• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

or here's a more recent shot
24172962_451f34da6e.jpg

Another topic expect the wrfl senior team to have representitive team next year...WHAT ARE PLAYERS THOUGHTS????
After all the negative publicity the Comp ahs copped I reckon this would be a great way for the WRFL to lift its profile and prove to the rest of the surburban leagues that we are a legitimate powerful competition. It would be great initiative in my opinion.

Would there be more of a ...................say an understanding between clubs if 2 plus players from each club trained together, some sort of comradely between players/clubs, would this possibly settle some piss poor performances by hang ons at ALL clubs????

We may be members and supporters of a Club but at the end of the day we are all in the same LEAGUE!!!:thumbsu:

Would there be more of a ...................say an understanding between clubs if 2 plus players from each club trained together, some sort of comradely between players/clubs, would this possibly settle some piss poor performances by hang ons at ALL clubs????

We may be members and supporters of a Club but at the end of the day we are all in the same LEAGUE!!!:thumbsu:

I think that generally there is a healthy respect and camaraderie between most players within the league.

If going with the interleague concept, it should not be limited to two players per team. This would diminish the overall talent pool for the side. Imagine the calibre of players that would miss out if only two players from each club were invited.

Spotty for example:
Players invited- okeef and Keenan. If this was the case there are players like kelly, harris, mangan, etc would miss out.

MY FIVE Sunshine nominations for the 2009 WRFL interleague training squad:
Foley
Millar
Mentha (if fit)
Linton
Bright

On a roll here, but BREAKING NEWS..... hot off the press

BRAD JULIER- 2008 Priest medalist.

No other information at this stage.

I think that generally there is a healthy respect and camaraderie between most players within the league.

If going with the interleague concept, it should not be limited to two players per team. This would diminish the overall talent pool for the side. Imagine the calibre of players that would miss out if only two players from each club were invited.

Spotty for example:
Players invited- okeef and Keenan. If this was the case there are players like kelly, harris, mangan, etc would miss out.

MY FIVE Sunshine nominations for the 2009 WRFL interleague training squad:
Foley
Millar
Mentha (if fit)
Linton
Bright

Atleast two!!
The Cats...
B.Hyett
B.Richards
B.Davis
C.Hall
J.Dorwood
obviously before the cut and before the coaches are selected!!!!!!

Atleast two!!
The Cats...
B.Hyett
B.Richards
B.Davis
C.Hall
J.Dorwood
obviously before the cut and before the coaches are selected!!!!!!

Right yeah sorry, 2 plus.

Interesting that you have left Barker and Right Footer's mate Butina out of the five.

Right yeah sorry, 2 plus.

Interesting that you have left Barker and Right Footer's mate Butina out of the five.

Barker past his prime but will always be in the mix being a previous Priest winner............forgot about the wonder kid CRAZY Jason Butina!!

I admit there would be no West players but i've just seen 5 Sunshine nominations, 5 Albion nominations (but you forgot Crusty and Butina) who would be your first 2 so that makes 7), where do we fit the Spotswood, Port Colts, St.Albans, Hoppers and a couple of good players from Glenorden and Altona?

Maybe we should have two sides? ha ha....

Maybe we should squeeze the Sunshine players out, besides Anzac day none of them stood up....

I admit there would be no West players but i've just seen 5 Sunshine nominations, 5 Albion nominations (but you forgot Crusty and Butina) who would be your first 2 so that makes 7), where do we fit the Spotswood, Port Colts, St.Albans, Hoppers and a couple of good players from Glenorden and Altona?

Maybe we should have two sides? ha ha....

Maybe we should squeeze the Sunshine players out, besides Anzac day none of them stood up....

Just five nominations for the training squad rooster. Surely you could nominate five players for the training squad? At least it will give a few boys something to get excited about.

Any updates on how the roosters are going off the field. I did hear that there may have been some pressing issues between the club and the local council?

Just five nominations for the training squad rooster. Surely you could nominate five players for the training squad? At least it will give a few boys something to get excited about.

Any updates on how the roosters are going off the field. I did hear that there may have been some pressing issues between the club and the local council?

Is the council not allowing the club to mark the boundary half way up the hill anymore?
Ok, serious question, what was the issue with the council, Trav?

Is the council not allowing the club to mark the boundary half way up the hill anymore?
Ok, serious question, what was the issue with the council, Trav?

I asked rooster to provide an update as i did hear that the club may not have gone through the necessary building or planning permit procedure for some works on their um .. clubroom like structure there.

Something regarding their liquor license was also floating around a month or so ago.

Any update from anyone in the know would be good.

Harris would have to be the player, but who would want him to be a coach, everygame I saw him play all he did was sook if the ball didn't get kicked to him.
Kick it to me! Kick it to me!

Spotty could only be lucky if he takes the job.... Very true what you say about him as a footballer very selfish..... Heard he was a sooky la la at training also :p

I just found this on another thread:

went down to watch Balwyn vs Vermont in the Divison 1 EFL grand final. With a crowd of around 10000 people watching on. With Patrick Bowden, Joel Smith, Nick Smith, Sam Cranage, Adam Morgan, Brett Moyle, Daniel Harford, Alan Murray all playing for Balwyn.

I wonder if any of our WRFL sides could match that, pretty good side right there

You know the answer to that and you would also know why that can't be matched by any side in the WRFL. It's called the almighty Dollar and you'd be hard pressed to find any side who could afford two let alone all of those names.
I wonder where their juniors go once they hit 19?

in all honesty id say our league representative side would struggle against a balwyn or vermont.

just look at clubs like Noble Park who are open 7 days as a restaurant, have pokies and tab facilities not to mention plenty of people who contribute.

correct me if i'm wrong, but a donation to a footy club is tax deductible, if so that would probably be the reason why all the toffs from the east throw money behind these clubs.

what will happen with the division one if west footscray dont have a ground next year?
surely you couldnt keep yarraville in the A1s, there worse than west.

Yarraville/Seddon wouldnt be too keen to stay in Division 1

Next in line would have to be North Footscray
Certainly have the ground to go into Division one and it appears they have their act together off the field as well. They would need to improve their playing stocks before they could consider a move up. They didn't look like they had much on grandfinal day against Sunshine Heights.

Yarraville/Seddon wouldnt be too keen to stay in Division 1

Next in line would have to be North Footscray

You need to earn your way into DIV one, not get it handed to you.
I would rather see Yarraville / Seddon stay up, than DIV 2 Runners up promoted.
Regardless of which division Wests were in its pretty hard if you dont have a ground. So do they fold?
Bones would be in more newspapers than Eddy Everywhere, if the council follow through as suggested.