What are West Coast trying to do?

Your non-sequitur, substance free, subterranean argument is redundant in this entire thread.

But keep splitting hairs and adding the previously non-existent qualifying term 'original' to it.

Just makes the whole thing more amusing.

My post and point was pretty clear and factual.

Yours is just an amusing rant. Carry on. Please.....carry on.

I get it. It was a steep price paid for a 29 year old fullback with back issues. Massive price to pay.

A 1st a 2nd AND a 3rd round pick. Eagles currently hold two clubs worth of future picks. Two 1sts, 2 2nds and 2 3rds.

All factual. No hairs to be split there mate. None at all.

My post and point was pretty clear and factual.

Yours is just an amusing rant. Carry on. Please.....carry on.

I get it. It was a steep price paid for a 29 year old fullback with back issues. Massive price to pay.

A 1st a 2nd AND a 3rd round pick. Eagles currently hold two clubs worth of future picks. Two 1sts, 2 2nds and 2 3rds.

All factual. No hairs to be split there mate. None at all.
Hawthorn still have Carlton future first, so it was the equivalent of a 2nd and a 3rd rounder for him

West Coast list management is diabolical.

How do you trade out good players and worsen your draft hand at the same time?

I cannot imagine them being competitive until at least 2030.

How is the Eagles draft hand worse? They currently hold in realisty two clubs draft hands in 2025.

Expect some of those to be traded back into 2024 either before or on draft night.

Hawthorn still have Carlton future first, so it was the equivalent of a 2nd and a 3rd rounder for him

Totally different conversation.

What was traded for Barrass?

What Hawks picks do the Eagles now hold? After trading Barrass?

What you are discussing is a totally different trade. Nothing to do with the Barrass trade. Hawks traded their 2024 1st for Blues 2025 1st. Nothing to do with the Barrass trade.

To answer the OP, West Coast are trying to keep Harley Reid around long term. To do that, they've decided they need to show continuous improvement so that Reid doesn't feel like he has to leave to contend for flags. Losing Barrass sets them back in the short term, so they felt they had to get a decent veteran like Baker in to keep the steady improvement going. That part makes some sense at least.

The problem is, they got so fixated on Baker that they took significant unders on pick 3 to make it happen. They forgot that part of getting Reid to stay 5 years down the track isn't just making finals, but having the talent to win a flag, which Jagga or Draper would contribute to significantly. They should have made the deal with Hawthorn first up so they could keep pick 3, or told Hawthorn to kiss Barrass goodbye once they made the deal with Carlton, instead of getting short changed.

As an outsider looking into the club I am genuinely confused as to what they're doing with their list, they haven't bottomed out yet, they still have numerous older players yet to hang up the boots, yet they've decided to bring in 3 mature age players, and opted to trade away their #3 draft pick when ideally this is the time they'd be trying to stock pile young players and develop them as part of their future core, do they genuinely believe they can make one last gasp effort for finals?

I don't know, the Fremantle supporter in me would be happy to see them down the bottom for years to come, but the objective part of me is just wondering whether this is strategic or pure incompetence on their behalf?
Numerous older players hey?

The only older players left on the list are AA McGovern & Cripps who was still playing good footy but dropped away at the end of the season.

That’s 2 guys both with 1 year contracts. You could add Sheed who’s 29 but his foot is cooked & he will be gone next year I’d say.

We have moved on the rest of the older players over the last 2 off-seasons. Darling, Gaff, Shuey, NN, Darling & so on.

To answer the OP, West Coast are trying to keep Harley Reid around long term. To do that, they've decided they need to show continuous improvement so that Reid doesn't feel like he has to leave to contend for flags. Losing Barrass sets them back in the short term, so they felt they had to get a decent veteran like Baker in to keep the steady improvement going. That part makes some sense at least.

The problem is, they got so fixated on Baker that they took significant unders on pick 3 to make it happen. They forgot that part of getting Reid to stay 5 years down the track isn't just making finals, but having the talent to win a flag, which Jagga or Draper would contribute to significantly. They should have made the deal with Hawthorn first up so they could keep pick 3, or told Hawthorn to kiss Barrass goodbye once they made the deal with Carlton, instead of getting short changed.
There's a better top end next year + Chad Warner potentially coming to the club. Nobody we take in this draft is likely to make any difference next year but Baker, Graham and Owies will.

Don't get me wrong, not happy with the return on the trade but at least WCE currently have the strongest hand for next year.

Numerous older players hey?

The only older players left on the list are AA McGovern & Cripps who was still playing good footy but dropped away at the end of the season.

That’s 2 guys both with 1 year contracts. You could add Sheed who’s 29 but his foot is cooked & he will be gone next year I’d say.

We have moved on the rest of the older players over the last 2 off-seasons. Darling, Gaff, Shuey, NN, Darling & so on.
Kelly? Yeo? Hunt?

There's a better top end next year + Chad Warner potentially coming to the club. Nobody we take in this draft is likely to make any difference next year but Baker, Graham and Owies will.

Don't get me wrong, not happy with the return on the trade but at least WCE currently have the strongest hand for next year.
I agree this is good for next year. If that helps convince Reid to stick around, then there's a real positive from that. It's just that in five years, unless whoever they take at 12 outperforms whoever they would have taken at 3, it's not as good as it could have been. I think there was a sound principle behind West Coast's approach to the offseason (even if I wouldn't have followed it myself) but the execution has been poor.

It may but whoever we would've taken at pick 3 has as much chance as being as good as Hewett in 5 years(presuming his foot is right, all reports are positive), as does whoever we take with our first pick next year.

Steadying the ship and setting a baseline for next year is just as important as pushing for finals in 5 years, IMO.

If it was a top end like most other years then WCE fans would certainly be even more ropeable with the trade for pick 3 but list management is done in isolation to one year only, it's a long term strategy.

It's different to what other clubs have done but as we know, clubs who've gone complete slash & burn haven't been successful yet, so maybe the team at WCE have taken that into consideration and gone a different path.

Kelly? Yeo? Hunt?
Yep. I missed those 3. Hunt only turns 30 next year. Kelly had a late start to his AFL career so hopefully last a few years longer & Yeo showed this year with a new fitness program that he’s still quality.

The OP made it sound like it’s a complete disaster & we haven’t moved anyone on. We where carrying older players but all the ones left are still going fine IMO

Eagles were looking for support for the kids and to set standards. They landed Graham for free to help Reid and Kelly.

Baker at half back.

Owies the gut running pressure forward.
eagles got Jack Graham, Liam Baker and Mitch Owies vis trades.

Graham is 180 cm and 80 kgs. Not elite but versatile. He will easily be in the eagles 23 in 2025.

Baker at half back? Probably. Baker is 173 cm. Can play back flank, forward flank or on a wing.

Owies is a solid pick up if his last 2 seasons is Anything to go by. 27 goals from 18 games in 2023. 33 goals from 23 games in 2024. Yeah bery likely to play 18 to 20 game for the eagles in 2025. Owies is a good pick up from Carlton. Eagles have a few blokes that can play small forward in Dewar, Brockman and Ryan (when fit)

Graham is 180 cm and 80 kgs. Not elite but versatile. He will easily be in the eagles 23 in 2025.

Baker at half back? Probably. Baker is 173 cm. Can play back flank, forward flank or on a wing.

Owies is a solid pick up if his last 2 seasons is Anything to go by. 27 goals from 18 games in 2023. 33 goals from 23 games in 2024. Yeah bery likely to play 18 to 20 game for the eagles in 2025. Owies is a good pick up from Carlton. Eagles have a few blokes that can play small forward in Dewar, Brockman and Ryan (when fit)

Just having the 3 mentioned above playing best 22 gives a few younger eagles the chance to develop in the 2s.

Injuries meant young players being thrown to the wolves before they were ready and that can hit confidence hard.

I know this definitely has to be sarcasm coming from a freo supporter. The game has gone past players like Graham, on a fast oval like optus he will get found out even more. Owies is 28 and had 2 ok seasons in a team contending. Those opportunities won't be coming to him like he received at Carlton. Baker was one of the worst trades of recent history. But if all this means they can win a couple more games and be competitive to keep harley happy before he leaves them in 2/3 years the club would probably take that.

Just having the 3 mentioned above playing best 22 gives a few younger eagles the chance to develop in the 2s.

Injuries meant young players being thrown to the wolves before they were ready and that can hit confidence hard.
True. But eagles have a good choice of tall and small forwards.

I did post a bit about ty Dewar as he was playing ok WAFL footy in the 1st half of 2024 and got a few AFL games.

You can't say Brockman and owies are kids though.

Eagles with all 45 players available means a competitive eagles AFL side and competitive WAFL side.

Your side has strict rules in the WAFL. Eagles at best can field in their WAFL best 22 at most 14 or 15 eagles listed players on the WAFL game day squad. The rest are filled with amateurs or blokes that haven't played WAFL for 2 seasons.

So if the eagles main squad is hit by injuries, it also hurts the WAFL eagles side. 2022 season is a good example of this

I know this definitely has to be sarcasm coming from a freo supporter. The game has gone past players like Graham, on a fast oval like optus he will get found out even more. Owies is 28 and had 2 ok seasons in a team contending. Those opportunities won't be coming to him like he received at Carlton. Baker was one of the worst trades of recent history. But if all this means they can win a couple more games and be competitive to keep harley happy before he leaves them in 2/3 years the club would probably take that.
Not being sarcastic. Eagles needed some cheap and experienced players.

As I said, jack Graham is either a B or C grader.

Yeah the Baker trade was one of the worst in recent memory . As I said , baker only did 7 seasons at Richmond. One more season, Meant that he was a free agent.

I reckon Richmond would of got pick 21 or 22 as compo had that happened.

Baker will be a solid servant at the eagles.

I am predicting Owies to kick between 25 to 30 goals next season.

Eagles will struggle in 2025. But I just can't see them get the wooden spoon.

True. But eagles have a good choice of tall and small forwards.

I did post a bit about ty Dewar as he was playing ok WAFL footy in the 1st half of 2024 and got a few AFL games.

You can't say Brockman and owies are kids though.

Eagles with all 45 players available means a competitive eagles AFL side and competitive WAFL side.

Your side has strict rules in the WAFL. Eagles at best can field in their WAFL best 22 at most 14 or 15 eagles listed players on the WAFL game day squad. The rest are filled with amateurs or blokes that haven't played WAFL for 2 seasons.

So if the eagles main squad is hit by injuries, it also hurts the WAFL eagles side. 2022 season is a good example of this

You're spot on re. our WAFL team and the restrictions/ injuries from 2022.

Freo have definitely been able to develop their younger players with their alignment with Peel.

Peel having a reserves team is such a bonus as the raw players can continue developing against younger less mature bodies.

What are West Coast trying to do?