Discussion What Footy Jumpers/Sports Uniforms Do You Own?

If only!

Here's my latest addition - I think some of the WA collectors here will have an appreciation for this one too.

Graham 'Polly' Farmer's signed and match worn Western Australia State guernsey from the 1959 State game. Was recently on display in the National Sports Museum at the MCG.:

96dwlf.jpg
rgymbc.jpg

ml04yw.jpg
b9ag3k.jpg
30bzd4g.jpg
Did you steal it from the NSM..?

If only!

Here's my latest addition - I think some of the WA collectors here will have an appreciation for this one too.

Graham 'Polly' Farmer's signed and match worn Western Australia State guernsey from the 1959 State game. Was recently on display in the National Sports Museum at the MCG.:

96dwlf.jpg
rgymbc.jpg

ml04yw.jpg
b9ag3k.jpg
30bzd4g.jpg
Wtf! How'd you get that!!

If only!

96dwlf.jpg
rgymbc.jpg

ml04yw.jpg
b9ag3k.jpg
30bzd4g.jpg
Holy ****.

The money that is worth. Hands down the most impressive jumper I've seen on this site.

I was pretty happy as I'd missed out on a couple of other Purple Haze jumpers. I've now got 4 Purple Haze PIs - Medhurst, Fyfe, Ibbotson and Duffield.

The Fyfe one cost me $138 as the seller didn't mention Fyfe in the advert, it was incorrectly listed as Mzungu's (who wore #13 from 2011 -).

When I looked at these jumpers together I also noticed the style of pouches made by ISC has changed in 2014 as the 2013 ones are more bulky in general, with an extra layer of the padded material they are made of at the back of the pouch and with raised binding around the edges, while the 2014 ISC pouches are flatter.
It was the 2013 Port jumper (the prison bars one) that had the larger GPS pocket, the white 2014 one was smaller. I've got a few 2012 ISC made jumpers and the GPS pocket is black with white trim, not all black.

Love the Port Magpies jumper you have, I still want one of those!

I was pretty happy as I'd missed out on a couple of other Purple Haze jumpers. I've now got 4 Purple Haze PIs - Medhurst, Fyfe, Ibbotson and Duffield.

The Fyfe one cost me $138 as the seller didn't mention Fyfe in the advert, it was incorrectly listed as Mzungu's (who wore #13 from 2011 -).

Wow that's ridiculous!! I love it when people stuff up their adverts and you score a beauty! As always let me know if you want to sell any

If only!

96dwlf.jpg
rgymbc.jpg

ml04yw.jpg
b9ag3k.jpg
30bzd4g.jpg
Well done mate, saw that on eBay, lotta money spent on it congrats

If only!

96dwlf.jpg
rgymbc.jpg

ml04yw.jpg
b9ag3k.jpg
30bzd4g.jpg
When this jumper was listed I was very keen but the more I investigated it, I realised it wasn't Polly Farmers

IMO Polly never wore 16 for WA. I have trawled through every state game programme from the 50-57 era (which this design is from) and found polly to have only worn 3 numbers. From memory those numbers were 2,12 and 25. I even went to the lengths of looking to see if polly was a late replacement and if he played in any 2nd 18 games like when North Melbourne toured wa in the early 50s, but he wasn't and didn't.

I alerted the seller to these facts and asked him to explain, he said he has a CoA! which means nothing to me but everything to some.

I have a theory on how the jumper ended it being displayed as it is but it is best for me not to put it out there

When this jumper was listed I was very keen but the more I investigated it, I realised it wasn't Polly Farmers

IMO Polly never wore 16 for WA. I have trawled through every state game programme from the 50-57 era (which this design is from) and found polly to have only worn 3 numbers. From memory those numbers were 2,12 and 25. I even went to the lengths of looking to see if polly was a late replacement and if he played in any 2nd 18 games like when North Melbourne toured wa in the early 50s, but he wasn't and didn't.

I alerted the seller to these facts and asked him to explain, he said he has a CoA! which means nothing to me but everything to some.

I have a theory on how the jumper ended it being displayed as it is but it is best for me not to put it out there

Understand the skepticism, given I had my own too when I performed my due diligence on the item beforehand. In fact, I'm also usually of the view that generally COA's mean nothing (with many coming from questionable places).

But in this case I'm comfortable with the accompanying certification, given that it's come directly from both the AFL's Premiership Players Club organisation and the the AFL Players Association (both reputable organisations in my eyes) with a note from Polly too. Would love to have something like a team sheet from the match itself but given the circumstances I'm happy with what's been provided.

Understand the skepticism, given I had my own too when I performed my due diligence on the item beforehand. In fact, I'm also usually of the view that generally COA's mean nothing (with many coming from questionable places).

But in this case I'm comfortable with the accompanying certification, given that it's come directly from both the AFL's Premiership Players Club organisation and the the AFL Players Association (both reputable organisations in my eyes) with a note from Polly too. Would love to have something like a team sheet from the match itself but given the circumstances I'm happy with what's been provided.
No worries, If you are happy to go with that then who am I to argue.

Neither of your CoAs specifically say match worn by graham farmer.

Graham Farmer never wore 16

Graham Farmer went broke and sold just about everything he had twice in the 1990s, yet he donated this jumper to a charitable cause in 1999?

What authority does Jack Collins have to sign CoA's based on jumpers worn in games he didn't play in 50 years prior.? Do you reckon he did his due diligence? do you reckon a flimsy past players club did?

Finally the man who did wear 16 in the era Jack Clarke died only two years before "Polly Donated" the jumper. Was in his old age, Polly's good mate. He felt indebted to Polly after he spent his football career racially abusing him constantly. Who knows how the 16 ended up with Polly.

Finally your post says 1959 jumper, if you had, as you say done your due diligence you would have found WA had moved on from that jumper design on your 16

No worries, If you are happy to go with that then who am I to argue.

Neither of your CoAs specifically say match worn by graham farmer.

Graham Farmer never wore 16

Graham Farmer went broke and sold just about everything he had twice in the 1990s, yet he donated this jumper to a charitable cause in 1999?

What authority does Jack Collins have to sign CoA's based on jumpers worn in games he didn't play in 50 years prior.? Do you reckon he did his due diligence? do you reckon a flimsy past players club did?

Finally the man who did wear 16 in the era Jack Clarke died only two years before "Polly Donated" the jumper. Was in his old age, Polly's good mate. He felt indebted to Polly after he spent his football career racially abusing him constantly. Who knows how the 16 ended up with Polly.

Finally your post says 1959 jumper, if you had, as you say done your due diligence you would have found WA had moved on from that jumper design on your 16

Not sure what I've said to set you off like that.

As I said, I'm personally happy with the purchase and satisfied with the documentation that I have been given. Merely came to share, as I have done previously with my other purchases and as many others come to do here too.

I have an appreciation for your insight into WA related guernseys, and as I said before I understand the skepticism on your part, but I don't think that warrants the sardonic response.

Not sure what I've said to set you off like that.

As I said, I'm personally happy with the purchase and satisfied with the documentation that I have been given. Merely came to share, as I have done previously with my other purchases and as many others come to do here too.

I have an appreciation for your insight into WA related guernseys, and as I said before I understand the skepticism on your part, but I don't think that warrants the sardonic response.
Either way it's still an amazing purchase, whether worn by Polly or not.

I think what Chris who is getting at is, he's worried that you've been ripped off or even misled. I don't think he meant to come off as sardonic, he's just really really passionate about WA jumpers.

You are about the fourth set of deaf ears I have talked to about the jumper. I don't know you personally, but if you post here that the jumper is Polly's jumper I will argue.

It seems there is this blind trust in CoAs that frustrates me.

The industry is full of misrepresentations.

There is currently a WA state Guernsey at an auction house listed as worn by Brian Sirrakowski it is small. Brian was 6foot4 and 100 kilos.

Here are images of some Port Adelaide jumpers I have bought over the past few years. Is the #40 Aaron Young all-white one similar to the white one you have? Mine doesn’t have the usual AFL tags either- just a small label with the size (M) inside the collar.

I have just measured the GPS pouches of each of these jumpers. The Angus Monfries long sleeved PI is from 2013 and its GPS pouch (when measured from the inside of the jumper) is about 4 inches long and 3 inches wide (at its widest point). However the all-white 2014 jumper, the 2014 player-issue Darcy Byrne-Jones jumper and 2015 match worn John Butcher jumper all have GPS pouches that are bit smaller, at approximately 3.5 inches long and 3 inches wide.
View attachment 188394

When I looked at these jumpers together I also noticed the style of pouches made by ISC has changed in 2014 as the 2013 ones are more bulky in general, with an extra layer of the padded material they are made of at the back of the pouch and with raised binding around the edges, while the 2014 ISC pouches are flatter.
How much the sleeved PI set you back? Noice.

The long sleeved Monfries PI cost me just under $100 (from memory it was $99.95). It was a ‘Buy it Now’ listing on eBay last year which I snapped up as soon as I saw it. Was very happy to get it as I love long-sleeved footy jumpers in general and the Port Adelaide home BiB longsleeve is one of my favourites.

Old school Magpies lace up from the late 60's early 70's...need to do some more research on it.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    76.8 KB · Views: 13
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    95.4 KB · Views: 10
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    397.9 KB · Views: 10
Ricky Henderson & Matt Crouch 2015 MWs.
So glad the ridiculous side panels are gone next year!
View attachment 189183View attachment 189184

I'm really looking forward to less 'cartoony' numbers too. The 5s just look odd to me, varying line thicknesses, and the spacing on double numbers is terrible (though it got better with the second batch of jumpers later in the year).

Here's to an awesome 2016 set.

BLK would have to be one of the worst manufacturers going around!! They can't seem to get colours right, alway look faded and I've seen better collars on Bali knock off guernseys. They can't even get the BLK text under the collar straight. They must be offering up deals too good to be true, it's the only reason I can think of as to why any team would use their garbage.

Discussion What Footy Jumpers/Sports Uniforms Do You Own?