own club around - you owe them !!
Hille is staying on for one more year at Strathmore and they have already signed David Teague from Carlton for next year so the money is still there.
Just on ruckmen our league is at a shortage of quality big men so a good ruckmen could mean a huge advantage over your opposition. Rumour has it that St Albans have already signed a big name ruckman who has played at a higher level, and i dont know about the Kent Kingsley rumour i thought he said he was a chance for 09 and he was having a year off

St Albans have had their vote count as well
1st- Michael Aguis
2nd- Damien Fitzpatrick
3rd- Timmy Jenkins

How did other teams b+f finish up

is that the same tim jenkins who was at the jets last year, the real little guy, i heard he was playing at willy, or is this a different tim jenkins???

thanks in advance

Say Kent Kingsley Down At St Albans Today , Could Mean A Big Thing For 08'

Heard a few rumblings down yarra way today at work which may interest a few readers.
The co coaches had a one year signed deal for 2007 and a handshake 2 year deal. I got told today by a reliable source that the second year may not be kept and they were told if they find another job......take it.. Very interesting.
A few other interesting things I was told and one of them being th epresident resigning (due to his work) and the club has had a off the record chat with John Batty about the possibility of going down to second div and establishing the club there.
I do not think it wil happen but maybe not a bad idea for a lot of clubs to try and get a winning culture and money on the bank in div 2 then come up. In saying that I wonder if a lot of players would not play div 2 and go to rival clubs.
If I was still playing would most likely stay at the club but be interesting to see peoples thoughts if it was a sunshine or others.

Heard a few rumblings down yarra way today at work which may interest a few readers.
The co coaches had a one year signed deal for 2007 and a handshake 2 year deal. I got told today by a reliable source that the second year may not be kept and they were told if they find another job......take it.. Very interesting.
A few other interesting things I was told and one of them being th epresident resigning (due to his work) and the club has had a off the record chat with John Batty about the possibility of going down to second div and establishing the club there.
I do not think it wil happen but maybe not a bad idea for a lot of clubs to try and get a winning culture and money on the bank in div 2 then come up. In saying that I wonder if a lot of players would not play div 2 and go to rival clubs.
If I was still playing would most likely stay at the club but be interesting to see peoples thoughts if it was a sunshine or others.

some very big news there indeed chest..
would it be viable for yarra to go down? who would come up and would the league allow it? or would there just be the possibility of parkside staying up and yarra going?
i dont really see how it could better the club by going down, any winning culture made in div 2 would simply be erased when and if yarra came back up by losing to the same old sides again. their standard of footy would probably drop off too.
did ur source say who the club was talking to as far as coaches are concerned?
i doubt any team would elect to go down, just doesnt make sense to me...

Biggest load of sh1t i ever heard, no colts fan would ever do that! We were all proud of the boys, getting to four grand finals in a row aint a bad effort, and with the loyalty around the club shows we'll be a force for years to come!

GO COLTS

also heard the colts fans were very un happy and were throwing cans at the spooty boys
must be real proud to be throwing cans

Correct in regard to the coaches. Div 2 was touted by one of the current coaches and I can tell you it WILL NOT BE HAPPENING. New President will be elected next week and then the coaching situation will be looked at. Comes down to dollars and cents and what return the club recieved from both coaches. 3 and half wins not exactly money well spent.

also heard the colts fans were very un happy and were throwing cans at the spooty boys
must be real proud to be throwing cans

The Spotty player was goading the Colt fans after the final siren - the colt fans had previously given him a tongue lashing when he cramped and came off in the last 5 or so minutes of the game - their reaction in throwing cans whilst disappointing was understandable given the intent of the Spotty guy to "incite" the crowd.

All and all a good days entertainment...lol

is that the same tim jenkins who was at the jets last year, the real little guy, i heard he was playing at willy, or is this a different tim jenkins???

thanks in advance
yeah its the same Timmy Jenkins he is on Willis list he only played 7 games at St Albans this year and finished 3rd the kid is a gun he is small it could be the only thing stopping him playing at a high level but he is still a gun.

How have other teams b+f finish up

some very big news there indeed chest..
would it be viable for yarra to go down? who would come up and would the league allow it? or would there just be the possibility of parkside staying up and yarra going?
i dont really see how it could better the club by going down, any winning culture made in div 2 would simply be erased when and if yarra came back up by losing to the same old sides again. their standard of footy would probably drop off too.
did ur source say who the club was talking to as far as coaches are concerned?
i doubt any team would elect to go down, just doesnt make sense to me...
Like I saiud was very informal and dont think it will happen at all. I think it was just a thought and maybe an option. The only way it would happen would be if the league said yes and parks wanted to stay up but I dont think will happen or even go further. No idea who is being sought after to coach but will try and get some news.
Last year the club waited too long and did not get their man (so I am led to believe) I think they wanted a bloke called Alex Gillian from Melton or somewhere out there (others may know the player I am talking about) but he chose to go to the Geelong League I think.
Next 2 weeks will tell the tale.

Correct in regard to the coaches. Div 2 was touted by one of the current coaches and I can tell you it WILL NOT BE HAPPENING. New President will be elected next week and then the coaching situation will be looked at. Comes down to dollars and cents and what return the club recieved from both coaches. 3 and half wins not exactly money well spent.
Spot on secure... Like I said the club thought about the avenues to go down to go down to div 2 but wont be happening.
In terms of coaches is about dollars and cents and from reports and the books I was told more than 15k on coaches in 2007. That right there is 5 to 6 decent players.....
Time will tell