Strategy What to do with pick 1 now we’ve got it - Do We Need Reid or is it Curtins

Keep pick 1, or trade it?

I've had enough of all of these kents already.

Nothing would satisfy me more right now than drafting H.Reid and watch him kick a bag against the tin-rattlers.

And anyone else wanting to entertain splitting the pick in this massively compromised draft needs to give themselves an uppercut as well.

Selfish Bastard - Get your Wife in on the action!!!
Here you go king:

why-not-both-why-not.gif

We might not even get pick 1 despite coming bottom.

North are apparently full strength and getting pummelled.

PP pick 1 for them a possibility

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
The AFL have to be prepared to give West Coast a first round PP next year if you continue on where you’re currently at.

That might give the AFL pause in giving North a PP.

No,would rather our 2nd and last win be the Derby.

This week the umps will jump on board and help us in the 1st half to get the crowd on side.
Then in the 2nd half, mainly last qtr, they will turn and give Tigers a leg up if we are anywhere close to causing an upset.

We should use pick 1 on Reid.

Then help a club with F/S player(s) (eg Adelaide have Welsh for 2024 draft) or Northern Academy clubs (eg Gold Coast have 3 in the current predicted top 14 players this draft) build up their points with lower picks to trade up Pick 19 as high as possible - maybe get Curtin or another highly ranked player.

Ranking discussion:

Gold Coast - Academy players this draft: Jed Walter (4), Jake Rogers (12), Ethan Read (14).

They currently have picks 6, 28, 29.

if we use 19 & 36 and something else (future pick?) to try and get their 6.

Or if GC swapped their 5 for GWS's 9 & something and then we trade 19 & 36 for the 9.

Current order based on today's ladder position

Article about Northern Academy club/Allies players

We should use pick 1 on Reid.

Then help a club with F/S player(s) (eg Adelaide have Welsh for 2024 draft) or Northern Academy clubs (eg Gold Coast have 3 in the current predicted top 14 players this draft) build up their points with lower picks to trade up Pick 19 as high as possible - maybe get Curtin or another highly ranked player.

Ranking discussion:

Gold Coast - Academy players this draft: Jed Walter (4), Jake Rogers (12), Ethan Read (14).

They currently have picks 6, 28, 29.

if we use 19 & 36 and something else (future pick?) to try and get their 6.

Or if GC swapped their 5 for GWS's 9 & something and then we trade 19 & 36 for the 9.

Current order based on today's ladder position

Article about Northern Academy club/Allies players

They've bumped up the 3 GC Northern Academy players to 2, 8 & 10 now.

They'll need heaps of points if that is how the Draft eventuates.

I would pick Walter at 1.

But yes Walter at 2 and Ethan Read I can see at 8. I don't see Rogers going top 10. Isn't that unbelievable a talent to be that small a midfielder and go top 10. If he plays his most natural role his body will be completely battered/broken by the time he's 25.

The Rookie Me Central guys started talking about Ethan Read as a top 5 prospect yesterday, and the same was mentioned on the Gettable (Twomey & Beveridge) podcast today. Both organisations talk to a lot of recruiters.

I would pick Walter at 1.

But yes Walter at 2 and Ethan Read I can see at 8. I don't see Rogers going top 10. Isn't that unbelievable a talent to be that small a midfielder and go top 10. If he plays his most natural role his body will be completely battered/broken by the time he's 25.
Have you heard much out the u16 Championships?

As some may have noticed I am not posting very much. I have almost all of my time tied up with the current draft crop and commitments associated with that for the next couple of months.

I really tried to step away and just follow footy this year before heading into overseas retirement but was offered an opportunity too good to pass for the back half of the year.

We'll see what happens and my analysis but im very excited by next years crop of top mids.

As some may have noticed I am not posting very much. I have almost all of my time tied up with the current draft crop and commitments associated with that for the next couple of months.

I really tried to step away and just follow footy this year before heading into overseas retirement but was offered an opportunity too good to pass for the back half of the year.

We'll see what happens and my analysis but im very excited by next years crop of top mids.
Next years WA crop?

What sort of bonus on the pts table would we need to hive to get GC pick 6?

Obviously it could be s bidding war - I reckon GWS or Melbourne would be in pole position if they were in the war.

(noting GC's pick 6 it will become pick 7-9 after bids Academy picks)

Pick 6 - 1751 pts
Pick 7 - 1644 pts
Pick 8 - 1551 pts
Pick 9 - 1469 pts

Our picks
Pick 19 - 948 pts
Pick 36 - 502 pts
Pick 38 - 465 pts
Pick 55 - 207 pts
Pick 57 - 182 pts

Now I think about it, we are way too far out to be running hypotheticals!

It's what happens when our hope is the draft
😀

What sort of bonus on the pts table would we need to hive to get GC pick 6?

Obviously it could be s bidding war - I reckon GWS or Melbourne would be in pole position if they were in the war.

(noting GC's pick 6 it will become pick 7-9 after bids Academy picks)

Pick 6 - 1751 pts
Pick 7 - 1644 pts
Pick 8 - 1551 pts
Pick 9 - 1469 pts

Our picks
Pick 19 - 948 pts
Pick 36 - 502 pts
Pick 38 - 465 pts
Pick 55 - 207 pts
Pick 57 - 182 pts

Now I think about it, we are way too far out to be running hypotheticals!

It's what happens when our hope is the draft
😀
In 2021, Western Bulldogs had Darcy as a father son top 5 talent in the draft.

They traded picks 17 (1025 points) and 75 (0 points) for picks 23 (815 points), 44 (362 points) & 45 (347 points). So 499 extra points.

Then on draft night, as soon as pick 1 was announced as on the clock, Bulldogs traded pick 23 (815 points) to Geelong for picks 32 (584 points) & 34 (542 points). A 311 points upgrade.

Then traded picks 32 (584 points) & 52 (246 points) to North for 42 (395 points) & 47 (316 points) [plus they swapped future 3rd round picks]. So a loss of 119 points.

Bulldogs made an extra 810 points on their pick 17 before the trade with North. They must have really wanted that future 3rd round pick upgrade.

Last year we (the Lions) traded out pick 15, and through a series of trades made an extra 1085 points (we actually made an extra 2000 odd points, but included pick 21 in the trade for Dunkley, so that wiped 878 points out of the points trade total) . But we had GWS, Gold Coast and Geelong all over pay us for picks in separate trades.

In 2021, Western Bulldogs had Darcy as a father son top 5 talent in the draft.

They traded picks 17 (1025 points) and 75 (0 points) for picks 23 (815 points), 44 (362 points) & 45 (347 points). So 499 extra points.

Then on draft night, as soon as pick 1 was announced as on the clock, Bulldogs traded pick 23 (815 points) to Geelong for picks 32 (584 points) & 34 (542 points). A 311 points upgrade.

Then traded picks 32 (584 points) & 52 (246 points) to North for 42 (395 points) & 47 (316 points) [plus they swapped future 3rd round picks]. So a loss of 119 points.

Bulldogs made an extra 810 points on their pick 17 before the trade with North. They must have really wanted that future 3rd round pick upgrade.

Last year we (the Lions) traded out pick 15, and through a series of trades made an extra 1085 points (we actually made an extra 2000 odd points, but included pick 21 in the trade for Dunkley, so that wiped 878 points out of the points trade total) . But we had GWS, Gold Coast and Geelong all over pay us for picks in separate trades.

Interesting - so it is quite a significant point upgrade. I still reckon if we could scrounge to a top 10 pick as our 2nd pick from the pick 19 (probably eventually pick 23 or so) + whatever extra we can offer would be well worth it.

Just going by those two examples, Bulldogs made 500 extra points and the Lions made 522 extra points on the initial trade. Both teams received an earlish second round pick which they were able to trade for further points.

If bids come at picks 2, 5 and 15 for their players, they're going to need 4400 odd points. Disregarding their 3 fourth round picks, GC currently hold 3750 points across 6 picks. That's going to decrease somewhat as compensation picks push their picks back.

Just going by those two examples, Bulldogs made 500 extra points and the Lions made 522 extra points on the initial trade. Both teams received an earlish second round pick which they were able to trade for further points.

If bids come at picks 2, 5 and 15 for their players, they're going to need 4400 odd points. Disregarding their 3 fourth round picks, GC currently hold 3750 points across 6 picks. That's going to decrease somewhat as compensation picks push their picks back.

I could be wrong, but can't clubs carry some points deficit to the following season too?

So they will find the points for the three players won’t they. The Suns won’t even need to trade there future first.

Probably by trading there 1st from this year that will nearly get them enough points to make up that gap. It then comes down to list spots and whether it’s a live trade on draft night or during trade week.