Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2

1991 grand final presentation rivals the angry Anderson Batmobile for peak bogan.

Quite apart from the hierarchy barely hiding their disappointment at orrible hawthorn winning yet another, and expansion eagles being over awed.

MC stuffs up the order of things and you can see 7 premiership hawks capt michael tuck explaining how the presentation proceeds

Good times

So cringey

It all started when West Coast players apparently s**t and pissed in the kids faces in 06.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
And without pissing completely on the 'classy Cats in 2007' bonfire, giving the kids the caps in exchange for the medals probably started as much as an ingenious idea to look after the club sponsor and avoid wearing Toyota caps.

Speaking of the Cats, I'm paying a bit more attention to this year's national draft (funny, that) and it seems like the conventional wisdom is that there's a clear cut top-10 (including Academy picks), then 'everyone else', with people seriously down on the potential of anything from the bottom half of the first round onwards. And I just wonder how much of this is "everyone's saying it, because everyone's saying it."

Like, Harry DeMattia sounds like an awesome prospect from everything I read: tough, explosive, finds the ball, can play different roles, a leader. But he isn't one of the big 10, nor is James Leake, Caleb Windsor, Darcy Wilson all of whom sound like they could be great pick-ups for the Cats.

As someone who really doesn't watch anything from the U18 competitions, I wonder how much of this stuff is just received wisdom and passed around. Like, 10 years ago, Paddy Cripps wasn't 'under the radar', he was a rock-solid first round prospect. But he was still rated as being clearly a level below guys like James Aish and Jack Billings.

I always find draft chat from supporters amusing. There is a very small percentage of footy fans who actually would have any clue what draftees are going to be like, and even those who are paying attention have to apply a lot of guesswork. Anyone who says player X is a steal on draft night is usually talking out their arse.

It makes it even trickier that in the media there’s only a handful of people who are paid to follow and report on the U18s, and they would have about 30 games (even more if you include school football) that they need to be across.

Glad to see someone calling them out for this. The world has been disappointed by the AFL's silence.

I thought that was a ruse until I clicked the link and was gobsmacked to find it's legit.

Why TF would the AFL need to comment about a war? Any war?

If that conspiracy were true then we wouldn't have been handed a trade ban, stripped of cola or robbed in 2016.
The trade ban was some world class corruption by the AFL, although it was in defence of the other Sydney team the AFL thought you cheated out of Budwah.

As for COLA, you should have used it to actually pay your rookies 10percent more than other clubs.

Glad to see someone calling them out for this. The world has been disappointed by the AFL's silence.

Social issues are a little bit different to religious wars I’d have thought, and if they’re going to make statements on bloodshed on the Gaza Strip they’d have been holding a presser every day for the last 1000 years.

Not relevant to what you were saying, though I do agree with it, but you signed up in 2006 when you were potentially a "strapping young lad" but that was almost 18 years ago now, so should you change your username to "Strapping Middle Aged Lad"?

The AFL without a doubt has teams they'd like to see do well and teams they would not. They're in the business of making money, in AFL's ideal world, the top 4 teams every year would be Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond and Carlton.

💯% correct.

Only have to see this year finals series.

Not relevant to what you were saying, though I do agree with it, but you signed up in 2006 when you were potentially a "strapping young lad" but that was almost 18 years ago now, so should you change your username to "Strapping Middle Aged Lad"?
Heavy Devy, my dude.

The more suspicious thing is that he changed it to Strapping Young Lad 15 years in. I assume as part of a witness protection program.

Everyone should play each other once only top 4 play finals.

Scrap all priority, academy and father son picks. If you want some kid that happens to be in your 'zone' or is the son of some favourite club legend, trade for better picks to secure them.

Grand final should be played by whoever finishes higher and makes the granny.

Make a deal with whichever airline that prices for members of whichever club has to travel interstate that week are capped. Give them sponsorship etc.

Make first contract for players 4 years.

The AFL without a doubt has teams they'd like to see do well and teams they would not. They're in the business of making money, in AFL's ideal world, the top 4 teams every year would be Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond and Carlton.
Why would the AFL have any interest in clubs like Collingwood and Carlton succeeding when they are already massive clubs who generate huge audiences and attendances regardless of performance? As opposed to clubs in Rugby League dominated states or side like Freo who need success in order to be of relevance?

Everyone should play each other once only top 4 play finals.

Scrap all priority, academy and father son picks. If you want some kid that happens to be in your 'zone' or is the son of some favourite club legend, trade for better picks to secure them.

Grand final should be played by whoever finishes higher and makes the granny.

Make a deal with whichever airline that prices for members of whichever club has to travel interstate that week are capped. Give them sponsorship etc.

Make first contract for players 4 years.
That would be lovely but none of it will ever happen. We need to discuss what is at least feasible.

Why would the AFL have any interest in clubs like Collingwood and Carlton succeeding when they are already massive clubs who generate huge audiences and attendances regardless of performance? As opposed to clubs in Rugby League dominated states or side like Freo who need success in order to be of relevance?

Big clubs doing well = $$$

Fairy tales and break through markets also does well. Reckon there is nothing like the boost of a large supporter base that hasnt tasted success for a while
Fairytales and break through markets don't make money like big clubs in the short term.

In the medium to long term obviously winning nsw and qld will be worth billions.

Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2