Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

Heard during the week this topic of conversation had hit Big Footy and the rumours are driving me crazy so will just clarify with those who read this site with the actual facts

The HCFC did have to advertise the position under the constitution. I was told by the appropriate person on the committee of this process and was told the job is still yours, you just need to let us know. I made the phone call to say l still wanted the job for season 2008 and was told by the senior coach " I have a tough decision to make and will get back to you" Got a phone call the next morning " Your not the preferred option for next season...............................". Yes boys got the chop............ That will finish the rumours that l did not apply and l believe applications dont close till Oct 31.

Committee unaware of my sacking - correct so cant blame the committee

Haven't really been given a reason why but not well handled by the individuals involved. Very unprofessionally handled. Thought l probably deserved another year after coaching back 2 back flags and having an undefeated season this but not to be. the real reasons l suggest will never be revealed. thought the development of youngsters under my tutorage was good and now quite a few are regulars in the seniors

I actually originally from Hoppers and not originally from Glen Orden. played juniors at Hoppers but have spent time at Glen orden

Appointed assistant senior coach at Glen orden - incorrect. Glenn McGaw has spoken to me but nothing further has developed.

Any local dill could have coached the side???? People might forget when l took the job over 3 seasons ago, only 4 players remain in the 2's. I have been lucky with some great juniors who have come thru the ranks combined with some older experienced players dropping back from the 1sts who showed the club great loyalty. A great mix and definitely made my job a lot easier and some will argue but Hoppers now have the deepest list depth wise in the competition. We still turned over 13 players from the flag in 2006 and that is why we were without doubt the reserves side in the comp.

Disappointed players who didnt play in the Grand Final - without a doubt. 28 does not go into 22 and for 4 weeks before the finals all players in the reserves were aware that l would pick the best side for the remainder of the year. As for the blokes who missed out , some showed real character in the way they handled it and others did 13 year old high school girls proud but every player it that situation will handle it in their own way and l do not hold it aginst them. As for criticism over the side picked we won by 11 goals and played very well. I picked the best side - end of story, no ifs or buts.

Journeyman??? I think that is a bit harsh - 2 clubs in 9 years and would like to think given both very good service.

yes l believe Adam taylor has got the job for next year and wish him all the best. tails is a great bloke and an icon for the Hoppers Footy Club. I am sure he will do a great job and certainly do not blame tails for my demise. I spoke to him presentation night and wished him all the best.

Micheal Frost has signed for 2 years at Hoppers.

Hopefully that will end this topic of conversation. Surely we have better things to do than talk about me?????.............

ps. Beaza. thanks for the offer of joining the sacked by Hoppers footy club.....lol

This is not to piss in Frase's pocket, but I have had a lot to do with him over the years and have always regarded him as a great coach and an even better bloke. For Hoppers to have done this, and the way they have gone about it is just a joke. What more do you want from a 2's coach? Surely this year we have seen the development in Hoppers younger players, which must reflect on the 2's coach to some degree. No doubt he would be a welcome addition to any divison 1 club, whether that be as an assistant coach or reserves coach. This reflects poorly on those in power at Hoppers Crossing.

Heard during the week this topic of conversation had hit Big Footy and the rumours are driving me crazy so will just clarify with those who read this site with the actual facts

The HCFC did have to advertise the position under the constitution. I was told by the appropriate person on the committee of this process and was told the job is still yours, you just need to let us know. I made the phone call to say l still wanted the job for season 2008 and was told by the senior coach " I have a tough decision to make and will get back to you" Got a phone call the next morning " Your not the preferred option for next season...............................". Yes boys got the chop............ That will finish the rumours that l did not apply and l believe applications dont close till Oct 31.

Committee unaware of my sacking - correct so cant blame the committee

Haven't really been given a reason why but not well handled by the individuals involved. Very unprofessionally handled. Thought l probably deserved another year after coaching back 2 back flags and having an undefeated season this but not to be. the real reasons l suggest will never be revealed. thought the development of youngsters under my tutorage was good and now quite a few are regulars in the seniors

I actually originally from Hoppers and not originally from Glen Orden. played juniors at Hoppers but have spent time at Glen orden

Appointed assistant senior coach at Glen orden - incorrect. Glenn McGaw has spoken to me but nothing further has developed.

Any local dill could have coached the side???? People might forget when l took the job over 3 seasons ago, only 4 players remain in the 2's. I have been lucky with some great juniors who have come thru the ranks combined with some older experienced players dropping back from the 1sts who showed the club great loyalty. A great mix and definitely made my job a lot easier and some will argue but Hoppers now have the deepest list depth wise in the competition. We still turned over 13 players from the flag in 2006 and that is why we were without doubt the reserves side in the comp.

Disappointed players who didnt play in the Grand Final - without a doubt. 28 does not go into 22 and for 4 weeks before the finals all players in the reserves were aware that l would pick the best side for the remainder of the year. As for the blokes who missed out , some showed real character in the way they handled it and others did 13 year old high school girls proud but every player it that situation will handle it in their own way and l do not hold it aginst them. As for criticism over the side picked we won by 11 goals and played very well. I picked the best side - end of story, no ifs or buts.

Journeyman??? I think that is a bit harsh - 2 clubs in 9 years and would like to think given both very good service.

yes l believe Adam taylor has got the job for next year and wish him all the best. tails is a great bloke and an icon for the Hoppers Footy Club. I am sure he will do a great job and certainly do not blame tails for my demise. I spoke to him presentation night and wished him all the best.

Micheal Frost has signed for 2 years at Hoppers.

Hopefully that will end this topic of conversation. Surely we have better things to do than talk about me?????.............

ps. Beaza. thanks for the offer of joining the sacked by Hoppers footy club.....lol

This quote was not directed to yourself, it was simply a statement suggesting that the general consensis was that you had an unbeatable side, regardless of who was at the helm.
Great response anyway!

I felt Colts being a better side was the cause of that they struggled against a spirted Albion and they shouldnt have got close. There smaller players would play in any top 4 side its some players lack of commitment to the ball that cost them. Who do you bring in Walker, Cavka or Borlaise l would rather go with the kids these blokes are past it
Past it , well lets be truthful , past there individual best mayby, but these players at there prime were very very good and i think at where they are now with there footy career is still better than some of these kids ,and to add to that the experience they bring , the young kids will get there chance they just have to be patient . "lack of commitment to the ball" old school players wouldnt know the meaning of it . And thats what wins finals.

We had our footy trip over the weekend, up to Coogee Bay in Sydney... quality place for a footy trip, with a couple of awesome pubs there and only a short trip in to the city. Coogee Bay Pub is pretty much impossible to get kicked out of as well, so a definite bonus for those on footy trip. Also know Albion were up in Cairns with the Colts guys as well. Any other teams? Yarraville head to Tassie this weekend i think.

Correct. Just got back from Tassie last night and i'm pretty sure they'll never book another footy trip again haha. Hadn't been there before but it's not a bad destination, little small, but not too bad. Only problem is that it's too easy to get kicked out of places. Only place we didn't have any trouble at was our hotel (if you'd call it that) which was fortunate because it got very messy.

Past it , well lets be truthful , past there individual best mayby, but these players at there prime were very very good and i think at where they are now with there footy career is still better than some of these kids ,and to add to that the experience they bring , the young kids will get there chance they just have to be patient . "lack of commitment to the ball" old school players wouldnt know the meaning of it . And thats what wins finals.

Yeah agree wjth you a bit those blokes do have more of a crack than the younger kids but what are you meant to do slowly bring them into the team some might leave to get a chance else where.

Williams,Crowder, Litchfeild and a few of the younger boys are also looking elsewhere. Sunshine and Albion are keen on the above trio.

quote]
have heard that williams and crowder are also looking at the colts mates with a couple of the boys down there also litchfield is an albion jnr so im sure they would be keen to get him 'home'

Thread has gone very quiet as of late. So lets start something new....when is everyone starting up pre-season training? I'd assume most teams start slowly easing in late november and then take a break for chrissy, then resume mid jan full steam ahead?

yeah cant wait, i love pre season

Sunshine - November 14th

Heard your in for a big one. Heard Luke is moving you into the mid field, cause you get too lazy at full forward!

The only place he is moving to is Thailand, to be with his new love, the ladyboy he jagged!

Heard your in for a big one. Heard Luke is moving you into the mid field, cause you get too lazy at full forward!

bout time someone injected me into the midfield, i have the skills and pace to burn it seems only logical.

beazer dont worry bout the ladyboy i jagged, she is coming over here and is a massive chance of taking ur spot

bout time someone injected me into the midfield, i have the skills and pace to burn it seems only logical.

beazer dont worry bout the ladyboy i jagged, she is coming over here and is a massive chance of taking ur spot

She or it can have it. Dont take it to watch you play cricket then, she'd be odds-on to fill in for you there. Apparently you batted last week with a bat that had a hole in it. Is this true? They are always up to something those guys down there. Drilling a hole in your bat the size of a cricket ball b4 you bat just isnt funny anymore. They have been doing it for years and you still havent woken up to it.

Well enough of the chip chat you two.

So most of us have been away from the computer with not much happening at our clubs but it is time to let everyone know whats going on.
Sunshine, have they picked up a key forward yet so they can take the next step. THey ended very poorly in the finals this year and who has left from last season.
Have hoppers self destructed over there. Things do not sound great and with their experienced players leaving..... who knows, may not even make the 5.
St Albans may be the big improvers with rumblings they have spent up big. A lot of ex Doutta boys coming across, last count was 6 of them, not sure on names but got told the other day, and most players will be staying.
Will McGaw turn things around at Glenorden, I think they will improve a lot this year also as well as Altona. Freeland still to coach and no big recrits but young players everywhere. Maybe not finals just yet, but are like sunshing 5 years ago.
Early signs are West and Yarra to fight for the bottom but is very early stages but both clubs still no coaches and hard to recruit when you dont have a coach. May miss the boat on players.
Rumor has it Yarra looking to inject a lot of youth on their list this year and go from there and West are aparrently spending and recruiting but hard when no coach.
Spotty kept most if not all players and will be flag fav next year but why do players keep heading to colts. Something must be going well down there. Talk of Steve Zavalas and earlier ex weribee players to bolster their list.
Will only make the club stronger but there is a negative where players who would be playing ones at other clubs are stuck in the twos and want senior footy, aka hoppers and they leave... But hey, not a bad problem to have.
Lastly Albion have reportedly kept majority of players and they will be top 3 next year...
COuld even be the yar of the cat.... Key word was could....
Come on guys, lets get some talk about 2008 on here....

Well enough of the chip chat you two.

So most of us have been away from the computer with not much happening at our clubs but it is time to let everyone know whats going on.
Sunshine, have they picked up a key forward yet so they can take the next step. THey ended very poorly in the finals this year and who has left from last season.
Have hoppers self destructed over there. Things do not sound great and with their experienced players leaving..... who knows, may not even make the 5.
St Albans may be the big improvers with rumblings they have spent up big. A lot of ex Doutta boys coming across, last count was 6 of them, not sure on names but got told the other day, and most players will be staying.
Will McGaw turn things around at Glenorden, I think they will improve a lot this year also as well as Altona. Freeland still to coach and no big recrits but young players everywhere. Maybe not finals just yet, but are like sunshing 5 years ago.
Early signs are West and Yarra to fight for the bottom but is very early stages but both clubs still no coaches and hard to recruit when you dont have a coach. May miss the boat on players.
Rumor has it Yarra looking to inject a lot of youth on their list this year and go from there and West are aparrently spending and recruiting but hard when no coach.
Spotty kept most if not all players and will be flag fav next year but why do players keep heading to colts. Something must be going well down there. Talk of Steve Zavalas and earlier ex weribee players to bolster their list.
Will only make the club stronger but there is a negative where players who would be playing ones at other clubs are stuck in the twos and want senior footy, aka hoppers and they leave... But hey, not a bad problem to have.
Lastly Albion have reportedly kept majority of players and they will be top 3 next year...
COuld even be the yar of the cat.... Key word was could....
Come on guys, lets get some talk about 2008 on here....
Sunshine will remain midfield/just in the 5 as they don't have the players to stand up when the finals pressure is on aka 07. St Albans were supposed to be OK in 07 but internal rumblings stuffed them. Glenorden don't need all that much to be competitive as shown toward the end of the season. Yarraville and Altona need to look at the way Glenorden have gone about things in 07 and stop wallowing in self pitty. If you are in Div 1 behave and act like it. Keogh looking elsewhere back in the EDFL where he was the first Coach in history to instruct his players not to go out for the second half !! Hoppers struggling. Apparently Beazley was going back but has decided to stay at Spotty for Club unity and stability. Keenan and Patak to stay after fending off rediculous offers from elsewhere. When will Moneymore (Strathmore) learn that offering big money to 10 blokes and then playing 2 or 3 of them in the ones does not work !! eg. Beazley, Lindsay. O'Neil, Hoath (how long did they stay??)
West will struggle. Coach has taken on the President role and yet to appoint a new Coach. Need to get that done quickly and get after 15-20 players.
Albion in trouble. As usual spent plenty for no reward. Shanks gone !! Broadbent (if he stays) will be Captain again. At least he will have been there for a season !!
Spotty and Colts seem to be the teams to beat again with Hoppers ( if they can get over their internal strife ) to be up there again.
Seems as though the teams that are well administered off the field tend to be the ones that go OK on the field despite Clubs from outside the League tryiny to Rape and Pillage.
Anyway, a bit to keep us going during the Cricket/Bowls season.

Sunshine will remain midfield/just in the 5 as they don't have the players to stand up when the finals pressure is on aka 07. St Albans were supposed to be OK in 07 but internal rumblings stuffed them. Glenorden don't need all that much to be competitive as shown toward the end of the season. Yarraville and Altona need to look at the way Glenorden have gone about things in 07 and stop wallowing in self pitty. If you are in Div 1 behave and act like it. Keogh looking elsewhere back in the EDFL where he was the first Coach in history to instruct his players not to go out for the second half !! Hoppers struggling. Apparently Beazley was going back but has decided to stay at Spotty for Club unity and stability. Keenan and Patak to stay after fending off rediculous offers from elsewhere. When will Moneymore (Strathmore) learn that offering big money to 10 blokes and then playing 2 or 3 of them in the ones does not work !! eg. Beazley, Lindsay. O'Neil, Hoath (how long did they stay??)
West will struggle. Coach has taken on the President role and yet to appoint a new Coach. Need to get that done quickly and get after 15-20 players.
Albion in trouble. As usual spent plenty for no reward. Shanks gone !! Broadbent (if he stays) will be Captain again. At least he will have been there for a season !!
Spotty and Colts seem to be the teams to beat again with Hoppers ( if they can get over their internal strife ) to be up there again.
Seems as though the teams that are well administered off the field tend to be the ones that go OK on the field despite Clubs from outside the League tryiny to Rape and Pillage.

"Wallowing in self-pity" ? I doubt you even know the meaning of the phrase..........And what have Glenorden done ? I'd love to see examples of you above statements........

I agree with you Cmat.

I would be hard pressed to think that either Altona or Yarra have been "wallowing in self-pity" Thunderball. Altona showed glimpses of where they need to get to last season and with the young lads coming through should be a real show in 08. Yarra also showed that it has a bit to offer the league and hopefully with an injection of new payers and a new coaching staff, along with some new facilities also in the works, things can hopefully pick up down there.

No time for wallowing in self-pity for any of the clubs i think - pre season is almost here!

Thunderball and Chest..........how do you do it.

Getting around to each and every club, finding out what on, whos leaving, what the profit or loss was for the 06/07 financial year, when the next functions on.........amazing work, do yous have a full time job?

Must have a close mate at all the clubs?:)

All the best anyway, now let the good times roll..........
pre-season is so much fun!

Go Cats!

Albion in trouble. As usual spent plenty for no reward. Shanks gone !! Broadbent (if he stays) will be Captain again. At least he will have been there for a season !!.

Shanks gone???? wat do u mean??? has he already gone??? or will he go because they will be in trouble next season???

Thunderball and Chest..........how do you do it.

Getting around to each and every club, finding out what on, whos leaving, what the profit or loss was for the 06/07 financial year, when the next functions on.........amazing work, do yous have a full time job?

Must have a close mate at all the clubs?:)

All the best anyway, now let the good times roll..........
pre-season is so much fun!

Go Cats!
Inka, not sure where you coming from but was making some assumptions and as yuo sw were questions regarding each club. Dont have to be at every club to read posts from our league, div 2 and other leagues to find out which clubs are doing what. Didnt know about shanks leaving so maybe you can fill us in on that one.
Least the post got a few people back o bf

Inka, not sure where you coming from but was making some assumptions and as yuo sw were questions regarding each club. Dont have to be at every club to read posts from our league, div 2 and other leagues to find out which clubs are doing what. Didnt know about shanks leaving so maybe you can fill us in on that one.
Least the post got a few people back o bf

Is Shanks president of Deer Park next year?

hey rock how close you to picking up zavlas would be a great pick up for the colts

Is Shanks president of Deer Park next year?

mark mcgoldrick is d/p's new president.....jamie madigan is coaching.......:thumbsu:

on another note the rohan smith football academy is starting up soon get in quick places are going fast.....its for ages 10 to snr players...... get ahead with a good pre-season under your belt from a home grown player of the wrfl the 300 afl gamer has exciting stuff planned for all ages......starts early nov for a month.....and late jan for a month.....if you are interested give me a pm and ill send you the official flyer.....

cheers browny

i am after some info on the following players, was given the names of 2 leagues they may be in (im posting over there too) any info is much appreciated

Murat Ergunen - Spotswood?
Corey Dunn
Harry Cartell
Jason Curran

Thanks