Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

Lets set the record straight the player that hit Tonna was helping out a much smaller player than Tonna, which Tonna was chasing after, that was unaware of him coming after him with his hand in a fist ready to hit the smaller player and in return the player that hit Tonna was just protecting his smaller teammate and recived 6 weeks for it and dont worry Tonna handed out his own medicene that day. And the damage he suffered was a result of him fighting in a seperate fight that happened just after the orginal incident

thats a lovely story wrfl fan.
i was at the game and i have watched the tape of the incident quite a few times and your version is way of mark.
Tonna was not handing out his own medicene and was not anywhere near another player he was looking straight up the ground after the ball was cleared when he was king hit from behind.
he was also not involved in a another incident as he was as assisted from the ground by the trainers straight after being hit.(tape shows this too)

i dont really care what your version of it is though becouse everybody believes what we want to and will always stand by there own and i could not be bothered trying to change your oppionion

The point i was trying to make was that the 6 weeks was nowhere near what the incident was worth and this and other tribunal decisions is what makes our comp poorer than others.

i was at the game and i have watched the tape of the incident quite a few times and your version is way of mark.
Tonna was not handing out his own medicene and was not anywhere near another player he was looking straight up the ground after the ball was cleared when he was king hit from behind.
he was also not involved in a another incident as he was as assisted from the ground by the trainers straight after being hit.(tape shows this too)

i dont really care what your version of it is though becouse everybody believes what we want to and will always stand by there own and i could not be bothered trying to change your oppionion

The point i was trying to make was that the 6 weeks was nowhere near what the incident was worth and this and other tribunal decisions is what makes our comp poorer than others.

It was a Braybrook player that hit Tonna wasnt it, if correct think the league had taken this players permit before, just showing how weak the league is given him his permit back in the first place, after taken it off him.

please lets not make out that tonna was not involed in the dust up that happen that day he was right in the middle of it how do I know this because I was standing next to him when he got hit.how many weeks do you think the player should have got for striking lets remember it was round 14 so six weeks ment the rest of the home & away season plus two finals which could of been the rest of the year.it was unforegenet the injury he got and I dont wish that on anyone but lets not forget the colts bloke who cop a broken nose that day and how many reports was there from stalbans so lets get over the past if tonna doesnt want to play footy because of the tribunal maybe the big sook should take up lawn bowls I've herd there tribunal is a lot harder on people for strikeing.

It was a Braybrook player that hit Tonna wasnt it, if correct think the league had taken this players permit before, just showing how weak the league is given him his permit back in the first place, after taken it off him.

The braybrook player you are talking about hit c. price in 2002 elimenation final played again after 12 months off and did the same thing in div2

please lets not make out that tonna was not involed in the dust up that happen that day he was right in the middle of it how do I know this because I was standing next to him when he got hit.how many weeks do you think the player should have got for striking lets remember it was round 14 so six weeks ment the rest of the home & away season plus two finals which could of been the rest of the year.it was unforegenet the injury he got and I dont wish that on anyone but lets not forget the colts bloke who cop a broken nose that day and how many reports was there from stalbans so lets get over the past if tonna doesnt want to play footy because of the tribunal maybe the big sook should take up lawn bowls I've herd there tribunal is a lot harder on people for strikeing.

well this is my oppinion but i think incidents like this should get a min of 12months. (2nd time life)
The player who done this however had a very good record and this was out of charactor so i would have given him half of this and suspended the rest.
(the player who was hit, was put out for the rest of the season.)

i hear he might even play with you again this year.
i hope he does because he is a great player to watch and it lifts the standard of our comp.

as for tonna being a big sook i dont think so.

there is a long list of quility players that will not play in our comp for the same reasons.

i seem to remember a few clubs at the end of this season thinking about leaving for the same reasons.

our tribunal needs to get tougher (even on our players) for our comp to get better.

again this is just my oppinion and i hope i am wrong on all this as i want our comp to grow in strength.

I certainly dont condone the incident but I would agree with WRFLFans version befpre yours. You must have watched the video through rose coloured glassess. The actual piont of contact is not shown ( although it was obvious) If the league were fair dinkum there could have been a couple of further reports taken from the footage. To say Tonna was the inocent party stetches things a little. Enough said , this has been done and dusted many times before, move on champ.

fair enough obe1 this is all old news and yes we all were the same glasses.

i was more trying the make the point of the tribunal/league not being strong enough.maybe the clubs should all get together and demand it

our comp needs to be respected by outside as well as from within

fair enough obe1 this is all old news and yes we all were the same glasses.

i was more trying the make the point of the tribunal/league not being strong enough.maybe the clubs should all get together and demand it

our comp needs to be respected by outside as well as from within
True about the tribunal it is very inconstant, but if you read the EDFL and DVFL which are meant to be some of the elite leagues in our state, youll notice they are always bagging and abusing there tribunal systems. What needs to happen to improve it they brought in an independent tribunal and they complain they have no idea about footy where do you win. l heard from one person on the tribunal that a players penalty that was to be handed down and they had discussed his sentence one thought 10 weeks, one thought 4 weeks and the other thought a reprimand , they settled on 2 weeks so where does the logic for one the 3 different views and then the verdict come from.

And Tonna was chasing a player(god forbid) Bronco-27 and myself were in the middle of it

well this is my oppinion but i think incidents like this should get a min of 12months. (2nd time life)
The player who done this however had a very good record and this was out of charactor so i would have given him half of this and suspended the rest.
(the player who was hit, was put out for the rest of the season.)

i hear he might even play with you again this year.
i hope he does because he is a great player to watch and it lifts the standard of our comp.

as for tonna being a big sook i dont think so.

there is a long list of quility players that will not play in our comp for the same reasons.

i seem to remember a few clubs at the end of this season thinking about leaving for the same reasons.

our tribunal needs to get tougher (even on our players) for our comp to get better.

again this is just my oppinion and i hope i am wrong on all this as i want our comp to grow in strength.
I agree with you in wanting our comp to grow not shore how they can with the current teams in the comp.
this is just my idea I think the wrfl need to espan from the west suberbs and move towards the whole westen districk meaning geting the best sides from the melton area gisboune and maybe as far as ballarat and bendigo I know this would mean alot of traveling on a satday but I cant see from the bottom half of first div all any teams from the second div can get the wrfl back up there with the comps like the dvfl or edl.because int the last ten years I've played in this comp the premiers has come from the same teams.hoppers,colts,parkside,spotswood,stalbans.maybe keep sunshine and albion and then go out and poach these other clubs to join our comp and have three divs that span across the west and get rid of the likes of brunswick,westen magpies who do the comp more harm then good.I know this is a harsh on teams like yarraville and altona who are working to get there teams back up there with the best but these two clubs are around three to four years away to be any threat to the flag and by that time there might not be a wrfl.before anyone on here starts giving me a spay for my post lets hear your ideas on how we can make our comp better.

True about the tribunal it is very inconstant, but if you read the EDFL and DVFL which are meant to be some of the elite leagues in our state, youll notice they are always bagging and abusing there tribunal systems. What needs to happen to improve it they brought in an independent tribunal and they complain they have no idea about footy where do you win. l heard from one person on the tribunal that a players penalty that was to be handed down and they had discussed his sentence one thought 10 weeks, one thought 4 weeks and the other thought a reprimand , they settled on 2 weeks so where does the logic for one the 3 different views and then the verdict come from.

And Tonna was chasing a player(god forbid) Bronco-27 and myself were in the middle of it

yes all leauges complain about there tribunal our leauge laughs at it becouse of how soft it is
i think the logic comes from the leauge directives, (there is none)
some form of set penaltys maybe, might be the solution.

but they do need a clear understanding of what is not acceptable in our comp
i also think it needs debate from clubs on what we want our tribunal to be.

as for chasing a player, lets agree to disagree and move on

I agree with you in wanting our comp to grow not shore how they can with the current teams in the comp.
this is just my idea I think the wrfl need to espan from the west suberbs and move towards the whole westen districk meaning geting the best sides from the melton area gisboune and maybe as far as ballarat and bendigo I know this would mean alot of traveling on a satday but I cant see from the bottom half of first div all any teams from the second div can get the wrfl back up there with the comps like the dvfl or edl.because int the last ten years I've played in this comp the premiers has come from the same teams.hoppers,colts,parkside,spotswood,stalbans.maybe keep sunshine and albion and then go out and poach these other clubs to join our comp and have three divs that span across the west and get rid of the likes of brunswick,westen magpies who do the comp more harm then good.I know this is a harsh on teams like yarraville and altona who are working to get there teams back up there with the best but these two clubs are around three to four years away to be any threat to the flag and by that time there might not be a wrfl.before anyone on here starts giving me a spay for my post lets hear your ideas on how we can make our comp better.

i agree with most of this (athough bit cold for my old bones up in ballarat)
the problem i see is why would other clubs want to come to our comp we need to clean up our image get the respect from the outside,
we have a lot of strong clubs already they need to take the lead and help the others get it right

Our comp is one of the only ones that has set penalties, when you get reported the umps can offer you weeks that have been set out by the league but on allot of occasions they say they want to go to the tribunal and the players ends up getting off, sometimes the umps love the tribunal attention.

Also on Bronco27 views l agree with most but every league has cellar dwellers that hang around the bottom half and sometimes finish just in the top half and go out in the first final but the clubs have history like Albion and until this year Sunshine. Sunshine were the team that always just missed or should have made it only due to a few matches during the year missed out until this year, and now that they have bleed juniors and recruited right and got a coach who is dedicated they will be a force for a lot of years to come and who knows could win a flag. So you need those teams its just that some take longer than others, Altona were a force not long ago and Glenorden have been a force in Div 2 for a while so they have the right structure in place and its a growing suburb. Yarraville as well were a strong force only 5-6 years ago, you need to remember the Colts and Hoppers only came up to Div 1 in the late late 80's or early 90's so anything can happen, the WRFL is slowly getting better the umps are very strict out there on some infringement rules and rough stuff to the point were ive heard players say this is the WRFL let it go a bit. The hard tougher stuff is what this league has been built on for years and when you speak to people in other leagues they refer to the toughness of the comp not cowardliness its been outdated that sh it, and all leagues have incidents no comp is past a stupid incident once in a while.

I think the WRFL is improving and like Bronco27 said we need to be more stringent on who is allowed in the comp. It makes me laugh to think that our comp is in the Western part of Victoria commonly know to have a lot of poorer areas than say EDFL or DVFL or EFL but we still have the highest club fees and have to buy all our canteen and jumpers off who the league tells us too its a small dictatorship.

I was the player Tonna was lining up acr2751

Our comp is one of the only ones that has set penalties, when you get reported the umps can offer you weeks that have been set out by the league but on allot of occasions they say they want to go to the tribunal and the players ends up getting off, sometimes the umps love the tribunal attention.

Also on Bronco27 views l agree with most but every league has cellar dwellers that hang around the bottom half and sometimes finish just in the top half and go out in the first final but the clubs have history like Albion and until this year Sunshine. Sunshine were the team that always just missed or should have made it only due to a few matches during the year missed out until this year, and now that they have bleed juniors and recruited right and got a coach who is dedicated they will be a force for a lot of years to come and who knows could win a flag. So you need those teams its just that some take longer than others, Altona were a force not long ago and Glenorden have been a force in Div 2 for a while so they have the right structure in place and its a growing suburb. Yarraville as well were a strong force only 5-6 years ago, you need to remember the Colts and Hoppers only came up to Div 1 in the late late 80's or early 90's so anything can happen, the WRFL is slowly getting better the umps are very strict out there on some infringement rules and rough stuff to the point were ive heard players say this is the WRFL let it go a bit. The hard tougher stuff is what this league has been built on for years and when you speak to people in other leagues they refer to the toughness of the comp not cowardliness its been outdated that sh it, and all leagues have incidents no comp is past a stupid incident once in a while.

I think the WRFL is improving and like Bronco27 said we need to be more stringent on who is allowed in the comp. It makes me laugh to think that our comp is in the Western part of Victoria commonly know to have a lot of poorer areas than say EDFL or DVFL or EFL but we still have the highest club fees and have to buy all our canteen and jumpers off who the league tells us too its a small dictatorship.

I was the player Tonna was lining up acr2751

i do agree with you on fees and suppliers but all clubs including yours and mine vote on these fees and suppliers every year

Just a division 2 no body mate. I played at colts in under 18s in 1999, was rubbish, but played with winters, debryuen, and bouchard - we were crap that year, purely cause debruyen and boyd played reserves and twomey and russo played 16s, our full team stretched the eventual premiers in our home and away match despite only winning 5 games or so for the year.

Like to keep in touch because the best players from my junior club in keenan, wells, mullen, hartshorne etc left for a better brand of football, cant blame them really.

That should answer the question for your though ;)
G.Daley also played reserves that year when he could have played 18s

Any clues to who you are mate??? i captained the 18s that year and you already named me.

Why dont you come do a pre season at the colts, what club you at now?

Well said young lady????

Can also add that those who turned up were committee people who all resinged from there previous posistions.

Letters to all past players and supporters have gone out , on the hope things can be turned around.

Bit harsh calling the Great Micka Morris a young lady. obe1

GET A LIFE FANCY BEING ON BIG FOOTY ON A SATDAY NITE!!!!

IM DEPRESSED ,BRING BACK FOOTY SEASON

I agree Rock u reckon Micka should be sitting back in the spa with a coldie on a night like tonight!!!!!!!!!!

And who would that be ?

Haha now THATS a secret but tell you wat if Altona are throwing their money around looking for players from that generation to spur them on to succeed then they should be overlooking Matty Coles n Fabiano M just my opinion though :thumbsu:

They wouldnt finish bottom they have some good players still and character wether you agree with the character, l know the incident in the final with Sunshine but even if they started it, it still takes two to tango, true Go Doggies.

Totally true and we have been punished equally, but no club could honestly stand there and say that if that happened to them they wouldn't react in the same way...... I can guarentee every club would have done the same. Unfortunatley with Parkside the incidents that occured that we know about and the ones that they have kept low key have sent the supporters packing. Their committee have had threatening phone calls from their own players to their homes and mobiles - how crazy is that, players have threatened committee memebers - coaches getting touched up, globally guys just making dills of themselves and people who volunteer are sick of it. Don't blame they either, we as vounteers fo it for the love of the game and the club...

Re: Div 1 Draw

Draw released today - no surprises with Grand Final replay Round 1 and Seddon/Yarraville up against the new boys Glenorden - any comments ?

Heard today that Parkside will fold very shortly, can anyone confirm this?

that is the rumour doing the rounds surely they wont fold, they have been a very powerful club in this competition over a long period of time with many great rivalries it would be a shame to see them extinct, would be a slap in the face to our league aswell

Story goes that they will become a junior club only. Thus, either leaving us with the dreaded bye, or Deer Park joining our ranks. Couldn't see that happening though as it wouldn't be real fair on the Lions regarding recruitment etc..