What is the big deal about Carlton?

you obviously dont watch much football, how do you consider the 19pt loss to the Lions 'convincing'? we should have won that game but kicked ourselves out of the match, we were awful against Ess but always are, and I love it how you term the Geel game an 'abberation', that's how lost for words you are, you couldn't find a valid reason for Geelong losing to us, we beat the Saints (minus Riewoldt admittedly) by 10 goals but you lost to them by 104pts and kicked a total score of 39pts in that match, well done, yes we lost to the pies by 9 goals but we were only 3 pts down in the third qtr despite being outplayed in the first half, they were challenged and responded as thy have been doing all year

quite funny coming from a NM fan, why don't u worry about turning up to your home games and supporting your team, 16k against an interstate where at least 3k were crows supporters, why would you be worried about us? you should be worried about the future of your own footy club, you sound really concerned we might be a threat, i will admit the premiership talk is going overboard because I'm not convined we are over our consistency issues just yet, but we are playing well and if we are consistent we can surprise a few sides, there's nothing wrong with strong belief

He is scared we are going to take there pokie machines off them too and finish the club for good.

- They got beaten by Essendon, a team that will struggle to reach the finals.

Our effort against Essendon was absolutely pitiful. It seems we shit our pants as soon as we see the red sash. Ratts wasn't happy about it and neither were the players, hence our good form since. So i'll give you this one though.

- Against Brisbane, who have one of the slowest midfields, managed to convincingly beat them for most of the game in Round 2.

Playing at the GABBA is NEVER easy. It doesn't help that Brown was in career best form either. We had a dip with and injured defense and missing Judd. We certainly didn't rest our laurels in this game. We would have been a fair chance at taking the 4 pts if Brown didn't play one of the best games of his career.

- Were incredibly lucky against Port. Port had a mental choke when they were up and running, and had the game won due to the Blues being on a 5 day break and 2 men down on the bench.

This is sheer stupidity. Beating Port was a huge win for us. We were mentally tough and got back into the contest after a shocking first quarter and came home with the 4 ps in a very good display of offensive footy. We were 2 men down at one point restricting out interchange.

We won because we had a lot of heart and talent. Simple.

- The Geelong game was an aberration, they will not be off the boil like that in Round 21.

Our players destroyed Geelong in just about every matchup. Credit should be given where credit is due. That was the worst defeat Geelong has suffered in 2 years.

Even with their effort that day, Geelong would have been able to get over most teams.

- Got convincingly smashed by Collingwood, who are a real top four side.

Convincingly smashed in the 4th quarter only. We came back very hard in the 3rd and simply couldn't keep up with them by the end of the game.

The Pies have smashed nearly every team on the park this year, we at least had a chance at winning; other teams haven't.

- Don't let the St. Kilda win fool you, the Saints aren't really playing like a finals side at the moment. The scoreline flattered them.

The Saints are still a very good side, and will make the finals.

Jesus, people can make up any excuse to dismiss a team they like. Behind Collingwood, Carlton is currently the most in-form team in the competition.

Uhh, actually... you said that the G would have been some kind of big difference. That's why you referred to such a irrelevant stat as "they haven't beaten us at the G since 99".

Okay then, let's suppose every game you had against them 2002 - 2007 was at the G. Are you telling me it would have made a significant difference? No. They still would have thrashed you.

Who cares what the result was in that period you fool its 2010...

The only team that has the wood over us that you have listed are the pies and we all know what happens to the pies when they play the blues in finals don't we.

:confused::confused:

I've been following AFL since 87, and the Pies and Blues haven't played each other in a final since then. So what happened 30+ years ago isn't really relevant to what happens now. You are kidding yourself if the only way you could win a premiership is that the pies fall over because of what happened 30 years ago.

For what it is worth, i reckon the Blues are looking good, and should at the very worst have a home final. But they are at least 2-3 levels behind the Pies.

over rated? Because we have started with a bloody tough draw and have always had crucial players out (Judd, Mclean, Walker, Bower, Waite) so far and yet have still managed to smash both last years grand finalists and we are equal with other top 4 sides.

:confused::confused:

I've been following AFL since 87, and the Pies and Blues haven't played each other in a final since then. So what happened 30+ years ago isn't really relevant to what happens now. You are kidding yourself if the only way you could win a premiership is that the pies fall over because of what happened 30 years ago.

TBH I was half joking but this is year is the 100th year since collingwood last beat us in a grand final. Its what us non franchise clubs like to call history which built the greatest rivalry in the league.

Well well well how bitter and jealous are we then? Why do you have a problem with Carlton? What does Hawthorn getting theyre act together have to do with Carlton? So let me get this right you rate Freo and Sydney over Carlton.
Sydney have beaten the Crows, Tigers, Kangas, Eagles and the Lions.
Lions may have been in the 8 at the time but aint now and the rest enough said. They havent beaten anybody yet.
Freo are going marginally better but they have only beaten Crows, Bombers, Tigers ,Lions and Westcoast and a good win over the Cats.
Between them they have beaton a top 8 team twice.
The Blues Have palyed 5 teams that were ahead of them on the ladder at the time and beat 3 of them Cats,Saints,Port. You are just spewing because Carlton are beginning to look good and you Cant handle it coz you hate them. They are going the exact opposite direction to the kangas. We've gone 16th, 15th, 11th, 7th in the last 4 years and are going well sitting equal 4th on the ladder. And this is without being able to kick any goals without fev(Apparently) This is why the Blues are being talked up again because they are winning. Kangas have gone14th, 4th, 7th, 13th in the last 4 years which is BACKWARDS so i can see why you are cut.
I hate this phrase. There's no such thing as equal 4th. You're either 4th, or your not 4th. Carlton aren't 4th, because they're 5th. Having said that, blues look to be doing well this year, can't wait to meet them in the finals.

Seems this thread didn't go the way the OP would have liked. :)

No, and you'll also notice there is nary a North fan backing him up.

Don't much like Carlton myself but very impressed with their year to date.

Shame that the thread has denigrated into North attacks and considering how rubbish the OP is, shame it denigrated at all.

The only team that has the wood over us that you have listed are the pies and we all know what happens to the pies when they play the blues in finals don't we.
Well, no. It's been that long since it happened, that there's probably quite a few people who wouldn't remember it, including most of the players. Those days are gone. If you play us in the finals, expect to be well beaten.

What a stupid thread this is, I am sure we will finish between 5 - 8th, no one is talking about GF's. As far as 95% of Carlton fans are concerned we still have work to do, we are still a work in progress, but what our wins have showed us is that this team is much better than even a lot of Carlton people thought.

But it's ok people like you who continue to show your lack of any football understanding continue to write us off and even when we win will you come up the stupid shit you have posted in this thread.

We will be pushing for the GF in two years time maybe more, I am happy with a finals spot again this year and if we do somehow manage to make the top four then I for one will be over the moon with that result. So many people wrote us off when we got rid of the cancer and now we are playing even better without him, you find some other crap to come up with, your opinion means nothing and your football knowledge is pathetic, now go follow your team, last I heard they were struggling to get more than 16k for a home game. :eek:

I hate this phrase. There's no such thing as equal 4th. You're either 4th, or your not 4th. Carlton aren't 4th, because they're 5th. Having said that, blues look to be doing well this year, can't wait to meet them in the finals.

Yeah fair call.Just trying to shove it in that clowns face.

Although I hate it, If I was a Carlton supporter I'd be very excited about the direction they're heading.

Despite outdated calls that their back line is weak, they have generated a great balance across the list with some genuine class in the middle. Although Setanta has been a revelation, they are probably a consistent big bodied forward short of being a genuine contender, as they can't rely on a Betts, Garlett or Yarren to win games. That said I think with more time Henderson could potentially be that.

carlton are overrated, and will be found out this weekend against cellar dwellers hawthorn
:D
may the lord have mercy on their souls!

Basically we have weathered our hardest stage of the draw and won a few games. We dropped a game or two that we should have won, but made up for it in spades by winning a couple that we weren't expected to win. Realistically we will finish the season with 14 - 16 wins and a definate finals berth. What happens once we get there is anyones' guess. But it bodes well for a succesful era on the horizon......

Pies beating Carlton in grand finals are much much more rarer ....and i'm tipping not one person alive remembers it ever happening . ;)
There was a thread on TC about what should be on the banner against Collingwood earlier this year.

The overwhelming favourite was congratulating Collingwood on making it to 100 years since their last premiership win against the Blues.

I so hope it makes it onto the banner for the return game.

Would beat, hands down, the banner we put up for Richmonds centenary as the best banner ever.

I can't understand why Foot Tickler has gone missing and is no longer replying in this thread...

His replies were so prompt earlier. It's just a mystery why he isn't imparting us with his wisdom on this topic anymore ;)

EPIC FLOG!

What is the big deal about Carlton?