What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? (Part 1 - cont in Part 2)

The AFL should put a media band on Collingwood with any talk about perceived advantages interstate club may have...OR Risk losing their perky draws with limited interstate traveling, and monopoly on big games and ideal time slots!

The pies had the hardest draw possible in their permiership year, and have the best traveling record in the competition

If a supporter wants to change teams, that's fine. Most people, myself included, enjoy the experience of total commitment and loyalty to a particular club. But if someone else want to do things differently, good for them.

It's just a game and there are many ways to approach it.

The pies had the hardest draw possible in their permiership year, and have the best traveling record in the competition
You played 14 games at your home ground and travelled 3 times. And then there's all your finals games at your home ground, too. That must have really hurt.

One of my strong opinions that I know some people will not agree with... is that if your club dies you have no right to choose another club and support them.

As far as I am concerned if your club goes you go as well. By all means.. feel free to continue watching football but in no way can you ever call yourself a real supporter of another club. You are a turncoat.
I'm sure you could help them speak to the dead.

My #2 is a combination of many little opinions that all tie in together.

• Most of the time, I prefer blowouts to tight contests.
  • I like high scoring football. Actually, I love it. I'd rather watch Geelong beat Melbourne by 186 points than see a scoreline similar to the 2005 GF.
  • Just because a game is close, it doesn't mean that the game was good.
  • Just because a game's a blowout, doesn't mean it was bad.

Why? I love to see great skill on the football field. I'd rather see it from one team in a blowout than I would from neither team in a close game.

It's because of this that I've watched the Rd 9 game from last year between the Eagles and the Bulldogs more than I've watched the 2006 GF.

I'm sure you could help them speak to the dead.

Cheers again for the tip before about him mate. Was surprising though. I had him figured as more of a John Edward follower myself :eek:

My #2 is a combination of many little opinions that all tie in together.

• Most of the time, I prefer blowouts to tight contests.
  • I like high scoring football. Actually, I love it. I'd rather watch Geelong beat Melbourne by 186 points than see a scoreline similar to the 2005 GF.
  • Just because a game is close, it doesn't mean that the game was good.
  • Just because a game's a blowout, doesn't mean it was bad.

Why? I love to see great skill on the football field. I'd rather see it from one team in a blowout than I would from neither team in a close game.

It's because of this that I've watched the Rd 9 game from last year between the Eagles and the Bulldogs more than I've watched the 2006 GF.
Agree with this, still regard the 2007 grand final as one of the better ones I've seen. Not all thrashings are good to watch, but Geelong at full flight were a remarkable side.

Eddie McGuire was a great commentator. Unbiased unless making a tongue in cheek comment to tease the haters.

I have to agree with this. He is far better than 80% of the idiots calling the game on TV these days.

Wayne Carey shouldn't have been kicked out of North for what he did to Stevo's missus, should've been kept in house.
Ended his career, Pagan's as well and precipitated the decline of NMFC. North have been spineless since he was booted out.

I dont know if its an urban myth but I have heard there was a similar incident in the NRL where the aggrieved player said to the club, "its him or me" the club said "see ya later then". I wonder what would have happened to North Melbourne if they'd done likewise, another flag maybe?

Well I guess another of my unpopular opinions is that I dont really care what kind of knobs play for my team as long as they are winning (losers who hit women notwithstanding).

One of my strong opinions that I know some people will not agree with... is that if your club dies you have no right to choose another club and support them.

As far as I am concerned if your club goes you go as well. By all means.. feel free to continue watching football but in no way can you ever call yourself a real supporter of another club. You are a turncoat.
I'm Tasmanian. If a home grown team in all its dark green two headed glory enters the AFL, then that's my team. I've barracked for Hawthorn since the late 70's, but anyone who knows me knows I've got one armchair sports wish, and that's for the chance to barrack for Tassie in the only two sports that really matter - the Tigers in the cricket and the Devils (come on, what else would you call it!) in the footy. Life would be perfect. I can understand those who jumped ship in WA for the Eagles after following a VFL side, and expansion sides after that, because I know I'd do it too...! Meanwhile though, back on Earth, I don't have to worry about such unlikely scenarios...Demetriou has said as much...!

NOT, however, for a relocation. My home state deserves nothing but its own roots for a team (I fully realise this means they'd never get one, so don't bother - this is all about state pride for me, if it isn't already obvious!). A dark green football monster designed solely for the express purpose of beating up mainlanders every weekend...dare to dream...I don't however believe my side should come at the expense of someone else's. I'd never be happy knowing hundreds of thousands of supporters have been disenfranchised for my supposed benefit...if I see blue and white stripes, I don't think "potential Tasmanian AFL team", I think North Melbourne, and always would. If Hawthorn relocated, I'd want them to get right back on the Spirit Of Tasmania and get the f back to Melbourne where they belong (the home games deal is a money maker, good business, and that's all it ever should be - Tasmanians should still get to watch good footy)...

Back to the point though - aside from the above I'm not keen on bandwagoners either...god knows enough of the b's have found their way over to Hawthorn since they started winning again...

- Geelong will be the first team to win the flag from outside the top 4 this year (under the current finals system)
- Richmond will win a flag/be serious contenders before Carlton/Bombers
- Schoenmakers will come good
- As others have said, complicated gameplans are overrated... for gods sakes clarko just leave buddy one out in the goal square! it's not that hard
- Having 5 games a week on Foxtel is good for the game... it generates the money which keeps the struggling comes alive. What would fans rather, paying to see their team on fox or having no team at all to support?
- I like watching GC/GWS play and think they're good for the future of the game. Hope they become awesome teams.

I dont know if its an urban myth but I have heard there was a similar incident in the NRL where the aggrieved player said to the club, "its him or me" the club said "see ya later then". I wonder what would have happened to North Melbourne if they'd done likewise, another flag maybe?

Well I guess another of my unpopular opinions is that I dont really care what kind of knobs play for my team as long as they are winning (losers who hit women notwithstanding).

Considering the entire playing group hated him I think it would have taken more than that.

Victorian clubs, players, media have a free license to whinge. Interstate sides are crucified if they do.

Winning the premiership from Perth is easily the toughest 'win' in the league.

The best Victorian sides of the last few years have had inflated win/loss ratios due to their massive advantage they have.

What about those who went from only supporting a WAFL or SANFL team to then following their local AFL team? Are they real supporters of the AFL too?

Unpopular opinions ?
Try criticising Matthew Pavlich's performance the last 3-4 years when supposed to be in his prime.
The bloke has done little except play the odd good game like on the weekend...but you could argue he has been a relatively average leader, melted away when needed too often, and contributed far less than his reputation pretends. Plays a good game occasionally and suddenly he's AA material.

The bloke is so well loved by the public, so well loved by the media, probably coz he's never said a bad word about anyone, comes across as a really nice bloke, and takes defeat and disappointment in his stride, is humble, and doesnt strike you as the guy likely to root your missus......well geez , they're such admirable qualities and its marvellous how humble he is....but clubs NEEDING a flag NEED something more than he's offered them as leader the last few yrs. Half the games i;ve seen him in recent yrs you;d swear he was a paycheck player rather than being absolutely desperate to win as good leaders are.

Whatever u do...dont say a bad word about the precious Pav. there are excuses for him everywhere u turn. Just accept that he peaked a bit early maybe and the odd brilliant game is enough.

The Father-Son Rule should have been dropped 20 years ago. It should have died when metropolitan zoning and the U19s ceased.

Judd as an Eagle is nowhere near as good as people perceive him to have been. He was AA just twice FFS.