Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

I watched 4 or 5 of your teammates start jogging your way whether they got close enough for the dvd or not.

Depends what they consider misconduct. The dictionary says unacceptable or improper behaviour. The term has a pretty broad definition. Sprinting towards a spectator angry like you were in the middle of hundreds of 1. Upset Port fans, 2. Spotty people who may back the loud mouth up, I would say going by the dictionary you will be guilty, as i said before with what possibly might have eventuated.

The tribunal can come up with some funny decisions. I hope with your good record and what you have done for footy in this league you walk out pleasantly surprised.

All of your comments, observations and defenitions tell me that you want Rock hung and rubbed out for life and cant stand the guy. Thats fine because this is your thoughts and opinion. Then you come out and be nice and pretend you like him then hope things go his way at the tribunal.

Get off the fence Tony.

[/color]

All of your comments, observations and defenitions tell me that you want Rock hung and rubbed out for life and cant stand the guy. Thats fine because this is your thoughts and opinion. Then you come out and be nice and pretend you like him then hope things go his way at the tribunal.

Get off the fence Tony.

No very wrong there. Personally i hope he gets a couple for abusing the umps and can start his 2009 season early on. I was merely discussing the way the tribunal may look at it and pointing out that they make look at it for what may have happened.

I have no time for loud mouthed drunk supporters and i have posted before re rock that it's a passionate game and sometimes shit happens. Perhaps my post is not pissing in rocks pocket as half the posters do saying you did nothing, you will be alright, your the best and not saying anything too negative. I posted that he did do something wrong and how the tribunal could look at it.

I also pointed out how broad misconduct is and depending on their mindset could class practically anything as misconduct.

I will repeat i hope rock comes out of the tribunal happy, he has done a lot for footy and has a good record over a long period.

Has anyone ever lost their permit for the 16 weeks? I know that McCarthy? (or a similar name) from StKilda City recently lost his and got it back on appeal. Another Toothless Tiger?

As for Rock. I don't know that he has done any weeks previously. I am sure he will let us know.

By the way, I asked a few days back for a background on "Bull" Perkins. Does no one know ?

Hi, as far as l know James "Bull " Perkins is a Port boy. Played some games with Port Melbourne , Kingsville (FDFL) and ended his playing days with Port Colts.
I think Mark "Abo" Dawson and Mark "Fingers" Finnagan also played at Port Melbourne and Kingsville before going on to play at Port Colts. Hope this helps.

I also pointed out how broad misconduct is and depending on their mindset could class practically anything as misconduct.

I will repeat i hope rock comes out of the tribunal happy, he has done a lot for footy and has a good record over a long period.[/quote]

Opinions , opinions, opinions, lets hope the tribunal deals with the facts.

Abusive language to a field umpire - guilty plea (set penalty 2 weeks, lets assume 1 extra for offending the others)

Charged with misconduct in that he spontaneously ran towards a member of the public who was verbally abusing him and anyone else in Rocks vicinity (wife and 4 yo son included) Member of the public just happens to be a Federal Cop, at no time did Rock leave the ground to remonstrate with the said person, furthermore no member of the PMCFC acted in a way that would also be construed to be "misconduct. In fact it was the opposite with Rock turning his back on the abuse and he and all members and officials of the club moved on. Penalty???

Hi, as far as l know James "Bull " Perkins is a Port boy. Played some games with Port Melbourne , Kingsville (FDFL) and ended his playing days with Port Colts.
I think Mark "Abbo" Dawson and Mark "Fingers" Finnegan also played at Port Melbourne and Kingsville before going on to play at Port Colts. Hope this helps.

Bull was also a better than average footballer with Werribee FC.

I will repeat i hope rock comes out of the tribunal happy, he has done a lot for footy and has a good record over a long period.

Opinions , opinions, opinions, lets hope the tribunal deals with the facts.

Abusive language to a field umpire - guilty plea (set penalty 2 weeks, lets assume 1 extra for offending the others)

Charged with misconduct in that he spontaneously ran towards a member of the public who was verbally abusing him and anyone else in Rocks vicinity (wife and 4 yo son included) Member of the public just happens to be a Federal Cop, at no time did Rock leave the ground to remonstrate with the said person, furthermore no member of the PMCFC acted in a way that would also be construed to be "misconduct. In fact it was the opposite with Rock turning his back on the abuse and he and all members and officials of the club moved on. Penalty???[/quote]
does rock have a 2 week suspended sentence still in place after 2006 season.i hope not as this would be taken into consideration.

does rock have a 2 week suspended sentence still in place after 2006 season.i hope not as this would be taken into consideration.[/quote]

No weeks hanging over he's head from that reprimand and remember in that same year he was awared the best and fairest in the comp.

An award which is voted on by the men in white.:thumbsu:

Talk on SEN by Peter Schwab about banning alcohol at local suburban games, like the Ammos do!
IMO this would outrage ALL clubs with most income comes from the sale of alcohol.

Could the incident from the GF have been avoided if there were no drunken louts?
Possibly, but the consumption of alcohol should be policed by the clubs at home & away games and also finals.

Talk on SEN by Peter Schwab about banning alcohol at local suburban games, like the Ammos do!
IMO this would outrage ALL clubs with most income comes from the sale of alcohol.

Could the incident from the GF have been avoided if there were no drunken louts?
Possibly, but the consumption of alcohol should be policed by the clubs at home & away games and also finals.
The way everybody is talking on this site it sounds as people were massacred. It looked a lot worse because of the police using the capsicum spray, which was probably where the majority of the injuries were. I don't believe clubs would survive without the beer sales, unless u have the pokies youd be stuffed.

Alcohol makes for an interesting segway into this ongoing investigation.

Where ever Alcohol is served there are laws that cover the sale and consumption of it. The "responsible serving of Alcohol Policy" is mandatory for all clubs. If Schwab's point is correct then who had that responsibility on the day? There are plenty who have been critical of Rock's actions on the day but when handing out the proportion of blame, there are other points to consider. Spotswood also have a role to play in that it was clearly a past player of their club who was the prime antagonost. If correct isn't this the second time that this club is under investigation for crowd violence this year?

No drunken louts would have helped - but who will monitor the testosterone levels, which also would have played a major part. With something like the GF, if a bar decides to stop serving alcohol to someone as he is blind, then they will just send their mate next time. It is not like at clubrooms where you can see the 30 odd people and know if someone is buying a drink for a drunk mate.

Explain to me why you can be picked up in the city on a weekend for being drunk and disorderly (i.e., loud, drunk, agressive) and yet the coppers wander around the footy on GF day and say nothing.

Banning alcohol would see at a minimum 3 to 4 clubs close their doors within a season in my opinion.......it is the only revenue they have.

Soemthing better would be to have the league investigate all home and away incidents and make a reccomendation based upon the particular incident, which could result in the particular club receiving a reduced licquor license for a period of time (namely during games). Reduced licquor licencing would be a major deterrent for ANY club to ensure they manage their own crowd behaviour. Of course if this idea was brought into play the league would have to move swiftly on investigations so they were a week or less.......but clearly they are not capable of that.

Well seeing that the finals are run by the WRFL, it is up to them to take some responsibility for crowd behavior, as participating clubs have no authority over other clubs and visitors at the ground.The WRFL are looking for a scapegoat for there own shortcomings. As for the so called security at the ground, you pay peanuts you get monkeys. Did any one see WRFL officials walking the ground to check things out? :confused:

why not do as they do at music gigs, sell alchohol tickets, that seems to work. most of the other league incidents sadly happenend at juniors games. most clubs, if any don't even serve grog during junior footy matches

Alcohol makes for an interesting segway into this ongoing investigation.

Where ever Alcohol is served there are laws that cover the sale and consumption of it. The "responsible serving of Alcohol Policy" is mandatory for all clubs. If Schwab's point is correct then who had that responsibility on the day? There are plenty who have been critical of Rock's actions on the day but when handing out the proportion of blame, there are other points to consider. Spotswood also have a role to play in that it was clearly a past player of their club who was the prime antagonost. If correct isn't this the second time that this club is under investigation for crowd violence this year?

Are you saying that Spotty is the common denominator here so therefore they are the bad eggs? Just not sure what your getting at.
Since we have no knowledge of the finding of the investigation into the earlier incident, there's no official blame on anyone yet.
As for the past player, do you think he got the reaction that he was after?

[/b]

Are you saying that Spotty is the common denominator here so therefore they are the bad eggs? Just not sure what your getting at.
Since we have no knowledge of the finding of the investigation into the earlier incident, there's no official blame on anyone yet.

I think obe1 is trying to make a point that i should not be responsible for what happened, as there were alot of factors that lead to what happened but to blame just one person does not seem right.
Spotswood have nothing to answer to either in my opinion, a past player that has nothing to do with the club anymore can't be the clubs responsability, just as people that jumped on the colts bandwagon at gf, that most at the club have no idea who they are.
People are also saying the wrfl could be responsible for the serving of alcohol or the lack of security, they could not for see what was coming, nor can they be held responsible of drunken peoples actions.
However with the publicity the league want to be seen ruling with a firm hand as they should and it looks as though i will be the scapegoat, mark my words here, i have no chance of a fair hearing, with the wrfl president and ceo giving evidence against me for misconduct and they are the people that choose the tribunal members, i think my fate is already set.
I hope i'm wrong...................

[/b]

But didn't that past player get the reaction he deserved,or was that another mouth.

[/b]

I thinks Rocks post sums up my thoughts pretty well, I am not casting guilt/innocence on any party, only stating the facts. Is anything that I said untrue?

Well seeing that the finals are run by the WRFL, it is up to them to take some responsibility for crowd behavior, as participating clubs have no authority over other clubs and visitors at the ground.The WRFL are looking for a scapegoat for there own shortcomings. As for the so called security at the ground, you pay peanuts you get monkeys. Did any one see WRFL officials walking the ground to check things out? :confused:

With regards to responsible serving of alcohol etc...the onus was on Yarraville/Seddon as they won the tender to host the finals. WRFL get the gate takings and nothing more from finals. In my opinion, it is done this way specifically to avoid direct responsibility for the exact things that occured on GF day. The only part the WRFL had direct control over was security................

Just a thought for you guys to digest and to move away from Rocks incident. I have been reading the posts since the game and all and sundry have indicated that the incident was caused by drunken louts?? What is the definition of a drunk? A drunk is defined as being unsteady on there feet, slurred speach, bloodshot eyes and smelling strongly of intoxicating liquor! Having seen the incident from a distance the inference that the incident was caused by drunks is incorrect. The incident was caused by people who would have a couple of drinks and saw an opportunity to make a name for themselves and have something to talk about later. It's called a pack mentality regardless of how many drinks these idiots consume they would look for a fight at the first given opportunity. These types of people would only have a couple of drinks at any given stage and wait and hope for a target to pick off. 90% of drunks can't fight because as I stated previously they normally just fall over. I could not see the need for the capsicum spray to be used given the circumstances and if they cops were outnumbered which was very clear, why not wait on the outskirts and pick up what was left?? If these people see the need to get involved in a blue good luck to them and if they get a whack so be it! To ban grog at surburban games would kill a lot of clubs off because of the revenue it raises for each club. A couple of clubs over the past years have had designated drinking areas. Roped off areas where they can have a drink. It is easier to control the consumers of grog and easier to identify the trouble makers that hang around. When in a controlled enviroment idiots are easily identifyable to all and sundry. Thats when the clubs can make a stand and get these people to pull their heads in or go away. Banning grog at games is a narrow minded knee jerk reaction. Education and observations will clean a lot of s#$t out of clubs before trouble starts. If a person is barred from one club why dont the clubs get together and circulate the name of the person to the rest of the clubs? Better communication between clubs would help also. Just a couple of thoughts to a problem that seems to be going around in circles.
One last thing and I am not from either club involved. What Rock did was dumb and he has admitted that but he did not carry on in such a way to incite the idiots. The idiots took care of that themselves who as I said earlier saw an opportunity for a blue and jumped at the chance again!!

One last thing and I am not from either club involved. What Rock did was dumb and he has admitted that but he did not carry on in such a way to incite the idiots. The idiots took care of that themselves who as I said earlier saw an opportunity for a blue and jumped at the chance again!![/quote

Lets hope the IH tribunal interrupts the charge with the same logic as yourself.

With regards to responsible serving of alcohol etc...the onus was on Yarraville/Seddon as they won the tender to host the finals. WRFL get the gate takings and nothing more from finals. In my opinion, it is done this way specifically to avoid direct responsibility for the exact things that occured on GF day. The only part the WRFL had direct control over was security................

The blame deflection continues, from what i saw, only cans were being sold and there was signage around stating no alcohol to be brought into the ground. Why were players and officials from earlier games drinking Crownies and other glass bottled drinks? I thought it was a league directive that no alcohol was to brought into the ground. And why did the inadequate security guards decide to open up all the gates at half time so the locals and others can walk over to the pub and bring back what ever alcohol they want. The more you scratch the deeper the issue will get!

I think obe1 is trying to make a point that i should not be responsible for what happened, as there were alot of factors that lead to what happened but to blame just one person does not seem right.
Spotswood have nothing to answer to either in my opinion, a past player that has nothing to do with the club anymore can't be the clubs responsability, just as people that jumped on the colts bandwagon at gf, that most at the club have no idea who they are.
People are also saying the wrfl could be responsible for the serving of alcohol or the lack of security, they could not for see what was coming, nor can they be held responsible of drunken peoples actions.
However with the publicity the league want to be seen ruling with a firm hand as they should and it looks as though i will be the scapegoat, mark my words here, i have no chance of a fair hearing, with the wrfl president and ceo giving evidence against me for misconduct and they are the people that choose the tribunal members, i think my fate is already set.
I hope i'm wrong...................

They have to be someones responsability clubs cant have full and total control over there supporters but have to take responsabilty for them.
surely our leauge has no future if clubs dont work with the league on crowd behaviour at all games
when some one plays up in the crowd it reflects poorly on the club that person is supporting and then it reflects on our whole league.

what happened at the grand final was disgracefull and a embarssement for every club in our league surley there is nothing that could justify a brawl to that extent over a game of bloody football, how lucky was it that none of the kids that attended the game got hurt.

how many of our clubs had incidents with crowds this year?
how many clubs dealt with or at least tried to deal with these incidents themselves?
how many of these incidents did the clubs cover up with blind support of these people?
how can a league investergations reach any conclusion when clubs dont support the investergation?

over the years i have been in league headquters and seen the threats they have gotten,i have spoken to ex league presidents who have had to move out of there houses while investergations were being carried on becouse of these threats.

i have seen at least 4 clubs from our league that did nothing about there supporters and hangers on but blindly support to the point that those clubs are now no longer around.

the I.H.C panel has been in place for a long time, well before JB and DN were part of our league they will deal with the facts without influence from them and your long standing good service to the league has to be taken in to account.

The blame deflection continues, from what i saw, only cans were being sold and there was signage around stating no alcohol to be brought into the ground. Why were players and officials from earlier games drinking Crownies and other glass bottled drinks? I thought it was a league directive that no alcohol was to brought into the ground. And why did the inadequate security guards decide to open up all the gates at half time so the locals and others can walk over to the pub and bring back what ever alcohol they want. The more you scratch the deeper the issue will get!

Wasn't blaming anyone bud. Just pointing out the way the WRFL have structured things. Being heavily involved with my own club, I know full-well how hard it is to monitor these things (alcoholism etc...), let-alone police it.

the I.H.C panel has been in place for a long time, well before JB and DN were part of our league they will deal with the facts without influence from them and your long standing good service to the league has to be taken in to account.

There is no intention on our behalf to cover up anything that we are responsible for in regards to this game. We have stated from the start that we do not and will not accept this behaviour. Rock has openly apologized for his part in it and is 100% remorsfull of his actions.

Reading between the lines of your post- your not on the Independent Tribunal are you?