What economic crisis - Hawks will break the all time record membership total in 2009

Eagles have about 44K ticketed members IIRC.

We have pretty much been in the top 3 for Vic membership each year since 1997.

We don't have the most 'fans' - we would have 50% of Collingwood's 'fans' - but by the end of 2009 we will have the most supporters.
That is more important.

And, given that we are easily the most successful club of the past 40 years, it is about time.

Essendon were nobodies in the '70s, Pies & Tiges likewise in the mid - late 80s. Hawks have had a decade being dormant (94-04),

Unkile many other clubs, we worked our way out of it all on our own - despite being shafted from our home ground - no handouts. Just hard work and good management. We deserve to be Number One and we are - on and off the field.

How many of these early memberships are auto renewals? Some clubs have 'em, some don't. That's a major reason for the discrepancy between some of the clubs and North, who for some reason either don't have that option or few people took it up.

Hawthorn's bandwagon is sure to slow up after Christmas I'd think.

"This year I invested in pumpkins. They've been going up the whole month of October and I got a feeling they're gonna peak right around January. Then BANG! That's when I'll cash in"

Unkile many other clubs, we worked our way out of it all on our own - despite being shafted from our home ground - no handouts. Just hard work and good management. We deserve to be Number One and we are - on and off the field.

I think I speak for all the fans of the other 15 clubs when I say how thankful, honoured and privileged we feel to be allowed to be in the same competition as Hawthorn. Was there a shaft of heavenly light illuminating your chair as you typed that?

A great effort by WC, if you already have 40,000 members. It sure makes a big difference if there are only 2 clubs in a big state like W.A. How many did you end up with this year?
Around 45,000 last year of ticketed memberships only (normal or Victorian, depending on where you live). If you include non-ticketed, which costs around $50-100, depending on your choice of package, there were more than 55,000.

Many clubs figures are up and the Hawks are aleady well over half way to be the first club to 51,000 members (over 27K ticketed already).

Footy will be bigger than ever next year with Blues, Tiges, Hawks, Pies & Bombers likely to be over 40K.

That will put even more pressure on the weaker teams if they can only get 25K members.
I have a feeling that the divide between rich and poor is going to widen.
Watch for relocation packages to GC & WS to be on the agenda again in 2009/10 as the AFL uses the 'GFC' to get what they want.

I think Richmonds supporter base is bigger than people give it credit.

The trouble with Richmond is we don't all live in Toorak and jump on bandwagons.

Eagles have about 44K ticketed members IIRC.

We have pretty much been in the top 3 for Vic membership each year since 1997.

We don't have the most 'fans' - we would have 50% of Collingwood's 'fans' - but by the end of 2009 we will have the most supporters.
That is more important.

And, given that we are easily the most successful club of the past 40 years, it is about time.

Essendon were nobodies in the '70s, Pies & Tiges likewise in the mid - late 80s. Hawks have had a decade being dormant (94-04),

Exactly

No better example of this then Hawthorn and Richmond, Richmond (and Carlton) have more 'fans' then Hawthorn but the socio economic positions of both fan bases means that a club like Hawthorn will have a better supporter to fan ratio.

If the Hawks can take off over the next 5-10 years and have more sustained success they should expand their 'fan base' like Essendon did in the '80s and '90s and the supporter to member ratio will drop but crowd size and TV ratings increase

Same applies to Collingwood, but thanks to their sheer number of fans they always have heaps of members regardless of their poor supporter to member ratio

I think Richmonds supporter base is bigger than people give it credit.

The trouble with Richmond is we don't all live in Toorak and jump on bandwagons.

you are a nob. The majority of hawthorns support comes from the Waverly Disctrict (Roweville, Mulgrave, Mt Waverly, Glen Waverly) and the majority of Hawthorn's support is working class.

I would bet you Richmond has far more "fair weather" supporters then the Hawks. I mean a hasbeen gets recuited and you get 5000 people on board

Hawks smashola the 30,000 barrier...50,000 is inevitable

Hawks break through 30,000

Thursday 18 December 2008

Hawthorn Football Club is setting new membership records, being the first Victorian AFL Club ever to break through 30,000 members before Christmas.

The Hawks have signed up 30,087 members already, with 19,214 members signed up at the same time last year. With an increase of 57 per cent in membership to date, of which 22 per cent are new members, the Hawks are closing in fast on last season’s record membership of 41,686.

Hawthorn president Jeff Kennett was delighted with the news, particularly the amount of new or lapsed members who had signed up to show their support for the Club as members and the growth of membership in Tasmania.

“The team has shown over the last few seasons that there are exciting times ahead for the Club and it is encouraging that so many supporters have backed the Club as financial members,” said Kennett.

“Tasmanians continue to get behind the Club with 3,753 members already signed up for the 2009 season (2008 total: 4,200), of which 29 per cent are new members to the Hawks.”

“The Hawthorn Football Club is committed to becoming the first Victorian AFL Club to have a membership base of over 50,000 members, a pillar of our five2fifty business plan, and today’s milestone is a strong indicator that 50,000 members is achievable.”

Reserve seat membership sales are in high demand with Hawthorn members with 17,000 sales already (2008 total: 14,500), while the Club’s Direct Debit payment plan is proving popular.

Hawthorn has today confirmed it has passed 30k members, first club before christmas to do so.

Rather than start a urinating contest, i wish to remind clubs outside the "big 1" that revenue from memberships is what counts - we could have 10,000 dogs and cats signed up in our 30,000, bottom line is the club makes money

Reserve seat membership sales are in high demand with Hawthorn members with 17,000 sales already (2008 total: 14,500), while the Club’s Direct Debit payment plan is proving popular.

those 17k members will raise more than most club memberships total

Re: Hawks smashola the 30,000 barrier...50,000 is inevitable

Wow, that is an amazing stat. Good luck to getting to 50, and ignore cries of Bandwagoners. I for one am not entirely confident that you'll get to 50, I think alot would have signed up early in premiership celebration or to sure up GF tickets for next year, but good luck and its a good figure regardless

Awesome news, 30k.

Jeez we have a heap of bangwagoner supporters though. Quite incredible really.

Have other clubs had such huge membership upswings when they've had a few good years?

Fantastic work- well done to the club and our passionate members. Hope we can break the 50k mark- keep spreading the gospel of Luke and Mark!! :)

While this is great I really don't know about the whole 50k.

Current members had to sign up early to retain their current packages so this accounts for part of the increase in pre-christmas sales. It's great news for the hawks but I wouldn't be getting to carried away.

I won't claim 50,000 as a fait accompli yet, but something over 47,000 is easily on the cards, with @ 6,000 who weren't members last year signing on already.

I must admit, I thought the 50,000 idea was a pie in the sky ambit, but....

the positive support of Tasmanian's would make Jeff very happy. They would probably be hoping for around 5,000 tasmanians which is a huge achievement i reckon...and a clear indication of why Tasi should get its own team. They get behind a club...even if it is Victorian.

Thats a nice little sweetner on the membership tally for the Hawks.

Wow, times have really changed. I remember when Hawthorn supporters were almost a rarity. Now they're all over the bloody place. I think we're getting very close to the likes of Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton and Richmond.

Rather than start a urinating contest, i wish to remind minnow clubs outside the "big 1" that revenue from memberships is what counts - we could have 10,000 dogs and cats signed up in our 30,000, bottom line is the club makes money

Contradicting your self much?? No need for that at all:thumbsdown:

Wow, times have really changed. I remember when Hawthorn supporters were almost a rarity. Now they're all over the bloody place. I think we're getting very close to the likes of Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton and Richmond.

Exactly, don't know where all these Hawk fans were during the bad old days of 2003 - 2006?? Maybe we have taken over from the Dee's as the Bandwagon club?

there aren't that many hawk fans, it's a well-known fact that signing up our pets is how the membership tally has got so high. i have an aquarium full of fish and all of them are paid-up hawks members.

Wow a club that just won a premiership experiencing a surge in memberships, never saw that coming!

What economic crisis - Hawks will break the all time record membership total in 2009