Strategy What to do with pick 1 now we’ve got it - Do We Need Reid or is it Curtins

Keep pick 1, or trade it?

I've had enough of all of these kents already.

Nothing would satisfy me more right now than drafting H.Reid and watch him kick a bag against the tin-rattlers.

And anyone else wanting to entertain splitting the pick in this massively compromised draft needs to give themselves an uppercut as well.

Isn’t it a risk with every interstate based player that clubs are going to come knocking and offer a big contract? Vic clubs are going to come just as hard after Harley if we take him it’s just a matter of whether the clubs backs itself in to retain.
If Harley fulfils his potential, then he will get offers.

But Tasmania need 40 players and they will speak to every Tasmanian born player. They will offer big contracts. And there is the lure of being part of a historical first squad.

The risk is high IMO.

It's not so much the Tassie boys are happy to stay but outside forces that will force that hand.

Once the media screams at clubs to give up Tasmania players no club will be able to fend off (non-vic).

A large portion of wce fans are anti Vic. They will have no backbone in telling Tasmania to **** off or drive a hard bargain. They will give it up for pennies on the faith that Tassie team will **** off Vic's.

Then you have the afl who will put it in raw.

The combination of
1) media
2) afl
3) anti Vic at all cost wce fans

Will force that hand regardless of what Tasmania players say or think.

It's not so much the Tassie boys are happy to stay but outside forces that will force that hand.

Once the media screams at clubs to give up Tasmania players no club will be able to fend off (non-vic).

A large portion of wce fans are anti Vic. They will have no backbone in telling Tasmania to * off or drive a hard bargain. They will give it up for pennies on the faith that Tassie team will * off Vic's.

The combination of
1) media
2) afl

You're underestimating Tasmania's dislike for Vic teams.

WCE had the biggest following in the state when Hawks/St Kilda started playing there.

WCE supporters outnumbered those 2 in the early days.

I have one issue with Reid and it's this simple and i've seen him a lot. He doesn't have that same innate drive that someone like Ginbey has.

I think i've said this before but the best way to make the comparison is with academia. When you are at lower levels and highly intelligent you don't have to study because you will naturally do well, sometimes even to the point of topping your class without studying.

But that same student then never learns to study effectively and then when they reach tiers of education where you absolutely have to study they fail to adapt. It becomes almost impossible to learn how to study effectively and get back ahead to where your talent level lies as you've already fallen behind.

The higher the level of competition the more i've seen this behaviour from Reid. He puts in a good quarter or beats up on weak opposition but when the going gets tough he generally finds a weaker opponent to bully. He's a bully and always has been even last year as an underager playing HB or FP he was stronger and read the ball better than his opponent and used that to exploit them.

No-one is naturally good enough that when stepping up to AFL level that they can just stand head and shoulders above top tier midfielders and bully them. You have to put the work in all the way. Now Darling was the same and was clearly bored when under older rules he could have been drafted at 17 and playing AFL instead of spending a year doing FA but playing footy waiting for it to happen. Now the real question is Reid lazy or is he just bored. Now as it only seems to show up the higher level the opponent I'd suggest he's lazy. Now i'm not saying he's outright lazy and this is deliberate, a lot of the time it's subconscious but this is why there are professional scouts and recruiters.

As it stands I would still draft Reid with pick 1 after bidding on Walter but the gap certainly isn't what it was at the start of the year and I no longer have Reid as the top prospect in the pool.

It's actually what impressed me with Wardlaw so much last year and why I rated him so highly particularly after the academy game. He was beaten by men in the first half and came back after half time and played in a completely different manner and was able to dominate against men. (it's not something i'd seen at that level before) It's why I rated him as a clear number 1, he was however a straight flight risk and would have been a terrible pick for West Coast and even worse for GWS.

As it stands I have it like this
1. Walter
2. Reid
3. Curtin

Also as far as i'm concerned trading out next years first round pick is pure idiocy. If we are chasing a dominant midfield as a club and I think it's something that will be required to win a premiership under the current AFL rules and also how they seem to be trending it would be absolutely foolish as the top 5 prospects all look like exceptional midfielders.

If you could give me Curtin, Delean and a future likely top pick for Pick 1 this year I would be all over it.
Watching Petracca in his early years I thought he was a lazy fat f**k who couldn’t even spell “tackle”. A few years in the system soon sorts them out. Reid is a competitive beast so it won’t take him long to get sorted!

A large portion of wce fans are anti Vic. They will have no backbone in telling Tasmania to * off or drive a hard bargain. They will give it up for pennies on the faith that Tassie team will * off Vic's.

The combination of
1) media
2) afl

That is very random.

Forcing a person to move to Tasmania. Thought this country was past that!;)

Yep! Players drafted from Tasmania to WA are gunna fall over themselves to to get back there in a couple of years.
Leave our club just as it’s building momentum back to finals.Leave a club brimful of top end talent where all the kids are bonding!
Leave a club with the best facilities in the country.
Our crowds? Our weather?
To what?? A new club which will be the chopping block for years? Nah!! I’ll back our systems any day!

I seriously doubt this will happen. McKay simply isn't a tier 1 compo level player.

Last year, Karl Amon (4 year deal @ ~$650k per year) and Dan McStay (5 year deal @ ~$600k per year) both netted a round 2 compo pick for Port and Brisbane respectively

The last players to generate a round 1 compo pick were Joe Daniher (3 year deal @ ~$750k per year) and Zac Williams (5 year deal @ ~$850-900k per year) in 2020

Logic dictates McKay is more an end of first round level player but if a club gets desperate and throws $800k plus at him for 5 years then he starts wandering into R1 compo territory. Couple that with an opaque compensation formula and the AFL likely wanting to avoid giving North any draft assistance 2 years in a row then a manufactured R1 compo comes into play

Put simply I don’t trust the AFL

Last year, Karl Amon (4 year deal @ ~$650k per year) and Dan McStay (5 year deal @ ~$600k per year) both netted a round 2 compo pick for Port and Brisbane respectively

The last players to generate a round 1 compo pick were Joe Daniher (3 year deal @ ~$750k per year) and Zac Williams (5 year deal @ ~$850-900k per year) in 2020

Logic dictates McKay is more an end of first round level player but if a club gets desperate and throws $800k plus at him for 5 years then he starts wandering into R1 compo territory. Couple that with an opaque compensation formula and the AFL likely wanting to avoid giving North any draft assistance 2 years in a row then a manufactured R1 compo comes into play

If any club wants to offer McKay that much, then they're ****ing idiots.

You can tell them apart if they eat out at restaurant. Ben is the one wearing a bib because he struggles guiding the fork into his mouth.
This is brilliant

Daniher was 3 years at $800k per.

McStay netted us band 3 compensation pick. Band 3 for North would be pick 20 or 21 (depends if the compo pick comes in before or after the priority pick North received last year, then had to trade out).

I can not see McKay earning a contract worth band 1 compensation.

Oh remember the AFL let them change the deal later if the club needs to.

Lions did it with Daniher.

Clubs weren't impressed.
We didn't change the deal. We just offered him a contract extension after his first season with us, with the two extra years on lower money.

We're not allowed to change the free agency contract. No team has been allowed to change a free agency contract since the AFL chucked a wobbly at Sydney for swiping Buddy. That was explained on the Tradies podcast today as well.

Got to say this is the best ever draft for Ruckman never seen so many good options in one draft.
Gold Coast have a special one in Ethan Read he is a Dean Cox clone amazing mark around the ground,
good at boundary throw ins and a incredibly good foot skills for a big man

Might have to do a post on all the ruck options

If TB goes and we get pick 6 (or something close) then surely we don’t split the pick?

Doubt it, ideally Curtin is there at 6 but that’s unlikely, it’d be worth trying to move up to get him with 6,19 and a future 2nd or whatever if that gets it done.

If you can walk away with Reid and Curtin in this draft, I think you do it

We didn't change the deal. We just offered him a contract extension after his first season with us, with the two extra years on lower money.

We're not allowed to change the free agency contract. No team has been allowed to change a free agency contract since the AFL chucked a wobbly at Sydney for swiping Buddy. That was explained on the Tradies podcast today as well.

Would the final deal if put up originally get the player as a FA?

It results in a lower average across the contract.

Player wanted security. Essendon wanted teir 1 pick or would force a trade. Answer. Give him 3 years at $2m D9ns get their pick, Lions get their man for no draft capital. Then extend on much lower money, player gets his security.

They played the system.

Would the final deal if put up originally get the player as a FA?

It results in a lower average across the contract.

Player wanted security. Essendon wanted teir 1 pick or would force a trade. Answer. Give him 3 years at $2m D9ns get their pick, Lions get their man for no draft capital. Then extend on much lower money, player gets his security.

They played the system.
We did.

But we still didn’t change the original deal. Play smarter, not harder.