What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 3

I think it was a better spectacle in the old days imo and I'm not full of sh*t imo.
I'm sure players are way fitter but coaching tactics have evolved to help win games at the expense of it being a great spectacle if you like open play, high marking and high scoring esp by key forwards imo.
From the point of view of 'better spectacles' being hard contested games and displays of fitness and skill and tactics in this era, sure I can see that.
6/10 of these are pre 1995, a bit of an indicator imo. No Kel 15:9 in there tho :oops:
https://www.ladbrokes.com.au/?a=574...-top-10-vfl-afl-games-from-the-past-50-years/
I agree, Fossie. Old fossils like us can recall an era when Salmon and Ablett (or was it Dunstall, even Lockett) kicked 25 goals between them in ONE match.

Yeah, nostalgia plays its part in our memories and opinions of what is/was a spectacle regarding football matches, but speaking for myself, whilst I admire the skill and professionalism of modern players/teams, it leaves me a bit cold.

I'd rate Naughton's pack mark as near as dammit to Riewoldt.
If MotY comes down to Weightman versus any contender from Richmond, Collingwood etc we have no chance.

Someone should do a study of how many weekly and annual awards based on fan votes are won by clubs with membership north of 70,000. I expect it would be a very strong correlation.

It's fine to celebrate the individual efforts of players like Reiwoldt or Weightman but we certainly shouldn't take anything out of the poll result. It doesn't settle the question of which was the best mark.

Unless Cody wins it of course. :D

Re muddy, wet grounds, we could look at it from another perspective:

Playing a whole game (remember, that there was no interchange back then) in the mud that was laughingly called the center region at the Western Oval would have seen players exhausted by game's end. Imagine, having played in the bog at WO, then next week having to front for another two hours at Moorabbin, where the 'curators' would bring out the fire hoses the night before a match.

Today's teams play on near-perfect surfaces, with regular interchange rests and modern physio rehabilitation. To top it off, the poor buggers of yesteryear often worked in factories (as a youngster I sold newspapers to Laurie Sandilands for years at Taubmans in the 70s) before catching a tram to training.

While I take your point that footballers prior to the 70s/80s had full time jobs that were often physical in nature, Sandilands was an industrial chemist, so pretty much a white collar worker! :D

Re muddy, wet grounds, we could look at it from another perspective:

Playing a whole game (remember, that there was no interchange back then) in the mud that was laughingly called the center region at the Western Oval would have seen players exhausted by game's end. Imagine, having played in the bog at WO, then next week having to front for another two hours at Moorabbin, where the 'curators' would bring out the fire hoses the night before a match.

Today's teams play on near-perfect surfaces, with regular interchange rests and modern physio rehabilitation. To top it off, the poor buggers of yesteryear often worked in factories (as a youngster I sold newspapers to Laurie Sandilands for years at Taubmans in the 70s) before catching a tram to training.

Agree, and they also played 25 minute quarters with time on so most games well over 30 minutes so with no interchange the players were all on the ground for the full 100 or more minutes, plus unless you broke something or couldn't stand up you didn't get taken off, you were just hidden down in a pocket somewhere, Can't see any of the players today getting through one game of that let alone a full season.

While I take your point that footballers prior to the 70s/80s had full time jobs that were often physical in nature, Sandilands was an industrial chemist, so pretty much a white collar worker! :D
Laurie would buy a 4 cent Herald back then, and give me 20 cents. Every night. Never made a big deal of it.

Yeah, I realised he was an industrial chemist. He wore a white lab coat every day, in stark contrast to the poor bludgers in the factory itself.

I still reckon that having to front up every day for 'work' and then go off to training was harder than most of the current players have it. And most of the Doggies team were working class, not like the silver spoons of Carlton.

These days its a mineral water or latte at Barkers Cafe, rather than a ciggie and a few ales at The Plough. How times change.

Agree, and they also played 25 minute quarters with time on so most games well over 30 minutes so with no interchange the players were all on the ground for the full 100 or more minutes, plus unless you broke something or couldn't stand up you didn't get taken off, you were just hidden down in a pocket somewhere, Can't see any of the players today getting through one game of that let alone a full season.
Of course they could. Game had way less running before. They wouldn't need to go to the bench, just get their rest on field with how the game was played.

This. Anyone know what mids we’re running roughly (obviously no stats were kept on it) back in the day? These days they clock up 15-20km a game

Laurie would buy a 4 cent Herald back then, and give me 20 cents. Every night. Never made a big deal of it.

Yeah, I realised he was an industrial chemist. He wore a white lab coat every day, in stark contrast to the poor bludgers in the factory itself.

I still reckon that having to front up every day for 'work' and then go off to training was harder than most of the current players have it. And most of the Doggies team were working class, not like the silver spoons of Carlton.

These days its a mineral water or latte at Barkers Cafe, rather than a ciggie and a few ales at The Plough. How times change.

I sold papers at all those places on Geelong Rd at the top of Millers Rd, Castrol, Transpec, etc as they were then. Also at that abattoir that was on Somerville Rd and Monsanto.

As I remember the girls in the Castrol typing pool were very generous (couldn't carry enough Women's Weeklys, New Ideas, etc for them). So were the guys at the abattoir.

Christmas Eve was the best $$

Commentators never seem to mention this when they marvel over how many players are getting to 300 games. These days you play as many games as you can (a) because it's financially viable to do so and (b) because every extra year adds heaps to your wealth (unless you're a George Best type). Even if you're just on contract and playing VFL you get way more than you'd get in a regular job. You can set yourself up for life.

Forty years ago it was pretty much the opposite. Careers beckoned and unless you were in the very top flight of players you didn't earn a lot. Many players retired early to get on with their lives.

The money from TV rights has made a huge difference.

Before he became a VFL Superstar, Laurie, or his doppelganger, was a regular at the West Footscray YMCA., cnr Market and Essex Streets. He was your classic naughty boy, back row, red hair and silly jokes. There's no way he'd get a gig in the firsts these days, he'd end up being traded to Collingwood.

What a lovely guy. Can't wait for him to get back. Wouldn't it be great if he gets a flag after all he's been through.
He is an emotional guy, we would need an ark for the tears, not to mention the jaws of life to seperate him and Dunkley when the cross when Dunks goes up to recieve his medal, That's if Wallis and Young dont play in the grand final.

I would love both Adz and Wally to be in the team on the day.

This. Anyone know what mids we’re running roughly (obviously no stats were kept on it) back in the day? These days they clock up 15-20km a game
Actually the gun mids ran further than they do today. Plough was one of the best, well over 20km frequently.
Robert Harvey ran, then put his hands on his hips and had a chuck, then ran some more.

Yes, I certainly WANT to play Geelong, if not in the grand final, then at least in A final.

The first Bulldogs game I attended as a nipper was the 1976 Elimination Final, where we were pipped by, you guessed it, the Cats. Cue finals misery against that mob for the foreseeable future.

I see something in our current team, a certain intent, to exorcise the demons of our past. I saw it earlier in the season when we absolutely put St Kilda to the sword. There was extra mayo on that win - a bit of a statement I think, connected to our elimination final loss to the Saints last year. I really do believe that our players would love to face Geelong in a final, and do to them what the Romans did to the Carthaginians.
Till the soil of the GMHBQRPU dungheap and salt the damn thing so no grass will ever grow again. Agreed.

If it helps

If it helps you feel better, we choked. Libba goal or not, we choked big time. Crows had eight more scoring shots. They also lost Modra during the game.

2009 prelim, different story. Four keys moments went against us that decided the game.

1. Stephen McBurney paying a free kick for dropping the ball even though Hargrave clearly got his boot to the ball. It led to a Dal Santo goal - their first goal of the match. Worse still, instead the Saints got the following centre clearance and immediately got their second goal. Sliding doors moment but had McBurney made the correct call of play on, it's probable the Saints wouldn't have scored any of those two goals.

2. Shane McInerney free kick to Matthew Mitcham before the second half officially started. Absolute piss weak decision. Not only was it not a free kick, the quarter hadn't officially started. Same rules should apply when the siren sounds to end a quarter. Any penalty should only be a fine or suspension. It has happened for over 100 years but on that night they decided to punish us despite McInerney being an extremely experienced umpire. He tried to justify his decision by claiming the siren had gone to begin the quarter when it hadn't.

3. McInerney paying deliberate against Aker which led to a Riewoldt goal to give them the lead in the final qtr. Absolutely no way in the world was that deliberate in 2009. These days it would be paid, but not back then.

4. Harbrow getting his fingers to the final goal awarded to Riewoldt. Hard for the umpires to call that touched without the luxury of having the ARC. Harbrow reckons it was touched, perhaps the ARC would have confirmed it. It would have at least given us a chance to go coast to coast in an attempt to win the match.

I was gutted. Saints were the best team all year but we were the better team that night.
Matthew Mitchum? Is he the former Olympic diver? 😉

(Love the correlation there)

How much better is this Podcast than what us fans get served with Barkly st.

Bob has been hosting our podcast for the last 3 or 4 years. It’s time for a couple of fresh faces for it. How good would a podcast of Libba or Hunter hosting with a young player. Controversial call because he’s a club legend, but I’ve got Bob fatigue. Listening to SEN everyday as well as hosting our podcast it’s just too much of him. I would love our podcast to be hosted by two current players. Listening to him andWood throw barbs at each other all episode is like pulling teeth.

How much better is this Podcast than what us fans get served with Barkly st.

Bob has been hosting our podcast for the last 3 or 4 years. It’s time for a couple of fresh faces for it. How good would a podcast of Libba or Hunter hosting with a young player. Controversial call because he’s a club legend, but I’ve got Bob fatigue. Listening to SEN everyday as well as hosting our podcast it’s just too much of him. I would love our podcast to be hosted by two current players. Listening to him andWood throw barbs at each other all episode is like pulling teeth.

The man himself took the initiative to start the podcast, which has been a true success, so that's a little rough. I get what you mean, but i think Bob has a great way of bridging the old dogs to the modern dogs, and i love his deeper perspective and romanticising. There are other avenues for straight and narrow interviewing. I don't listen to SEN so that probably helps. I think he's good at self-reflection so i think he'll actually adapt over time, and we'll miss him if he's gone. I also think it's tougher to do what he does than you may give him credit for.

Libba and Hunter don't have the resources to do it.

The man himself took the initiative to start the podcast, which has been a true success, so that's a little rough. I get what you mean, but i think Bob has a great way of bridging the old dogs to the modern dogs, and i love his deeper perspective and romanticising. There are other avenues for straight and narrow interviewing. I don't listen to SEN so that probably helps. I think he's good at self-reflection so i think he'll actually adapt over time, and we'll miss him if he's gone. I also think it's tougher to do what he does than you may give him credit for.

Libba and Hunter don't have the resources to do it.

The Danny Boyd pod is streets ahead of both

This is a must listen from two months ago. And the caller at the end saying the Karma bus has got us. I thought this was pretty ordinary from Bob. Instead of defending the teenage Jamarra and pour coke water on it. He just said he was shocked. Didn’t like it at all.

Bob is a media person now, not a Dogs representative. He has to remain as unbiased as possible and he wouldn't be privy to everything that happens within the club anymore. I can understand why he'd be hesitant to comment too much tbh.